DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the biphenylyl" in the 23rd line of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-16 and 18-28 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claim 1.
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, which claims 28 and 29 depends, only allows Ar to be a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted naphthyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted phenanthryl group, but claims 28 and 29 claim that Ar can be a biphenylyl group. Claims 28 and 29 are broader than claim 1 and do not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabunouchi (US 2014/0061630) (hereafter “Yabunouchi”).
Regarding claims 1-28, Yabunouchi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer (applicant’s first electron transporting layer), an hole transporting layer (applicant’s second electron transporting layer), an emission layer, an electron injecting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0080]) (claims 19-21). Yabunouchi teaches that the emission layer can comprise a fluorescent dopant or a phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0125] and [0135]) (claims 24 and 25). Yabunouchi teaches that either the hole injection layer (applicant’s first electron transporting layer), hole transporting layer (applicant’s second electron transporting layer) comprises an arylamine compound the meets the following formula,
, where one of Ar1 to Ar3 is
, at least one of Ar1 to Ar3 is
, where R5 group can form a fused ring group, and the other Ar1 to Ar3 can be a 6 to 50 aryl group (paragraphs [0026]-[0034] and [0070]) (claims 1, 18, 22, and 23). Yabunouchi teaches that the
can have the following structure,
, and
can have the following structure,
, and the other Ar group can be a phenyl, naphthyl, or phenanthrenyl group (paragraphs [0038], [0052], and [0067]). Yabunouchi teaches the following compounds that meet the above formula,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0067]) (claims 2-17, 27, and 28). Yabunouchi teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic device (paragraph [0003]).
Yabunouchi does not specifically teach a compound that meets the applicant’s claimed compounds.
It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substituted the
group in
for a naphthyl, phenanthryl, or phenyl group. The substitution would have been taught groups for other taught groups that can substitutes for each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act in a similar manner as the other compounds of Yabunouchi. The substation would lead to compounds that meet the following structures,
,
,
,
.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application is a species of the claims of the instant application. Many of the compounds claimed in claim 6 are same as claimed by the applicant.
Claim 1 of the instant application is covered by claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 2 of the instant application is covered by claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 4 of the instant application is covered by claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claims 5-12, 17, 27, and 28 of the instant application is covered by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claims 13-16 of the instant application is covered by claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 18 of the instant application is covered by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 19 of the instant application is covered by claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 20 of the instant application is covered by claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 21 of the instant application is covered by claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 22 of the instant application is covered by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 23 of the instant application is covered by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 24 of the instant application is covered by claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 25 of the instant application is covered by claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Claim 26 of the instant application is covered by claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,749.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osaka et al. (US 2009/0284140) teaches triarylamine compounds for use in the hole transporting layer of electroluminescent device.
Miyake (US 2016/0372677) teaches triarylamine compounds, where one of the group is a dibenzofuran group, for use in the hole transporting layer of electroluminescent devices.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759