DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim 21 has been added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102, 103: Claims 1, 14, and 19 have been amended to change the scope of the claimed invention. Specifically, amended claim 1 recites “the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances between an edge of the first residue and a cut edge of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance”, which changes the scope of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection: Applicant requested that, because the present claims and the claims of the co-pending application are currently being prosecuted (and, thus, subject to change so as to render this rejection moot), the rejection be held in abeyance. However, examiner maintains that the relevant pending and co-pending claims have not changed to a degree that would overcome the double patenting rejection.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102, 103: Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pg. 11 of response filed 04/27/2026 that “the Office Action has failed to establish that Leenknegt’s residue deposit boundary lines (alleged by the Office Action to respond to the claimed “continuous curve”) include “a plurality of different distances between an edge of the first residue and a cut edge” [emphasis added], as is the case with the claimed “continuous curve.”” However, examiner maintains that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the section G shown in Leenknegt FIG. 7 contains multiple distances, examples of which are depicted in annotated FIG. 7 below, across it’s width. The claim language does not require that the distances comprise multiple distances with varying lengths, as is show in FIG. 3 of the instant application.
Applicant further argues on pgs. 11-12 that “the Office Action has failed to establish that the lateral adjustment of Leenknegt’s deposit boundary lines would result in a deposit boundary line including “a plurality of different distances between an edge of the first residue and a cut edge” rather than resulting in a new deposit boundary line at a different lateral position.” Examiner maintains that, similar to the reasoning in the paragraph above, different distances of the same value can be identified across section G of FIG. 7 of Leenknegt.
Double Patenting
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/158,722 in view of Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1). Claim 1 of the copending application teaches the limitations of claim 8 (dependent on independent claim 1) of the instant application except for:
“a spreader”
“a residue spread variance of a first residue spread in a first harvesting area, the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances between an edge fo the first residue and a cut edge of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance between the edge of the first residue and a first position of the cut edge”
“and the residue spread variance being obtained before the spreader reaches a second position in a second harvesting area”
“the second harvesting area being adjacent to the first harvesting area”
“and the first position being aligned with the second position”
“the control of the agricultural harvester according to the adjusted operation parameter causing the spreader to spread a second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance.”
Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) teaches:
a spreader (see at least Leenknegt FIG. 5: impellers 29 and 31)
a residue spread variance (see at least Leenknegt FIG. 7: width of ground surface G in Pass A; [0124]: “strips G of uncovered ground the boundaries of which vary”)
the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances (see at least FIG. 7: a straight line is a continuous curve; section G includes multiple different distances (see annotated FIG. 7)) between an edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between G and R in pass A) of the first residue and a cut edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between passes A and B1) of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance between the edge of the first residue and a first position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first position) of the cut edge
adjacent harvesting areas (see at least Leenknegt FIG. 7: passes A and B1)
1st and 2nd positions being aligned (see at least Leenknegt annotated FIG. 7 (included in 103 section below): first and second positions) *Examiner’s interpretation: first and second positions are the same positions. Spreading second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance, which is measured at the first position, would not be guaranteed to successfully compensate if the positions were different, because the residue spread variance can vary at different positions along a cut swath.*
Compensating for residue spread variance in adjacent field (FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”)
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the harvester recited in claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/158,722 with the teachings of Leenknegt, including a spreader and compensation for spread variances in adjacent fields, in order to “provide for a dependable way of ensuring desired residue deposition results”, as recognized by Leenknegt in paragraph [0142].
