DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of 103 rejection based on Lindoff et al. (US 2016/0345377 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0286941 A1) and Takaluoma et al. (US 2006/0247802 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 13-14, 16-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindoff et al. (US 2016/0345377 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0286941 A1) and Takaluoma et al. (US 2006/0247802 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lindoff discloses At a source computing device, a method comprising (Figs. 3, 5A: UE 100):
identifying data for transmission to a destination computing device (Fig. 5A, [0059]-[0060]: UE determines to transmit a time critical application also referred to as data stream D, to server 200);
segmenting the data into at least a first set of segments and a second set of segments collectively including an entirety of the data (Fig. 5A, [0059]-[0060]: UE creates data streams D1 and D2 from the time critical application / data stream D. Fig. 6B, [0066]: the data stream D may be split into two distinct subsets D’ and D’’, where D’ includes every even symbol from D and belongs to data stream D1, and D’’ includes every odd symbol from D and belongs to data stream D2);
encapsulating the first set of segments into a first set of packets, each of the first set of packets including a first carrier (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f1 to encode the data stream D1 that comprises D’ including every even symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel. Figs. 3, 5A, [0051], [0058]: the UE sends D1 using SIM 1 to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A);
encapsulating the second set of segments into a second set of packets, each of the second set of packets including a second carrier (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f2 to encode the data stream D2 that comprises D”’ including every odd symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel. Figs. 3, 5A, [0052], [0058]: the UE sends D2 using SIM 2 to server 200 via BS A 320 associated with second operator B),
sending the first set of packets to the destination computing device over the first wireless carrier network (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0051], [0058], [0066]: UE sends D1 comprising D’ including every even symbol from D to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A); and
sending the second set of packets to the destination computing device over the second wireless carrier network (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0052], [0058], [0066]: UE sends D2 comprising D’’ including every odd symbol from D to server 200 via BS B 320 associated with second operator B), to thereby cause the destination computing device to reassemble the data from the first set of packets and the second set of packets ([0063], [0065], [0068]: server 200 receives both first and second data streams D1, D2 and extracts the data in order to generate data stream D or recreates the data stream).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Lee discloses a first carrier header formatted in a first predetermined format of a first wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to 3G network, i.e., first network device 200, to configure a header of a first partial data), and a second carrier header formatted in a second predetermined format of a second wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to WiFi network, i.e., second network device 300, to configure a header of a second partial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to insert access information for the access to 3G network and WiFi network to configure headers of a first partial data and a second partial data, as taught by Lee.
Doing so allows the terminal device 100 to transmit the divided first partial data and second partial data via the 3G network and WiFi network, respectively (Lee: [0074]-[0076]).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Takaluoma discloses wherein the first set of packets and the second set of packets each include respective overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0059]-[0060]: an information entity 500 is divided into data fragments. Bit streams represented as a first group and a second group share the data fragments. An overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group. In other words, the entire information entity 500 may be divided into overlapping portions); and
the destination computing device to reassemble the data from the first set of packets and the second set of packets based at least in part on the overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0061]: a decoder may reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to divide an information entity into data fragments and create bit streams represented as a first group and a second group sharing the data fragments, where an overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma, and program the server 200, as taught by Lindoff, to reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma.
Doing so may not require metadata which is typically used for characterizing the contents of the data fragments, i.e., the location of the data fragments in the information entity (Takuluoma: [0057], [0061]).
