DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 506 of Figure 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should avoid phrases which can be implied such as “…provided herein…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The equations presented in paragraph 81 are not legible; and the sliding property and dilation property equations presented in paragraph 84 are not legible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 20, should “…determine, by the system…” instead be “….determine, by the [[system]] processor…”? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a modeling component that trains” recited in claim 2;
“an aggregation component that assembles” recited in claim 6; and
“a budgeting component that determines” recited in claim 8.
These components appear to be part of the system of claim 1, and not the computer executable components recited in claim 1. The specification fails to provide specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to the claimed “modeling component that trains”, “aggregation component that assembles”, and “budgeting component that determines”, see the 35 USC 112(a) and (b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 6- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claims 2, 6, and 8, the written description fail to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire respective claimed function(s) and does not clearly link the structure, material, acts to the respective function(s). No association between an algorithm and structure can be found in the specification for the modeling component (in claim 2), the aggregation component (in claim 6), and the budgeting component in claim 8. Claims 2, 6, and 8 purports to invoke 35 USC 112(f); however, the examiner finds no association between these components and an algorithm and structure in the Applicant’s specification.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 2.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 9, and 15 recite “wherein the inference component avoids directly exposing the first party information in the prediction”. Avoiding is a term that is ambiguous and does not provide measurable results. The claim fail to particularly point out how the inference component which are instruction executes an avoiding step. It is unclear whether a machine learning algorithm is being executing to prevent exposing the first party information in the prediction, masking operation is performed, or another means.
For claims 2, 6, and 8, claim limitations “modeling component that trains”, “an aggregation component that assembles”, and “a budgeting component that determines” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-8 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 1.
Claims 10-14 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 9.
Claims 16-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “…generates an access rule that modifies access to first data of a graph database, wherein the first data comprises first party information identified as private; …executes a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data;…based on the sampling, generates a prediction in response to a query, wherein the inference component avoids directly exposing the first party information in the prediction”.
The limitations above pertain to a method steps that are directed to, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations being a mental process abstract idea. The steps recited above can be manually performed by a human using pencil and paper. Therefore, nothing in the claimed elements preclude the steps from being practically performed manually by a human via a mental process using pencil and paper. If a claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance in the mind, or a human using pencil and paper, then it falls within the mental processing grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1, 9, and 15 pertain to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recite additional elements of the steps being executing by a processor via instructions stored in memory. Claims 9 and 15 recites generic computer components that executes the steps. These instructions are a processing component, a sampling component, and an inference components. These additional components wherein the method are computer implemented components are recited at a high level of generality such that the generic computer amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor add significantly more.
Thus, the independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claims 1, 9, and 15 are not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 2, 7-8, 10, 13, 16, and 19 provide a further step of training a predicative model on the graph database and on access rule and employing the predictive model to generate the prediction in response to the query. It has been determined that the steps recited in said claims can also be achieve in the human mind using pencil and paper. The additional element of modeling element merely applies a machine learning model without disclosing any technological advances to the underlying machine learning technique. Applying a machine learning model without disclosing any technological advances to the underlying machine learning technique is not patentable. Merely applying generic machine learning techniques without providing technical innovation in the machine learning method are insufficient for patent eligibility, see Recentive Analytic, Inc v Fox Corp (April 18 2025). The budgeting and modeling components of claim 8 wherein the method are computer implemented components is recited at a high level of generality such that the generic computer component amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor add significantly more. Thus, claims 2, 7, 10, 13, 16, and 19 are not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 3, 11, and 17 also provide step that can be achieve in the human mind using pencil and paper. The sampling component wherein the method are computer implemented components is recited at a high level of generality such that the generic computer component amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor add significantly more. Thus, claims 3, 11, and 17 are not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 4-5, 12, and 18 merely limits the access rule limitations from the independent claims. This access rule as stated above can be generated via a human using pencil and paper. Therefore, for the same reasons above, claims 4-5, 12, and 18 recite an abstract idea and are not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 6 also provides step that can be achieve in the human mind using pencil and paper. The aggregation component wherein the method are computer implemented components is recited at a high level of generality such that the generic computer component amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor add significantly more. Thus, claim 6 is not eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12-16, and 18- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerurkar et al US 20190026489 (hereinafter Nerurkar) in view of Nouri et al US 20220114456 (hereinafter Nouri).