Claim 18 is also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/158,722 in view of Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) according to similar logic.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leenknegt teaches An agricultural harvester (see at least FIG. 5: combine harvester 10), comprising:
a spreader (see at least FIG. 5: impellers 29 and 31; [0079]: “a spreader that typically would adopt the dual-impeller design”); and
processing circuitry (see at least FIG. 3: processor 22) configured to cause the agricultural harvester to,
obtain (see at least [0136]: “the output signals of the one or more sensors that detect the deposition of residue on the ground”) a residue spread variance (see at least FIG. 7: width of ground surface G in Pass A; [0124]: “strips G of uncovered ground the boundaries of which vary”) of a first residue spread (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “incomplete coverage”) in a first harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: pass A), the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances (see at least FIG. 7: a straight line is a continuous curve; section G includes multiple different distances (see annotated FIG. 7)) between an edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between G and R in pass A) of the first residue and a cut edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between passes A and B1) of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance between the edge of the first residue and a first position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first position) of the cut edge, and the residue spread variance being obtained before (see at least [0129]: “storing information derived from the outputs of the one or more sensors. … This can be for example through the use of on-board memory”; [0097]: “The vehicle-mounted camera/sensor 18 … is in a preferred location at the rear of the combine harvester 10 such that its “line of sight” … takes in the field residue that is in the process of being deposited behind the moving combine harvester 10.”; [0133]: “residue deposition boundary target lines 24a, 24b. These … may move laterally in response to the detected residue coverage R.”; [0133]-[0134]: “The operator of the combine harvester 10a may respond to the movement of the boundary lines 24a, 24b by adjusting one or more settings in order to ensure coverage of residue in the incompletely covered strip G that results from the influence of the wind and/or slope as described. … alternatively … the combine harvester(s) 10 may respond to the outputs of the sensor(s) in an automated mode, in which adjustments of the various parameters of residue spreading occur automatically in accordance with one or more control algorithms.”; [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows … the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. … provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”) the spreader reaches a second position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: second position) in a second harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: path B1), the second harvesting area being adjacent to the first harvesting area, and the first position being aligned with (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first and second positions) *Examiner’s interpretation: first and second positions are the same positions. Spreading second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance, which is measured at the first position, would not be guaranteed to successfully compensate if the positions were different, because the residue spread variance can vary at different positions along a cut swath.* the second position,
adjust an operation parameter (see at least [0037]: “a range of additional parameters, such as … a target residue swath width and/or the regions spread with residue, may be automatically adjusted”; [0134]: “the combine harvester(s) 10 may respond to the outputs of the sensor(s) in an automated mode, in which adjustments of the various parameters of residue spreading occur automatically in accordance with one or more control algorithms.”) of the agricultural harvester based on the residue spread variance to obtain an adjusted (see at least [0116]: “The residue distribution optimisation shown in FIG. 5 is a form of lateral offsetting strategy. In this the distribution of residue R is, … laterally offset to one side”) operation parameter, and
control the agricultural harvester in the second harvesting area according to the adjusted operation parameter (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”), the control of the agricultural harvester according to the adjusted operation parameter causing the spreader to spread a second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance.
Regarding claim 2, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to control the agricultural harvester according to the adjusted operation parameter such that the second residue is spread into (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”) the first harvesting area between the edge of the first residue and the cut edge.
Regarding claim 4, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain the residue spread variance from a map (see at least [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows among other things the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. This may be useful in a number of ways, one of which is to provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”).
Regarding claim 5, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to generate the map (see at least [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows among other things the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. This may be useful in a number of ways, one of which is to provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”) based on at least one residue spread variance value sensed using one or more sensors on the agricultural harvester.
Regarding claim 6, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to receive (see at least [0128]: “it is necessary for the residue deposition information acquired by the first combine harvester 10a to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b.”) the map from another agricultural harvester or another machine.
Regarding claim 7, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain the map before (see at least [0128]: “In order for a second combine harvester 10b to proceed …, it is necessary for the residue deposition information … to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b”) spreading the second residue (see at least [0127]: “a further strip of incomplete coverage G to the right of the residue coverage caused by Pass B1. This in turn may be compensated for through use of a second combine harvester 10b”).
Regarding claim 8, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain the residue spread variance from a first signal (see at least [0128]: “In order for a second combine harvester 10b to proceed as explained it is necessary for the residue deposition information acquired by the first combine harvester 10a to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b. This can be achieved through the first and second combine harvesters 10a, 10b being capable of mutual (wireless) communication”) received from another agricultural harvester or another machine.
