DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamba US 9,028,285 in view of Mizokawa US 7,473,149 and Marquis US 11,040,762.
Regarding claim 1, Tamba teaches a powertrain for a marine vessel, comprising:
an internal combustion engine 10,
a transmission 56,
a first drive unit having a first propeller 38 and a second drive unit having a second propeller 44, a first electric motor 40 and a second electric motor 48,
where the internal combustion engine is connected to the first drive unit and the second drive unit through the transmission, where the first electric motor is connected to the first drive unit and where the second electric motor is connected to the second drive unit,
where the powertrain comprises a first clutch 30 arranged between the transmission and the first drive unit and a second clutch 52 arranged between the transmission and the second drive unit,
wherein the first electric motor is arranged to propel the first drive unit and the second electric motor is arranged to propel the second drive unit at a speed below a predefined speed (see Tamba figure 11),
wherein the internal combustion engine is arranged to propel the first drive unit and the second drive unit through the transmission only at a speed above a predefined speed (see Tamba figure 11),
wherein the powertrain is provided with an electronic control unit (ECU) 32 (and whatever controls the ICE) configured to control the internal combustion engine and the electric motors, wherein the ECU is configured to be connected to a regular control system of the marine vessel, wherein the ECU is configured to receive information from the regular control system of a desired speed (Tamba teaches that “the drivetrain is adapted to operate in a range of modes, selected either manually by an operator or automatically by a control system,” column 2, lines 61-63 meaning that the ECU must be communication with other vessel interfaces);
wherein the first clutch and the second clutch are configured to disengage the internal combustion engine from the first drive unit and the second drive unit when a rotational speed of the internal combustion engine is below a set rotational speed, wherein the set rotational speed is selected such that only the electric motors will drive the vessel at a speed below the predefined speed, and such that at least the internal combustion engine will drive the vessel above the predefined speed (see Tamba figure 11).
Figure 1- Tamba Figure 10
Tamba does not teach that for a desired speed around the predefined speed, a hysteresis is used to prevent constant drive mode change at a desired speed around the predefined speed. Mizokawa teaches a powertrain for a marine vessel, comprising an internal combustion engine 14, a drive unit having a first propeller 12, a first electric motor 16, where the internal combustion engine is connected to the first drive unit, where the first electric motor is connected to the first drive unit, where the powertrain comprises a first clutch 22 arranged between the engine and the first drive unit, wherein for a desired speed around the predefined speed, a hysteresis is used to prevent constant drive mode change at a desired speed around the predefined speed (see Mizokawa figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the powertrain of Tamba with a hysteresis factor in mode switching as taught by Mizokawa in order to “preventing frequent mode switching around the boundary of the abutting modes” (column 5 line 64- column 6 line 5).
Tamba does not teach that the first clutch and the second clutch are centrifugal clutches. Marquis teaches powertrain for a marine vessel, comprising an internal combustion engine 18, a first drive unit 24 having a first propeller 26, a first electric motor 20, where the internal combustion engine is connected to the first drive unit, where the first electric motor is connected directly to the first drive unit, where the powertrain comprises a first clutch 22 arranged between the engine (connected via shaft 42) and the first drive unit (via shaft 158), wherein the first clutch is a centrifugal clutch configured to disengage the internal combustion engine from the drive unit when a rotational speed of the internal combustion engine is below a set rotational speed, wherein the set rotational speed is selected such that only the electric motor will drive the vessel at a speed below the predefined speed, and such that at least the internal combustion engine will drive the vessel above the predefined speed (column 4, lines 4-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the powertrain of Tamba with a centrifugal clutch as taught by Marquis in order to simplify the system with a passive clutch, and not require complex direct control of the clutch.
Figure 2- Marquis Figure 7
Regarding claim 2, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Tamba does not teach that the transmission is a belt drive transmission, however it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to substitute a belt drive transmission into the split output drive in order to use a well-known, simple and reliable mechanism, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Tamba also teaches that the first electric motor is arranged to propel the first drive unit and the second electric motor is arranged to propel the second drive unit in a reverse direction (column 7, lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 6, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Tamba also teaches that the internal combustion engine, the first electric motor and the second electric motor are arranged to propel the first drive unit and second drive unit at a speed above the predefined speed (figure 11).
Regarding claim 8, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Tamba and Mizokawa both teach that the powertrain is on a marine vessel.
Regarding claim 9, Tamba teaches a method for driving a marine vessel, where the marine vessel comprises two drive units 14 arranged in parallel, where each drive unit comprises a propeller 38, 44, where the marine vessel comprises an internal combustion engine 10, a transmission 56, and a first 40 and a second 48 electric motor, where each drive unit is provided with a clutch 30, 52 arranged between the transmission and the drive unit, comprising the following steps:
driving the first drive unit with the first electric motor directly coupled to the first drive unit for speeds below a predefined speed,
driving the second drive unit with the second electric motor directly coupled to the second drive unit for speeds below the predefined speed, and
driving the first drive unit and the second drive unit with the internal combustion engine through the transmission and the first and second clutches for speeds above the predefined speed (see Tamba figure 11), wherein the first clutch and the second clutch are configured to disengage the internal combustion engine from the first drive unit and the second drive unit when a rotational speed of the internal combustion engine is below a set rotational speed, wherein the set rotational speed is selected such that only the electric motors will drive the vessel at a speed below the predefined speed, and such that at least the internal combustion engine will drive the vessel above the predefined speed, and
setting a desired speed of the marine vessel.
