DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 10, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 25, 2024 contains a typographical error. The Written Opinion application number as printed on the IDS (“PCT/050409”) does not include all of the necessary characters. However, since there is only one attached written opinion which has the complete PCT number (“PCT/IB2024/050409”), this reference has been considered. The IDS is annotated with the updated PCT application number.
The IDS is otherwise in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 30, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 drawn to a stent in the reply filed on December 30, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that art applicable to Group I is likely not applicable to Groups II and III. This is not found persuasive because applicant has not “distinctly and specifically point[ed] out the supposed errors upon which the applicant relies for his or her conclusion that the requirement is in error” (See MPEP 817). Applicant has not presented arguments with respect to examiner’s showing distinctness between inventions. Furthermore, the inventions as presented have separate status in the art and different classifications (See Restriction Requirement mailed October 30, 2025).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn. Claim 8 has been amended. Claims 1-3, 7-11 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “structural extension member”; “growth promoting structural elements” in claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the interface" in line 3 and “the free edge” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that claim 8 depends from claim 7 which in turn depends from claim 1. Neither claim 1 nor claim 7 recite “an interface” or “a free edge”. It is further noted that claim 4 does recite both these limitations. Examiner suggests either amending claim 8 to read “an interface” and “a free edge” or to amend the dependency of claim 8 to depend on claim 4. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vonderwalde et al (US PG Pub 2004/0215324).
Regarding claim 1, Vonderwalde teaches an implantable stent (50) (See Fig. 11) comprising:
a tubular scaffolding (50) having a proximal end, an opposite distal end and a lumen extending therethrough (See Fig. 11; paragraphs [0040] and [0048]);
the tubular scaffolding including a plurality of individual struts (55) arranged in a pattern defining open spaces therebetween (See Fig. 11); wherein the tubular scaffolding has a lumen facing surface (internal surface) that faces radially inward toward the lumen and an opposite tissue facing surface1 (external surface) that faces radially outward away from the lumen (See annotated Fig. 13); wherein each of the individual struts has a longitudinal axis and a lateral cross-section with opposing sides extending between the lumen facing surface and the tissue facing surface; and
at least one structural extension member (52) associated with one of the individual struts (See Fig. 11), wherein the at least one structural extension member has a lumen facing surface (internal surface) that faces radially inward toward the lumen and an opposite tissue facing surface (external surface) that faces radially outward away from the lumen; the at least one structural extension member extending in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis outward from one of the opposing sides of the associated individual strut (See Figs. 11 and 13); wherein the at least one structural extension member has a plurality of growth promoting structural elements2 (holes/openings 53 – note each extension member 52 has two holes 53).
Regarding claim 2, Vonderwalde teaches the stent as required by claim 1 as set forth above and further teaches the at least one structural extension member (52) is integral with as a single unit or attached as a separate component to the associated one of the individual struts. (See paragraphs [0044] and [0051] which state the connector elements (such as 52) may be manufactured separately and later joined to the stent or may be manufactured with the stent “as a one piece unit”)
Regarding claim 3, Vonderwalde teaches the stent as required by claim 1 as set forth above and further teaches the at least one structural extension member (52) is disposed on each of the opposing sides of the associated individual strut (See Fig. 11); and wherein the at least one structural extension member disposed on each of the opposing sides of the associated individual strut are fully aligned in a direction of the longitudinal axis from one another (See Fig. 11, note extension member 52 has two aligned halves one on each side of the strut).
Regarding claim 7, Vonderwalde teaches the stent as required by claim 1 as set forth above and further teaches the plurality of growth promoting structural elements (holes 53) of the associated structural extension member (52) are: (i) through holes (See Fig. 11; paragraphs [0040]; [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Vonderwalde teaches the stent as required by claim 1 as set forth above and further teaches the tubular scaffolding is transitionable between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state (See paragraphs [0040] and [0054]); and irrespective of the state of the tubular scaffolding, positioning of the at least one structural extension member relative to the associated individual strut remains unchanged. (See Fig. 11, note that since the extension 52 is permanently attached to a specific portion of the strut it will remain in that location in both the expanded and compressed states.)
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Euteneuer (US Pat. No 5,681,345) teaches a stent made of struts with extensions (32) extending perpendicularly from the struts.
Chuter (US Pat. No. 5,993,482) teaches a stent with struts and extensions (20)
Shank et al (US Pat. No. 6,231,581) teaches an implantable device with anchoring extensions (See Figs. 9 & 10)
Allen et al (US PG Pub 2001/0016770) teaches a stent made of struts with a variety of extensions/connectors (See Figs. 7A-7L and 9).
Owens (US Pat. No 6,494,906) teaches a stent made of struts with perpendicular extensions (28) extending from a strut.
Gomez et al (US PG Pub 2002/0198693) teaches a stent made of struts with extensions (56) extending from the strut.
Lombardi (US PG Pub 2003/0144725) teaches a stent made of struts with extensions (41) extending from the strut
Sohier (US PG Pub 2004/0006382) teaches a stent with openings (perforations) in the struts. (See Fig. 3).
Lowe et al (US PG Pub 2004/0093073) teaches a stent with foot shaped extensions (40) in the struts.
Riccotta et al (US PG Pub 2005/0102024) teaches a stent graft where the struts have a variety of extension member for retaining the stent (See Figs. 3; 5A-5L)
Pacetti et al (US PG Pub 2013/0172982) teaches a stent made of struts with extensions (80) between the struts (See Figs. 4A-5C)
Melanson et al (US Pat. No. 8,834,553) teaches a stent with extension members (110) which have openings (112) therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Implantable stents with retention and/or growth promoting features are well known in the art. This is supported by the references cited during prosecution as well as other reference in the general area that could be located with minimal effort.
With specific regard to claims 4-6, the prior art of record fails to specifically teach or render obvious a stent made of multiple struts where at least one strut has at least one structural extension member with a plurality of growth promoting structural elements and where the structural extension member has a free edge and the extension member is tapered in thickness such that the maximum thickness is located where the extension member meets the strut and the minimum thickness is at the free edge of the extension in combination with the other elements as claimed. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
With specific regard to claims 8-10, the prior art of record fails to specifically teach or render obvious a stent made of multiple struts where at least one strut has at least one structural extension member with a plurality of growth promoting structural elements where the growth promoting structural elements located closest to the juncture of the stent strut and extension member (interface) are largest in size while the growth promoting structural elements located closest to the free edge are smallest in size in combination with the other elements as claimed. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
The closest prior art is deemed to be Vonderwalde (see rejection set forth above). Vonderwalde does not teach the extension members (52) taper in thickness nor does it teach the growth promoting elements (holes 53) have multiple sizes where the larger sized holes are closer to the strut and the smaller holes are closer to the free end. Additionally, it would not be obvious to make such modifications without the use of hindsight.
Conclusion
/R.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774
1 It is noted that the external surface of the stent faces radially outward from the lumen and faces towards the tissue into which the stent is deployed.
2 It is noted that applicant’s specification specifically lists “through holes” as examples of “growth promoting structural elements” (See paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0041], etc.)