DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 24 July 2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 11-28 are pending in the application. Applicants amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome each and every objection to the drawings and each and every rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) applied in the office action mailed 24 February 2026 except where noted below.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (claim 11) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (claims 15-18 and 21-27) are included. Accordingly, this office action is provided as non-final.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Per the MPEP: All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of "currently amended," and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any Claim 14 is presented improperly as the previous content of the claim is not indicated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: memory device in claim 15-18 and 21-24 and post-processing feature in claims 15 and 21.
Memory device is thus interpreted as a memory according to Fig. 7 of the instant disclosure.
Post-processing feature is interpreted as steps of processing data performed by the controller after the data been collected by the controller (“controller 50 comprises a processor 51 and a memory device 52 which includes instructions 53 that, when executed by the processor 51, activates a recording cycle 54 and a post-processing feature 55”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Per MPEP 2161.01(I): “Similarly, original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.”
Claims 15 and 21 and all dependent claims thereof recite computer-implemented limitation of “post processing feature” and the Office action interprets element 55 in Fig. 8 as the post processing step. It is further noted that element 55 in Fig. 8 includes processing steps 68, 70, 72, and 74. The specification (USPGPub. version is used for as-filed specification) discloses the following for sound processing, classification, and threshold comparisons, which are part of the “post processing feature” process:
[0004] Based on the comparison to the threshold values, a likelihood of the presence of pleural effusion is established at step 74. The likelihood of the presence of pleural effusion is then communicated to the caregiver by a user interface 80. Various approaches to lung sound processing, classification, and threshold comparisons are provided in: Oletic, Dinko, et al. “Low-Power Wearable Respiratory Sound Sensing.” Sensors, vol. 14, no. 4, 2014, pp. 6535-6566., https://doi.org/10.3390/s140406535; Khan, Sibghatullah I. “Respiratory Sound Analysis for Identifying Lung Diseases: A Review”, International Journal of Science and Research (IJSR), Volume 3 Issue 11, November 2014, pp. 566-571.; Palaniappan, Rajkumar, et al. “Machine Learning in Lung Sound Analysis: A Systematic Review.” Biocybernetics and Biomedical Engineering, vol. 33, no. 3, 2013, pp. 129-135., https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbe.2013.07.001; H. Wang, et al. “Lung sound/noise separation in anesthesia respiratory monitoring.” WSEAS Transactions on Systems, Vol. 3, June 2004, pp. 1839-1844.; and Gurung, Arati, et al. “Computerized Lung Sound Analysis as Diagnostic Aid for the Detection of Abnormal Lung Sounds: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Respiratory Medicine, vol. 105, no. 9, 2011, pp. 1396-1403., https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rmed.2011.05.007.
It is noted that references relied upon for the “post processing feature” are non-patent literature (NPL) references. It is further noted that none of these NPL references are incorporated by reference. 37 CFR 1.57(d) requires that ""essential material"" may be incorporated by reference, but only by way of an incorporation by reference to a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, which patent or patent application publication does not itself incorporate such essential material by reference. As such, as-filed specification does not provide written description support for the claimed limitation of “post processing feature” in claims 15-18 and 21-27.
Claims 11-18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the first and second percussion devices” in lines 6-7 and 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation of the claim. Each limitation is interpreted as referring to “the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the first and second percussion devices” in lines 8 and 15-16 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation of the claim. Each limitation is interpreted as referring to “the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the extraction of sound features” in line 3 of the claim. There is no antecedent basis for this limitation of claim. It is not clear where this step is performed as antecedent is provided in claim 16 rather than claim 15, but claim 18 would be a duplicate of claim 17 if amended to depend from claim 16. The limitation is interpreted as referring to applying a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to sending the sound data to a post processing feature.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the extraction of sound features” in line 3 of the claim. There is no antecedent basis for this limitation of claim. It is not clear where this step is performed as antecedent is provided in claim 22 rather than claim 21, but claim 24 would be a duplicate of claim 23 if amended to depend from claim 22. The limitation is interpreted as referring to applying a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to sending the sound data to a post processing feature.