Regarding claim 17, Lindoff discloses A computing system, comprising (Figs. 1, 3, 5A: UE 100):
a first subscriber identification module (SIM) for a first wireless carrier network (Figs. 1, 3, [0043], [0051]: SIM 1 133 is associated with first operator A operating BS A 310);
a second SIM for a second wireless carrier network (Fig. 1, [0043], [0052]: SIM 2 134 is associated with second operator B operating BS B 320); and
one or more processors configured to (Fig. 1: controller 110)
identify data for transmission to a destination computing device (Fig. 5A, [0059]-[0060]: UE determines to transmit a time critical application also referred to as data stream D, to server 200);
segment the data into at least a first set of segments and a second set of segments collectively including an entirety of the data (Fig. 5A, [0059]-[0060]: UE creates data streams D1 and D2 from the time critical application / data stream D. Fig. 6B, [0066]: the data stream D may be split into two distinct subsets D’ and D’’, where D’ includes every even symbol from D and belongs to data stream D1, and D’’ includes every odd symbol from D and belongs to data stream D2);
encapsulate the first set of segments into a first set of packets, each of the first set of packets including a first carrier (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f1 to encode the data stream D1 that comprises D’ including every even symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel. Figs. 3, 5A, [0051], [0058]: the UE sends D1 using SIM 1 to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A);
encapsulate the second set of segments into a second set of packets, each of the second set of packets including a second carrier (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f2 to encode the data stream D2 that comprises D”’ including every odd symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel. Figs. 3, 5A, [0052], [0058]: the UE sends D2 using SIM 2 to server 200 via BS A 320 associated with second operator B),
send the first set of packets to the destination computing device over the first wireless carrier network (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0051], [0058], [0066]: UE sends D1 comprising D’ including every even symbol from D to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A); and
send the second set of packets to the destination computing device over the second wireless carrier network (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0052], [0058], [0066]: UE sends D2 comprising D’’ including every odd symbol from D to server 200 via BS B 320 associated with second operator B), to thereby cause the destination computing device to reassemble the data from the first set of packets and the second set of packets ([0063], [0065], [0068]: server 200 receives both first and second data streams D1, D2 and extracts the data in order to generate data stream D or recreates the data stream).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Lee discloses a first carrier header formatted in a first predetermined format of a first wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to 3G network, i.e., first network device 200, to configure a header of a first partial data), and a second carrier header formatted in a second predetermined format of a second wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to WiFi network, i.e., second network device 300, to configure a header of a second partial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to insert access information for the access to 3G network and WiFi network to configure headers of a first partial data and a second partial data, as taught by Lee.
Doing so allows the terminal device 100 to transmit the divided first partial data and second partial data via the 3G network and WiFi network, respectively (Lee: [0074]-[0076]).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Takaluoma discloses wherein the first set of packets and the second set of packets each include respective overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0059]-[0060]: an information entity 500 is divided into data fragments. Bit streams represented as a first group and a second group share the data fragments. An overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group. In other words, the entire information entity 500 may be divided into overlapping portions); and
the destination computing device to reassemble the data from the first set of packets and the second set of packets based at least in part on the overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0061]: a decoder may reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to divide an information entity into data fragments and create bit streams represented as a first group and a second group sharing the data fragments, where an overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma, and program the server 200, as taught by Lindoff, to reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma.
Doing so may not require metadata which is typically used for characterizing the contents of the data fragments, i.e., the location of the data fragments in the information entity (Takuluoma: [0057], [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein identifying the data for transmission comprises receiving the data from a user device (Fig. 1, [0040], [0059]: UE 100 executes the time critical application by a controller 110 of the UE 100).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 19, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 17 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein sending the first set of packets and the second set of packets to the destination computing device comprises sending the first set of packets and the second set of packets to a roaming core (Figs. 5A, 6B: D1 with D’ including even symbols from D and D2 with D’’ including odd symbols from D are transmitted to a network via BSs A 310, B 320 that have coverages).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 5 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein sending the first set of packets and the second set of packets to the roaming core causes the roaming core to reassemble the data and send the data to another device over a secure network (Fig. 7, [0074]: the network may combine D1+D2 and transmit them to server 200 via a communication channel, such as by using IP address or IMSI).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein the first wireless carrier network and the second wireless carrier network each comprise a public network (Fig. 3, [0051]-[0052]: BSs A 310, B 320 may be LTE or 3GPP, GSM, or other commonly known RAT).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein the first wireless carrier network and the second wireless carrier network each comprise one or more of a 5G or a long-term evolution (LTE) network (Fig. 3, [0051]-[0052]: BSs A 310, B 320 may be LTE or other commonly known RAT).
Regarding claim(s) 9, 20, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 17 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses further comprising encrypting the first set of segments and the second set of segments (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding functions f1, f2 to encode the data stream D1 that comprises D’ including every even symbol from D and data stream D2 that comprises D’’ including every odd symbol from D).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein segmenting the data into at least a first set of segments and a second set of segments comprises using 5G infrastructure on the source computing device to segment the data (Fig. 1, [0041]: UE 100 comprises components to operate in any future fifth generation cellular communication standard. Fig. 5A, [0059]-[0060]: UE creates data streams D1 and D2 from the time critical application / data stream D. Fig. 6B, [0066]: the data stream D may be split into two distinct subsets D’ and D’’, where D’ includes every even symbol from D and belongs to data stream D1, and D’’ includes every odd symbol from D and belongs to data stream D2).