Regarding claim 9, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to receive (see at least [0128]: “the residue deposition information acquired by the first combine harvester 10a to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b.”) the first signal while spreading (see at least FIG. 7, [0127]: “a second combine harvester 10b completing a third pass (Pass B2) in the same direction as and slightly behind combine harvester 10a when completing Pass B1.”) the second residue.
Regarding claim 10, Leenknegt teaches The agricultural harvester of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to adjust the operation parameter based on the residue spread variance and an environmental condition (see at least [0124] – [0125]: “FIG. 7 shows another way in which sub-optimal deposition of field residue may arise. In FIG. 7 undesired lateral offsetting of the deposition of residue may occur because of a weather phenomenon such as a cross-wind and/or a geographical feature such as a field slope. Such influences are represented schematically in FIG. 7 by wind sock 27. They can result in uncontrolled under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground the boundaries of which vary as illustrated along the respective passes of the combine harvester 10 along the field. The optimisation mode to be adopted in accordance with the disclosure hereof in such a situation may include augmenting the output of an interface device in a manner encouraging the deposition of field residue during subsequent passes that compensates for incomplete coverage in previous passes.”).
Regarding claim 19, Leenknegt teaches A method performed by an agricultural harvester (see at least FIG. 5: combine harvester 10), the method comprising:
obtaining (see at least [0136]: “the output signals of the one or more sensors that detect the deposition of residue on the ground”) a residue spread variance (see at least FIG. 7: width of ground surface G in Pass A; [0124]: “strips G of uncovered ground the boundaries of which vary”) of a first residue spread (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “incomplete coverage”) in a first harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: pass A), the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances (see at least FIG. 7: a straight line is a continuous curve; section G includes multiple different distances (see annotated FIG. 7)) between an edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between G and R in pass A) of the first residue and a cut edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between passes A and B1) of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance between the edge of the first residue and a first position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first position) of the cut edge, and the residue spread variance being obtained before (see at least [0129]: “storing information derived from the outputs of the one or more sensors. . This can be for example through the use of on-board memory”; [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows … the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. … provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”) a spreader of the agricultural harvester reaches a second position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: second position) in a second harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: path B1), the second harvesting area being adjacent to the first harvesting area, and the first position being aligned with (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first and second positions) *Examiner’s interpretation: first and second positions are the same positions. Spreading second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance, which is measured at the first position, would not be guaranteed to successfully compensate if the positions were different, because the residue spread variance can vary at different positions along a cut swath.* the second position;
adjusting an operation parameter (see at least [0037]: “a range of additional parameters, such as … a target residue swath width and/or the regions spread with residue, may be automatically adjusted”; [0134]: “the combine harvester(s) 10 may respond to the outputs of the sensor(s) in an automated mode, in which adjustments of the various parameters of residue spreading occur automatically in accordance with one or more control algorithms.”) of the agricultural harvester based on the residue spread variance to obtain an adjusted (see at least [0116]: “The residue distribution optimisation shown in FIG. 5 is a form of lateral offsetting strategy. In this the distribution of residue R is, … laterally offset to one side”) operation parameter; and
controlling the agricultural harvester in the second harvesting area according to the adjusted operation parameter (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”), the controlling causing the spreader to spread a second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance.
Regarding claim 20, Leenknegt teaches The method of claim 19, wherein the controlling causes the spreader to spread the second residue into (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”) the first harvesting area between the edge of the first residue and the cut edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) in view of Ferrari et al. (US 20210034867 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Leenknegt teach The agricultural harvester of claim 1, wherein circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain (see at least [0136]: “the output signals of the one or more sensors that detect the deposition of residue on the ground”) the residue spread variance by sensing the residue spread variance using one or more sensors (see at least [0053]: “sensors supported by the mobile harvesting machine”) on the agricultural harvester.
However, Leenknegt does not explicitly teach the one or more sensors including a sensor having a sensing area directed toward a front of the agricultural harvester.
