This office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/17/25. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 15-16, 18, 23, 31-33, and 36 have been amended, claims 37-50 have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. As such, claims 1-50 are pending in the instant application.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "110" and "1120" have both been used to designate the head strap. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1954. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1538. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “device for analysis” in claims 10, 26, and 45 and “communications module configured to communicate with an external device” in claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the newly amended language “the filter is a substantially planar sheet” (line 6-7) introduces new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed. The specification does not provide support for the filter being a planar sheet or a flat element or any other equivalent wording and the figures show a curved filter element (106 in Fig. 1B, see also Fig. 5A, 6D, 8A, 20 for example) which is not a substantially planar sheet.
Regarding claim 16, the newly amended language “the filter comprising a substantially planar sheet” (line 8) introduces new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed. The specification does not provide support for the filter being a planar sheet or a flat element or any other equivalent wording and the figures show a curved filter element (106 in Fig. 1B, see also Fig. 5A, 6D, 8A, 20 for example) which is not a substantially planar sheet.
Regarding claim 32, the newly amended language “the filter comprising a substantially planar sheet” (line 7-8) introduces new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed. The specification does not provide support for the filter being a planar sheet or a flat element or any other equivalent wording and the figures show a curved filter element (106 in Fig. 1B, see also Fig. 5A, 6D, 8A, 20 for example) which is not a substantially planar sheet.
Regarding claim 37, the newly added claim includes the language “the filter comprising a substantially planar sheet” (line 6-7) introduces new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed. The specification does not provide support for the filter being a planar sheet or a flat element or any other equivalent wording and the figures show a curved filter element (106 in Fig. 1B, see also Fig. 5A, 6D, 8A, 20 for example) which is not a substantially planar sheet.
Regarding claim 37, the newly added claim includes the language “filter support configured to support a filter while maintaining planarity of the filter” (line 3-4) appears to introduce new matter not found in the disclosure as originally filed for the same reasons noted above. The disclosure does not appear to support a planar filter sheet/element and thus also does not support the filter support maintaining the filter to be planar.
Claims 2-15, 17-31, 33-36, and 38-50 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially planar” in claim 1 line 6 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being ‘substantially planar’. Furthermore, the ordinary meaning of the term planar would appear to confine the element to a single plane, or being a two-dimensional element (other than a thickness), and any relative deviation from this would mean the element would no longer be planar.
The term “substantially planar” in claim 16 line 8 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being ‘substantially planar’. Furthermore, the ordinary meaning of the term planar would appear to confine the element to a single plane, or being a two-dimensional element (other than a thickness), and any relative deviation from this would mean the element would no longer be planar.
The term “substantially planar” in claim 32 line 8 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being ‘substantially planar’. Furthermore, the ordinary meaning of the term planar would appear to confine the element to a single plane, or being a two-dimensional element (other than a thickness), and any relative deviation from this would mean the element would no longer be planar.
The term “substantially planar” in claim 37 line 6 (emphasis added) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not known what qualifies, or does not qualify, as being ‘substantially planar’. Furthermore, the ordinary meaning of the term planar would appear to confine the element to a single plane, or being a two-dimensional element (other than a thickness), and any relative deviation from this would mean the element would no longer be planar.
Claims 2-15, 17-31, 33-36, and 38-50 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 36, the language “module is removably mounted … adjacent to an ear of the wearer” (line 4-5) appears to claim the wearer, a human organism which is non-statutory subject matter. In order for the module to be mounted adjacent to an ear of the user, the user must be present in the claimed invention. Examiner suggests amending to read –module is configured to be removably mounted … adjacent to an ear of the wearer--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Collins et al. (2024/0423305).
Regarding claim 1, Collins discloses a respirator for protecting against airborne particles (see abstract, para. 0003, and Fig. 1-3 and 15 for example), which includes a face gasket for providing a seal around a mouth and a nose of a wearer (see Fig. 1-3, face gasket 220, para. 0048 and abstract), a frame attached to the face gasket (see Fig. 1-3, frame 200, para. 0048); a filter compression ring removably attached to the frame (see Fig. 1-3, compression ring being element 240, para. 0048, removable as it allows for “replaceable filter 230” to be replaced); and a filter for filtering airborne particles from air (see Fig. 1-3, filter 320, see para. 0048), wherein the filter is a substantially planar sheet positioned between the frame and the filter compression ring (see Fig. 3, para. 0048), the frame and the face gasket together defining an interior cavity when the respirator is worn (interior cavity 120 which defines plenum chamber), the filter being disposed in a plane that is orthogonal to a front-to-back axis of the interior cavity (see Fig. 1-3), and the face gasket being configured to space the filter from the wearer’s face to provide the interior cavity as a plenum volume between the filter and the wearer’s face (see Fig. 1-3 and para. 0047-0048, the filter 230 is spaced from the wearer’s face by the width, in front-to-back direction, of frame 200 and gasket 220).
Regarding claim 2, the Collins device’s filter is adapted to cover a surface of the frame opposite the face gasket (see Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, the Collins device’s face gasket is configured to be positioned to terminate at a nose bridge of the wearer (see Fig. 15 and abstract for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Szasz et al. (2019/0358473).
Regarding claim 3, the Collins device is silent as to further including a filter support for supporting the filter over the frame for maintaining a shape of the filter; however, Szasz teaches a similar device which includes such a filter support element (see Szasz Fig. 5, filter support 16 supports and maintains shape of filter 14, para. 0048 for example). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include a filter support, as taught by Szasz, in order to “provides structure to and supports the filter” (Szasz para. 0048).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Collins device’s filter is removably attached to the filter compression ring (see Collins para. 0048 and Fig. 1-3, filter is replaceable and therefore removably attached to the compression ring 240).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Stranberg et al. (2021/0346733).
Regarding claim 12, the Collins device is silent as to including the first and second straps as claimed; however, Stranberg discloses a similar device which includes first and second straps removably attached to a frame to secure a respirator to the wearer, the first strap configured to wrap around the head of the wearer and the second strap configured to wrap behind a neck of the wearer (see Stranberg Fig. 1, first strap 22a, second strap 22b, see para. 0022, Fig. 4, strap mounting elements 49, para. 0030, see also Fig. 9). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include the first and second strap arrangement, as taught by Stranberg, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Stranberg as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sabolis et al. (2016/0001101).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Collins device is silent as to the length of the first and second straps explicitly being adjustable; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes length adjustable straps (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8 and 10; para. 0066-0067). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s straps to be length adjustable, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Collins device is silent as to the second strap including first and second portions configured to attach via a fastener; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes straps made of portions connected together with a fastener (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8, and 10, para. 0066-0067, strap portions connected via fastener 126). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s second strap to include first and second portions attached via a fastener, as taught by Sabolis in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Stranberg as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Seppala et al. (2015/0053206).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Collins device is silent as to the first strap including a skull cap configured to be positioned on a crown of the head of the wearer; however, Seppala teaches a similar respirator with a first strap having a skull cap as claimed (see Seppala Fig. 4, skull cap 46, para. 0019). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s first strap to include a skull cap, as taught by Seppala, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element (strap type) for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well and such a strap provides a soft textured feel (see Seppala para. 0019).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Sabolis.
Regarding claim 5, the Collins device is silent as to the filter being fused to the frame; however, Sabolis teaches a similar respirator device whose filter is fused to a frame (see Sabolis para. 0063). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device’s filter to be fused to the frame, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide a single-use type respirator (to ensure a new/clean filter is used before each time a user enters hazardous environment).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Collins device’s filter is ultrasonically fused to the frame (see Sabolis para. 0063).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Szasz and Eswarappa (2002/0026942).
Regarding claim 7, the Collins device is silent as to further including a safety module including one or more air pressure sensors for obtaining pressure measurements in the space of the filter and wearer and a processor in communication with the sensors to analyze the measurements and a vibration motor or status indicator; however, Szasz discloses a similar respirator which includes a safety module which monitors the life of the filter with an indicator (see Szasz para. 0019, 0023-0024, 0092 disclosing various sensors, para. 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111) and Eswarappa discloses a filter cartridge whose filter life is measured based on air pressure drop across the filter (see Eswarappa para. 0079). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include a safety module, as taught by Szasz and Eswarappa, in order to provide the ability to monitor the lifetime of the filter and notify a user when to replace the filter (Szasz para. 0023-0024 and 0103-0105).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Collins device’s processor is configured to determine baseline pressure, current pressure and determine whether current pressure exceeds the baseline by a threshold and trigger the vibration motor or visual indicator to generate an alert (see Eswarappa para. 0079, Szasz 0019, 0023-0024, 0092, 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Collins device’s safety module further includes a motion sensor coupled to the processor configured to analyze motion measurements obtained (see Szasz para. 0096, 0103).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Collins device’s safety module includes a communication interface configure to transmit measurements to an external device for analysis (see Szasz para. 0018-0024 which discloses air quality sensing and communication with a server via a network, see para. 0077 and 0087-0090).