As to claim 1, Nerurkar teaches a system (Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), comprising: a memory that stores computer executable components (Figure 11, reference number 1104 “Memory” that stores “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153); and
a processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”) that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory (Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153), wherein the computer executable components comprise:
a processing component (Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) that generates an access rule that modifies access to first data of a graph database (paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. The privacy budget limits/modifies how much of the restricted data can be released, thus provided access rules to the private data. Privacy parameters also indicate the amount of restricted data to release from the database to the client in response to the query. The privacy parameters likewise indicate the amount of decrease in the relevant privacy budget (e.g., the budget for the client or entity with which the client is associated) in response to the query. The differentially private security system may apply a default set of privacy parameters to queries that do not specify the parameters. The values of the default privacy parameters may be determined based on the client, analyst, query type, and/or other factors), wherein the first data comprises first party information identified as private (paragraph 148 discloses obtaining level of differential privacy for a set of operations. The set of operations is modified based on the received level of differential privacy. The set of modified operation is performed on the set of accessed data. The data comes from the private database);
a sampling component (Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) that executes … sampling … [on] a first graph of the graph database[ decision tree data from data in a database] while employing the access rule (paragraph 133 reveals a model testing engine generates a series of cutoff thresholds based on numerical values of p. Samples values of p [from the decision tree wherein decision tree is graph data] are plotted on a range from 0 to 1. A series of k cutoff thresholds, or a series of intervals, are recursively identified by the median engine such that the number of elements of p in each interval is approximately equal. Specifically, the median engine recursively identifies the perturbed median for an interval and subsequently, its corresponding sub-intervals generated by dividing the interval by the identified perturbed median, until k thresholds are identified. Paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data is from the database); and
an inference component (Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) that, based on the sampling, generates a prediction in response to a query, wherein the inference component avoids directly exposing the first party information in the prediction (paragraphs 138-139 reveal synthetic database engine produce a response/prediction responsive to the differentially private security system receiving the query for transforming X into a synthetic database S, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The synthetic database engine produces a DP response of a differentially private synthetic database query by projecting the elements of X to S using a projection matrix).
Nerurkar does not teach a sampling component that executes a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing [an] access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data.
Nouri teaches a sampling component that executes a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rules, wherein the first graph comprises the first data (paragraphs 371, 373 disclose sampling the graphs using random walks. Paragraphs 196, 202 indicate that the data obtain comes from data structure/database, wherein paragraph 371 indicates the graph is loaded. After the graph is loaded, the embedding process perform a random walk on a node. The edges and the nodes of the graph contain the first data (see paragraphs 5 and 50). Paragraph 229 reveals that the sampling is limited to rules).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data with Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data to bound a memory requirement by the number of sampled nodes and provide an optimization that leverages auxiliary information from a pre-processing step and reduces the memory utilization (paragraph 371 of Nouri).
As to claim 2, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches a modeling component (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) that trains a predictive model on the graph database and on the access rule (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate for the category of the data entry), wherein the inference component (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) employs the predictive model to generate the prediction in response to the query (Nerurkar: paragraph 116 reveals the random forest classifier/predictive model is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry in response to per paragraph 114 a valid query).
As to claim 4, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the access rule comprises a limit on a quantity of visits to a node or an edge of the graph database (Nerurkar: paragraph 120 also reveals the random forest engine returns a DP response of a differentially private random forest query by perturbing the proportion of training entries at leaf nodes of each trained binary decision tree based on the equation provided in paragraph 120. Paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. Paragraph 73 reveals access for the data based on the query is limited by definition of ε-differential privacy, where D is the space of all possible data objects/nodes X, X’ neighboring data objects).
As to claim 5, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the access rule comprises perturbing the graph database with additional data (Nerurkar: paragraph 120 also reveals the random forest engine returns a DP response of a differentially private random forest query by perturbing the proportion of training entries at leaf nodes of each trained binary decision tree (decision tree is a graph) based on the equation provided in paragraph 120).
As to claim 6, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches further comprising: an aggregation component (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) that assembles a set of graph embeddings for the graph database (Nerurkar: paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data in the database includes training data describing features of entities relevant to a particular condition and build classifiers from the training data. Paragraph 114 discloses generating a trained random forest classifier that bins a series of feature values/vectors into one among multiple categories, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The random forest classifier is trained on the selected columns of X. Bins are often derived from graph embeddings) and that generates a set of feature vectors based on the graph embeddings, wherein the set of feature vectors are employed by the inference component (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) to generate the prediction (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry).
As to claim 7, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the modeling component trains the predictive model using a differential privacy-stochastic gradient descent approach (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain); paragraphs 107-109 reveal the stochastic gradient engine minimizes a loss function on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain) to find optimal values of parameter vector. A general minimization problem arises for finding the optimal values over training data and is given by the loss function. The minimization is solved by stochastic gradient descent on the loss function. The stochastic gradient engine returns a DP response/prediction of a differentially private stochastic gradient query by perturbing the update of θ at one or more time steps of the stochastic gradient descent algorithm).