Ferrari teach the one or more sensors including a sensor having a sensing area directed toward a front (see at least FIG. 1, [0052]: “the work vehicle 110 and/or the implement 112 may include one or more of the residue sensors 224 of the system 200 coupled thereto and/or supported thereon for capturing data associated residue coverage of the field in front of the implement 112 in the direction of travel 134.”; “a field of view 225 directed towards a portion(s) of the field disposed in front of … the work vehicle 110”) of the agricultural harvester.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to include forward facing sensors. Doing so would help “to more accurately determine residue coverage after a harvesting operation”, as recognized by Ferrari in paragraph [0001].
Regarding claim 14, Leenknegt teach at least one processor (see at least FIG. 3: processor 22) of an agricultural harvester (see at least FIG. 5: combine harvester 10);
the method comprising:
obtaining (see at least [0136]: “the output signals of the one or more sensors that detect the deposition of residue on the ground”) a residue spread variance (see at least FIG. 7: width of ground surface G in Pass A; [0124]: “strips G of uncovered ground the boundaries of which vary”) of a first residue spread (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “incomplete coverage”) in a first harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: pass A), the residue spread variance corresponding to a continuous curve including a plurality of different distances (see at least FIG. 7: a straight line is a continuous curve; section G includes multiple different distances (see annotated FIG. 7)) between an edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between G and R in pass A) of the first residue and a cut edge (see at least FIG. 7: boarder between passes A and B1) of the first harvesting area, the plurality of different distances including a distance between the edge of the first residue and a first position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first position) of the cut edge, and the residue spread variance being obtained before (see at least [0129]: “storing information derived from the outputs of the one or more sensors. . This can be for example through the use of on-board memory”; [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows … the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. … provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”) a spreader of the agricultural harvester reaches a second position (see at least annotated FIG. 7: second position) in a second harvesting area (see at least FIG. 7: path B1), the second harvesting area being adjacent to the first harvesting area, and the first position being aligned with (see at least annotated FIG. 7: first and second positions) *Examiner’s interpretation: first and second positions are the same positions. Spreading second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance, which is measured at the first position, would not be guaranteed to successfully compensate if the positions were different, because the residue spread variance can vary at different positions along a cut swath.* the second position;
adjusting an operation parameter (see at least [0037]: “a range of additional parameters, such as … a target residue swath width and/or the regions spread with residue, may be automatically adjusted”; [0134]: “the combine harvester(s) 10 may respond to the outputs of the sensor(s) in an automated mode, in which adjustments of the various parameters of residue spreading occur automatically in accordance with one or more control algorithms.”) of the agricultural harvester based on the residue spread variance to obtain an adjusted (see at least [0116]: “The residue distribution optimisation shown in FIG. 5 is a form of lateral offsetting strategy. In this the distribution of residue R is, … laterally offset to one side”) operation parameter; and
controlling the agricultural harvester in the second harvesting area according to the adjusted operation parameter (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”), the controlling causing the spreader to spread a second residue at the second position to compensate for the residue spread variance.
However, Leenknegt does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method.
Ferrari teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium (see at least FIG. 1: memory 206; [0025]: “the memory 206 may generally comprise … computer readable medium (e.g., random access memory (RAM)”) storing instructions (see at least [0025]: “Such memory 206 may generally be configured to store … instructions 210 that can be executed by the processor(s) 204.”) that, when executed by at least one processor of an agricultural harvester, cause the at least one processor to perform a method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to include RAM storing instructions executed by a processor. Doing so would help “to more accurately determine residue coverage after a harvesting operation”, as recognized by Ferrari in paragraph [0001].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Leenknegt and Ferrari teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14.
Leenknegt further teach wherein the controlling causes the spreader to spread the second residue into (see at least FIG. 7, [0126]: “a first combine harvester 10a has completed an initial pass (Pass A) in which the described incomplete coverage has occurred, and is in the process of compensating for this during a second pass (Pass B1) along the field with the settings of the combine harvester 10a ensuring that the coverage of residue is complete in the area harvested during Pass A.”; [0134]: “under-coverage of deposited field residue R leaving strips G of uncovered ground”) the first harvesting area between the edge of the first residue and the cut edge.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Leenknegt and Ferrari teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14.