Regarding claim 11, Lindoff discloses At a destination computing device, a method comprising (Figs. 5A, 6B: server 200. See also Fig. 13, [0097]-[0098]: server 200 may be a UE 100):
receiving a first set of packets over a first wireless carrier network associated with a first subscriber identification module (SIM) in the destination computing device (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0051], [0058], [0066]: UE uses SIM 1 to send D1 comprising D’ including every even symbol from D to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A. Fig. 2, [0047], [0059]: the server 200 may be another communication device 100 as described in Fig. 1 that executes the counter part of the time critical application. Figs. 1, 3, [0043], [0051]: SIM 1 133 is associated with first operator A operating BS A 310. See also Fig. 13, [0097]-[0098]: server 200 may be a UE 100),
wherein the first set of packets encapsulates a first set of segments (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f1 to encode the data stream D1 that comprises D’ including every even symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel), and
wherein each of the first set of packets includes a first carrier (Figs. 3, 5A, [0051], [0058]: the UE sends D1 using SIM 1 to server 200 via BS A 310 associated with first operator A);
receiving a second set of packets over a second wireless carrier network associated with a second SIM in the destination computing device (Figs. 3, 5A, 6B, [0051], [0058], [0066]: UE uses SIM 2 to send D2 comprising D’’ including every odd symbol from D to server 200 via BS B 320 associated with second operator B. Fig. 2, [0047], [0059]: the server 200 may be another communication device 100 as described in Fig. 1 that executes the counter part of the time critical application. Figs. 1, 3, [0043], [0051]: SIM 2 134 is associated with second operator B operating BS B 320. See also Fig. 13, [0097]-[0098]: server 200 may be a UE 100),
wherein the second set of packets encapsulates a second set of segments (Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding function f2 to encode the data stream D2 that comprises D”’ including every odd symbol from D which is transmitted over one SIM channel),
wherein each of the second set of packets includes a second carrier (Figs. 3, 5A, [0052], [0058]: the UE sends D2 using SIM 2 to server 200 via BS A 320 associated with second operator B); and
reassembling an entirety of transmitted data from at least the first set of packets and the second set of packets ([0063], [0065], [0068]: server 200 receives both first and second data streams D1, D2 and extracts the data in order to generate data stream D or recreates the data stream).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Lee discloses a first carrier header formatted in a first predetermined format of a first wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to 3G network, i.e., first network device 200, to configure a header of a first partial data), and a second carrier header formatted in a second predetermined format of a second wireless carrier network ([0075]: terminal device 100 inserts access information for the access to WiFi network, i.e., second network device 300, to configure a header of a second partial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to insert access information for the access to 3G network and WiFi network to configure headers of a first partial data and a second partial data, as taught by Lee.
Doing so allows the terminal device 100 to transmit the divided first partial data and second partial data via the 3G network and WiFi network, respectively (Lee: [0074]-[0076]).
Lindoff does not disclose, but Takaluoma discloses wherein the first set of packets and the second set of packets each include respective overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0059]-[0060]: an information entity 500 is divided into data fragments. Bit streams represented as a first group and a second group share the data fragments. An overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group. In other words, the entire information entity 500 may be divided into overlapping portions); and
reassembling an entirety of transmitted data from at least the first set of packets and the second set of packets based at least in part on the overlapping portions (Fig. 5, [0061]: a decoder may reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to divide an information entity into data fragments and create bit streams represented as a first group and a second group sharing the data fragments, where an overlapping portion of the bit streams represents the data fragment being shared between the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma, and program the server 200, as taught by Lindoff, to reconstruct the information entity 500 based on the overlaps of the successive bit streams represented as the first group and the second group, as taught by Takuluoma.
