DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/158,345 filed on 01/23/2023 is presented for examination; claims 1-20 are pending.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-7,15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers (US 2020/0298722) in view of Murakami et al. (US 2020/0101848).
With respect to claims 1 and 15, Smolenaers discloses a system for controlling charging of a vehicle (Fig. 2A, controller 20), comprising: a charge coupler (Fig. 2A; port 4; Para. # 0095: car 1 via port 4; the availability of the second coupler to be electrically coupled to the first coupler; outputting a regulated charging voltage Vc and/or current 58) a protection control (Para. # 0039, 0130: protection devices and power distribution such as fuses, contactors, switches, sensor) electrically coupled to the charge coupler (Para. # 0039), including a fuse device (Para. # 0130: current and/or voltage sensors and limiters as well as disconnection devices such as fuses); at least one temperature sensor for monitoring a temperature of the fuse device (para. # 0068, 0168: fusing and other protection devices, switches, sensors, etc.);
a cooling system for cooling the fuse device (Par. # 0005, 0039, cooling requirements in a vehicle cooling system, and protection devices and power distribution such as fuses, contactors, switches, sensor feedback, pre-charge circuits, a filter, and the like); and a charging interface connector communicatively coupled to the at least one temperature sensor (Para. # 168: the controller is available for use in the second state, within temperature, voltage, current, or other limits); wherein the fuse device is configured to be current limiting under a short circuit condition to mitigate an overcurrent event (Para. # 0046: current limits, regulation potential of the charging station (e.g., through communication, or lack thereof), charging power).
Smolenaers et al. (Hereinafter, Smolenaers) does not expressly disclose, an integrated protection control box with a temperature sensor.
Murakami et al. (Hereinafter, Murakami) disclose, an integrated protection control box with a temperature sensor (Par. # 0010, 0033: the junction box controller includes a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the circuit for vehicle).
SMOLENAERS and Murakami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely integrated charging system for electric vehicle and controller charging system and junction controller box with protection fuse and temperature sensor (Fig. 1, fuse 64, temperature sensor 21/22, relay switch, etc.).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a controller box that includes temperature sensors and protection element, such as fuses and relay switches that efficiently cool the circuits for electric vehicle for the benefit of achieving desired acceleration and deceleration and suppress an occurrence of a short circuit during coupling to the charging circuits (Para. # 0066); besides sensors in a vehicle, such as temperature sensors help adjust the battery's operating state to maintain optimal performance and longevity, ensuring that the battery functions efficiently even under extreme temperatures.
With respect to claim 2, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Smolenaers discloses wherein the fuse device is opened when a charging current increases above a threshold current to prevent transmission of the charging current to the vehicle (Para. # 0039).
With respect to claim 3, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Murakami discloses wherein a permissible current of the fuse device is increased when the fuse device is cooled by the cooling system (Para. # 0023: the temperature of the main fuse in an on-state and the temperature of the main relay in an on-state increase).
With respect to claim 4, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Murakami discloses wherein the IPCB further includes a bus bar and the at least one temperature sensor is coupled to the bus bar (Para. # 0007-008: the junction box, a bus bar having low electrical resistance and high heat dissipation performance, which enable a high current to flow through the bus bar).
With respect to claim 5, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Murakami discloses wherein the cooling system is coupled to a coolant circuit of the vehicle (Para. # 0024, 0038).
With respect to claim 6, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Murakami discloses wherein the cooling system is coupled to a finned metal heatsink (Para. # 0007: a bus bar having low electrical resistance and high heat dissipation performance, where dissipation is performed by using a heatsink-mostly made of metal).
With respect to claim 7, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, further Smolenaers discloses, wherein the IPCB allows bi-directional current flow (Para. # 0069: controller 17 is fully bidirectional and accommodates these multiple modes of charge and discharge using the existing drive circuits in the vehicle).
With respect to claim 16, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, wherein Murakami further discloses the integrated protection control box is configured with software configured to estimate the temperature of the fuse device based on one or more operating parameters (Para. # 0035, 0058: these controllers each include a computer system like a microcomputer; computer systems, the computer system includes not only a processor having a high processing function but also, for example, storage for storing a program and an input/output device for reading sensor signals and for communicating with other controllers).
With respect to claim 19, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, wherein Murakami further discloses wherein the integrated protection control box is positioned inside an enclosure (See Fig. 1, 1 is a controller box within the circuit or inside part; Para. # 0002 and 0013).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers (US 2020/0298722) in view of Murakami et al. (US 2020/0101848).
With respect to claim 8, Smolenaers discloses a method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging (Para. # 0065: disconnect switches 90 and/or 92 of input circuit 75 to prevent an inrush current. Input circuit 75 may also include, at least in some embodiments, other safety mechanisms such as isolation monitoring and fusing), comprising: determining if charging is demanded (Fig. 7; Para. # 166); receiving a temperature reading from a temperature sensor coupled to a fuse device of a control box (Para. # 0168: checking the charging data and controller status in order to determine whether to allow the charge; controller is available for use in the second state, within temperature, voltage, current, or other limits), the controller coupled to a charging device of a vehicle to mitigate transmission of a short-circuit from the charging device to the vehicle (Para. # 0031: the charging current can be controlled to regulate the output current, regulate the input current, or the phase current, whilst protecting the maximum voltage and current thresholds )
and including a charging interface connector configured to control a charging current and a discharging current (Para. # 0032: The charging current can be controlled to regulate the output current, regulate the input current, or the phase current, whilst protecting the maximum voltage and current thresholds); responsive to the received temperature being above a threshold temperature and demanded charging, decreasing the charging current, and responsive to the received temperature being below the threshold temperature and demanded charging, increasing the charging current (Para. # 0041, 0168: vehicle is stationary and that the controller is available for use in the second state, within temperature, voltage, current, or other limits).
