DETAILED ACTION
The restriction requirement mailed on Dec 10, 2025 is hereby vacated because the examiner failed to recognize that the present application is a Request for Continued Examination (RCE), rather than a new application. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
3. New claims 37-50 have been added. Claims 9, 11, 12, 29, 31 and 35 and 37-50 are pending. Claims 1-8, 10, 13-28, 30, 32-34 and 36 are canceled. Claims 9 and 35 have been amended.
4. Amended claim 35 and new claims 38-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species.
In the reply filed on 3/18/2025, applicant elected the species of (i) antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof, (ii) 3-2 antibody comprising the following 6 CDR sequences: SEQ ID NO: 14 (VH-CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (VH-CDR2), SEQ ID NO: 16 (VH-CDR3), SEQ ID NO: 26 (VL- CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 27 (VL-CDR2), and SEQ ID NO: 28 (VL-CDR3), (iii) FAM19A5 protein level, (iv) PD-1, (v) melanoma, and (vi) SEQ ID NO: 6.
5. Claims 9, 11, 12, 29, 31 and 37 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
7. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e)
or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not
complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date
under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention
which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional
application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent
application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the
requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance
Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 62,582,886 and
62/525,633 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Independent claim 9 recite “wherein the cancer comprises a melanoma, pancreatic cancer, breast cancer, lymphoma, carcinoma, sarcoma, lung cancer, kidney cancer, prostate cancer, fibrosarcoma, colon adenocarcinoma, liver cancer, ovarian cancer, or any combinations thereof”. Application Nos. 62,582,886 and 62/525,633 do not mention melanoma, prostate cancer, fibrosarcoma, colon adenocarcinoma and ovarian cancer. Therefore, claims 9, 11, 12, 29, 31 and 37 are not entitled to the
benefit of the filing dates of Application Nos. 62,582,886 and 62,525,633. The effective filing date of claims 11, 12, 14, 15, 29-31 and 35-36 is the filing date of Application No.
62,597,920 (12/17/2017).
Rejections Withdrawn
8. The rejection of claim 30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject an anti-FAM19A5 antibody which is clone 3-2 (comprising the following 6 CDR sequences: SEQ ID NO: 14 (VH-CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (VH-CDR2), SEQ ID NO: 16 (VH-CDR3), SEQ ID NO: 26 (VL- CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 27 (VL-CDR2), and SEQ ID NO: 28 (VL-CDR3), does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of treating cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject any FAM19A5 antagonist including any anti-FAM19A5 antibody is withdrawn in view of applicant’s cancellation of claim 30.
9. The rejection of claims 35-36 on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
10. The rejection of claims 9, 11, 29, 31 and 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Donnell et al (US 2016/0060705A1, pub. date: 3/3/2016, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), in view of Seong et al. (US 2015/0118230A1, pub. date: 4/30/2015, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), further in view of Kim et al. (US 12,215,338, date of patent: 2/4/2025, effectively filed date: 5/8/2018) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and the new effective filing date (12/12/2017).
Rejection Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 9, 11, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over O’Donnell et al (US 2016/0060705A1, pub. date: 3/3/2016, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), in view of Seong et al. (US 2015/0118230A1, pub. date: 4/30/2015, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025).
Regarding claim 9, O’Donnell teaches a method of diagnosing an individual as having a DNA damage response deficient (DDRD) cancer comprising; a. measuring expression levels of at least five genes in a test sample of tumor cells obtained from the individual, comparing the expression levels of the at least five genes to a threshold score, and if the expression levels exceed a threshold score based on the same genes, treating the individual with a DNA-damage therapeutic agent, wherein at least five of the genes include FAM19A5 (claims), detecting expression of genes is by immunoassay method using an antibody ([0115]), wherein the cancer is selected from melanoma, colon cancer, breast cancer, and ovarian cancer (claims). O’Donnell teaches using polyclonal antibodies to detect the at least 5 genes including FAM19A5 ([0114], [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, O’Donnell teaches that if the expression levels exceed a threshold score based on the same genes, treating the individual with a DNA-damage therapeutic agent (a chemotherapeutic agent, claims 44 and 45).
Regarding claim 29, O’Donnell teaches that sample is tissue [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, O’Donnell does not specifically disclose comparing the expression level of a biomarker to a level of FAM19A5 detected in cancer sample to a level in healthy or normal individuals. However, O’Donnell teaches comparing the expression level of a biomarker to a level of the biomarker that is typically detected in similar biological samples from healthy or normal individuals ([0050] and [0052])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected the level of FAM19A5 in cancer including melanoma and compared the detected level to a corresponding level from a normal subject in view of O’Donnell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because O’Connell teaches that when a biomarker indicates or is a sign of an abnormal process disease or other condition in an individual, that biomarker is generally described as being either over-expressed or under-expressed as compared to an expression level of the biomarker that is typically detected in similar biological samples from healthy or normal individuals ([0050] and [0052]).
Regarding claims 9 and 31, O’Donnell does not teach detecting FAM19A5 using a humanized antibody or an antibody fragment such as a Fab.
Seong et al teaches detecting a level of FAM19A5 protein in serum of mice having brain injury using an anti-FAM19A5 antibody, and comparing the level to corresponding level from normal mice ([0918]). Seong et al teaches that the antibody can be humanized anti-FAM19A5 antibody ([0082]),or an antigen binding fragment thereof, e.g. Fab, Fab’, scFv ([0083]), or polyclonal antibodies ([0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected FAM19A5 protein using a humanized anti-FAM19A5 antibody or an antigen binding fragment such as a fab in view of Seong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Seong et al teaches detecting a level of FAM19A5 protein in serum using an anti-FAM19A5 antibody and the anti-FAM19A5 can be a humanized antibody, or an antigen binding fragment such as Fab.
Applicant’s Arguments
The response states that a skilled artisan reading the cited references (alone or in combination) would not have had any reason to arrive at the current claims with any reasonable expectation of success. For instance, O'Donnell does not specifically teach measuring a FAM19A5 protein level in a biological sample obtained from a subject having a cancer. At best, O'Donnell provides disclosure related to a 44-gene classification model that can be used in the context of cancer patients. See, e.g., O'Donnell, 0002. There is nothing in O'Donnell that would have provided a skilled artisan with a reason to specifically measure FAM19A5 level (particularly protein level) among the other many other genes that are disclosed. At most, a skilled artisan reading O'Donnell would have reasonably thought to focus on those genes that are specifically emphasized and recited in claim 30 (i.e., CXCL10, MX1, IDO1,IF144L, CD2, GBP5, PRAME, ITGAL, LRP4, and APOL3). Additionally, based on the limited disclosures provided in O'Donnell, a skilled artisan would not have reasonably recognized the importance of an increase in FAM19A5 protein level specifically in relation to subjects having a cancer. Only through the disclosures provided in the present application (such as the data provided in Example 6 showing an increased FAM19A5 protein level in patients with cancer as compared to healthy subjects) would a skilled artisan have been able to reasonably predict such an importance. Lastly, when the present application was filed, a skilled artisan would have been aware that an increase at the gene level (e.g., mRNA) does not necessarily correlate with an increase at the protein level. See, e.g., Exhibit A1, at page 2, 2nd paragraph. ("Given these and numerous other regulatory mechanisms, we should not expect an easy correlation between protein and mRNA abundances."). Applicant respectfully submits that any alleged disclosure related to FAM19A5 provided in O'Donnell (e.g., Tables 2A and 2B) is in the context of a gene and not at the protein level. As to Seong, it suffers from at least the same deficiencies as O'Donnell. For instance, Seong does not provide any disclosure suggesting a correlation between FAM19A5 and cancer. Therefore, a skilled artisan reading both O'Donnell and Seong would not have reasonably predicted that it would be useful in measuring FAM19A5 protein expression in a subject having a cancer and detecting whether the expression is increased as compared to a healthy subject.
Examiner’s Response
Applicant’s arguments and Exhibit A have been carefully considered but are not persuasive. The only active step of claim 9 is detecting whether the FAM19A5 protein level from a biological sample obtained from the subject is increased compared to a corresponding level from a normal subject by contacting an antibody with the biological sample of the subject and measuring the FAM19A5 protein level in the biological sample (emphasis added).
