DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/14/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 8-12 have been amended; and no claims have been cancelled nor added. Thus, claims 1-12 are presently pending in this application.
Specification
The amendment filed 04/14/26 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the written description portions corresponding to the newly amended claim limitations of the independent claims (e.g., “the output of the laser beam is defined as P and the drawing speed of the laser beam is defined as V; a relationship between the output P of the laser beam and the drawing speed V of the laser beam satisfies P/V=C; the output P of the laser beam and the drawing speed V of the laser beam are controlled so as to satisfy P/V = C; and C is a constant and is a value corresponding to at least a shape of a welded portion of the workpiece or a penetration shape at the welded portion of the workpiece.”). The Examiner is unable to find within either the originally filed patent application’s written description or the foreign priority patent application a recitation of the newly amended equation of P / V = C. Furthermore, the only expression included within the originally filed patent application which includes the aforementioned identifiers is presented at para. [0060]-[0061]: “When output of laser beam LB is denoted by P in the present exemplary embodiment, output P and drawing speed V of laser beam LB are controlled to allow a relationship between output P and drawing speed V when the Lissajous pattern illustrated in FIG. 4 is drawn by laser beam LB to satisfy a relationship represented by Expression (7) below. PV=const (7) where const. is a constant, and is a value corresponding to a shape of a weld of workpiece 200, which is an object to be welded, a penetration shape in the weld, or the like.”
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The independent claims of the instant patent application have been amended to include the following newly presented claim limitation: “the output of the laser beam is defined as P and the drawing speed of the laser beam is defined as V; a relationship between the output P of the laser beam and the drawing speed V of the laser beam satisfies P/V=C; the output P of the laser beam and the drawing speed V of the laser beam are controlled so as to satisfy P/V = C; and C is a constant and is a value corresponding to at least a shape of a welded portion of the workpiece or a penetration shape at the welded portion of the workpiece.”. However, the Examiner is unable to find within either the originally filed patent applications written description or the foreign priority patent application at least a recitation of the newly amended equation of P / V = C. Furthermore, the only expression included within the originally filed patent application which includes the aforementioned identifiers (e.g, P, V, and “constant”) is presented at para. [0060]-[0061]: “When output of laser beam LB is denoted by P in the present exemplary embodiment, output P and drawing speed V of laser beam LB are controlled to allow a relationship between output P and drawing speed V when the Lissajous pattern illustrated in FIG. 4 is drawn by laser beam LB to satisfy a relationship represented by Expression (7) below. PV=const (7) where const. is a constant, and is a value corresponding to a shape of a weld of workpiece 200, which is an object to be welded, a penetration shape in the weld, or the like.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabilondo (EP 3674427) in view of Mochizuki et al. (US 11167377).
With regard to claim 1, Gabilondo teaches a laser welding method comprising a welding step of welding a workpiece (100) (“The heating can be for the purpose of any kind of heat treatment, such as surface hardening, welding, solidification, etc”, para. [0022]) by irradiating a surface of the workpiece (100) with a laser beam (2; FIG. 1E) by two-dimensionally sweeping the laser beam (“he beam being repetitively scanned in two dimensions in accordance with a scanning pattern so as to establish an effective spot (21) on the object”, Abstract) while causing the laser beam to travel in a first direction (beam travel illustrated in FIG. 1E in a first direction by arrow), wherein the welding step includes sweeping the laser beam to draw a predetermined pattern on the surface of the workpiece, and the predetermined pattern is a continuous pattern in which two annular patterns are in contact with each other at one point (FIG. 2 illustrates a continuous pattern with two annular patterns (221/222) in contact with one another).
With regard to the limitation of “controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern”, Gabilondo teaches “The two-dimensional energy distribution is further determined by additional parameters such as scanning speed and/or beam power, which in some embodiments of the invention can be set differently in relation to different segments of the scanning pattern, for example, segments determined by the control points. Different scanning patterns and/or different parameters such as beam power and scanning speed can be assigned to different portions of the track (to be) followed by the effective spot.”, (Gabilondo, para. [0023]), and it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as Gabilondo recognizes that achieving a desired heating value is a result-effective variable based upon drawing speed and laser beam output that achieves a recognized result, namely a desired temperature value. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Mochizuki is additionally and/or supplementally cited for teaching the aforementioned limitation if it was determined that Gabilondo does not teach the aforementioned limitation (i.e., “controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern”) as detailed herein: “the laser machining condition set in advance by the machining condition setting unit 18 is desirably changed at least temporarily. More specifically, a laser machining condition containing both a laser beam output condition and a relative move speed of the machining head 9 relative to the workpiece 8 is changed to a laser machining condition under which the laser beam output is reduced and at the same time, the relative move speed of the machining head 9 is reduced, for example, to allow a temperature at a machining point or a temperature at the workpiece 8 in the vicinity of the machining point to be maintained at a temperature close to an intended temperature.”, (Mochizuki, col. 21, ln. 14-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Gabilondo reference, such that controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern, as suggested and taught by Mochizuki, for the purpose of providing reduced occurrences of a defective part (Mochizuki: col. 21, ln. 20-27). Furthermore, the newly amended claim limitations as detailed above do not find support within the originally filed written description of the instant patent application and are accordingly not provided with patentable weight.
