DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/158,538 filed on 01/24/2023 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 02/27/2025.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 05/16/2025. Claims 1 and 20 are amended, claim 2 is cancelled, and claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1 and 3-21 were examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 08/13/2025.
Applicant filed an RCE on 11/13/2025. Claims 1, 3, 16, 17 and 20 are amended. Claims 1 and 3-21 are presented and pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 with respect to Olander et al. (US 20200214213 A1) in view of McNichols et al. (US 20200281110 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that, Accordingly, the baler of Olander is not capable of depositing bales in both a linear mode and a quarter turn mode in which the formed bale is rotated a quarter turn relative to the linear deposit mode. Accordingly, Olander does not teach a control system with a deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode.
However, this argument is not persuasive, Olander teaches both a linear deposit mode (via the singulator arranging bales into a single linear row without rotation) and a quarter turn deposit mode (via accumulator embodiments that rotate bales by approximately 90 degrees using rotation arms for lateral grouping). Specifically, Olander discloses: “said first rotation arm is configured to rotate the first individual bales in a first direction by about 90 degrees, wherein said second rotation arm is configured to rotate the second individual bales in a second direction by about 90 degrees, wherein said first and second directions are opposite of one another.”[Clm. 16]. This rotation enables deposition into groups with a quarter-turn orientation relative to the linear mode. The control system (300) coordinates these operations, receiving data indicative of machine parameters (e.g., via sensors 229 detecting bale presence/completion) and generating control signals to actuators for executing the deposit strategy, including dumping/lifting and rotation for linear or quarter-turn modes. The singulator (e.g., 220) handles linear deposition: “The singulator 220 can receiving first and second individual bales… and manipulate the individual bales such that the individual bales are configured in a single row of bales.”[0132]. The accumulator variants extend this to quarter-turn: “using one or more actuating mechanisms to guide the first and second bales along the bale accumulator”[Clm. 19] and “manipulating first and second bales into a group of four or more bales.”[Clm. 18]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Olander’s accumulator rotation into the baler system for versatile deposition (linear for single-row efficiency or quarter-turn for grouped storage/handling), as both are disclosed embodiments in the same reference for high-capacity baling. Thus, Olander teaches or suggests the control system determining and executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode in dependence on machine parameters.
Applicant further argues that, McNichols also does teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode based on the moisture content of the bales. Accordingly, McNichols cannot cure the deficiencies of Olander. […] Since the cited references fail to teach the control system as required in claim 1, claim 1 is neither anticipated by nor made obvious by the cited reference[…].
However, this argument is not persuasive, While Olander teaches the deposit modes and control system as noted above, McNichols is relied upon for teaching the use of machine parameters, including moisture-related data, to determine operational strategies for agricultural balers. McNichols discloses: “harvesting crops may be more efficient on days when the crops have a certain water content which is affected by presence of rain during the harvesting process.”[0156] And for balers specifically: “In an embodiment, the implement is a baler and the efficiency of the operation of the baler may be dependent on the ability to collect and bale objects in the field based on present weather conditions. For example, the ability to collect and bail crops may be less efficient on windy days than on calm days.”[0156]. McNichols’ control system receives sensor data from weather stations including humidity sensors and rain gauges (indicative of moisture content affecting bales), compares to thresholds: “The mobile computing device continuously compares real-time, then-current weather data received from the weather stations to programmed or configured threshold values relating to a current agricultural operation,”[0043] and generates control signals or warnings to adjust operations: “If the weather data indicates weather conditions that exceed one of the thresholds, a warning message may be generated at the mobile computing device to prompt the operator to confirm whether to continue the operation.”[0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Olander’s control system to incorporate McNichols’ moisture-related parameters (e.g., water content affected by rain/humidity) as the machine parameter for determining the deposit strategy (selecting linear or quarter-turn mode), with the rationale being to optimize baling efficiency and bale quality (e.g., selecting quarter-turn for wetter bales to improve airflow/drying during deposition, or linear for drier conditions to maximize throughput), as both references address high-efficiency agricultural baling under variable field conditions. Thus, the combination teaches the control system as claimed, and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 3, applicant argues that, The baler of Olander is not capable of depositing bales in both a linear mode and a quarter turn mode based on the moisture content of the bales. Accordingly, Olander does not teach a control system with a deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode based on the moisture content. McNichols also does teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode based on the moisture content of the bales. Accordingly, McNichols cannot cure the deficiencies of Olander. […] Since the cited references fail to teach the control system as required in claim 3, claim 3 is neither anticipated by nor made obvious by the cited reference[…].