Tamba does not teach using a hysteresis to prevent constant drive mode change at a desired speed around the predefined speed. Mizokawa teaches a powertrain for a marine vessel, comprising an internal combustion engine 14, a drive unit having a first propeller 12, a first electric motor 16, where the internal combustion engine is connected to the first drive unit, where the first electric motor is connected to the first drive unit, where the powertrain comprises a first clutch 22 arranged between the engine and the first drive unit, wherein for a set desired speed around the predefined speed (as determined by monitoring the control lever position), a hysteresis is used to prevent constant drive mode change at a desired speed around the predefined speed (see Mizokawa figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the powertrain of Tamba with a hysteresis factor in mode switching as taught by Mizokawa in order to “preventing frequent mode switching around the boundary of the abutting modes” (column 5 line 64- column 6 line 5).
Tamba does not teach that the first clutch and the second clutch are centrifugal clutches. Marquis teaches powertrain for a marine vessel, comprising an internal combustion engine 18, a first drive unit 24 having a first propeller 26, a first electric motor 20, where the internal combustion engine is connected to the first drive unit, where the first electric motor is connected directly to the first drive unit, where the powertrain comprises a first clutch 22 arranged between the engine (connected via shaft 42) and the first drive unit (via shaft 158), wherein the first clutch is a centrifugal clutch configured to disengage the internal combustion engine from the drive unit when a rotational speed of the internal combustion engine is below a set rotational speed, wherein the set rotational speed is selected such that only the electric motor will drive the vessel at a speed below the predefined speed, and such that at least the internal combustion engine will drive the vessel above the predefined speed (column 4, lines 4-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the powertrain of Tamba with a centrifugal clutch as taught by Marquis in order to simplify the system with a passive clutch, and not require complex direct control of the clutch.
Regarding claim 10, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Tamba also teaches the step of driving the first drive unit with the first electric motor and driving the second drive unit with the second electric motor when reversing the marine vessel (column 7, lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 11, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Tamba (column 5, lines 47-49) and Mizokawa (column 6, lines 13-26) both teach that the first electric motor, the second electric motor and the internal combustion engine are controlled by an electronic control unit.
Regarding claim 13, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Tamba (column 5, lines 47-49) and Mizokawa (column 6, lines 13-26) both teach non-transitory computer program product comprising program code stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium for performing all the steps of claim 9 when said program code is run on a computer, as this is how automatic control with a controller functions.
Regarding claim 14, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Mizokawa does not teach a specific speed correlated to the hysteresis, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to program the hysteresis to 0.5 knots or whatever speed was desired in order to balance efficiency and mode-switching, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamba US 9,028,285 in view of Mizokawa US 7,473,149, Marquis US 11,040,762 and Helgesen US 9,055,713.
Regarding claim 2, Tamba, Mizokawa and Marquis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Tamba does not teach that the transmission is a belt drive transmission. Helgesen teaches a vehicle drive in which a single engine output 130 is connected to two different drive units 110, 120 through a belt 100 drive transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the powertrain of Tamba with a belt drive transmission as taught by Helgesen in order to use a well-known, simple and reliable mechanism.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the applicant argues that Tamba’s use of “ON/OFF” to describe the state of the clutch “is a strong indication of the use of active, controllable clutches” (page 10) which would not function with centrifugal clutches. The examiner disagrees for two reasons:
First, Tamba teaches that a known configuration for hybrid drive trains is for “the internal combustion engine 10 and the electric motor/generator unit 12 are coupled via a one-way-clutch or a mechanically/electrically/hydraulically operated clutch” (column 1, lines 26-29). Despite any “strong indications” about the nature of the clutch, Tamba makes no statements about a preferred configuration.
Second, the teaching of the centrifugal clutch is taken from Marquis, which teaches a very similar hybrid propulsion system. As detailed above, Marquis teaches that a centrifugal clutch is a useful way to engage/disengage the internal combustion engine based on the output speed of the engine. As taught, the system meets the claim as written.
If the applicant is arguing that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case (as stated above), Marquis teaches a hybrid propulsion system in which a centrifugal clutch is a useful way to engage/disengage the internal combustion engine based on the output speed of the engine. One of ordinary skill in the art would easily see how this setup would be applied to the hybrid propulsion system of Tamba. As combined, the “ON/OFF” clutch commands of Tamba would be performed via ICE output speed commands as taught by Marquis.
Conclusion
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615