With regard to claims 2, Gabilondo teaches the predetermined pattern is a Lissajous pattern in an 8-shape or 8-shape turned sideways (“The scanning patterns have been established by using a basic pattern layout, for example, based on a program for creating Lissajous patterns or similar, and by determining the positions of control points 220 in relation to a coordinate system (not shown), in line with what has been explained in relation to figure 9.”, para. [0084]; FIG. 2), and the welding step includes sweeping the laser beam to draw the Lissajous pattern on the surface of the workpiece by vibrating the laser beam not only at a first frequency in the first direction in a sinusoidal wave shape but also at a second frequency in a second direction intersecting the first direction in a sinusoidal wave shape (“heating a certain region or area of the object to a desired extent in terms of temperature and duration can be accomplished more rapidly than if the heating is carried out by simply displacing the primary spot over the entire area, for example, following a sinusoidal or meandering pattern, or a straight line. “, para. [0015]; FIG. 9 illustrates a scanning pattern 21 with four lobes 221, 222, 223, and 224 with specific positional control points listed in FIG. 9, and additionally, “The energy applied to each segment during one scan is determined by the beam power, scanning speed and length of the segment. With these data, the energy distribution throughout the effective spot created by the two-dimensional scanning determined by the scanning pattern can be estimated or calculated. By changing one or more of the parameters (scanning pattern, scanning speed, beam power...), the two-dimensional energy distribution can be changed. Thus, it is easy to tailor the two-dimensional energy distribution for different needs, such as for different applications and objects, taking into account varying characteristics of the object (and/or of the desired heating) along the track to be followed by the effective spot (such as, for example, a varying width of a track to be heated, the presence of more heat sensitive portions, etc.).”, para. [0083]; “Additionally, or alternatively, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10 Hz, preferably more than 25 Hz, more preferably more than 100 Hz. In some embodiments of the invention, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10, 25, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200 or 300 Hz (i.e., repetitions of the scanning pattern per second). A high repetition rate can be appropriate to reduce or prevent non-desired temperature fluctuations in the areas being heated by the effective spot, between each scanning cycle, that is, between each sweep of the beam along the scanning pattern”, para. [0045]).
With regard to claims 3 and 7, although Gabilondo does not explicitly teach a ratio of the first frequency to the second frequency is 2:1 or 1:2, it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Gabilondo reference as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as the frequency is a result effective variable with regard to maintaining a desired temperature (“heating a certain region or area of the object to a desired extent in terms of temperature and duration can be accomplished more rapidly than if the heating is carried out by simply displacing the primary spot over the entire area, for example, following a sinusoidal or meandering pattern, or a straight line. “, para. [0015]; FIG. 9 illustrates a scanning pattern 21 with four lobes 221, 222, 223, and 224 with specific positional control points listed in FIG. 9, and additionally, “The energy applied to each segment during one scan is determined by the beam power, scanning speed and length of the segment. With these data, the energy distribution throughout the effective spot created by the two-dimensional scanning determined by the scanning pattern can be estimated or calculated. By changing one or more of the parameters (scanning pattern, scanning speed, beam power...), the two-dimensional energy distribution can be changed. Thus, it is easy to tailor the two-dimensional energy distribution for different needs, such as for different applications and objects, taking into account varying characteristics of the object (and/or of the desired heating) along the track to be followed by the effective spot (such as, for example, a varying width of a track to be heated, the presence of more heat sensitive portions, etc.).”, para. [0083]; “Additionally, or alternatively, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10 Hz, preferably more than 25 Hz, more preferably more than 100 Hz. In some embodiments of the invention, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10, 25, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200 or 300 Hz (i.e., repetitions of the scanning pattern per second). A high repetition rate can be appropriate to reduce or prevent non-desired temperature fluctuations in the areas being heated by the effective spot, between each scanning cycle, that is, between each sweep of the beam along the scanning pattern”, para. [0045]).
With regard to claims 4 and 8, Gabilondo teaches the drawing speed of the laser beam is controlled to be constant over an entire length of the predetermined pattern (“The two-dimensional energy distribution is further determined by additional parameters such as scanning speed and/or beam power, which in some embodiments of the invention can be set differently in relation to different segments of the scanning pattern, for example, segments determined by the control points. Different scanning patterns and/or different parameters such as beam power and scanning speed can be assigned to different portions of the track (to be) followed by the effective spot.”, (Gabilondo, para. [0023]).
With regard to claim 5, Gabilondo teaches A laser welding device (FIG. 1C) at least comprising: a laser oscillator (1) that generates a laser beam (2); a laser head (500, FIG. 6) that receives the laser beam and irradiates a workpiece (100) with the laser beam (2); and a controller (“computer”: “A user can for example define a series of points via an interface, and a computer device can then construct a curve that follows the series of points, often referred to as control points. Sometimes a curve that passes through the control points is referred to as an "interpolating curve", whereas a curve that passes near to the control points but not necessarily through them is referred to as an "approximating curve". It has been found that this approach allows users to design appropriate scanning patterns by selecting points on a two-dimensional plane. A smooth curve without any sharp corners can then be established using suitable computer software, for example.”, para. [0033]) that controls operation of the laser head (500) (“Figure 6 schematically illustrates how a processing head 500, in accordance with one possible embodiment of the invention, can include a scanner 3 arranged to be displaced in relation to an object such as a sheet metal object 100 to be subjected to heat-treatment, in this case, a pillar for a vehicle. The processing head 500 is connected to actuators 501 through linkages 502. In this embodiment of the invention, the displacement is based on the parallel manipulator concept. However, any other suitable means of displacement of the processing head can be used, such as a robot arm, etc”, para. [0078]), wherein the laser head includes a laser scanner (3, FIG. 6) that sweeps the laser beam in each of a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction, the controller is configured to drive and control the laser scanner to cause the laser beam to draw a predetermined pattern on a surface of the workpiece (“the beam (and the primary spot that the beam projects on the interface area) is repetitively scanned at a relatively high speed following a scanning pattern with a smooth shape, schematically illustrated as four lobes, although any other suitable scanning pattern can be used, thereby creating an effective spot 21, illustrated as a square in figure 5. This is achieved by using the scanner 3. This effective spot 21 is displaced according to the track 404, for example, as shown in figure 5, in parallel with the X axis of the system. The displacement of the effective laser spot 21 along the track can likewise be achieved by the scanner 3, and/or by displacement of the scanner or associated equipment, for example, along rails (not shown in figure 5), such as rails extending in parallel with the X axis. It can also be achieved by, for example, displacing the parts 401 and 402 in relation to the position of the scanner.”, para. [0075]-[0076], and the predetermined pattern is a continuous pattern in which two annular patterns are in contact with each other at one point (FIG. 2 illustrates a continuous pattern with two annular patterns (221/222) in contact with one another)
With regard to the limitation of “controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern”, Gabilondo teaches “The two-dimensional energy distribution is further determined by additional parameters such as scanning speed and/or beam power, which in some embodiments of the invention can be set differently in relation to different segments of the scanning pattern, for example, segments determined by the control points. Different scanning patterns and/or different parameters such as beam power and scanning speed can be assigned to different portions of the track (to be) followed by the effective spot.”, (Gabilondo, para. [0023]), and it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as Gabilondo recognizes that achieving a desired heating value is a result-effective variable based upon drawing speed and laser beam output that achieves a recognized result, namely a desired temperature value. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Mochizuki is additionally and/or supplementally cited for teaching the aforementioned limitation if it was determined that Gabilondo does not teach the aforementioned limitation (i.e., “controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern”) as detailed herein: “the laser machining condition set in advance by the machining condition setting unit 18 is desirably changed at least temporarily. More specifically, a laser machining condition containing both a laser beam output condition and a relative move speed of the machining head 9 relative to the workpiece 8 is changed to a laser machining condition under which the laser beam output is reduced and at the same time, the relative move speed of the machining head 9 is reduced, for example, to allow a temperature at a machining point or a temperature at the workpiece 8 in the vicinity of the machining point to be maintained at a temperature close to an intended temperature.”, (Mochizuki, col. 21, ln. 14-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Gabilondo reference, such that controlling drawing speed and output of the laser beam to have an equal amount of heat input per unit drawing length in the predetermined pattern over an entire length of the predetermined pattern, as suggested and taught by Mochizuki, for the purpose of providing reduced occurrences of a defective part (Mochizuki: col. 21, ln. 20-27).
With regard to claim 6, Gabilondo teaches the predetermined pattern is a Lissajous pattern in an 8-shape or 8-shape turned sideways (“The scanning patterns have been established by using a basic pattern layout, for example, based on a program for creating Lissajous patterns or similar, and by determining the positions of control points 220 in relation to a coordinate system (not shown), in line with what has been explained in relation to figure 9.”, para. [0084]; FIG. 2), and the controller drives and controls the laser scanner (3) to allow the laser beam to draw the Lissajous pattern on the surface of the workpiece by vibrating the laser beam not only at a first frequency in the first direction in a sinusoidal wave shape but also at a second frequency in a second direction intersecting the first direction in a sinusoidal wave shape (“heating a certain region or area of the object to a desired extent in terms of temperature and duration can be accomplished more rapidly than if the heating is carried out by simply displacing the primary spot over the entire area, for example, following a sinusoidal or meandering pattern, or a straight line. “, para. [0015]; FIG. 9 illustrates a scanning pattern 21 with four lobes 221, 222, 223, and 224 with specific positional control points listed in FIG. 9, and additionally, “The energy applied to each segment during one scan is determined by the beam power, scanning speed and length of the segment. With these data, the energy distribution throughout the effective spot created by the two-dimensional scanning determined by the scanning pattern can be estimated or calculated. By changing one or more of the parameters (scanning pattern, scanning speed, beam power...), the two-dimensional energy distribution can be changed. Thus, it is easy to tailor the two-dimensional energy distribution for different needs, such as for different applications and objects, taking into account varying characteristics of the object (and/or of the desired heating) along the track to be followed by the effective spot (such as, for example, a varying width of a track to be heated, the presence of more heat sensitive portions, etc.).”, para. [0083]; “Additionally, or alternatively, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10 Hz, preferably more than 25 Hz, more preferably more than 100 Hz. In some embodiments of the invention, the beam is scanned in accordance with the scanning pattern so that the scanning pattern is repeated by the beam with a frequency of more than 10, 25, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200 or 300 Hz (i.e., repetitions of the scanning pattern per second). A high repetition rate can be appropriate to reduce or prevent non-desired temperature fluctuations in the areas being heated by the effective spot, between each scanning cycle, that is, between each sweep of the beam along the scanning pattern”, para. [0045]).
With regard to claim 9, Gabilondo teaches a manipulator (501/502) to which the laser head (500) is attached, wherein the controller controls an operation of the manipulator, and the manipulator (501/502) moves the laser head (500) in a predetermined direction against the surface of the workpiece (“Figure 6 schematically illustrates how a processing head 500, in accordance with one possible embodiment of the invention, can include a scanner 3 arranged to be displaced in relation to an object such as a sheet metal object 100 to be subjected to heat-treatment, in this case, a pillar for a vehicle. The processing head 500 is connected to actuators 501 through linkages 502. In this embodiment of the invention, the displacement is based on the parallel manipulator concept. However, any other suitable means of displacement of the processing head can be used, such as a robot arm, etc.”, para. [0078]).
With regard to claim 10, Gabilondo teaches the laser oscillator and the laser head are connected by an optical fiber, and the laser beam is transmitted from the laser oscillator to the laser head through the optical fiber (“Adapting the power of the beam (2), such as by selectively turning the beam on and off (this includes interruption of the beam at its source, as well as other options such as interruption of the beam by interference with the path of the beam, for example with a shutter, and combinations thereof. For example, when using a laser such as a fiber laser, the laser beam can be switched on and off very rapidly, thus making it possible to obtain a desired energy distribution by turning the laser beam on and off while following the scanning pattern.”, para. [0036]).
With regard to claim 11, Gabilondo teaches the laser scanner includes a first galvano-mirror configured to sweep the laser beam in the first direction, and a second galvano-mirror configured to sweep the laser beam in the second direction intersecting the first direction (“in some embodiments the scanner is a galvanometric scanner. In some embodiments the scanner comprises two or more scanning mirrors or other reflecting elements configured to deflect the energy beam. The data indicative of the second scanning pattern can, for example, comprise data originating from encoders of the scanner, for example, encoders indicative of the real movements of the mirrors or similar of the scanner. “, para. [0054])“.
With regard to claim 12, Gabilando teaches the laser head further includes a focal position adjustment mechanism, and the focal position adjustment mechanism is configured to cause a focal position of the laser beam to change along a direction intersecting each of the first direction and the second direction (“focus of the beam and/or the size of the primary spot are dynamically adapted during displacement of the primary spot along the scanning pattern and/or during displacement of the effective spot in relation to the surface of the object. In some embodiments of the invention, focus of the beam is dynamically adapted during displacement of the primary spot along the scanning pattern and/or during displacement of the effective spot in relation to the object. For example, when a laser beam is used, the laser focus along the optical axis can be dynamically modified during the process, for example, so as to vary or maintain the size of the primary laser spot while it is being displaced along the scanning pattern, and/or while the effective laser spot is being displaced in relation to the surface of the object. For example, the optical focus can be adapted to keep the size of the primary spot constant while the primary spot is moving over the surface of the object (for example, to compensate for varying distances between the laser source or the scanner and the position of the primary laser spot on the surface of the object).”, para. [0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/26 have been fully considered and are addressed hereafter. Newly presented rejections are included herein in response to the newly presented claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761