However, this argument is not persuasive, Claim 3, now independent, incorporates moisture content determination from a moisture sensor as the basis for the deposit strategy. As noted for claim 1, Olander teaches the linear and quarter-turn deposit modes under control system operation. McNichols explicitly ties baling operations to moisture content: “harvesting crops may be more efficient on days when the crops have a certain water content which is affected by presence of rain during the harvesting process,”[0156] with sensors (humidity, rain gauges) providing data indicative of moisture: “The weather stations 706 comprise… digital thermometer, anemometer, rain gauge, humidity sensor.”[0117]. The control system determines strategy based thereon: “Under control of program logic, the mobile computing device continuously compares real-time, then-current weather data received from the weather stations to programmed or configured threshold values relating to a current agricultural operation.”[0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Olander’s deposit mode selection to depend on McNichols’ moisture content determination (via sensors affecting water content), with the rationale being to enhance baling efficiency and prevent issues like mold in wet bales by choosing quarter-turn for better ventilation or linear for standard dry conditions, as McNichols emphasizes weather-dependent baling optimization. Thus, the combination teaches the features of claim 3, and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olander et al. (US 20200214213 A1) in view of McNichols et al. (US 20200281110 A1), hereinafter referred to as Olander and McNichols respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 21, Olander discloses A control system for controlling operation of one or more controllable components configured to control movement of a bale through an ejection chute of an agricultural baler as the agricultural baler moves over a ground surface (FIG. 36 is a schematic diagram of a control system for a high capacity baler”[0044] and “The latching mechanism may be in communication and/or controlled by the control system 300. Once the appropriate number of bales has been grouped into the bale group of the grouping section 404, the latching mechanism of the tailgate 414 may be released, such that the tailgate 414 can rotate upward or downward to permit the group of bales to be released from the grouping section 404 and deposited on the ground.” [0190]), the control system comprising a sensor and one or more controllers,
and configured to: receive from the sensor data indicative of a parameter of a bale formed in the agricultural baler (“The electronic control unit may receive bale length data from each electronic sensor and may send independent instructions to each clutch mechanism 104 to tie off the bales in each baling chamber once each bale has been fully formed to the pre-determined bale length.” [0096]);
determine, in dependence on the parameter of the formed bale, a deposit strategy for depositing the formed bale from the agricultural baler (“The electronic control unit may receive bale length data from each electronic sensor and may send independent instructions to each clutch mechanism 104 to tie off the bales in each baling chamber once each bale has been fully formed to the pre-determined bale length.” [0096]),
and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling one or more operational components associated with the baler in dependence on the determined bale deposit strategy (“As such, the sensor 229 may provide an indication (e.g., a signal) to the control system that the second individual bale is completely received on the right dump cradle 228. However, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the first individual bale has been completely moved off the receiving tray 230. In particular, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the conveyor 232 has been activated for one-half of a rotation, at which time the first individual bale has been pushed rearward off the receiving tray 230 by a first paddle 234 of the conveyor 232. As such, the receiving tray 230 will be generally empty and a second paddle 234 will be positioned at a forward end of the receiving tray 230, such that the receiving tray 230 is open to receive the second individual bale from the right side dump cradle 228, such that the second individual bale can be pushed rearward by the second paddle 234 of the conveyor 232.” [0138]),
wherein the ejection chute comprises a channel having a base wall and first and second side walls extending upwards from either side of the base wall, in which a region of the base wall is provided with a first window (“To further facilitate the distributions and processing of crop material, some embodiments of the baler 10 may include a stationary separation element 44 extending upward from a bottom panel of the rotor housing 24. In some embodiments, the separation element 44 may have a sharpened forward edge so as to act as a blade-like dividing member for cutting crop material that is forced into contact with the separation element 44” [0068]),
and the one or more operational components comprises a deposit mechanism for controlling movement of the formed bale through the first window to deposit the formed bale on the ground surface with either the linear deposit mode or the quarter turn deposit mode (“Once the bales arrive at the exit section 204, the exit section 204 may be configured to manipulate the bales into a single, linear row of bales. For example, the singulator 200 may comprise, as illustrated in FIGS. 17 and 18, an exit section 204 with a pair of pusher members 210 positioned on left and right sides of the exit section 204. The pusher members 210 may be configured as elongated structural members that are configured to push bales towards a center of the singulator 200. In particular, a longitudinal centerline or longitudinal vertical plane may extend generally longitudinally (i.e., fore and aft) through the center of the singulator 200. As such, the center of the singulator 200 will generally include the longitudinal centerline or longitudinal vertical plane of the singulator 200.” [0117]).