Doing so may not require metadata which is typically used for characterizing the contents of the data fragments, i.e., the location of the data fragments in the information entity (Takuluoma: [0057], [0061]).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein the first set of packets and the second set of packets are received from different devices (Fig. 5A: D1 and D2 are received from BSs A 310, B 320).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses wherein the first set of packets and the second set of packets are received from a same device (Fig. 5A: D1 and D2 are received from UE 100).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses further comprising decrypting the first set of segments and the second set of segments ([0080]: server 200 decodes D1, D2. Fig. 6B, [0066]: UE uses encoding functions f1, f2 to encode the data stream D1 that comprises D’ including every even symbol from D and data stream D2 that comprises D’’ including every odd symbol from D).
Claim(s) 2, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindoff et al. (US 2016/0345377 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0286941 A1), Takaluoma et al. (US 2006/0247802 A1), and Antonellis et al. (US 2009/0185684 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 18, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 17 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses in ([0063], [0065], [0068]: server 200 receives both first and second data streams D1, D2 and extracts the data in order to generate data stream D or recreates the data stream.
Lindoff does not disclose, but Antonellis discloses further comprising sending a key to the destination computing device over a secure network for the destination computing device to reassemble the data ([0079]: a back channel is used for security purposes. [0014]: central computer transfers a digital key to the exhibitor computer via the back channel to facilitate the reassembly of segmented packets into digital version of the motion picture. The back channel can be established via the Internet, a phone connection, a wireless connection, a dedicated connection, or other next generation communications or distribution channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to transfer a digital key via a back channel to facilitate the reassembly of segmented packets into digital version of the motion picture, as taught by Antonellis.
Doing so provides a secure environment where the intended receiver can use the key to reassemble the segmented packets (Antonellis: [0014], [0088]-[0089], [0096]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses receiving a key from a source computing device over a secure network ([0014]: central computer transfers a digital key to the exhibitor computer); and
using the key to reassemble the entirety of the transmitted data from at least the first set of packets and the second set of packets ([0014]: exhibitor computer uses the digital key to facilitate the reassembly of segmented packets into digital version of the motion picture).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the server 200, as taught by Lindoff, to use a digital key to facilitate the reassembly of segmented packets into digital version of the motion picture, as taught by Antonellis.
Doing so provides a secure environment where the intended receiver can use the key to reassemble the segmented packets (Antonellis: [0014], [0088]-[0089], [0096]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindoff et al. (US 2016/0345377 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0286941 A1), Takaluoma et al. (US 2006/0247802 A1), Antonellis et al. (US 2009/0185684 A1), and Alm et al. (US 11,038,849 B1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Lindoff in view of Lee, Takuluoma, and Antonellis discloses all features of claim(s) 2 as outlined above.
Antonellis discloses in [0079]: for security purposes, a back channel is used, and in [0014]: the back channel can be established via the Internet, a phone connection, a wireless connection, a dedicated connection, or other next generation communications or distribution channel.
Lindoff in view of Antonellis does not disclose, but Alm discloses wherein the secure network comprises a Wi-Fi network or a satellite network (col. 4 ll. 14-21: a secure network may be satellite, WiFi, etc. and may be created on top of any reasonable underlying transport mechanism).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE 100, as taught by Lindoff, to transfer a digital key via a back channel established via a back channel, as taught by Antonellis, that may be satellite, WiFi, etc., as taught by Alm.
Doing so causes all traffic over that transport to be encrypted and opaque to potential eavesdroppers, and be protected from forgery by potential active attackers (Alm: col. 4 ll. 14-21).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindoff et al. (US 2016/0345377 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0286941 A1), Takaluoma et al. (US 2006/0247802 A1), and Ferguson et al. (US 2022/0337552 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Lindoff in view of Lee and Takuluoma discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Lindoff discloses in ([0063], [0065], [0068]: server 200 receives both first and second data streams D1, D2 and extracts the data in order to generate data stream D or recreates the data stream.
Lindoff does not disclose, but Ferguson discloses further comprising, after reassembling the entirety of the transmitted data, sending the entirety of the transmitted data to another device over a secure network (Fig. 4, [0050]: after reassembling the plurality of packets into a dataset, the dataset if forwarded to a destination within a secure network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the server 200, as taught by Lindoff, to forward the reassembled dataset to a destination within a secure network, as taught by Ferguson.
Doing so provides a reliable means of transporting data and/or information across noisy network links with a far higher degree of accuracy than traditional methods, yet still allow communications to originate from non-hardware-controlled environments, such as a cloud provider or a cloud server (Ferguson: [0051]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov