DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on October 21, 2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant in Pages 7-10 of the Remarks argues that amended independent claims 1, 6, and 11, and their dependents, are not directed to an abstract idea, the claimed systems, taken as a whole, integrate any alleged judicial exception into practical application, and the claims amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Applicant further discloses technological improvements disclosed in the specification and argues that the recited claimed features are consistent with the discussed improvements
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Examiner notes that the features from the specification that applicant argues as improvements are not reflected and/or recited in the claims.
Independent claims 1, 6, and 11 covers several steps, such as the identifying, sorting, selecting, and generating steps in claim 1, the read, identify, sort, select, and generate steps in claim 6, and the generate, select, and generate steps in claim 11, that recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the limitations recited in said steps, as discussed in detail in the current 101 rejection below.
The remaining steps in the claims that are identified as reciting additional elements, are only adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and are recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are not directed to any specific improvement in computer technology.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicant’s arguments in Pages 10-13 of the Remarks argues that Schultz, Vicari, Belenkiy, and Zhang do not teach or suggest the features “selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points” and “generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claims 6 and 11.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art alone and/or in combination discloses the argued features.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses.
Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle.
Therefore, Schultz discloses selecting individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points based at least in part on the individual physical location points.
Schulz does not explicitly disclose selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature.
Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses.
Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle.
Therefore Schultz discloses generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points destination location identifiers according to a format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route.
Schulz does not explicitly disclose generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature.
Schulz discloses selecting, generating, and sending destination location identifiers based on individual physical location points and transmitting data to a device of a delivery driver, however, Schulz does not explicitly disclose:
selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points; and
generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers…;
Zhang in Column 2 line 42 - Column 3 line 53 discloses delivery system determining delivery route based on location information, delivery route displayed in a map format, a numerical distance from an address, or any other appropriate format.
Therefore, the Zhang reference discloses selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of a plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, and generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schultz and Zhang, to have combined Schultz and Zhang. The motivation to combine Schultz and Zhang would be dynamically adjusting delivery route information by determining location data during the delivery time window.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1, 6, and 11 respectively recite a method, a system, and a
system, which are directed to a statutory category such as a process, machine, or an
article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“identifying…based on the received location code, a specific two-dimensional geographic area from the plurality of stored location codes, the location code corresponding to one of the plurality of two-dimensional geographic areas”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a specific two-dimensional geographic area based on a received location code corresponding to one of a plurality of two-dimensional geographic areas.
“identifying…based on the received grid coordinates, a specific physical location point from the plurality of stored grid coordinates for each of the plurality of items, the grid coordinates corresponding to one of the plurality of physical location points”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify a specific physical location point based on a received grid coordinates corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points.
“…sorting the plurality of items…based on the received grid coordinates, into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route within the two-dimensional geographic area, the predetermined delivery route including the plurality of physical location points”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper sort a plurality of items based on a received grid coordinates into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route including a plurality of physical location points within a two-dimensional geographic area.
“selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select a format from a plurality of formats for displaying individual physical location points based at least in part on the individual physical location points.
“generating…based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate based on individual physical location points formatted destination location identifiers according to a format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 1, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Independent claim 6 recites the limitations:
“read the destination location identifier”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper read a destination location identifier.
“…sort…the plurality of items based on the received grid coordinates, into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route within the two-dimensional geographic area, the predetermined delivery route including the plurality of physical location points”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper sort a plurality of items based on a received grid coordinates into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route including a plurality of physical location points within a two-dimensional geographic area.
“select a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select a format from a plurality of formats for displaying individual physical location points based at least in part on the individual physical location points.
“generate…based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate based on individual physical location points formatted destination location identifiers according to a format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 6, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitations:
“generate a location identifier using the selected location code and grid coordinate value”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate a location identifier using a selected location code and a determined grid coordinate.
“select a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select a format from a plurality of formats for displaying individual physical location points based at least in part on the individual physical location points.
“generate…based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper generate based on individual physical location points formatted destination location identifiers according to a format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 11, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“storing, in a memory, a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates each corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points”, which is a step of storing information in memory. The storing step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receiving a plurality of items in an item processing apparatus, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon, the destination location identifier comprising one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic are corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving items having information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receiving the destination location identifier from each of the plurality of items”, which is a step of receiving information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“…sending…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information. The sending step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “in a memory”, “in an item processing apparatus”, “physically sorting the plurality of items in the item processing apparatus”, and “for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route” in the steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Independent claim 6 recites the limitations:
“a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates each corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points”, which is a step of storing information in memory. This storing step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receive a plurality of items, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon, the destination location identifier comprising: one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic area corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving items having information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receive, from the item processing apparatus, the destination location identifier”, which is a step of receiving information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“query the memory to identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific two-dimensional geographic area from the plurality of stored location codes, the location code corresponding to one of the plurality of two-dimensional geographic areas”, which is a step of querying to identify information. The querying step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“query the memory to identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific physical location point from the plurality of stored grid coordinates, the grid coordinates corresponding to one of the plurality of physical location points”, which is a step of querying to identify information. The querying step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“…send…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information. The sending step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a system comprising: a memory”, “an item processing apparatus”, “one or more processors configured to”, “physically sort in the item processing apparatus”, and “for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route” in the steps in claim 6 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitations:
“a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates corresponding to individual physical location points”, which is a step of storing information in memory. The storing step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“an item processing apparatus configured to receive a destination location identifier comprising: one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic area corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receive from the item processing apparatus the destination location identifier”, which is a step of receiving information. The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“query the memory to select, based on the destination location identifier, a specific location code and grid coordinate value”, which is a step of querying to select information. The querying step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“send the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus for use with an item, wherein sending the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus causes the item processing apparatus to physically sort the item with a plurality of other items using the generated location identifier”, which is a step of sending information. The sending step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“…send…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information. The sending step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “a system comprising: a memory”, “an item processing apparatus”, “one or more processors in communication with the item processing apparatus configured to:”, and “for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route” in the steps in claim 11 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1, 6, and 11 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“storing, in a memory, a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates corresponding to individual physical location points”, which is a step of storing information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“receiving a plurality of items in an item processing apparatus, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon, the destination location identifier comprising one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic are corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“receiving the destination location identifier from each of the plurality of items”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“…sending…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Independent claim 6 recites the limitations:
“a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates corresponding to individual physical location points”, which is a step of storing information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“receive a plurality of items, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon, the destination location identifier comprising: one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic are corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“receive, from the item processing apparatus, the destination location identifier”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“query the memory to identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific two-dimensional geographic area from the plurality of stored location codes, the location code corresponding to one of the plurality of two-dimensional geographic areas”, which is a step of querying memory to identify information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“query the memory to identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific physical location point from the plurality of stored grid coordinates, the grid coordinates corresponding to one of the plurality of physical location points”, which is a step of querying memory to identify information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“…send…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitations:
“a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates corresponding to individual physical location points”, which is a step of storing information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“an item processing apparatus configured to receive a destination location identifier comprising: one of the plurality of location codes; and grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the two-dimensional geographic area corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“receive from the item processing apparatus the destination location identifier”, which is a step of receiving information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“query the memory to select, based on the destination location identifier, a specific location code and grid coordinate value”, which is a step of querying memory to select information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“send the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus for use with an item, wherein sending the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus causes the item processing apparatus to physically sort the item with a plurality of other items using the generated location identifier”, which is a step of sending information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“…send…formatted destination location identifiers according to the format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route”, which is a step of sending information, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of physical location points comprises delivery addresses”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the location code further identifies a distribution facility located within the identified two-dimensional geographic area”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner and wherein receiving the destination location identifier from each of the plurality of items comprises scanning, via the scanner, the destination location identifier on each of the plurality of items”, which is a step of receiving information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner” and “scanning, via the scanner” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the destination location identifier is a computer readable code”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of physical location points comprise delivery addresses”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the location code further identifies a distribution facility located within the identified two-dimensional geographic area”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to read the destination location identifier on each of the plurality of items”, which is a step of reading information.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 6, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper read destination location identifier on each of a plurality of items, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the destination location identifier is expressed in computer readable format”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 6, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper read a destination location identifier expressed in a computer readable format, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to read the destination location from an item”, which is a step of reading information.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper read a destination location from an item, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 13 recites additional limitations, such as:
“encode the generated location identifier in a computer readable code” which is a step of encoding an identifier in a computer readable code.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper encode a location identifier in a computer readable code, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the processor is further configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
“and transmit the computer readable code to the item processing apparatus”, which is a step of transmitting information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
The additional elements “wherein the processor is further configured to” and “to the item processing apparatus” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 14 recites additional limitations, such as:
“receive an item”, which is a step of receiving information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At Step 2B, the step recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“and to affix the physical representation of the generated location identifier to the received item”, which is a step of adding or storing information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to insignificant application, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 15 recites additional limitation such as:
“generate a physical representation of the generated location identifier”, which is a step of generating a representation of information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data manipulation or outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 16 recites additional limitations, such as:
“receive an item”, which is a step of receiving information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“and to affix the physical representation of the generated location identifier to the received item”, which is a step of adding or storing information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to insignificant application, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
The additional elements “wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 17 recites additional limitations, such as:
“read the generated location identifier on the received item”, which is a step of reading information.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper read an identifier on an item, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“and sort a received item according to the location identifier”, which is a step of sorting based on information.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper sort items according to location identifiers, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “wherein the scanner is further configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 18 recites additional limitations, such as:
“read a location identifier from an item”, which is a step of reading information.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 11, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper read an identifier from an item, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“and request the associated destination location identifier”, which is a step of requesting or querying for information.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
The additional elements “wherein the system further comprises a mobile device having a scanner and a communication module in communication with the processor, wherein the scanner is configured to” are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-18 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz (US Pub 2007/0062851) in view of Vicari (US Pub 2014/0279704) and in further view of Zhang (US Pat 10,643,171).