Olander does not explicitly teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode.
However, McNichols does teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode in which the formed bale is rotated a quarter turn relative to the linear deposit mode (“In an embodiment, examples of controllers 114 that may be used with such seed planting equipment include: toolbar fold controllers, such as controllers for valves associated with hydraulic cylinders; downforce controllers, such as controllers for valves associated with pneumatic cylinders, airbags, or hydraulic cylinders, and programmed for applying downforce to individual row units or an entire planter frame; planting depth controllers, such as linear actuators; metering controllers, such as electric seed meter drive motors, hydraulic seed meter drive motors, or swath control clutches; hybrid selection controllers, such as seed meter drive motors, or other actuators programmed for selectively allowing or preventing seed or an air-seed mixture from delivering seed to or from seed meters or central bulk hoppers; metering controllers, such as electric seed meter drive motors, or hydraulic seed meter drive motors; seed conveyor system controllers, such as controllers for a belt seed delivery conveyor motor; marker controllers, such as a controller for a pneumatic or hydraulic actuator; or pesticide application rate controllers, such as metering drive controllers, orifice size or position controllers.” [0087]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches wherein the deposit strategy may comprise executing one or more of a linear deposit mode and a quarter turn deposit mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include that the deposit strategy may comprise executing one or more of a linear deposit mode and a quarter turn deposit mode, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0005 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Olander discloses A control system for controlling operation of one or more controllable components configured to control movement of a bale through an ejection chute of an agricultural baler as the agricultural baler moves over a ground surface (“FIG. 36 is a schematic diagram of a control system for a high capacity baler”[0044] and “The latching mechanism may be in communication and/or controlled by the control system 300. Once the appropriate number of bales has been grouped into the bale group of the grouping section 404, the latching mechanism of the tailgate 414 may be released, such that the tailgate 414 can rotate upward or downward to permit the group of bales to be released from the grouping section 404 and deposited on the ground.” [0190]),
the control system comprising a moisture sensor and one or more controllers (“The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise moisture sensors,” [0151]), and configured to:
receive sensor data from the moisture sensor and determine a moisture level of a formed bale (“The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise moisture sensors, perhaps positioned within the baling chambers 18, and configured to measure the moisture content of the crop material being formed into bales within the baling chambers 18. The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise weight sensors (i.e., scales), perhaps positioned within the baling chambers 18, and configured to measure the weight of the bales within the baling chambers 18.” [0151]);
determine, in dependence on the moisture content, a deposit strategy for depositing the formed bale from the agricultural baler based on the moisture content of the formed bale (“The electronic control unit may receive bale length data from each electronic sensor and may send independent instructions to each clutch mechanism 104 to tie off the bales in each baling chamber once each bale has been fully formed to the pre-determined bale length.” [0096] and “As note previously, such parameters may be based on the data and information obtained from the various sensors 305, 306, 308 and/or analyzed by the control system 300.” [0156]),
and generate and output one or more control signals for controlling one or more operational components associated with the baler in dependence on the determined bale deposit strategy (“As such, the sensor 229 may provide an indication (e.g., a signal) to the control system that the second individual bale is completely received on the right dump cradle 228. However, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the first individual bale has been completely moved off the receiving tray 230. In particular, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the conveyor 232 has been activated for one-half of a rotation, at which time the first individual bale has been pushed rearward off the receiving tray 230 by a first paddle 234 of the conveyor 232. As such, the receiving tray 230 will be generally empty and a second paddle 234 will be positioned at a forward end of the receiving tray 230, such that the receiving tray 230 is open to receive the second individual bale from the right side dump cradle 228, such that the second individual bale can be pushed rearward by the second paddle 234 of the conveyor 232.” [0138]),
wherein the ejection chute comprises a channel having a base wall and first and second side walls extending upwards from either side of the base wall, in which a region of the base wall is provided with a first window (“To further facilitate the distributions and processing of crop material, some embodiments of the baler 10 may include a stationary separation element 44 extending upward from a bottom panel of the rotor housing 24. In some embodiments, the separation element 44 may have a sharpened forward edge so as to act as a blade-like dividing member for cutting crop material that is forced into contact with the separation element 44” [0068]),
and the one or more operational components comprises a deposit mechanism for controlling movement of the formed bale through the first window to deposit the formed bale on the ground surface with either the linear deposit mode or the quarter turn deposit mode(“Once the bales arrive at the exit section 204, the exit section 204 may be configured to manipulate the bales into a single, linear row of bales. For example, the singulator 200 may comprise, as illustrated in FIGS. 17 and 18, an exit section 204 with a pair of pusher members 210 positioned on left and right sides of the exit section 204. The pusher members 210 may be configured as elongated structural members that are configured to push bales towards a center of the singulator 200. In particular, a longitudinal centerline or longitudinal vertical plane may extend generally longitudinally (i.e., fore and aft) through the center of the singulator 200. As such, the center of the singulator 200 will generally include the longitudinal centerline or longitudinal vertical plane of the singulator 200.” [0117]).