Claims 12-18 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite due to their dependence on claims 11 and 14, which have been rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15, 18, 21, 24, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20190142686 A1) in view of Shockley (US 20170156976 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a high frequency chest wall oscillation (HFCWO) system (Wearable device 1) comprising
an adjustable garment configured to be positioned on a patient (Article of clothing 6; paragraph 0030—the article of clothing 6 may also include various straps…may be adjustable by one or more buckles 9 for a secure fit to the torso of the body…),
at least one first percussion device positioned on a first side of the garment (oscillator elements 100 and 102 on a first side of the garment; paragraph 0031—each oscillating element (e.g. 100, 101, 102, or 103) may be a bladder (e.g. air-filled) actuator, solenoid, piezoelectric mechanism, electrically actuated hammer, or other compressive or impact device that may provide oscillations to the chest of the user), and
at least one second percussion device positioned on a second side of the garment (Oscillating elements 101 and 103 on a second side of the garment; paragraph 0031),
wherein the garment is adjustable (Paragraph 0030) and first and second percussion devices may be used to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs or to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0031—transmit a force to the user’s body (e.g. to specific lobes of the lungs); Fig. 3 shows the at least one first percussion device (100/102) and at least one second percussion device (101/103) may target specifically the upper or lower zones of the lungs; paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs.
Shockley, in the same field of endeavor of a system and method for monitoring use of a wearable chest wall oscillation device, teaches a wearable garment wherein the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0072-0073—the method may include positioning a wearable system on a subject. The method may include adjusting the wearable system such that an oscillation force is applied to at least a first zone and to at least a second zone of the subject (e.g. and possibly more zones))… A system 100 may allow for adjusting where forces are applied to the subject, for example, to what are identified as at least the first zone 220a and the second zone 220b.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee with the teachings of Shockey, where Lee discloses that oscillating elements may be operated independently to target different regions of the lungs and that a garment is generally adjustable with straps, to adjust the positioning of the garment to target therapy to an upper and lower zone of the lungs as disclosed by Shockley in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to target particular areas for therapy regardless of the body size of a user (see Shockley, paragraph 0073—known HFCWO do not allow for a user adjusting where forces are applied to on the subject. This is problematic because although some known HFCWO systems may come in different sizes to accommodate differently sized subjects, there are far too many people of different sizes and so it is impractical to produce enough differently sized systems for all of the differently sized subjects) and may additionally improve symptoms of different lung disease which benefit from targeting of different areas of the lungs (see Shockley, paragraph 0073-- Applying high frequency forces to zones 220 as opposed to zones 210 may allow for greater remediation of symptoms associated with certain forms of chronic lung disease).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 11. Lee additionally teaches wherein the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices are operable to vary a power of the therapy delivered to the patient's lungs such that a first power can be delivered at each respective zone (paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element). In particular, the first and second percussion devices of Lee may be individually controlled and adjusted such that the power of the therapy may be the same or different at each respective zone.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 12. Lee additionally teaches wherein the adjustable garment includes an adjustable strap (paragraph 0030—the article of clothing 6 may also include various straps…may be adjustable by one or more buckles 9 for a secure fit to the torso of the body…).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a high frequency chest wall oscillation (HFCWO) system (Wearable device 1) comprising
an adjustable garment configured to be positioned on a patient (Article of clothing 6; paragraph 0030—the article of clothing 6 may also include various straps…may be adjustable by one or more buckles 9 for a secure fit to the torso of the body…),
at least one first percussion device positioned on a first side of the garment (oscillator elements 100 and 102 on a first side of the garment; paragraph 0031—each oscillating element (e.g. 100, 101, 102, or 103) may be a bladder (e.g. air-filled) actuator, solenoid, piezoelectric mechanism, electrically actuated hammer, or other compressive or impact device that may provide oscillations to the chest of the user), and
at least one second percussion device positioned on a second side of the garment (Oscillating elements 101 and 103 on a second side of the garment; paragraph 0031),
wherein the garment is adjustable (Paragraph 0030) and first and second percussion devices may be used to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs or to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0031—transmit a force to the user’s body (e.g. to specific lobes of the lungs); Fig. 3 shows the at least one first percussion device (100/102) and at least one second percussion device (101/103) may target specifically the upper or lower zones of the lungs; paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element).
Lee additionally teaches wherein the adjustable garment includes an adjustable strap, wherein the adjustable strap comprises at least one adjustable shoulder strap, wherein the position of the first and second percussion devices is adjusted based on adjusting the adjustable shoulder strap (paragraph 0030—the article of clothing 6 may also include various straps…may be adjustable by one or more buckles 9 for a secure fit to the torso of the body…; Fig. 1-2, article of clothing 6).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs. Lee additionally does not explicitly teach at least one adjustable underarm strap, wherein the position of the first and second percussion devices is adjusted based on adjusting one or both of the adjustable shoulder strap and adjustable underarm strap.