Leenknegt further teach wherein the obtaining (see at least [0136]: “the output signals of the one or more sensors that detect the deposition of residue on the ground”) the residue spread variance comprises sensing the residue spread variance using one or more sensors (see at least [0053]: “sensors supported by the mobile harvesting machine”) on the agricultural harvester.
Ferrari further teach the one or more sensors including a sensor having a sensing area directed toward a front (see at least FIG. 1, [0052]: “the work vehicle 110 and/or the implement 112 may include one or more of the residue sensors 224 of the system 200 coupled thereto and/or supported thereon for capturing data associated residue coverage of the field in front of the implement 112 in the direction of travel 134.”; “a field of view 225 directed towards a portion(s) of the field disposed in front of … the work vehicle 110”) of the agricultural harvester.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to include forward facing sensors. Doing so would help “to more accurately determine residue coverage after a harvesting operation”, as recognized by Ferrari in paragraph [0001].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Leenknegt and Ferrari teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14.
Leenknegt further teach wherein the obtaining the residue spread variance comprises obtaining the residue spread variance from a map (see at least [0130]: “The presence of such memory facilities allows among other things the building-up of a map of residue deposition in a chosen field. This may be useful in a number of ways, one of which is to provide information some time after harvesting has been completed on the amount and distribution of spread residue in the field.”) before ([0128]: “In order for a second combine harvester 10b to proceed …, it is necessary for the residue deposition information … to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b”) the spreader spreads the second residue (see at least [0127]: “a further strip of incomplete coverage G to the right of the residue coverage caused by Pass B1. This in turn may be compensated for through use of a second combine harvester 10b”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Leenknegt and Ferrari teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14.
Leenknegt further teach wherein the obtaining the residue spread variance comprises obtaining the residue spread variance from a first signal (see at least [0128]: “In order for a second combine harvester 10b to proceed as explained it is necessary for the residue deposition information acquired by the first combine harvester 10a to be shared with the second combine harvester 10b. This can be achieved through the first and second combine harvesters 10a, 10b being capable of mutual (wireless) communication”) received from another agricultural harvester or another machine.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) in view of Wilken et al. (US 9807938 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Leenknegt teach The agricultural harvester of claim 10.
However, Leenknegt does not explicitly teach wherein the environmental condition corresponds to an environment at the agricultural harvester in the second harvesting area.
Wilken teach wherein the environmental condition corresponds to an environment at the agricultural harvester in the second harvesting area (see at least column 9 lines 22-26: “This also preferably includes environmental information relating to the geometric conditions of the field comprising the field crop in the particular area of applicability such as ‘obstacle encountered,’ ‘ground topology,’ or the like.”; FIG. 2: environmental sensor system 14; FIG. 2, column 6 lines 15-18: “The area of applicability of a piece or portion of environmental information can be located, for example, in a forward area 15 … of the harvesting machine”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Wilken to determine environmental conditions at the harvester. Doing so would make it “possible, therefore, to orient the set wheel tracks with respect to crop edges or to avoid obstacles, on the basis of the environmental information.”, as recognized by Wilken in column 10 lines 56-58.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) in view of Craig (US 20220232768 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Leenknegt teach The agricultural harvester of claim 1.
However, Leenknegt does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to adjust the operation parameter based on the residue spread variance based on a table, the table including a plurality of operation parameter adjustments stored in association with corresponding residue spread variance values.
Craig teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to adjust the operation parameter based on the residue spread variance based on a table (see at least [0059]: “the debris director 1440 is moved between the extended and retracted positions proportionally to the sensed parameter in a predetermined fashion that may be coded into the control system 1000, such as in a lookup table or by way of a formula. In such implementations, the debris director 1440 may move to adjust the residue discharge angle closer to 90 degrees in response to one or more of 1) an increasing upwind component/vector of the wind direction, 2) an increasing wind speed”), the table including a plurality of operation parameter adjustments stored in association with corresponding residue spread variance values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Craig to determine residue spread control parameters using a table. Doing so would compensate for environmental conditions when controlling residue area size, as recognized by Craig in paragraph [0032, and “it is beneficial to spread the residue over a large area in order to increase ease of reincorporating the residue into the field”, as recognized by Craig in paragraph [0029].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) in view of Craig (US 20220232768 A1) and Ferrari et al. (US 20190392269 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Leenknegt and Craig teach The agricultural harvester of claim 12.