O’Donnell teaches measuring expression levels of at least five genes including FAM19A5 in a test sample of tumor cells obtained from the individual, comparing the expression levels of the at least five genes to a threshold score, and if the expression levels exceed a threshold score based on the same genes, treating the individual with a DNA-damage therapeutic agent, wherein at least five of the genes include FAM19A5 (claims). O’ Donnell further teaches detecting expression of genes by immunoassay method using an antibody ([0115]), wherein the cancer is selected from melanoma, colon cancer, breast cancer, and ovarian cancer (claims). O’Donnell teaches using polyclonal antibodies to detect the at least 5 genes including FAM19A5 ([0114], [0115]). Therefore, O’Donnell teaches detecting at least 5 genes including FAM19A5 by detecting protein expression level using immunoassay in cancer sample. Although O’Donnell does not specifically disclose comparing the expression level of FAM19A5 detected in cancer sample to a level in healthy or normal individuals, O’Donnell teaches comparing the expression level of a biomarker to a level of the biomarker that is typically detected in similar biological samples from healthy or normal individuals ([0050] and [0052])). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to make such comparison.
In response to applicant’s arguments of lack of correlation between mRNA and protein, Narayanan et al. (Cancer Genomics & Proteomics, 2015, 12: 9-20) teaches that FAM19A5 mRNA is upregulated in pancreatic cancer (Table IV), and there is a strong correlation between FAM19A5 mRNA and protein expression (Table VI).
For the foregoing reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and is therefore maintained.
13. Claims 9, 11, 12, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Donnell et al (US 2016/0060705A1, pub. date: 3/3/2016, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), in view of Seong et al. (US 2015/0118230A1, pub. date: 4/30/2015, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), further in view of Rajan et al. (Human Vaccines & Immunotherapeutics, 2016, 12(9): 2219-2231).
The teachings of O’Donnell and Seong have been set forth above as they apply to claims 9, 11, 29 and 31.
Regarding claim 12, O’Donnell and Seong do not teach treating the subject having a cancer such as melanoma with an anti-cancer drug such as an anti-PD-1 antibody monoclonal antibody.
Rajan et al. teaches that the development of immune checkpoint inhibitors has altered the landscape of treatment of advanced cancers and these drugs are well tolerated and have shown clinical activity against a wide variety of solid tumors and hematological malignancies (abstract). Nivolumab (Opdivo) is an IgG4 antibody that causes immune checkpoint blockade by diminishing inhibitory signaling through the PD-1 pathway. It is approved for treatment of recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, melanoma, and renal cell carcinoma (abstract). Rajan et al. teaches that nivolumab has demonstrated clinical activity and an acceptable safety profile as a single-agent and as part of combination therapy in patients with advanced melanoma (page 2222, column 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of O’Donnell to further treat the subject who has been diagnosed to have cancer including melanoma with an anti-PD-1 antibody in view of Rajan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because there is always a motivation to treat cancer once diagnosed and Rajan et al. teaches that nivolumab is approved for treatment of recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, melanoma, and renal cell carcinoma.
Applicant’s Arguments
The response states that as explained above, O'Donnell and Seong (alone or in combination) do not teach nor suggest the subject matter of current claim 9. Rajan is completely silent on FAM19A5. Accordingly, Rajan fails to remedy the deficiencies of both O'Donnell and Seong and therefore, current claims are non-obvious over the combination of O'Donnell, Seong, and Rajan
Examiner’s Response
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons discussed above (paragraph 12).
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 9, 11, 29, 31 and new claim 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Donnell et al (US 2016/0060705A1, pub. date: 3/3/2016, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), in view of Seong et al. (US 2015/0118230A1, pub. date: 4/30/2015, PTO 892 dated 4/2/2025), further in view of US 12,072,339 (Seong et al., date of patent: 8/27/2024, effectively filed date: 10/2/2017).
It is noted that due to applicant’s amendments, the effective filing date of the instant claims is 12/12/2017 (see paragraph 7 above).