With respect to claim 1, Schulz discloses a method of sorting items (Schulz in [0022] and [0041] discloses collected packages are sorted based on package information, postal codes, and/or geo coordinates) comprising:
storing, in a memory, a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual…geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates each corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0006] and [0023] discloses packaging code and routing codes are transmitted and stored in the central computer, interpreted as stored in a memory of the computer; Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as location codes corresponding to an individual geographic area having a plurality of delivery points or addresses and grid coordinates corresponding to physical location points; Schulz in [0038] and [0041] discloses package routing codes are divided in accordance with corresponding postal codes in different zones wherein the assignment of the postal code areas to the HUB center is fixed and unequivocal, sorting packages in accordance with package information, HUB centers, routing areas, postal codes, geo coordinates, and/or basic data of the central computer; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area, but the Vicari reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
receiving a plurality of items in an item processing apparatus, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates), the destination location identifier comprising:
one of the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates); and
grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the… geographic area corresponding to the one or the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates);
receiving the destination location identifier from each of the plurality of items (Schulz in [0005] and [0006] discloses utilizing data acquisition and processing technology the labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like applied in the form of an identification code on the packages are checked, and the packages are sorted and routed using the codes);
identifying, in the memory, based on the received location code, a specific…geographic area from the plurality of stored location codes, the location code corresponding to one of the plurality of…geographic areas (Schulz in [0007] and [0027] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path; Schulz in [0028] and [0029] discloses compared package codes and routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc.);
identifying, in the memory, based on the received grid coordinates, a specific physical location point from the plurality of stored grid coordinates for each of the plurality of items, the grid coordinates corresponding to one of the plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses); and
physically sorting the plurality of items in the item processing apparatus, based on the received grid coordinates, into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route within the…geographic area, the predetermined delivery route including the plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle).
selecting…individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points…based at least in part on the individual physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below); and
generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points… destination location identifiers according to…format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Schulz discloses location codes corresponding to an individual geographic area and further discloses location codes corresponding to a particular zone, an area within the zone, and an address within the area, however, Schulz does not explicitly disclose:
…location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area…;
The Vicari reference discloses location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area (Vicari in [0023] discloses postal zip code using five digits plus four additional digits to identify a geographic segment within the five digit delivery area, such as a city block, a group of apartments, and individual receiver or mail or any other unit that uses the extra identifier to aid in efficient mail sorting and delivery, determining the zip code from the address along with even more specific delivery point, using an eleven digit postal code on mail pieces that uses nine digits for the zip plus four digit code and two for the delivery point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schulz and Vicari, to have combined Schulz and Vicari. The motivation to combine Schulz and Vicari would be to efficiently sort and deliver mail by using a postal code that accurately identifies a geographic segment within a delivery area (Vicari: [0023]).
Schulz discloses selecting, generating, and sending destination location identifiers based on individual physical location points and transmitting data to a device of a delivery driver, however, Schulz and Vicari do not explicitly disclose:
selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points; and
generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers…;
The Zhang reference discloses selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of a plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, and generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers (Zhang in Column 2 line 42 - Column 3 line 53 discloses delivery system determining delivery route based on location information, delivery route displayed in a map format, a numerical distance from an address, or any other appropriate format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schultz, Vicari, and Zhang, to have combined Schultz, Vicari, and Zhang. The motivation to combine Schultz, Vicari, and Zhang would be dynamically adjusting delivery route information by determining location data during the delivery time window (Zhang: Column 1 lines 46-49 and Column 3 lines 32-53).