Shockley, in the same field of endeavor of a system and method for monitoring use of a wearable chest wall oscillation device, teaches a wearable garment wherein the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0072-0073—the method may include positioning a wearable system on a subject. The method may include adjusting the wearable system such that an oscillation force is applied to at least a first zone and to at least a second zone of the subject (e.g. and possibly more zones))… A system 100 may allow for adjusting where forces are applied to the subject, for example, to what are identified as at least the first zone 220a and the second zone 220b.).
Shockley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one adjustable underarm strap wherein the position of the wearable system is adjusted based on adjusting the adjustable underarm strap (See straps 120, Fig. 1; paragraph 0078-- In some embodiments, the wearable system may be adjustable at least across a chest and/or portion of a torso of a subject (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 1 using friction fittings and straps 120). In some embodiments, the wearable system may be adjustable at least across one or more shoulders of a subject (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 1).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee with the teachings of Shockey, where Lee discloses that oscillating elements may be operated independently to target different regions of the lungs and that a garment is generally adjustable with straps, to adjust the positioning of the garment to target therapy to an upper and lower zone of the lungs as disclosed by Shockley in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to target particular areas for therapy regardless of the body size of a user (see Shockley, paragraph 0073—known HFCWO do not allow for a user adjusting where forces are applied to on the subject. This is problematic because although some known HFCWO systems may come in different sizes to accommodate differently sized subjects, there are far too many people of different sizes and so it is impractical to produce enough differently sized systems for all of the differently sized subjects) and may additionally improve symptoms of different lung disease which benefit from targeting of different areas of the lungs (see Shockley, paragraph 0073-- Applying high frequency forces to zones 220 as opposed to zones 210 may allow for greater remediation of symptoms associated with certain forms of chronic lung disease).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee with the underarm strap of Shockley to predictably improve the fit and therapy targeting of the device by allowing for greater adjustment of the wearable garment.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 14. Lee additionally teaches further comprising a sensor associated with each respective percussion device (Sound detection elements 50-55), and a controller including a processor and a memory device (Controller 4 having RAM 41; paragraph 0043) including instructions that, when executed by the processor, sequentially and independently activates each sensor to begin recording sound data from the patient's respiratory system (Paragraph 0040-0046—the sound detector 3 of the wearable device 1 may be configured to optimally sense all of the adventitious lung sounds…the adventitious lung sounds (e.g. crackles and wheezes) may be monitored before, during, and after chest wall oscillation treatment; paragraph 0056-0057—an activate button 22…may therefore be able to activate (e.g. turn on) or deactivate (e.g. turn off) the wearable device 1), activates the percussion device associated with the respective sensor to simulate manual chest tapping (Paragraph 0040-0046, 0055, 0066—For example, the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of each lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element. For example, each of the duration, frequency, and intensity of the oscillations may be increased, decreased, continued at the same level, or the therapy may be terminated…control by the controller may be based on the assessment score tally, individually on just one parameter, or on a combination of a plurality of parameters. Depending on the assessment score, a frequency, intensity, or duration may be varied in subsequent therapy), collects sound data from the patient's respiratory system (Paragraph 0040-0046), deactivates the respective sensor and the respective percussion device (Paragraph 0040-0046, 0055-0057, 0066), repeats the sequential and independent activation of the sensor, respective percussion device, data collection and deactivation of the sensor and respective percussion device for each set of sensors and percussion devices (Paragraph 0040-0046), and sends the sound data from the respective sensor to a post processing feature (Paragraph 0060—the controller 4 may be configured to export (e.g. wirelessly or wired) the characterizations and calculations of the adventitious lung sounds in a non-readable fashion or readable fashion, such as a graph, table or other suitable chart…the lung sounds may be recorded, measured, graphically displayed, analyzed, and the user treated respective to the analyzed results).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 15. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, applies a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to performing the extraction of sound features (Paragraph 0044—the controller 4 may also implement filters (e.g. high pass filter, band pass filter, or low pass filter) to isolate the lung sounds from the operation of the chest wall oscillator 2 and/or to filter out background noise).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches a high frequency chest wall oscillation (HFCWO) system (Wearable device 1) comprising
an adjustable garment configured to be positioned on a patient (Article of clothing 6; paragraph 0030—the article of clothing 6 may also include various straps…may be adjustable by one or more buckles 9 for a secure fit to the torso of the body…),
at least one first percussion device positioned on a first side of the garment (oscillator elements 100 and 102 on a first side of the garment; paragraph 0031—each oscillating element (e.g. 100, 101, 102, or 103) may be a bladder (e.g. air-filled) actuator, solenoid, piezoelectric mechanism, electrically actuated hammer, or other compressive or impact device that may provide oscillations to the chest of the user), and
at least one second percussion device positioned on a second side of the garment (Oscillating elements 101 and 103 on a second side of the garment; paragraph 0031),
wherein the garment is adjustable (Paragraph 0030) and first and second percussion devices may be used to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs or to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0031—transmit a force to the user’s body (e.g. to specific lobes of the lungs); Fig. 3 shows the at least one first percussion device (100/102) and at least one second percussion device (101/103) may target specifically the upper or lower zones of the lungs; paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element).
