DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants’ remarks, filed March 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 17, 25, 28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772).
Cozzo teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission (Section 0167), multi-panel uplink transmissions (Section 0167), simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE (Section 0167).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 14 – 17, 22, 25, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 1, Takeda teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 2, Section 0038), configured to: determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046)), wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, renders a scenario of priority given to the PUSCH of the time-overlapping of the PUSCH and PUCCH in the same component carrier (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)); and transmit the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation (Section 0046, a second UL transmission with a lower priority level may be dropped thus rendering a scenario wherein the first and second UL transmission are transmitted).
Takeda does not teach determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier, wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, and the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Cozzo, which also teaches power control, teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission (Section 0167), multi-panel uplink transmissions (Section 0167), simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE (Section 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Cozzo for the purpose of providing improved uplink coverage and reduced interference, which is a benefit of prioritization of transmit power reductions. The combination of Takeda and Cozzo teaches determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier, wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, and the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Regarding Claim 17, Takeda teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 2, Section 0038), configured to: determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046)), wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order, and wherein the first uplink transmission is associated with a first index value associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, renders a scenario of priority given to the PUSCH of the time-overlapping of the PUSCH and PUCCH in the same component carrier (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)); and transmit the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation (Section 0046, a second UL transmission with a lower priority level may be dropped thus rendering a scenario wherein the first and second UL transmission are transmitted).
Takeda does not teach wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Cozzo, which also teaches power control, teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission (Section 0167), multi-panel uplink transmissions (Section 0167), simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE (Section 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Cozzo for the purpose of providing improved uplink coverage and reduced interference, which is a benefit of prioritization of transmit power reductions. The combination of Takeda and Cozzo teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Regarding Claim 25, Takeda teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046)), wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, renders a scenario of priority given to the PUSCH of the time-overlapping of the PUSCH and PUCCH in the same component carrier (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)); and transmitting the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation (Section 0046, a second UL transmission with a lower priority level may be dropped thus rendering a scenario wherein the first and second UL transmission are transmitted).
Takeda does not teach wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Cozzo, which also teaches power control, teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission (Section 0167), multi-panel uplink transmissions (Section 0167), simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE (Section 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Cozzo for the purpose of providing improved uplink coverage and reduced interference, which is a benefit of prioritization of transmit power reductions. The combination of Takeda and Cozzo teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Regarding Claim 28, Takeda teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046)), wherein the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order, and wherein the first uplink transmission is associated with a first index value associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, renders a scenario of priority given to the PUSCH of the time-overlapping of the PUSCH and PUCCH in the same component carrier (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)); and transmitting the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation (Section 0046, a second UL transmission with a lower priority level may be dropped thus rendering a scenario wherein the first and second UL transmission are transmitted).
Takeda does not teach determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier, wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, and the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Cozzo, which also teaches power control, teaches wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission (Section 0167), multi-panel uplink transmissions (Section 0167), simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE (Section 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Cozzo for the purpose of providing improved uplink coverage and reduced interference, which is a benefit of prioritization of transmit power reductions. The combination of Takeda and Cozzo teaches determine a power allocation for a first uplink transmission in a component carrier that at least partially overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission in the component carrier, wherein the first uplink transmission is a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, the second uplink transmission is a second PUSCH transmission, and the power allocation is determined based at least in part on a priority order that includes a priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier for multi-panel uplink transmissions; and simultaneously transmit the first uplink transmission using a first panel of the UE and the second uplink transmission using a second panel of the UE in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation.
Regarding Claim 6, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the priority for the index values indicates that an uplink transmission having a first index value has a higher priority than an uplink transmission having a second index value (Section 0046, different priority indexes render a PUSCH having a higher priority index than a PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 8, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the priority for the index values is higher in the priority order than a priority for physical (PHY) layer priority indices of uplink transmissions (Sections 0046, 0048, PUSCH higher in priority than the PUCCH both of which are PHY layer entities)
Regarding Claim 14, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the priority for the index values is applicable to primary cells and secondary cells (Section 0044, priority of MCG over SCG).