As to claim 8, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches further comprising: a budgeting component that determines a privacy budget that comprises a noise distribution employed by the modeling component to train the predictive model (Nerurkar: paragraph 24 discloses a privacy budget describes limits on how much of the restricted data can be released. Paragraph 38 further discloses the differentially private security system may then transform the released results in a way that enforces differential privacy to produce the DP response . These transformations may involve perturbing the process by which the DP query is produced from the analytical query and/or the perturbing the results released by the database with noise that provides the differential privacy specified by the privacy parameters while enforcing the privacy budget).
As to claim 9, Nerurkar teaches a computer-implemented method (Figure 10 discloses a method), comprising:
generating, by a system (Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system) operatively coupled to a processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), an access rule that modifies access to first data of a graph database (paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. The privacy budget limits on how much of the restricted data can be released, thus provided access rules to the private data. Privacy parameters also indicate the amount of restricted data to release from the database to the client in response to the query. The privacy parameters likewise indicate the amount of decrease in the relevant privacy budget (e.g., the budget for the client or entity with which the client is associated) in response to the query. The differentially private security system may apply a default set of privacy parameters to queries that do not specify the parameters. The values of the default privacy parameters may be determined based on the client, analyst, query type, and/or other factors), wherein the first data comprises first party information identified as private (paragraph 148 discloses obtaining level of differential privacy for a set of operations. The set of operations is modified based on the received level of differential privacy. The set of modified operation is performed on the set of accessed data. The data comes from private database);
executing, by the system (Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system; Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), … sampling on a first graph of the graph database/[decision tree data from data in a database] while employing the access rule (paragraph 133 reveals model testing engine generates a series of cutoff thresholds based on numerical values of p. Samples values of p [from the decision tree wherein decision tree is graph data] are plotted on a range from 0 to 1. A series of k cutoff thresholds, or a series of intervals, are recursively identified by the median engine such that the number of elements of p in each interval is approximately equal. Specifically, the median engine recursively identifies the perturbed median for an interval and subsequently, its corresponding sub-intervals generated by dividing the interval by the identified perturbed median, until k thresholds are identified. Paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data is from the database); and
based on the sampling, generating, by the system (Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system; Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), a prediction in response to a query, wherein the generating comprises avoiding directly exposing the first party information in the prediction (paragraphs 138-139 reveal synthetic database engine produce a response/prediction responsive to the differentially private security system receiving the query for transforming X into a synthetic database S, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The synthetic database engine produces a DP response of a differentially private synthetic database query by projecting the elements of X to S using a projection matrix).
Nerurkar does not teach executing a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data.
Nouri teaches executing a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data (paragraphs 371, 373 disclose sampling the graphs using random walks. Paragraphs 196, 202 indicate that the data obtain comes from data structure/database, wherein paragraph 371 indicates the graph is loaded. After the graph is loaded, the embedding process perform a random walk on a node. The edges and the nodes of the graph contain the first data (see paragraphs 5 and 50). Paragraph 229 reveals that the sampling is limited to rules).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data with Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data to bound a memory requirement by the number of sampled nodes and provide an optimization that leverages auxiliary information from a pre-processing step and reduces the memory utilization (paragraph 371 of Nouri).
As to claim 10, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches further comprising: training, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), using a differential privacy-stochastic gradient descent approach, a predictive model on the graph database and on the access rule (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate for the category of the data entry); and employing, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), the predictive model to generate the prediction in response to the query (Nerurkar: paragraph 116 reveals the random forest classifier/predictive model is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry in response to per paragraph 114 a valid query).
As to claim 12, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the access rule comprises at least one of a limit on a quantity of visits to a node or an edge of the graph database or a perturbance of the graph database with additional data (Nerurkar: paragraph 120 also reveals the random forest engine returns a DP response of a differentially private random forest query by perturbing the proportion of training entries at leaf nodes of each trained binary decision tree based on the equation provided in paragraph 120. Paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. Paragraph 73 reveals access for the data based on the query is limited by definition of ε-differential privacy, where D is the space of all possible data objects/nodes X, X’ neighboring data objects).
As to claim 13, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches further comprising: assembling, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), a set of graph embeddings for the graph database (Nerurkar: paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data in the database includes training data describing features of entities relevant to a particular condition and build classifiers from the training data. Paragraph 114 discloses generating a trained random forest classifier that bins a series of feature values/vectors into one among multiple categories, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The random forest classifier is trained on the selected columns of X. Bins are often derived from graph embeddings); generating, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), a set of feature vectors based on the graph embeddings (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry); and employing, by the system, the set of feature vectors to train the predictive model (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry).