Olander does not explicitly teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode.
However, McNichols does teach the deposit strategy executing either a linear deposit mode or a quarter turn deposit mode (“In an embodiment, examples of controllers 114 that may be used with such seed planting equipment include: toolbar fold controllers, such as controllers for valves associated with hydraulic cylinders; downforce controllers, such as controllers for valves associated with pneumatic cylinders, airbags, or hydraulic cylinders, and programmed for applying downforce to individual row units or an entire planter frame; planting depth controllers, such as linear actuators; metering controllers, such as electric seed meter drive motors, hydraulic seed meter drive motors, or swath control clutches; hybrid selection controllers, such as seed meter drive motors, or other actuators programmed for selectively allowing or preventing seed or an air-seed mixture from delivering seed to or from seed meters or central bulk hoppers; metering controllers, such as electric seed meter drive motors, or hydraulic seed meter drive motors; seed conveyor system controllers, such as controllers for a belt seed delivery conveyor motor; marker controllers, such as a controller for a pneumatic or hydraulic actuator; or pesticide application rate controllers, such as metering drive controllers, orifice size or position controllers.” [0087]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches wherein the deposit strategy may comprise executing one or more of a linear deposit mode and a quarter turn deposit mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include that the deposit strategy may comprise executing one or more of a linear deposit mode and a quarter turn deposit mode, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more operational components comprises a user interface operable to provide information indicative of the determined deposit strategy to an operator of the baler (“Specifically, the control system 300 may be configured to present a graphical user interface (GUI), as illustrated in FIG. 37, which presents various data and parameters to the operator of the baler 10.” [0154]).
Regarding claim 5, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 4, wherein the control system is configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for controlling operation of the user interface to display the determined deposit strategy to an operator of the agricultural baler (“The electronic display 310 may be positioned on or in a tractor pulling the baler 10 (e.g., in an operator cab of the tractor), such that the electronic display is within eye view of the operator to permit the operator to easily view the electronic display 310 and the GUI presented thereon as the operator is using the baler 10 to form bales of crop material.” [0154]).
Regarding claim 6, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1, wherein the operational component comprises an ejection chute for automating deposit of one or more formed bales in accordance with the determined deposit strategy (“Upon the bales of crop material being completely formed and tied off with securement lines, the bales may be ejected from ejection ports of the baling chambers 18. In some embodiments, the bales from each of the left-side and right-side baling chambers 18 will be ejected from the bale discharges of their respective baling chambers 18 in an alternating fashion.” [0105]).
Regarding claim 7, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 6, wherein the control system is configured to generate and output the one or more control signals for automatically controlling the ejection chute to deposit the one or more formed bales (“In some embodiments, the grouping section 404 may include various sensors, such as switches, which can be used to obtain information about the positions of bales on the grouping section 404 and from which the control system 300 can control the actuators associated with the diverter members 412. For instance, the accumulator 400 may be configured to group individual bales from each of the left and right side baling chambers 18 into a group of four bales. To accomplish such, a first individual bale may be emitted from the left side baling chamber 18 and received on the left side chute 406 of the receiving section 402. The first individual bale may be pushed up the left side chute 406 from a second, subsequent bale being formed and emitted from the left side baling chamber 18 directly behind the first bale (additional bales being formed behind the second bale may be used to push the first and second bales up the left side chute 406 to the bundling section 404). Upon the first bale reaching the grouping section 404, as illustrated in FIG. 42 a left side diverter member 412 may be in a first position so as to direct the first bale into a first column (as defined by the divider elements 410). In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 43, the very first bale emitted by the left side chute 406 into the grouping section 404 may be rotated to a lateral orientation so as to extend below each of the two left columns of the grouping section 404. Regardless, the series of bales travelling through the left side chute 406 can continue to be directed by the left side diverter member 412 into the first column until the first column has been totally filled with bales, as shown in FIG. 44.” [0188]).