The applied reference has a common inventor/applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The teachings of O’Donnell and Seong have been set forth above as they apply to claims 9, 11, 29 and 31.
Regarding claim 37, O’Donnell and Seong do not teach detecting cancer using anti-FAM19A5 antibody 3-2 comprising the following 6 CDR sequences: SEQ ID NO: 14 (VH-CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (VH-CDR2), SEQ ID NO: 16 (VH-CDR3), SEQ ID NO: 26 (VL- CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 27 (VL-CDR2), and SEQ ID NO: 28 (VL-CDR3), VH of SEQ ID NO: 36 and VL of SEQ ID NO:40.
US 12,072,339 teaches a method of detecting FAM19A5 protein level in a sample of a subject using anti-FAM19A5 antibody 3-2 comprising a VH of SEQ ID NO:36 and a VL of SEQ ID NO:40 (Table 4, column 46 and Table 5, column 47 and claims). The amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 36 comprise the 3 CDR sequences recited in claim 37 (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 14 (VH-CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (VH-CDR2), SEQ ID NO: 16 (VH-CDR3). The amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 40 comprise the 3 CDR sequences recited in SEQ ID NO: 26 (VL- CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 27 (VL-CDR2), and SEQ ID NO: 28 (VL-CDR3). See sequence alignments below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of O’Donnell to use the antibody 3-2 of US 12,072,339 to detect FAM19A5 protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US 12,072,339 teaches a method of detecting FAM19A5 protein level in a sample of a subject using anti-FAM19A5 antibody 3-2.
Double Patenting
17. Claims 9, 11-12, 29, 31 and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-15, 19 and 21-28 of copending Application No. 19/029,306 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 9 and 23 of the copending application discloses a method of determining a FAM19A5 protein level or a FAM19A5 mRNA level in a subject having a cancer comprising detecting whether the FAM19A5 protein level or the FAM19A5 mRNA level from a biological sample obtained from the subject is increased compared to a corresponding level from a normal subject by contacting an antagonist against FAM19A5 with the biological sample of the subject and measuring the FAM19A5 protein level or the FAM19A5 mRNA level in the sample, wherein the FAM19A5 antagonist comprises an antibody, or an antigen-binding portion thereof, that specifically binds to the FAM19A5 protein (anti- FAM19A5 antibody).
Claims 1-4, 10-15, 19, 21-22 and 24-28 of the copending application disclose a method of promoting a blood vessel normalization in a tumor of a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an anti-FAM19A5 antibody or an antigen binding fragment thereof, and a chemotherapeutic agent or a immunotherapeutic agent, wherein the immunotherapeutic agent comprises a monoclonal antibody, chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell, NK-cell, dendritic cell (DC), adoptive cell transfer (ACT), immune checkpoint modulator, cytokine, cancer vaccine, adjuvant, oncolytic virus, or combination thereof, wherein the monoclonal antibody modulates a signaling molecule selected from the group consisting of PD-1, PD-L1, CTLA-4, IDO, TIM-3, LAG-3, 4-1BB, OX40, MERTK, CD27, GITR,B7.1, TGF-p, BTLA, VISTA, Arginase, MICA, MICB, B7-H4, CD28, CD137, wherein the antigen-binding portion thereof comprises a Fab, Fab', F(ab')2, Fv fragment, single chain Fv (scFv), single-domain antibody (sdAb), or combinations thereof, wherein the anti-FAM19A5 antibody comprises a VH of SEQ ID NO:36 and a VL of SEQ ID NO:40. The amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 36 comprise the 3 CDR sequences recited in claim 37 (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 14 (VH-CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (VH-CDR2), SEQ ID NO: 16 (VH-CDR3). The amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 40 comprise the 3 CDR sequences recited in SEQ ID NO: 26 (VL- CDR1), SEQ ID NO: 27 (VL-CDR2), and SEQ ID NO: 28 (VL-CDR3).
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Roudier et al., The prostate, 76:810-822, 2016. FAM19A5 expression is upregulated in prostate cancer.
Conclusion
19. No claims are allowed.
/HONG SANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643