DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/240595 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application ‘595 teaches a foam molding composition comprising a fluororesin (A) and a compound (B) having a pyrolysis temperature of 300ºC or higher and a solubility parameter (SP value) of 8 to 15 (claim 1). Copending application ‘595 recites that the compound (B) is a compound comprising at least one partial structure selected from the group consisting of aromatic rings, phosphoric acid ester groups, and amide groups (claim 2). Copending application ‘595 recites that compound (B) is a compound containing one or more C6-C14 aromatic rings, or a salt thereof (claim 3). Copending application ‘595 recites that compound (B) is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of phosphoric acid esters and salts thereof, phosphoric acid ester complex compounds, and compounds having two or more amide groups (claim 4). Copending application ‘595 recites that the salt of compound (B) is an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal (claim 5). Copending application ‘595 recites that the compound (B) is at least one of compounds represented by the following formulae (1), (2), (3), and (4):
Where R1, R2, R3, R4, R21, R22, R23, R24, R31, R32, R33, R34, R41, and R42 each represent a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group or cycloalkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms, or an aryl group, alkylaryl group or arylakyl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, Ar41 represents an aryl group; R5 and R6 each represent a hydrogen atom or a methyl group; and n represents an integer 1 or 2, m represents an integer of 0 to 2, an X represents a m+n-valent metal (claim 6). Copending application ‘595 recites that R1, R2, R21, R22, R31, and R33 in the formula (1), the formula (2), and the formula (3) are an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms (claim 7). Copending application ‘395 recites that X in the formula (1), the formula (2), and the formula (3) is at least one of sodium, potassium, rubidium, calcium, and barium (claim 8). Copending application ‘395 recites that compound (B) is an aromatic cyclic phosphoric acid ester salt represented by the formula (1) (claim 9). Copending application ‘395 recites that compound (B) is 2,2’-methylenebis (4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) sodium phosphate (claim 10). Copending application ‘395 recites that fluororesin (A) is a melt processible fluororesin (claim 11). Copending application ‘395 recites that fluororesin (A) is at least one selected from the group consisting of tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene-based copolymers, tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) copolymers and tetrafluoroethylene/ethylene-based copolymers (claim 12). Copending application ‘395 recites that fluororesin (A) is in a fluororesin having been subjected to a fluorination treatment (claim 13). Copending application ‘395 recites that the foam molding composition is substantially free from fluorine-based low-molecular weight compound (claim 14).
This is an anticipatory type Obvious Double Patenting rejection. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2018/0065105).
Song et al. teach a polymeric composition comprising a matrix polymer, including polar monomers, with an expressly named example being poly(tetrafluoroethylene-co-perfluoropropylvinyl ether) (¶41) and further comprising a nucleating agent with an expressly named example being sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-tert-butylphenyl)-phosphate (¶64). It would have been obvious to produce a composition comprising poly(tetrafluoroethylene-co-perfluoropropylvinyl ether) and sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-tert-butylphenyl)-phosphate, given their express disclosure in ¶41 and ¶64, respectively, of Song et al., because “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art…” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
It is noted that sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-tert-butylphenyl)-phosphate meets compound (B) of instant claims 1-10, including having a pyrolysis temperature of 300ºC or higher and a solubility parameter of 8 to 15. It is noted that poly(tetrafluoroethylene-co-perfluoropropylvinyl ether) meets the fluororesin (A) of instant claims 1 and 11-12.
Regarding the instant claim limitation which recites a “foam molding” composition, this is an intended use of the composition of the instant claims. As embodiments of the composition of Song comprise each of the components required for the instantly claimed invention, the compositions of Song et al. are capable of performing the intended use of “foam molding.” Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claim 13 recites a product-by-process by using the language “wherein the fluororesin is a fluororesin having been subjected to a fluorination treatment.” Case law holds that:
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the prior art product structure is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims. Because the fluororesin disclosed in Song et al. is the same as that of the instant claims, i.e. poly(tetrafluoroethylene-co-perfluoropropylvinyl ether) (¶41), this fluororesin meets instant claim 13, regardless of the method by which it was fluorinated, because the copolymer of Song is the same as that of the instant claims. Additionally, because the poly(tetrafluoroethylene-co-perfluoropropylvinyl ether) of Song et al. meets the instantly claimed fluororesin, when this is used as the matrix polymer, the composition is “substantially free from fluorine-based low-molecular weight compound.” This meets instant claim 14.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. Inoue et al. (JP 2001-049127). Because JP 2001-049127 is not in English, the machine-translated English equivalent is cited below and is attached.
Inoue et al. teach a polymer composition comprising thermoplastic resins, with an expressly named example being fluororesins (¶256), which meets fluororesin (A) of the instant claims, and further comprising a nucleating agent with an expressly named example being sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) phosphate (¶304). It is noted that sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) phosphate meets the compound (B) of instant claims 1-10, including having a pyrolysis temperature of 300ºC or higher and solubility parameter (SP value) of 8 to 15, as the instant specification teaches sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) phosphate as a specific compound having the pyrolysis temperature and solubility parameter recited in instant claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Inoue et al., to produce a composition comprising a fluororesin and further comprising sodium 2,2’-methylenebis(4,6-di-t-butylphenyl) phosphate which meets compound (B) of instant claims 1-10, because “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art…” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
Regarding the instant claim limitation which recites a “foam molding” composition, this is an intended use of the composition of the instant claims. As embodiments of the composition of Inoue et al. comprise each of the components required for the instantly claimed invention, the compositions of Inoue et al. are capable of performing the intended use of “foam molding.” Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Conclusion
/K. BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766