Claim(s) 16-18 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Wilson et al. (2004/0069302).
Regarding claim 16, Collins discloses a respirator for protecting against airborne particles (see abstract, para. 0003, and Fig. 1-3 and 15 for example), which includes a face gasket for providing a seal around a mouth and a nose of a wearer (see Fig. 1-3, face gasket 220, para. 0048 and abstract), a frame attached to the face gasket (see Fig. 1-3, frame 200, para. 0048); a filter compression ring removably attached to the frame (see Fig. 1-3, compression ring being element 240, para. 0048, removable as it allows for “replaceable filter 230” to be replaced); and a filter for filtering airborne particles from air (see Fig. 1-3, filter 320, see para. 0048), wherein the filter is a substantially planar sheet positioned between the frame and the filter compression ring (see Fig. 3, para. 0048), the filter including a substantially planar sheet disposed in a plane orthogonal to a front-to-back axis of an interior cavity defined by the frame and the face gasket when the respirator is worn (see Fig. 1-3, para. 0047-0048, interior cavity 120). Collins is silent as to including an eye protection removably attached to an outside surface of the face gasket and extending above the frame; however, Wilson teaches a similar respirator device which includes an eye protection as claimed (see Wilson Fig. 3, eye protection 10, para. 0077). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include an eye protection, as taught by Wilson, in order to provide protection for the wearer’s eyes (Wilson abstract).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Collins device’s eye protection is configured to wrap around a face of the wearer (see Wilson Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Collins device’s eye protection includes a lip configured to extend in a direction orthogonal to a plane of a lens of the eye protection (see Wilson Fig. 33 and para. 0118, lip 100; a plane can be drawn through the lens of the eye protection of Wilson such that the lip 100 extends orthogonally to this plane, such as a horizontal plane through the lens).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Collins device’s face gasket is configured to be positioned to terminate at a nose bridge of the wearer (see Collins Fig. 15 and abstract for example).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Wilson as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Johnstone (8,365,732).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Collins device includes first and second branches as claimed (see Wilson Fig. 3-4 branches 11, see also Fig. 14-15, 30-31), but is silent as to the eye protection explicitly including a lens portion; however, Johnstone teaches a similar respirator and eye protection system whose eye protection includes a lens (see Johnstone Fig. 1 and col. 2 ln. 64, lens 102). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s eye protection to explicitly include a lens portion, as taught by Johnstone, in order to provide the wearer eye correction lens.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Collins device’s lens includes an aperture and the frame including a peg to couple to the aperture to attach the lens to the frame (see Wilson Fig. 3-4, aperture 12 and peg 4, para. 0075, 0077).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Wilson as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Sabolis.
Regarding claim 21, the modified Collins device is silent as to the filter being fused to the frame; however, Sabolis teaches a similar respirator device whose filter is fused to a frame (see Sabolis para. 0063). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s filter to be fused to the frame, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide a single-use type respirator (to ensure a new/clean filter is used before each time a user enters hazardous environment).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Collins device’s filter is ultrasonically fused to the frame (see Sabolis para. 0063).