Regarding claim 8, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to: receive sensor data from a moisture sensor associated with the agricultural baler (“. The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise moisture sensors, perhaps positioned within the baling chambers 18, and configured to measure the moisture content of the crop material being formed into bales within the baling chambers 18.” [0151]);
and determine a moisture level of a formed bale in dependence thereon (“For example, an alert may be provided if bale moisture is too high or low, if bale weight is too high or low, if the baler 10 speed is too high or low, if a length of bales being formed in the left side baling chamber is too long or short, or if a length of bales being formed in the left side baling chamber is too long or short.” [0157]).
Regarding claim 9, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 8,
wherein the moisture sensor comprises one or more of: an infrared sensor, a resistive sensor, an optical sensor (“The electronic sensor may be a rotary encoder, an optical sensor, or the like.” [0096] and “In additional embodiments, the baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may comprise pressure sensors configured to measure the hydraulic pressure being applied to the compression assemblies 60 of the baling chambers 18. The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise moisture sensors, perhaps positioned within the baling chambers 18, and configured to measure the moisture content of the crop material being formed into bales within the baling chambers 18. The baling chamber sensors 306, 308 may also comprise weight sensors (i.e., scales), perhaps positioned within the baling chambers 18, and configured to measure the weight of the bales within the baling chambers 18. “ [0151]).
Olander does not explicitly teach a capacitive sensor
However, McNichols does teach a capacitive sensor (“In an embodiment, examples of sensors 112 that may be used with harvesters include yield monitors, such as impact plate strain gauges or position sensors, capacitive flow sensors, load sensors, weight sensors, or torque sensors associated with elevators or augers, or optical or other electromagnetic grain height sensors; grain moisture sensors, such as capacitive sensors; grain loss sensors, including impact, optical, or capacitive sensors; header operating criteria sensors such as header height, header type, deck plate gap, feeder speed, and reel speed sensors; separator operating criteria sensors, such as concave clearance, rotor speed, shoe clearance, or chaffer clearance sensors; auger sensors for position, operation, or speed; or engine speed sensors “ [0090]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches a capacitive sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include a capacitive sensor, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0005 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 8, wherein the moisture sensor is mounted or otherwise coupled to the agricultural baler and configured to monitor material collected into the agricultural baler (“In particular, the control system may be functionally coupled with the sensors 229, the switches 236, the dump cradles 226, 228, and/or the conveyor 232 such that the control system may receive information from such components and provide resulting instructions to such components.” [0136]).
Regarding claim 11, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 10, the moisture sensor is mounted or otherwise coupled to the agricultural baler and configured to monitor material being collected by a crop pick-up of the agricultural baler and/or material within a baling chamber of the baler (“During such activity with respect to the first individual bale, the right dump cradle 228 may be in the bale-receiving position and may be supporting a second individual bale that was ejected from the right side baling chamber 18 (and/or the second/right bale-forming area). The second individual bale may be completely positioned on the second dump cradle 228, such that the bale has tripped the sensor 229 associated with the right dump cradle 228. As such, the sensor 229 may provide an indication (e.g., a signal) to the control system that the second individual bale is completely received on the right dump cradle 228. However, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the first individual bale has been completely moved off the receiving tray 230. In particular, the control system may be configured to not instruct the right dump cradle 228 to shift to the bale-dumping position until the conveyor 232 has been activated for one-half of a rotation, at which time the first individual bale has been pushed rearward off the receiving tray 230 by a first paddle 234 of the conveyor 232.” [0138]).
Regarding claim 12, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to determine an expected moisture level in dependence on data indicative of the operating environment of the agricultural baler(“For example, an alert may be provided if bale moisture is too high or low, if bale weight is too high or low, if the baler 10 speed is too high or low, if a length of bales being formed in the left side baling chamber is too long or short, or if a length of bales being formed in the left side baling chamber is too long or short.” [0157]).