Lee additionally teaches further comprising a sensor associated with each respective percussion device (Sound detection elements 50-55), and a controller including a processor and a memory device (Controller 4 having RAM 41; paragraph 0043) including instructions that, when executed by the processor, sequentially and independently activates each sensor to begin recording sound data from the patient's respiratory system (Paragraph 0040-0046—the sound detector 3 of the wearable device 1 may be configured to optimally sense all of the adventitious lung sounds…the adventitious lung sounds (e.g. crackles and wheezes) may be monitored before, during, and after chest wall oscillation treatment; paragraph 0056-0057—an activate button 22…may therefore be able to activate (e.g. turn on) or deactivate (e.g. turn off) the wearable device 1), activates the percussion device associated with the respective sensor to simulate manual chest tapping (Paragraph 0040-0046, 0055, 0066—For example, the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of each lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element. For example, each of the duration, frequency, and intensity of the oscillations may be increased, decreased, continued at the same level, or the therapy may be terminated…control by the controller may be based on the assessment score tally, individually on just one parameter, or on a combination of a plurality of parameters. Depending on the assessment score, a frequency, intensity, or duration may be varied in subsequent therapy), collects sound data from the patient's respiratory system (Paragraph 0040-0046), deactivates the respective sensor and the respective percussion device (Paragraph 0040-0046, 0055-0057, 0066), repeats the sequential and independent activation of the sensor, respective percussion device, data collection and deactivation of the sensor and respective percussion device for each set of sensors and percussion devices (Paragraph 0040-0046), and sends the sound data from the respective sensor to a post processing feature (Paragraph 0060—the controller 4 may be configured to export (e.g. wirelessly or wired) the characterizations and calculations of the adventitious lung sounds in a non-readable fashion or readable fashion, such as a graph, table or other suitable chart…the lung sounds may be recorded, measured, graphically displayed, analyzed, and the user treated respective to the analyzed results).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs.
Shockley, in the same field of endeavor of a system and method for monitoring use of a wearable chest wall oscillation device, teaches a wearable garment wherein the garment is adjustable between a first position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to an upper zone of the patient's lungs and a second position locating the first and second percussion devices to target therapy to a lower zone of the patient's lungs (Paragraph 0072-0073—the method may include positioning a wearable system on a subject. The method may include adjusting the wearable system such that an oscillation force is applied to at least a first zone and to at least a second zone of the subject (e.g. and possibly more zones))… A system 100 may allow for adjusting where forces are applied to the subject, for example, to what are identified as at least the first zone 220a and the second zone 220b.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee with the teachings of Shockey, where Lee discloses that oscillating elements may be operated independently to target different regions of the lungs and that a garment is generally adjustable with straps, to adjust the positioning of the garment to target therapy to an upper and lower zone of the lungs as disclosed by Shockley in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to target particular areas for therapy regardless of the body size of a user (see Shockley, paragraph 0073—known HFCWO do not allow for a user adjusting where forces are applied to on the subject. This is problematic because although some known HFCWO systems may come in different sizes to accommodate differently sized subjects, there are far too many people of different sizes and so it is impractical to produce enough differently sized systems for all of the differently sized subjects) and may additionally improve symptoms of different lung disease which benefit from targeting of different areas of the lungs (see Shockley, paragraph 0073-- Applying high frequency forces to zones 220 as opposed to zones 210 may allow for greater remediation of symptoms associated with certain forms of chronic lung disease).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 21. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, applies a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to performing the extraction of sound features (Paragraph 0044—the controller 4 may also implement filters (e.g. high pass filter, band pass filter, or low pass filter) to isolate the lung sounds from the operation of the chest wall oscillator 2 and/or to filter out background noise).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 21. Lee additionally teaches wherein the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices are operable to vary the power of the therapy delivered to the patient's lungs such that a different power can be delivered at each respective zone (Paragraph 0031—transmit a force to the user’s body (e.g. to specific lobes of the lungs); Fig. 3 shows the at least one first percussion device (100/102) and at least one second percussion device (101/103) may target specifically the upper or lower zones of the lungs; paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element). In particular, the first and second percussion devices of Lee may be individually controlled and adjusted such that the power of the therapy may be the same or different at each respective zone.