Regarding Claim 15, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a power allocation for the second uplink transmission based at least in part on the priority order that includes the priority for index values associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, power allocated to the PUCCH (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)).
Regarding Claim 16, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation for the second uplink transmission (Sections 0046, 0048, power allocated to the PUCCH (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)).
Regarding Claim 22, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 17. Takeda further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to associate the first uplink transmission with the first index value based at least in part on the first uplink transmission not explicitly being associated with an index value (Sections 0046, 0048, there is no explicit indication of the PUSCH being associated with a particular priority index value due to the fact said PUSCH can have different priority index levels or values).
Regarding Claim 29, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 28. Takeda further teaches wherein a power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is defined for the first index value (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046), power is allocated and thus defined).
Claims 2, 3, 19, 26, 27, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2022/0210844), hereafter Jazi
Regarding Claims 2, 26, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 25. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is not defined per index value.
Jazi, which also teaches carrier aggregation, teaches wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is not defined per index value (carrier aggregation (Section 0324) thus there are component carriers, hereafter CCs, maximum power across all panels (Section 0316) indicates that the maximum power is not defined per index value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Jazi for the purpose of effectively managing multiple concurrent random access (RA) procedures with multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) as taught by Jazi.
Regarding Claims 3, 27, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 25. Takeda does not teach the first panel and the second panel.
Cozzo, which also teaches power control, teaches the first panel and the second panel (Section 0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Cozzo for the purpose of providing improved uplink coverage and reduced interference, which is a benefit of prioritization of transmit power reductions.
Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is to be shared among a plurality of panels of the UE.
Jazi, which also teaches carrier aggregation, teaches wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is to be shared among a plurality of panels of the UE (carrier aggregation (Section 0324) thus there are component carriers, hereafter CCs, maximum power across all panels (Section 0316) indicates that the maximum power is not defined per index value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Jazi for the purpose of effectively managing multiple concurrent random access (RA) procedures with multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) as taught by Jazi.
Regarding Claims 19, 30, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 17, 28. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is dedicated to a panel of the UE to be used for transmitting the first uplink transmission.
Jazi, which also teaches carrier aggregation, teaches wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is dedicated to a panel of the UE to be used for transmitting the first uplink transmission (carrier aggregation (Section 0324) thus there are component carriers, hereafter CCs, maximum power across all panels (Section 0316) which renders a component carrier dedicated to a panel of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda with the above features of Jazi for the purpose of effectively managing multiple concurrent random access (RA) procedures with multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) as taught by Jazi.
Claims 4, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2020/0314761)
Regarding Claims 4, 20, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 17. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein the index values are control resource set (CORESET) pool index values.
Hosseini, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein the index values are control resource set (CORESET) pool index values (Section 0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Hosseini for the purpose of managing out of order communications as taught by Hosseini.
Claim 5, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2020/0229104), hereafter Jazi104
Regarding Claim 5, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein each of the index values corresponds to a different panel of the UE.
Jazi104, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein each of the index values corresponds to a different panel of the UE (Section 0139, lowest index value among a plurality of panels indicates index values corresponding to different panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Jazi104 for the purpose of performing uplink transmission using a spatial domain transmission filter, which reduces noise, based on the transmit power as taught by Jazi104.
Regarding Claim 21, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 17. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein each of the index values corresponds to a particular panel of the UE.
Jazi104, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein each of the index values corresponds to a particular panel of the UE (Section 0139, lowest index value among a plurality of panels indicates index values corresponding to different panels which comprises index values corresponding to particular panels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Jazi104 for the purpose of performing uplink transmission using a spatial domain transmission filter, which reduces noise, based on the transmit power as taught by Jazi104.
Claims 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Lin (US 2019/0313462)
Regarding Claim 7, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for physical (PHY) layer priority indices of uplink transmissions (Sections 0046, 0048, PUSCH higher in priority than the PUCCH both of which are PHY layer entities)
Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach and is higher in the priority order than a priority for payload types of uplink transmissions.
Lin, which also teaches the use of uplink channels, teaches a PUCCH higher in priority order than a priority for payload types of uplink transmissions (Section 0017, PRACH, which is payload type of uplink transmission, has lower priority than the PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Lin for the purpose of effectively selecting between SR (scheduling request) resources and PRACH resources without SR or PRACH latency as taught by Lin.