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Wilson as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Szasz and Eswarappa.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Collins device is silent as to further including a safety module including one or more air pressure sensors for obtaining pressure measurements in the space of the filter and wearer and a processor in communication with the sensors to analyze the measurements and a vibration motor or status indicator; however, Szasz discloses a similar respirator which includes a safety module which monitors the life of the filter with an indicator (see Szasz para. 0019, 0023-0024, 0092 disclosing various sensors, para. 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111) and Eswarappa discloses a filter cartridge whose filter life is measured based on air pressure drop across the filter (see Eswarappa para. 0079). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device to include a safety module, as taught by Szasz and Eswarappa, in order to provide the ability to monitor the lifetime of the filter and notify a user when to replace the filter (Szasz para. 0023-0024 and 0103-0105).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Collins device’s processor is configured to determine baseline pressure, current pressure and determine whether current pressure exceeds the baseline by a threshold and trigger the vibration motor or visual indicator to generate an alert (see Eswarappa para. 0079, Szasz 0019, 0023-0024, 0092, 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Collins device’s safety module further includes a motion sensor coupled to the processor configured to analyze motion measurements obtained (see Szasz para. 0096, 0103).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Collins device’s safety module includes a communication interface configure to transmit measurements to an external device for analysis (see Szasz para. 0018-0024 which discloses air quality sensing and communication with a server via a network, see para. 0077 and 0087-0090).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Wilson as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Stranberg.
Regarding claim 28, the modified Collins device is silent as to including the first and second straps as claimed; however, Stranberg discloses a similar device which includes first and second straps removably attached to a frame to secure a respirator to the wearer, the first strap configured to wrap around the head of the wearer and the second strap configured to wrap behind a neck of the wearer (see Stranberg Fig. 1, first strap 22a, second strap 22b, see para. 0022, Fig. 4, strap mounting elements 49, para. 0030, see also Fig. 9). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device to include the first and second strap arrangement, as taught by Stranberg, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, Wilson, and Stranberg as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Sabolis.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Collins device is silent as to the length of the first and second straps explicitly being adjustable; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes length adjustable straps (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8 and 10; para. 0066-0067). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s straps to be length adjustable, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Collins device is silent as to the second strap including first and second portions configured to attach via a fastener; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes straps made of portions connected together with a fastener (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8, and 10, para. 0066-0067, strap portions connected via fastener 126). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s second strap to include first and second portions attached via a fastener, as taught by Sabolis in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, Wilson, Stranberg, and Sabolis as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Seppala.
Regarding claim 31, the modified Collins device is silent as to the first strap including a skull cap configured to be positioned on a crown of the head of the user; however, Seppala teaches a similar respirator with a first strap having a skull cap as claimed (see Seppala Fig. 4, skull cap 46, para. 0019). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s first strap to include a skull cap, as taught by Seppala, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element (strap type) for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well and such a strap provides a soft textured feel (see Seppala para. 0019).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Szasz.
Regarding claim 32, Collins discloses a respirator for protecting against airborne particles (see abstract, para. 0003, and Fig. 1-3 and 15 for example), which includes a face gasket for providing a seal around a mouth and a nose of a wearer (see Fig. 1-3, face gasket 220, para. 0048 and abstract), a frame attached to the face gasket (see Fig. 1-3, frame 200, para. 0048); a filter compression ring removably attached to the frame (see Fig. 1-3, compression ring being element 240, para. 0048, removable as it allows for “replaceable filter 230” to be replaced); and a filter for filtering airborne particles from air (see Fig. 1-3, filter 320, see para. 0048), wherein the filter is suspended between the filter compression ring and the frame (see Fig. 1-3 and para. 0048), the filter including a substantially planar sheet disposed in a plane orthogonal to a front-to-back axis of an interior cavity defined by the frame and the face gasket when the respirator is worn (see Fig. 1-3, para. 0047-0048, interior cavity 120). Collins is silent as to including a communications module configured to communicate with an external device; however, Szasz discloses a similar device which includes such a communications module (see Szasz para. 0018-0024 which discloses air quality sensing and communication with a server via a network, see para. 0077 and 0087-0090). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include such air quality sensing feature and communications module for communicating with external device, as taught by Szasz, in order to provide the ability to monitor the air around the wearer (Szasz para. 0018-0024 and 0087).
Claim(s) 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colins and Szasz as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Arigue et al. (2021/0228920).
Regarding claim 33, the modified Collins device includes a communication interface (see Szasz para. 0018-0024, 0077 and 0087-0090), but is silent as to the communications module including one or more speakers and a microphone; however, Arigue teaches a similar respirator system which includes speakers and microphone (see Arigue para. 0066-0068). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s communications module to include speakers and a microphone, as taught by Arigue, in order to provide the ability for the wearer to connect to and have phone conversations (Arigue para. 0067).