Smolenaers et al. (Hereinafter, Smolenaers) does not expressly disclose, an integrated protection control box with a temperature sensor.
Murakami et al. (Hereinafter, Murakami) disclose, an integrated protection control box with a temperature sensor (Par. # 0010, 0033: the junction box controller includes a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the circuit for vehicle).
SMOLENAERS and Murakami are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely integrated charging system for electric vehicle and controller charging system and junction controller box with protection fuse and temperature sensor (Fig. 1, fuse 64, temperature sensor 21/22, relay switch, etc.).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a controller box that includes temperature sensors and protection element, such as fuses and relay switches that efficiently cool the circuits for electric vehicle for the benefit of achieving desired acceleration and deceleration and suppress an occurrence of a short circuit during coupling to the charging circuits (Para. # 0066).
With respect to claim 9, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging as described above, further Murakami discloses wherein the temperature sensor is positioned on a charger side of the fuse device and/or a vehicle side of the fuse device (Fig. 1, temperature sensor-21, fuse 64 -on the Vehicle side).
With respect to claim 10, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging as described above, further Murakami discloses further comprising in response to the received temperature being above the threshold temperature and demanded discharging, decreasing the discharging current, and in response to the received temperature being below the threshold temperature and demanded discharging, increasing the discharging current (Para. # 39-40 and 53: threshold T.sub.PS for starting cooling of the positive electrode circuit 6 (hereinafter, referred to as threshold T.sub.PS) is determined. If the positive electrode circuit temperature T.sub.P is equal to or greater than the threshold T.sub.PS, the processing proceeds to step S4, where step 4 is control switch to select charge option-charge/discharge).
With respect to claim 11, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging,
wherein Murakami further discloses the threshold temperature is set based on an ambient temperature correction for a permissible current of the fuse device (Para. # 0040: electrode circuit temperature T.sub.P is equal to or greater than the threshold T.sub.PS, the processing proceeds to step S4. Otherwise, the processing proceeds to step S5. This help correct the proper operation, such as charging under regulated temperature using the temperature sensor’s detection characteristics).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging, wherein Murakami further discloses the permissible current is less than a rated current of the fuse device (Para. # 0032: A fast-charging fuse 68 is provided between the positive electrode fast-charging relay 17 and the positive electrode terminal for external coupling 11. A normal charging fuse 69 is provided between the positive electrode normal charging relay 19 and the charger for external coupling 10).
With respect to claim 14, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the method for controlling overcurrent events during vehicle charging, wherein Murakami further discloses the temperature sensor is coupled to the fuse device via a bus bar (Fig. 1, temperature sensor 21 and fuse 64 are on or connected to bus bar 6; para. # 0055: the heat of the positive electrode circuit 6 is transferred to the bus bar of the positive electrode fast-charging circuit 13).
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combined references of Smolenaers in view of Murakami further in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0214161)(Hereinafter, Chen).
With respect to claim 17, combined references of Smolenaers and Murakami disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, but the combined references do not however, disclose wherein the surface of the fuse device is in face sharing contact with a thermal pad of the cooling system.
Chen, on the other hand, discloses wherein the surface of the fuse device is in face sharing contact with a thermal pad of the cooling system ( Para. # 0007: a thermally conductive sheath sealing encloses at least ; and a thermally conductive and electrically insulating gas occupying the sealed volume).
SMOLENAERS, Murakami and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely integrated charging system for electric vehicle, junction controller box with protection fuse/temperature sensor and liquid cooled charging cable for electric vehicles.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a thermal conductive materials, such as thermal pad in view of the teachings of Chen for the benefit of effectively cool the circuits, and to dissipate heat efficiently from heat generating components like batteries or battery cells, electronic parts ensuring the safety and reliability of the entire vehicle’s system. In electric vehicles, such interfaces are found throughout the system, including battery modules, inverter housings, onboard chargers (OBC), DC-DC converters, and motor controllers.
With respect to claim 18, combined references of Smolenaers, Murakami and Chen disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, Chen further discloses wherein a surface of the thermal pad is in face sharing contact with a cold plate of the cooling system (Para. # 0019 and 0020: electric vehicles by reducing their repair costs that can result from thermal issues related to charging; promoting the adoption of electric vehicles by reducing the amount of materials needed, hence reducing the cost; and reducing environmental impacts from needless consumption of raw materials and inefficient use of electricity.
With respect to claim 20, combined references of Smolenaers, Murakami and Chen disclose the system for controlling charging of the vehicle as described above, Chen further discloses, wherein the cooling system includes a cooler positioned external to the enclosure (the cooling includes cooler position external to the control box; see reproduced Fig. 3 below) .
Conclusion
Hebert et al. : US 2022/0032787: discloses relates to control circuitry for contactors, and particularly to control circuitry for contactors in electric vehicles.
Reynolds et al. : US2017/0158067: discloses an electric vehicle charging system with multiple charging stations.
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859