As to claim 14, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches further comprising: determining, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), a privacy budget that comprises a noise distribution employed by the modeling component to train the predictive model (Nerurkar: paragraph 24 discloses a privacy budget describes limits on how much of the restricted data can be released. Paragraph 38 further discloses the differentially private security system may then transform the released results in a way that enforces differential privacy to produce the DP response. These transformations may involve perturbing the process by which the DP query is produced from the analytical query and/or the perturbing the results released by the database with noise that provides the differential privacy specified by the privacy parameters while enforcing the privacy budget).
As to claim 15, Nerurkar teaches a computer program product (Figure 11, reference number 1104 “Memory” that stores “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153) facilitating a process for privacy-enhanced machine learning and inference (Figure 10 discloses a method. Paragraph 2 reveals the present invention generally relates to building classifiers used in computerized machine learning, and more specifically to preserving privacy of training data used to build a machine-learned classifier), the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith (Figure 11, reference number 1104 “Memory” that stores “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153), the program instructions executable (Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”) by a processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”) to cause the processor (see paragraphs 149-150 and 153) to:
generate, by the processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), an access rule that modifies access to first data of a graph database (paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. The privacy budget describes limits on how much of the restricted data can be released, thus provided access rules to the private data. Privacy parameters also indicate the amount of restricted data to release from the database to the client in response to the query. The privacy parameters likewise indicate the amount of decrease in the relevant privacy budget (e.g., the budget for the client or entity with which the client is associated) in response to the query. The differentially private security system may apply a default set of privacy parameters to queries that do not specify the parameters. The values of the default privacy parameters may be determined based on the client, analyst, query type, and/or other factors), wherein the first data comprises first party information identified as private (paragraph 148 discloses obtaining level of differential privacy for a set of operations. The set of operations is modified based on the received level of differential privacy. The set of modified operation is performed on the set of accessed data. The data comes from private database);
execute, by the processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), … sampling … a first graph of the graph database/[on decision tree data from data in a database] while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data (paragraph 133 reveals model testing engine generates a series of cutoff thresholds based on numerical values of p. Samples values of p [from the decision tree wherein decision tree is graph data] are plotted on a range from 0 to 1. A series of k cutoff thresholds, or a series of intervals, are recursively identified by the median engine such that the number of elements of p in each interval is approximately equal. Specifically, the median engine recursively identifies the perturbed median for an interval and subsequently, its corresponding sub-intervals generated by dividing the interval by the identified perturbed median, until k thresholds are identified. Paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data is from the database); and
based on the sampling, generate, by the processor (Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), a prediction in response to a query, wherein the generating comprises avoiding directly exposing the first party information in the prediction (paragraphs 138-139 reveal synthetic database engine produce a response/prediction responsive to the differentially private security system receiving the query for transforming X into a synthetic database S, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The synthetic database engine produces a DP response of a differentially private synthetic database query by projecting the elements of X to S using a projection matrix).
Nerurkar does not teach execute a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data.
Nouri teaches execute a random walk for sampling a first graph of the graph database while employing the access rule, wherein the first graph comprises the first data (paragraphs 371, 373 disclose sampling the graphs using random walks. Paragraphs 196, 202 indicate that the data obtain comes from data structure/database, wherein paragraph 371 indicates the graph is loaded. After the graph is loaded, the embedding process perform a random walk on a node. The edges and the nodes contains the first data (see paragraphs 5 and 50). Paragraph 229 reveals that the sampling is limited to rules).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data with Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data to bound a memory requirement by the number of sampled nodes and provide an optimization that leverages auxiliary information from a pre-processing step and reduces the memory utilization (paragraph 371 of Nouri).
As to claim 16, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153) by the processor to cause the processor to (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”): train, by the processor (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), using a differential privacy-stochastic gradient descent approach, a predictive model on the graph database and on the access rule (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate for the category of the data entry); and employ, by the processor (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), the predictive model to generate the prediction in response to the query (Nerurkar: paragraph 116 reveals the random forest classifier/predictive model is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry in response to per paragraph 114 a valid query).
As to claim 18, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the access rule comprises at least one of a limit on a quantity of visits to a node or an edge of the graph database or a perturbance of the graph database with additional data (Nerurkar: paragraph 120 also reveals the random forest engine returns a DP response of a differentially private random forest query by perturbing the proportion of training entries at leaf nodes of each trained binary decision tree based on the equation provided in paragraph 120. Paragraphs 34-36 reveal access to the restricted data is specified in terms of a privacy budget. Paragraph 73 reveals access for the data based on the query is limited by definition of ε-differential privacy, where D is the space of all possible data objects/nodes X, X’ neighboring data objects).