Regarding claim 13, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 12, wherein the operating environment data comprises a mapped environment comprising information indicative of a measured or expected moisture level for material at one or more locations within the mapped environment (“The baler sensors 305 may comprise a speed sensor positioned on the baler 10 and configured to measure a ground speed of the baler 10. In some embodiments, the speed sensor may be positioned on or otherwise associated with the tractor pulling the baler 10. The baler sensors 305 may also comprise a global positioning system (GPS) sensor positioned on the baler 10 and configured to determine a geolocation of the baler 10. In some embodiments, the GPS sensor may be positioned on or otherwise associated with the tractor pulling the baler 10.” [0152]).
Regarding claim 14, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 12,
Olander does not explicitly teach wherein the operating environment data comprises an indication of one or more environmental conditions, including one or more of: a temperature, a time of year; a time of day; a rainfall measurement and a humidity.
However, McNichols does teach wherein the operating environment data comprises an indication of one or more environmental conditions, including one or more of: a temperature, a time of year; a time of day; a rainfall measurement (“In an embodiment, examples of sensors 112 that may be used with seed planting equipment such as planters, drills, or air seeders include seed sensors, which may be optical, electromagnetic, or impact sensors; downforce sensors such as load pins, load cells, pressure sensors; soil property sensors such as reflectivity sensors, moisture sensors, electrical conductivity sensors, optical residue sensors, or temperature sensors;” [0087]);
and a humidity (“In an embodiment, each of the weather stations 706 comprises one or more of a processor or microcontroller, memory, data communication interface, digital thermometer, anemometer, rain gauge, humidity sensor and/or other sensors for other weather parameters. In some embodiments, weather stations 706 comprise a GPS receiver that is capable of receiving signals from Global Positioning System satellites in the sky over or within range of the apparatus 702 and transforming the signals into latitude-longitude values or other geo-location data indicating a then-current geographical location of the apparatus.” [0117]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches wherein the operating environment data comprises an indication of one or more environmental conditions, including one or more of: a temperature, a time of year; a time of day; a rainfall measurement and a humidity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include wherein the operating environment data comprises an indication of one or more environmental conditions, including one or more of: a temperature, a time of year; a time of day; a rainfall measurement and a humidity, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0005 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1,
Olander does not explicitly teach wherein the control system is configured to receive a user input indicative of a moisture level provided by an operator of the baler and determine the deposit strategy in dependence thereon
However, McNichols does teach wherein the control system is configured to receive a user input indicative of a moisture level provided by an operator of the baler and determine the deposit strategy in dependence thereon (“Field manager computing device 104 may send field data 106 in response to user input from user 102 specifying the data values for the one or more fields. Additionally, field manager computing device 104 may automatically send field data 106 when one or more of the data values becomes available to field manager computing device 104. For example, field manager computing device 104 may be communicatively coupled to remote sensor 112 and/or application controller 114 which include an irrigation sensor and/or irrigation controller. In response to receiving data indicating that application controller 114 released water onto the one or more fields, field manager computing device 104 may send field data 106 to agricultural intelligence computer system 130 indicating that water was released on the one or more fields. Field data 106 identified in this disclosure may be input and communicated using electronic digital data that is communicated between computing devices using parameterized URLs over HTTP, or another suitable communication or messaging protocol.” [0086]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches wherein the control system is configured to receive a user input indicative of a moisture level provided by an operator of the baler and determine the deposit strategy in dependence thereon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include wherein the control system is configured to receive a user input indicative of a moisture level provided by an operator of the baler and determine the deposit strategy in dependence thereon, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0005 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is operable to determine the deposit strategy based on bale length, bale weight or flake count of the one or more formed bales within the ejection chute (“In some alternative embodiments, the baler 10 may include trip mechanisms 96 that comprise electronic measuring assemblies that may include electrical and/or electro-mechanical components. For example, each starwheel 98 may be associated with an electronic sensor for measuring a length of the bale passing through the relevant baling chamber 18. The electronic sensor may be a rotary encoder, an optical sensor, or the like. The electronic sensor may measure the length of the bale passing through the associated baling chamber 18, and the resulting bale length data may be provided to an electronic control unit positioned on the baler 10 or on the tow vehicle The electronic control unit may include memory elements and processing elements configured to analyze the bale length data for a bale and to send resulting instructions to the clutch mechanism 104 upon the bale reaching a pre-determined bale length. In more detail, the electronic sensor may obtain bale length data for a given bale and may provide such bale length data to the electronic control unit. Upon the electronic control unit determining from the bale length data that the given bale has reached a fully-formed length (as may be pre-determined/pre-defined), the electronic control unit may send a signal or instruction to the clutch mechanism 104 to cause actuation of the knotting mechanisms 92 and related needles 94 so as to tie off securement lines around the fully formed bale. In embodiments in which the baler 10 includes multiple baling chambers 18 (each having its own starwheel 98 and clutch mechanism 104), each starwheel 98 may include its own electronic sensor for measuring the lengths of the bales being formed in its associated baling chamber 18. The electronic control unit may receive bale length data from each electronic sensor and may send independent instructions to each clutch mechanism 104 to tie off the bales in each baling chamber once each bale has been fully formed to the pre-determined bale length.” [0096]).