However, the combination of Leenknegt and Craig does not explicitly teach wherein the table is generated based on a machine learning model trained using a plurality of reference residue spread variance values and a plurality of reference operation parameter adjustments, each of the plurality of operation parameter adjustments being an adjustment to the operation parameter sufficient to change a residue spread by a distance corresponding to an associated reference residue spread variance value among the plurality of reference residue spread variance values.
Ferrari teach wherein the table is generated based on a machine learning model (see at least [0021]: “Through the use of a machine-learned convolutional neural network, the systems and methods of the present disclosure can produce crop residue estimates that exhibit greater accuracy. These more accurate estimates of crop residue can enable improved and/or more precise control of the work vehicle and/or implement to obtain a desired crop residue condition within a field and, as a result, lead to superior agricultural outcomes.”) trained using a plurality of reference residue spread variance values and a plurality of reference operation parameter adjustments, each of the plurality of operation parameter adjustments being an adjustment to the operation parameter sufficient to change a residue spread (see at least [0092]: “when the level of crop residue determined at (208) differs from a target level, the controller 102 may be configured to actively adjust the operation of the work vehicle 10 and/or the implement 12 in a manner that increases … the level of crop residue remaining within the field following the operation being performed (e.g., a tillage operation), such as … by adjusting one or more operating parameters associated with the ground-engaging elements of the implement 12, including … angle or position relative to the ground (e.g., height)”) by a distance corresponding to an associated reference residue spread variance value among the plurality of reference residue spread variance values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Ferrari to use machine learning to determine residue spread information for control operations. Doing so would “produce crop residue estimates that exhibit greater accuracy. These more accurate estimates of crop residue can enable improved and/or more precise control of the work vehicle and/or implement to obtain a desired crop residue condition within a field and, as a result, lead to superior agricultural outcomes”, as recognized by Ferrari in paragraph [0021].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leenknegt et al. (US 20230225246 A1) in view of Vandike et al. (US 20210084820 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Leenknegt teach The agricultural harvester of claim 1.
However, Leenknegt does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain the residue spread variance based on the first position being at least a threshold distance away from at least one of the agricultural harvester or the spreader.
Vandike teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the agricultural harvester to obtain the residue spread variance ([0033]: “The width of the second harvested area 122b is defined as the distance between the edges … 130 of the prior pass of the harvester 10. If the residue does not extend entirely across the width of the second harvested area 122b, or is an incomplete spread, the system determines where the residue is not present (e.g., where an open area is detected). For example, the residue may be distributed over an incomplete distance between one … 130 of the second harvested area 122b, with a band (or bands) of open area positioned between the residue and one (or both) of the edges … 130.”) based on the first position being at least a threshold distance away (FIG. 2: distance from rightmost edge of field of view F2 and spreading assembly 54; [0031]: “the acquired image (or images) captured by the at least one camera … 78 … is analyzed to assess the distribution of residue in the second harvested area 122b.”; [0020]: “The second camera 78 has a second field of view F2.”) from at least one of the agricultural harvester or the spreader
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Leenknegt to incorporate the teachings of Vandike to measure crop spread variance a distance ahead of spreader device. Doing so would “improve residue distribution”, as recognized by Vandike in paragraph [0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art previously presented:
Mahieu et al. (US 20210127573 A1) teaches a system that allows an operator to adjust the crop residue distribution over a ground area (see paragraph [0087]).
Schlesser et al. (US 20120245802 A1) teaches a crop residue spreading system that “save[s] data regarding its control of the spreading and collecting of crop residue to generate residue map data” (see paragraph [0066]).
Herrmann et al. (US 20230000015 A1) teaches a system that adjusts harvester control parameters based on images of crop residue present on adjacent harvested field region (see paragraphs [0015] and [0028]).
Examiner Interview are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GEORGE A ALCORN III/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662