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 11. Lee additionally teaches wherein the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices are operable to vary the power of the therapy delivered to the patient's lungs such that a different power can be delivered at each respective zone (Paragraph 0031—transmit a force to the user’s body (e.g. to specific lobes of the lungs); Fig. 3 shows the at least one first percussion device (100/102) and at least one second percussion device (101/103) may target specifically the upper or lower zones of the lungs; paragraph 0055—the intensity (amplitude) of the pulses generated by the oscillating element, the frequency of the oscillations, the duration of the oscillations, and/or other parameters for each region of the lung may be adjusted to individually control each oscillating element). In particular, the first and second percussion devices of Lee may be individually controlled and adjusted such that the power of the therapy may be the same or different at each respective zone.
Claim(s) 16-17 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shockley, further in view of Maev (US 20190223726 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 15. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, processes the sound data to extract sound features, classifies the sound features, compares the classified sound features to threshold settings (Paragraph 0038-0046, 0067-0070—the lung sounds may be characterized by calculating one or more of the CALSA parameters…For example, the one or more thresholds for the one or more CALSA parameters may be individually set at a lowest, low, high, or highest value)
However, Lee fails to disclose based on a comparison of the sound features to the threshold settings, predicts the likelihood that the patient is experiencing pleural effusion.
Maev, in the same field of endeavor of a system and method for providing percussion to the chest of a user and measuring sounds from the user’s chest to detect the condition of the user (Paragraph 0009--the apparatus includes a pulsed force generator which is operable to transmit or output to a selected patient target area, a percussion or a mechanical disturbance in the form of a pulse force. The apparatus is provided with one or more sensors which are operable to sense the waves and/or vibrations induced by percussion. Such sensors may include one or more of acoustic sensors… Based on the detected surface vibration and/or return wave properties… providing an indication of the presence or absence of a potential pulmonary disease and/or other patient condition), teaches processing sound data to extract sound features (Paragraph 0009), classifies the sound features (Paragraph 0010, 0031, 0039-- the diagnostic apparatus is provided with a processor which is operable to classify the type of sensed data and/or output signal (here and after collectively an output signal) provided by the analyzer), compares the classified sound features to threshold settings (Paragraph 0019-- sensed waveforms are preferably assessed to identify whether or not the detected wave profile deviates from one or more predetermined profiles by a threshold amount indicative of an identified medical anomaly), and, based on a comparison of the sound features to the threshold settings predicts the likelihood that the patient is experiencing pleural effusion (Paragraph 0007-0009, 0019-- a portable diagnostic analyzer which is operable to provide an indication of either the presence or absence of a potential pulmonary and/or abdominal condition in a patient. Such conditions may include… pleural effusion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to utilize the processing to predict a likelihood of pleural effusion of Maev in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to determine the presence of additional medical conditions and anomalies.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee, Shockley, and Maev teaches the HFCWO system of claim 16. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, applies a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to performing the extraction of sound features (Paragraph 0044—the controller 4 may also implement filters (e.g. high pass filter, band pass filter, or low pass filter) to isolate the lung sounds from the operation of the chest wall oscillator 2 and/or to filter out background noise).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 1. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, processes the sound data to extract sound features, classifies the sound features, compares the classified sound features to threshold settings (Paragraph 0038-0046, 0067-0070—the lung sounds may be characterized by calculating one or more of the CALSA parameters…For example, the one or more thresholds for the one or more CALSA parameters may be individually set at a lowest, low, high, or highest value)
However, Lee fails to disclose based on the comparison of the sound features to the threshold settings, predicts the likelihood that the patient is experiencing pleural effusion.