Regarding claim 17, Olander discloses A control system according to claim 1,
Olander does not explicitly teach wherein the control system is operable to determine a deposit strategy based on one or more of the determined protein content, fibre content, nitrate content, ash content, moisture content, nitrate content or ash content of the one or more formed bales within the ejection chute
However, McNichols does teach wherein the control system is operable to determine the deposit strategy based on one or more of the determined protein content, fibre content, nitrate content, ash content, nitrate content or ash content of the one or more formed bales within the ejection chute (“In an embodiment, the agricultural intelligence computer system 130 may use a preconfigured agronomic model to calculate agronomic properties related to currently received location and crop information for one or more fields. The preconfigured agronomic model is based upon previously processed field data, including but not limited to, identification data, harvest data, fertilizer data, and weather data. The preconfigured agronomic model may have been cross validated to ensure accuracy of the model. Cross validation may include comparison to ground truthing that compares predicted results with actual results on a field, such as a comparison of precipitation estimate with a rain gauge or sensor providing weather data at the same or nearby location or an estimate of nitrogen content with a soil sample measurement.” [0096]). Both Olander and McNichols teach methods for agricultural apparatus control. However, only McNichols explicitly teaches wherein the control system is operable to determine a deposit strategy based on one or more of the determined protein content, fibre content, nitrate content, ash content, moisture content, nitrate content or ash content of the one or more formed bales within the ejection chute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural apparatus control method of Olander to also include wherein the control system is operable to determine a deposit strategy based on one or more of the determined protein content, fibre content, nitrate content, ash content, moisture content, nitrate content or ash content of the one or more formed bales within the ejection chute, as taught by McNichols, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves operating the agricultural apparatus (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [McNichols, 0005 and 0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Olander discloses The baler of claim 18 further comprising an ejection chute for depositing a plurality of formed bales, wherein said control system controls operation of the ejection chute in accordance with a determined deposit strategy (“The grouping section 424 may also comprise a generally flat platform configured to receive the bales from the receiving section 422. The grouping section 424 and the receiving section 422 may be orientated in a generally parallel manner. For instance, as shown in FIG. 48, an upper surface of each of the grouping section 424 and the receiving section 422 may be generally parallel and extend in a declining manner (from front to back). As such, gravity may assist the bales traveling along the accumulator 420. The grouping section may include one or more divider elements for dividing an upper surface of the grouping section 424 into a plurality of columns. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 47, the upper surface of the grouping section 424 may be separated into two columns (i.e., a left side column and a right side column), each configured to hold a plurality of laterally orientated bales.” [0194]).
Regarding claim 21, Olander discloses The control system according to claim 1, in which the deposit mechanism comprises at least a first selectively displaceable panel at a first side of the first window, the first panel being selectively displaceable between a first position in which travel of a formed bale through the first window is prevented and a second position in which deposit of the formed bale through the first window is permitted (“An actuator (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) may extend between the frame of the chassis of the accumulator 430 and a bottom side of the grouping section 434 so as to raise and lower the forward side of the grouping section 434. Because the grouping section 434 has a funnel shape, space between the bales can be removed as the bales travel rearward along the grouping section 434 by the funnel shaped sidewalls of the grouping section 434 forcing the bales close to each other. In some embodiments, the size of the grouping section 434 (e.g., of the funnel-shaped portion of the grouping section) will be sufficient to permit a group of bales of an appropriate size to pass along the grouping section 434, and to be dropped off onto the ground in a group. In some embodiments, the size of the grouping section 434 will be sufficient to permit a group of four or more bales to pass through the funnel and drop off the grouping section 434 onto the ground. In addition to the gravity action provided by the grouping section 434, a conveyor, may be used to force the bales off the grouping section 434 onto the ground.” [0206]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668