As to claim 19, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153) by the processor to cause the processor to (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”): assemble, by the processor (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), a set of graph embeddings for the graph database (Nerurkar: paragraph 40 reveals the restricted data in the database includes training data describing features of entities relevant to a particular condition and build classifiers from the training data. Paragraph 114 discloses generating a trained random forest classifier that bins a series of feature values/vectors into one among multiple categories, given privacy parameters (ε,δ). The random forest classifier is trained on the selected columns of X. Bins are often derived from graph embeddings); generate, by the processor (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), a set of feature vectors based on the graph embeddings (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry); and employ, by the processor (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”), the set of feature vectors to train the predictive model (Nerurkar: paragraphs 114-116 disclose a random forest classifier/predictive model is trained on training data (Xtrain, Ytrain). Xtrain is a matrix database (matrix is graph data) in which each column corresponds to a selected feature of interest to the client , and y is a column vector of already known labels indicating the category of a corresponding entry. Each entry in Xtrain has a one-to-one correspondence with a label entry in y. Upon being trained, the random forest classifier, or a classifier in general, receives a new data entry with selected feature values and generates an estimate of the category for the new entry. The random forest classifier is an ensemble of individual binary decision tree classifiers (rules), in which each binary decision tree generates an estimate for the category of an entry. Given a new data entry, the random forest classifier aggregates the category estimates from each binary decision tree and produces a final estimate/prediction for the category of the data entry).
As to claim 20, the combination of Nerurkar in view Nouri teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1124 “Instructions”, see paragraphs 149-150 and 153) by the processor to cause the processor to (Nerurkar: Figure 11, reference number 1102 “Processor”): determine, by the system (Nerurkar: Figure 1, Figure 8, and Figure 11 reveal differential private security system), a privacy budget that comprises a noise distribution employed by the modeling component to train the predictive model (Nerurkar: paragraph 24 discloses a privacy budget describes limits on how much of the restricted data can be released. Paragraph 38 further discloses the differentially private security system may then transform the released results in a way that enforces differential privacy to produce the DP response. These transformations may involve perturbing the process by which the DP query is produced from the analytical query and/or the perturbing the results released by the database with noise that provides the differential privacy specified by the privacy parameters while enforcing the privacy budget).
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerurkar et al US 20190026489 (hereinafter Nerurkar), in view of Nouri et al US 20220114456 (hereinafter Nouri), in further view of Zhuang et al CN 113792937 English Machine Translation (hereinafter Zhuang).
As to claim 3, the combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri teaches all the limitations presented in claim 2 above. The combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri does not teach, but Zhuang teaches wherein the sampling component executes (page 14, paragraph 1 reveal the processor executes the program after receiving the execution instruction) the random walk with a restart probability (page 16, claim 4/second paragraph reveals the random walk is used to set the restart probability parameter back to the starting point as P).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data in view of Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data with Zhuang’s teachings of random walk and restart probability to provide improved influence prediction methods based on graph neural network (page 3, second paragraph of Zhuang).
As to claim 11, the combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri teaches all the limitations presented in claim 10 above. The combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri does not teach, but Zhuang teaches further comprising: executing, by the system (page 14, paragraph 1 reveal the processor executes the program after receiving the execution instruction), the random walk with a restart probability (page 14, paragraph 1 reveals the processor executes the program after receiving the execution instruction) the random walk with a restart probability (page 16, claim 4/second paragraph reveal the random walk is used to set the restart probability parameter back to the starting point as P).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data in view of Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data with Zhuang’s teachings of random walk and restart probability to provide improved influence prediction methods based on graph neural network (page 3, second paragraph of Zhuang).
As to claim 17, the combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri teaches all the limitations presented in claim 16 above. The combination of Nerurkar in view of Nouri does not teach, but Zhuang teaches wherein the program instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to (page 14, paragraph 1 reveals the processor executes the program after receiving the execution instruction): execute, by the processor, the random walk with a restart probability (page 14, paragraph 1 reveal the processor executes the program after receiving the execution instruction) the random walk with a restart probability (page 16, claim 4/second paragraph reveal the random walk is used to set the restart probability parameter back to the starting point as P).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nerurkar’s sampling of the data in view of Nouri’s teachings of sampling graph data with Zhuang’s teachings of random walk and restart probability to provide improved influence prediction methods based on graph neural network (page 3, second paragraph of Zhuang).
Conclusion
/F.F/ Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/ALI S ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437