Maev, in the same field of endeavor of a system and method for providing percussion to the chest of a user and measuring sounds from the user’s chest to detect the condition of the user (Paragraph 0009--the apparatus includes a pulsed force generator which is operable to transmit or output to a selected patient target area, a percussion or a mechanical disturbance in the form of a pulse force. The apparatus is provided with one or more sensors which are operable to sense the waves and/or vibrations induced by percussion. Such sensors may include one or more of acoustic sensors… Based on the detected surface vibration and/or return wave properties… providing an indication of the presence or absence of a potential pulmonary disease and/or other patient condition), teaches processing sound data to extract sound features (Paragraph 0009), classifies the sound features (Paragraph 0010, 0031, 0039-- the diagnostic apparatus is provided with a processor which is operable to classify the type of sensed data and/or output signal (here and after collectively an output signal) provided by the analyzer), compares the classified sound features to threshold settings (Paragraph 0019-- sensed waveforms are preferably assessed to identify whether or not the detected wave profile deviates from one or more predetermined profiles by a threshold amount indicative of an identified medical anomaly), and, based on the comparison of the sound features to the threshold settings predicts the likelihood that the patient is experiencing pleural effusion (Paragraph 0007-0009, 0019-- a portable diagnostic analyzer which is operable to provide an indication of either the presence or absence of a potential pulmonary and/or abdominal condition in a patient. Such conditions may include… pleural effusion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to utilize the processing to predict a likelihood of pleural effusion of Maev in order to predictably improve the ability of the device to determine the presence of additional medical conditions and anomalies.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Lee, Shockley, and Maev teaches the HFCWO system of claim 22. Lee additionally teaches wherein the memory device includes further instructions that, when executed by the processor, applies a digital signal filter to the sound data prior to performing the extraction of sound features (Paragraph 0044—the controller 4 may also implement filters (e.g. high pass filter, band pass filter, or low pass filter) to isolate the lung sounds from the operation of the chest wall oscillator 2 and/or to filter out background noise).
Claim(s) 19-20 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shockley, further in view of Drlik (US 20140005579 A1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 11. Lee additionally teaches wherein the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices administer at a frequency no more than 20 Hertz (Paragraph 0035—the controller 4 may individually configure each oscillating element of the chest wall oscillator 2 to vibrate at a different frequency (e.g. between 0 Hz and 25 Hz, between 5 Hz and 20 Hz, etc.), at a different intensity, and for a different duration).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose a therapy force of no more than 18 Newton.
Drlik, in the same field of endeavor of a wearable device for providing percussion therapy force (Abstract, paragraph 0001), teaches a percussion device administers a therapy force of no more than 18 Newton (Paragraph 0038-- The rigid elements (30), actuators (40) and the controller (60) may be tuned to produce desired force specifications… The actuator (40) comprises three springs having a spring rate of 10 lbs per inch and the actuators (40) are "preloaded" to apply a force of approximately 1 lb, within a reasonable range of 0 to 5 lbs. It is noted that a force of 1 lb equates to 4.448N and 5lbs equates to 22.24N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to include the therapy force of Drlik in order to predictably improve the effectiveness of the device, as Drlik additionally discloses that this range of forces is “similar to the magnitude of forces applied by a therapist administering manual CPT” (Paragraph 0038) such that it is known to be effective.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 11. Lee additionally teaches wherein the frequency of the therapy force is at a range of 5 to 20 Hertz (Paragraph 0035—the controller 4 may individually configure each oscillating element of the chest wall oscillator 2 to vibrate at a different frequency (e.g. between 0 Hz and 25 Hz, between 5 Hz and 20 Hz, etc.), at a different intensity, and for a different duration).
However, Lee fails to disclose the therapy force is administered at a range of 3 to 18 Newton.