With respect to claim 2, Schulz in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of physical location points comprises delivery addresses (Schulz in [0021] and [0024] discloses based on the address provided on the label the package is delivered to the addressee).
With respect to claim 3, Schulz in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang i discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the location code further identifies a distribution facility located within the identified two-dimensional geographic area (Schulz in [0024] discloses based on the information identified from the package routing code the packages are delivered to a distribution center).
With respect to claim 4, Schulz in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner and wherein receiving the destination location identifier from each of the plurality of items comprises scanning, via the scanner, the destination location identifier on each of the plurality of items (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
With respect to claim 5, Schulz in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the destination location identifier is a computer readable code (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
Claim(s) 6-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz (US Pub 2007/0062851) in view of Belenkiy (US Pub 2012/0106738) in view of Vicari (US Pub 2014/0279704) and in further view of Zhang (US Pat 10,643,171).
With respect to claim 6, Schulz discloses a system for sorting items comprising:
a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual…geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates each corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0006] and [0023] discloses packaging code and routing codes are transmitted and stored in the central computer, interpreted as stored in a memory of the computer; Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as location codes corresponding to an individual geographic area having a plurality of delivery points or addresses and grid coordinates corresponding to physical location points; Schulz in [0038] and [0041] discloses package routing codes are divided in accordance with corresponding postal codes in different zones wherein the assignment of the postal code areas to the HUB center is fixed and unequivocal, sorting packages in accordance with package information, HUB centers, routing areas, postal codes, geo coordinates, and/or basic data of the central computer; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area, but the Vicari reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
an item processing apparatus (Schulz in [0007] and [0040] discloses a computer with adaptive program components configured to generate and store package routing codes and features) configured to:
receive a plurality of items, each of the plurality of items having a destination location identifier located thereon (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates), the destination location identifier comprising:
one of the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates); and
grid coordinates identifying a physical location point with the…geographic area corresponding to one of the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates); and
read the destination location identifier (Schulz in [0005] and [0006] discloses utilizing data acquisition and processing technology the labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like applied in the form of an identification code on the packages are checked, and the packages are sorted and routed using the codes);
one or more processors (Schulz in [0007] and [0040] discloses computer with adaptive program components configured to generate and store package routing codes and features, a computer inherently includes one or more processors) configured to:
receive, from the item processing apparatus, the destination location identifier (Schulz in [0005] and [0006] discloses utilizing data acquisition and processing technology the labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like applied in the form of an identification code on the packages are checked, and the packages are sorted and routed using the codes);
…identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific… geographic area from the plurality of stored location codes, the location code corresponding to one of the plurality of…geographic areas (Schulz in [0007] and [0027] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path; Schulz in [0028] and [0029] discloses compared package codes and routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc.; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose querying a memory to identify, but the Belenkiy reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
…identify, based on the destination location identifier, a specific physical location point from the plurality of stored grid coordinates, the grid coordinates corresponding to one of the plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose querying a memory to identify, but the Belenkiy reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
physically sort, in the item processing apparatus, the plurality of items based on the received grid coordinates, into an order corresponding to a predetermined delivery route within the…geographic area, the predetermined delivery route including the plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle;
select…individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points…based at least in part on the individual physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below); and
generate and send, based on the individual physical location points… destination location identifiers according to…format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Schulz discloses receiving and storing location codes and geo coordinates, identifying based on the location codes and geo coordinates geographic area and locations, and sorting items for a delivery route based on the geo coordinates, however, Schulz does not explicitly disclose:
query the memory to identify…;
The Belenkiy reference discloses querying a memory to identify (Belenkiy in [0016] and [0024] discloses each location on earth is associated with a grid coordinate, storing grid coordinates associated with each user in a location database; Belenkiy in [0058] and [0076] discloses matching querying user’s grid coordinate with stored grid coordinates in the database; Belenkiy in [0072] and [0081] discloses database stored in computing device comprising memory for storage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schulz and Belenkiy, to have combined Schulz and Belenkiy. The motivation to combine Schulz and Belenkiy would be to make location information available in a private and secure manner by employing location data encryption (Belenkiy: [0003] and [0029]).