Regarding Claim 9, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for payload types of uplink transmissions.
Lin, which also teaches the use of uplink channels, teaches wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for payload types of uplink transmissions (Section 0017, PUCCH has lower priority than the PRACH, which is payload type of uplink transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Lin for the purpose of effectively selecting between SR (scheduling request) resources and PRACH resources without SR or PRACH latency as taught by Lin.
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Lin (US 2019/0313462) and in further view of Axelsson et al. (US 2017/0118677)
Regarding Claim 10, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for physical random-access channel (PRACH) transmissions in a primary component carrier.
Lin, which also teaches the use of uplink channels, teaches wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions (Section 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Lin for the purpose of effectively selecting between SR (scheduling request) resources and PRACH resources without SR or PRACH latency as taught by Lin.
Takeda in view of Cozzo and in further view of Lin does not teach a primary component carrier.
Axelsson, which also teaches carrier aggregation, teaches a primary component carrier (Section 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Takeda in view of Cozzo and in further view of Lin with the above features of Axelsson for the purpose providing improved load management as taught Axelsson. The combination of Takeda, Cozzo, Lin, and Axelsson teaches wherein the priority for the index values is lower in the priority order than a priority for physical random-access channel (PRACH) transmissions in a primary component carrier.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0014753)
Regarding Claim 11, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein the priority for the index values is higher in the priority order than a priority for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions.
Wu, which also teaches wherein the priority for the index values is higher in the priority order than a priority for sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions (Section 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Wu for the purpose of improving the uplink data rate as taught by Wu.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0116608)
Regarding Claim 12, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the priority for the index values indicates that an uplink transmission having a first index value has a higher priority than an uplink transmission having a second index value based at least in part on the uplink transmission having the first index value and the uplink transmission having the second index value at least partially overlapping in time on a given component carrier (Sections 0046, 0048, first index value associated with the PUSCH and second index value associated with the PUCCH).
Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach and having a same priority according to a legacy priority order.
Kim, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches same priority according to a legacy priority order (Section 0461, legacy priority for PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Kim for the purpose of enabling SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) transmissions without fluctuations thus reducing signalling overhead and latency as taught by Kim.
Claim 18, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258885) in view of Cozzo et al. (US 2022/0086772) in view of Chen et al. (US 2011/0319120)
Regarding Claim 18, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 17. Takeda further teaches wherein a power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is defined for the first index value (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046), power is allocated and thus defined).
Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach wherein a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier is defined for the first index value.
Chen, which also teaches the use of component carriers, teaches a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers (Section 0157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Chen for the purpose of providing iterative power backoff thus extending battery life as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claim 23, Takeda in view of Cozzo teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 17. Takeda further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a power allocation for the second uplink transmission based at least in part on the priority order (allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046), Sections 0046, 0048 renders a scenario of priority given to the PUSCH of the time-overlapping of the PUSCH and PUCCH in the same component carrier (See Section 0046 “within that carrier”)), the second uplink transmission being associated with a second index value associated with time-domain overlapping uplink transmissions in a same component carrier, wherein the power allocation for the second uplink transmission is determined for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier defined for the second index value (Section 0046, 0047, PUCCH is the second uplink transmission, power is allocated and thus defined).
Takeda in view of Cozzo does not teach a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers.
Chen, which also teaches the use of component carriers, teaches a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers (Section 0157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Takeda in view of Cozzo with the above features of Chen for the purpose of providing iterative power backoff thus extending battery life as taught by Chen. The combination of Takeda, Cozzo, and Chen teaches wherein the power allocation for the second uplink transmission is determined based at least in part one a total maximum output power for a plurality of component carriers that includes the component carrier defined for the second index value.
Regarding Claim 24, Takeda in view of Cozzo and in further view of Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 23. Takeda further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the second uplink transmission in the component carrier based at least in part on the power allocation for the second uplink transmission ((allocation of resources, which comprises power (Section 0003) for uplink transmission in component carriers (Sections 0046) Section 0047, PUCCH is the second uplink transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the following:
wherein the priority for the index values is applicable to primary cells only
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
April 13, 2026