Drlik, in the same field of endeavor of a wearable device for providing percussion therapy force (Abstract, paragraph 0001), teaches a percussion device therapy force is administered at a range of 3 to 18 Newton (Paragraph 0038-- The rigid elements (30), actuators (40) and the controller (60) may be tuned to produce desired force specifications… The actuator (40) comprises three springs having a spring rate of 10 lbs per inch and the actuators (40) are "preloaded" to apply a force of approximately 1 lb, within a reasonable range of 0 to 5 lbs. It is noted that a force of 1 lb equates to 4.448N and 5lbs equates to 22.24N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to include the therapy force of Drlik in order to predictably improve the effectiveness of the device, as Drlik additionally discloses that this range of forces is “similar to the magnitude of forces applied by a therapist administering manual CPT” (Paragraph 0038) such that it is known to be effective.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 11. Lee additionally teaches wherein the at least one first and at least one second percussion devices administer at a frequency no more than 20 Hertz (Paragraph 0035—the controller 4 may individually configure each oscillating element of the chest wall oscillator 2 to vibrate at a different frequency (e.g. between 0 Hz and 25 Hz, between 5 Hz and 20 Hz, etc.), at a different intensity, and for a different duration).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose a therapy force of no more than 18 Newton.
Drlik, in the same field of endeavor of a wearable device for providing percussion therapy force (Abstract, paragraph 0001), teaches a percussion device administers a therapy force of no more than 18 Newton (Paragraph 0038-- The rigid elements (30), actuators (40) and the controller (60) may be tuned to produce desired force specifications… The actuator (40) comprises three springs having a spring rate of 10 lbs per inch and the actuators (40) are "preloaded" to apply a force of approximately 1 lb, within a reasonable range of 0 to 5 lbs. It is noted that a force of 1 lb equates to 4.448N and 5lbs equates to 22.24N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to include the therapy force of Drlik in order to predictably improve the effectiveness of the device, as Drlik additionally discloses that this range of forces is “similar to the magnitude of forces applied by a therapist administering manual CPT” (Paragraph 0038) such that it is known to be effective.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Lee and Shockley teaches the HFCWO system of claim 21. Lee additionally teaches wherein the frequency of the therapy force is at a range of 5 to 20 Hertz (Paragraph 0035—the controller 4 may individually configure each oscillating element of the chest wall oscillator 2 to vibrate at a different frequency (e.g. between 0 Hz and 25 Hz, between 5 Hz and 20 Hz, etc.), at a different intensity, and for a different duration).
However, Lee fails to disclose the therapy force is administered at a range of 3 to 18 Newton.
Drlik, in the same field of endeavor of a wearable device for providing percussion therapy force (Abstract, paragraph 0001), teaches a percussion device therapy force is administered at a range of 3 to 18 Newton (Paragraph 0038-- The rigid elements (30), actuators (40) and the controller (60) may be tuned to produce desired force specifications… The actuator (40) comprises three springs having a spring rate of 10 lbs per inch and the actuators (40) are "preloaded" to apply a force of approximately 1 lb, within a reasonable range of 0 to 5 lbs. It is noted that a force of 1 lb equates to 4.448N and 5lbs equates to 22.24N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Lee to include the therapy force of Drlik in order to predictably improve the effectiveness of the device, as Drlik additionally discloses that this range of forces is “similar to the magnitude of forces applied by a therapist administering manual CPT” (Paragraph 0038) such that it is known to be effective.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Lee does not disclose or suggest a garment that is adjustable between a first position and a second position to relocate the percussion devices to target different zones and additionally argues that Shockley does not disclose or suggest repositioning the same percussion devices to target different zones by adjusting the garment between first and second positions.
However, the claim language does not define either of the upper or lower zone of the patient’s lungs, such that adjustment of the garment itself via the straps disclosed by the combination of Lee and Shockley which necessarily causes adjustment of the at least one first and second percussion devices sufficiently discloses adjusting the position of each percussion device to different positions or zones. Furthermore, in the case of claim 11 and 21 and their respective dependents, the claims do not require that the adjustment of positions/locations of the at least one first and second percussion devices be performed via adjustment of straps of the garment, such that the movement of percussion devices into different pockets serves as an adjustment and would additionally disclose the claimed limitations.
The applicant additionally argues that claim 21 “requires sensors to be “associated with each respective percussion device” establishing a structural relationship between the sensors and the percussion devices”.
However, this limitation of the claim does not establish a structural relationship between the sensors and the percussion devices as “associated with” does not describe any particular structural relationship and only requires under the broadest reasonable interpretation that the sensors are in some way associated with the percussion devices, such as via electrical connection or by otherwise monitoring the performance of a particular percussion device, which is sufficiently disclosed by Lee. Should the applicant desire to claim the structural relationship between the sensors and percussion devices, it is suggested that the claim be amended to recite some variation of “wherein a sensor is positioned with each percussion device” (instant specification paragraph 0069) or similar, such as “wherein a respective sensor is positioned at the respective percussion device”.
The claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791