Schulz discloses location codes corresponding to an individual geographic area and further discloses location codes corresponding to a particular zone, an area within the zone, and an address within the area, however, Schulz and Belenkiy do not explicitly disclose:
…location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area…;
The Vicari reference discloses location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area (Vicari in [0023] discloses postal zip code using five digits plus four additional digits to identify a geographic segment within the five digit delivery area, such as a city block, a group of apartments, and individual receiver or mail or any other unit that uses the extra identifier to aid in efficient mail sorting and delivery, determining the zip code from the address along with even more specific delivery point, using an eleven digit postal code on mail pieces that uses nine digits for the zip plus four digit code and two for the delivery point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari, to have combined Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari. The motivation to combine Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari would be to efficiently sort and deliver mail by using a postal code that accurately identifies a geographic segment within a delivery area (Vicari: [0023]).
Schulz discloses selecting, generating, and sending destination location identifiers based on individual physical location points and transmitting data to a device of a delivery driver, however, Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari do not explicitly disclose:
select a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points; and
generate and send, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers…;
The Zhang reference discloses selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of a plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, and generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers (Zhang in Column 2 line 42 - Column 3 line 53 discloses delivery system determining delivery route based on location information, delivery route displayed in a map format, a numerical distance from an address, or any other appropriate format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang, to have combined Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang. The motivation to combine Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang would be dynamically adjusting delivery route information by determining location data during the delivery time window (Zhang: Column 1 lines 46-49 and Column 3 lines 32-53).
With respect to claim 7, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of physical location points comprise delivery addresses (Schulz in [0021] and [0024] discloses based on the address provided on the label the package is delivered to the addressee).
With respect to claim 8, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the location code further identifies a distribution facility located within the identified two-dimensional geographic area (Schulz in [0024] discloses based on the information identified from the package routing code the packages are delivered to a distribution center).
With respect to claim 9, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to read the destination location identifier on each of the plurality of items (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
With respect to claim 10, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the destination location identifier is expressed in computer readable format (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
With respect to claim 11, Schulz discloses a system for generating a location identifier for use with an item, the system comprising:
a memory storing a plurality of location codes, each of the plurality of location codes corresponding to an individual…geographic area having a plurality of delivery points therein, and grid coordinates each corresponding to one of a plurality of physical location points (Schulz in [0007] and [0040] discloses computer with adaptive program components generating and storing package routing codes and features, interpreted as stored in a memory in the computer; Schulz in [0021] and [0022] discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee);
an item processing apparatus configured to receive a destination location identifier (Schulz in [0007] and [0040] and in Figure 4 discloses computer with adaptive program components for generating and storing package routing codes and features; Schulz in [0021] and [0022] discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee) comprising:
one of the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates); and
grid coordinates identifying a physical location point within the… geographic area corresponding to the one of the plurality of location codes (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] and in Figure 4 discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee, interpreted as grid coordinates); and
one or more processors in communication with the item processing apparatus (Schulz in [0007] and [0040] discloses computer with adaptive program components configured to generate and store package routing codes and features, a computer is a processing apparatus which inherently includes one or more processors) configured to:
receive from the item processing apparatus the destination location identifier (Schulz in [0021] and [0022] discloses packages to be transported to an addressee are collected and transported to a sorting center that is connected to one or several collecting locations, packages are provided with address, package number or the like as package code, the code also contains geo coordinates for the address of the addressee);
…select, based on the destination location identifier, a specific location code and grid coordinate value (Schulz in [0007] and [0027] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path; Schulz in [0028] and [0029] discloses compared package codes and routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc.; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose querying a memory to select, but the Belenkiy reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
generate a location identifier using the selected location code and grid coordinate value (Schulz in [0007] and [0027] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path; Schulz in [0028] and [0029] discloses compared package codes and routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc.; Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied to package by means of an adhesive label);
send the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus for use with an item, wherein sending the generated location identifier to the item processing apparatus causes the item processing apparatus to physically sort the item with a plurality of other items using the generated location identifier (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied to package by means of an adhesive label; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle);
select…individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points…based at least in part on the individual physical location points (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below); and
generate and send, based on the individual physical location points… destination location identifiers according to…format for display on a user device carried by a delivery agent on the delivery route (Schulz in [0007], [0008], and [0029] discloses the stored package codes in the central computer are matched and compared with collected packages to sort and route the packages to distribution areas, routing data guides carriers along a shortest possible transport path, routing codes for packages associated with geo coordinates, address data, route number, transport box location, route planning data etc., realizing routing path to simultaneously transport and deliver several packages by a carrier to final addresses; Schulz in [0013] discloses transmitting data derived from package routing code to a mobile device in the area of the driver so that in the device a traceable stop list in available and at the same time distinct information for selecting a route is available for a navigation system provided in the distribution vehicle; here Schulz does not explicitly disclose generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers, but the Zhang reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Schulz discloses receiving and storing location codes and geo coordinates, identifying based on the location codes and geo coordinates geographic area and locations, and sorting items for a delivery route based on the geo coordinates, however, Schulz does not explicitly disclose:
query the memory to select…;
The Belenkiy reference discloses querying a memory to select (Belenkiy in [0016] and [0024] discloses each location on earth is associated with a grid coordinate, storing grid coordinates associated with each user in a location database; Belenkiy in [0058] and [0076] discloses matching querying user’s grid coordinate with stored grid coordinates in the database; Belenkiy in [0072] and [0081] discloses database stored in computing device comprising memory for storage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schulz and Belenkiy, to have combined Schulz and Belenkiy. The motivation to combine Schulz and Belenkiy would be to make location information available in a private and secure manner by employing location data encryption (Belenkiy: [0003] and [0029]).
Schulz discloses location codes corresponding to an individual geographic area and further discloses location codes corresponding to a particular zone, an area within the zone, and an address within the area, however, Schulz and Belenkiy do not explicitly disclose:
…location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area…;
The Vicari reference discloses location codes corresponding to an individual two-dimensional geographic area (Vicari in [0023] discloses postal zip code using five digits plus four additional digits to identify a geographic segment within the five digit delivery area, such as a city block, a group of apartments, and individual receiver or mail or any other unit that uses the extra identifier to aid in efficient mail sorting and delivery, determining the zip code from the address along with even more specific delivery point, using an eleven digit postal code on mail pieces that uses nine digits for the zip plus four digit code and two for the delivery point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari, to have combined Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari. The motivation to combine Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari would be to efficiently sort and deliver mail by using a postal code that accurately identifies a geographic segment within a delivery area (Vicari: [0023]).
Schulz discloses selecting, generating, and sending destination location identifiers based on individual physical location points and transmitting data to a device of a delivery driver, however, Schulz, Belenkiy, and Vicari do not explicitly disclose:
select a format for displaying individual physical location points of the plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points; and
generate and send, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers…;
The Zhang reference discloses selecting a format for displaying individual physical location points of a plurality of physical location points, wherein the format is selected from a plurality of display formats based at least in part on the individual physical location points, and generating and sending, based on the individual physical location points, formatted destination location identifiers (Zhang in Column 2 line 42 - Column 3 line 53 discloses delivery system determining delivery route based on location information, delivery route displayed in a map format, a numerical distance from an address, or any other appropriate format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang, to have combined Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang. The motivation to combine Schultz, Belenkiy, Vicari, and Zhang would be dynamically adjusting delivery route information by determining location data during the delivery time window (Zhang: Column 1 lines 46-49 and Column 3 lines 32-53).
With respect to claim 12, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the item processing apparatus comprises a scanner configured to read the destination location from an item (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
With respect to claim 13, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to encode the generated location identifier in a computer readable code and transmit the computer readable code to the item processing apparatus (Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied by means of an adhesive label).
With respect to claim 14, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to receive an item and to affix the physical representation of the generated location identifier to the received item (Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied by means of an adhesive label).
With respect to claim 15, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to generate a physical representation of the generated location identifier (Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied by means of an adhesive label).
With respect to claim 16, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the item processing apparatus is further configured to receive an item and to affix the physical representation of the generated location identifier to the received item (Schulz in [0005] and [0021] discloses packages are provided with a label with address, package number or the like as a package code, package code includes an electronically readable identification number, labels, geo coordinates of the address and the like are applied in the form of an identification code on the packages; Schulz in [0030] discloses package routing code applied by means of an adhesive label).
With respect to claim 17, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the scanner is further configured to read the generated location identifier on the received item and sort a received item according to the location identifier (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
With respect to claim 18, Schulz in view of Belenkiy in view of Vicari and in further view of Zhang discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the system further comprises a mobile device having a scanner and a communication module in communication with the processor, wherein the scanner is configured to read a location identifier from an item and request the associated destination location identifier (Schulz in [0002] discloses package codes contained in a routing label detected by a scanner; Schulz in [0009] and [0013] discloses using a mobile scanner to identify and track packages being transported).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159