Regarding claim 34, the modified Collins device’s communications module further includes a motion sensor and a status light (see Szasz para. 0096, 0103, 0024, 0090, 0105, 0110-0111).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Szasz as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Wilson.
Regarding claim 35, the modified Collins device is silent as to including an eye protection removably attached to an outside surface of the face gasket and extending above the frame; however, Wilson teaches a similar respirator device which includes an eye protection as claimed (see Wilson Fig. 3, eye protection 10, para. 0077). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device to include an eye protection, as taught by Wilson, in order to provide protection for the wearer’s eyes (Wilson abstract).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Szasz as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Stranberg.
Regarding claim 36, the modified Collins device is silent as to including the first and second straps as claimed; however, Stranberg discloses a similar device which includes first and second straps removably attached to a frame to secure a respirator to the wearer, the first strap configured to wrap around the head of the wearer and the second strap configured to wrap behind a neck of the wearer (see Stranberg Fig. 1, first strap 22a, second strap 22b, see para. 0022, Fig. 4, strap mounting elements 49, para. 0030, see also Fig. 9). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include the first and second strap arrangement, as taught by Stranberg, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well. The now modified Collins device’s communication module is removably mounted to the first strap (see Szasz para. 0077).
Claim(s) 37-39 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins in view of Szasz.
Regarding claim 37, Collins discloses a respirator for protecting against airborne particles (see abstract, para. 0003, and Fig. 1-3 and 15 for example), which includes a face gasket for providing a seal around a mouth and a nose of a wearer (see Fig. 1-3, face gasket 220, para. 0048 and abstract), a frame attached to the face gasket (see Fig. 1-3, frame 200, para. 0048); a filter compression ring removably attached to the frame (see Fig. 1-3, compression ring being element 240, para. 0048, removable as it allows for “replaceable filter 230” to be replaced); and a filter for filtering airborne particles from air (see Fig. 1-3, filter 320, see para. 0048), wherein the filter is a substantially planar sheet positioned between the frame and the filter compression ring (see Fig. 3, para. 0048), the frame and the face gasket together defining an interior cavity when the respirator is worn (interior cavity 120 which defines plenum chamber), the filter being disposed in a plane that is orthogonal to a front-to-back axis of the interior cavity (see Fig. 1-3), and the face gasket being configured to space the filter from the wearer’s face to provide the interior cavity as a plenum volume between the filter and the wearer’s face (see Fig. 1-3 and para. 0047-0048, the filter 230 is spaced from the wearer’s face by the width, in front-to-back direction, of frame 200 and gasket 220). Collins is silent as to further including a filter support for supporting the filter over the frame for maintaining the shape/planarity of the filter; however, Szasz teaches a similar device which includes such a filter support element (see Szasz Fig. 5, filter support 16 supports and maintains shape of filter 14, para. 0048 for example). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Collins device to include a filter support, as taught by Szasz, in order to “provides structure to and supports the filter” (Szasz para. 0048). The now modified Collins device’s filter support would maintain the shape, planar, of the Collins filter (Fig. 3) and thus maintain its planarity.
Regarding claim 38, the modified Collins device’s filter is adapted to cover a surface of the frame opposite the face gasket (see Collins Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 39, the modified Collins device’s filter is removably attached to the filter compression ring (see Collins para. 0048 and Fig. 1-3, filter is replaceable and therefore removably attached to the compression ring 240).
Regarding claim 46, the modified Collins device’s face gasket is configured to be positioned to terminate at a nose bridge of the wearer (see Collins Fig. 15 and abstract for example).
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Szasz as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Stranberg.
Regarding claim 47, the modified Collins device is silent as to including the first and second straps as claimed; however, Stranberg discloses a similar device which includes first and second straps removably attached to a frame to secure a respirator to the wearer, the first strap configured to wrap around the head of the wearer and the second strap configured to wrap behind a neck of the wearer (see Stranberg Fig. 1, first strap 22a, second strap 22b, see para. 0022, Fig. 4, strap mounting elements 49, para. 0030, see also Fig. 9). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device to include the first and second strap arrangement, as taught by Stranberg, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well.
Claim(s) 48-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, Szasz, and Stranberg as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Sabolis.
Regarding claim 48, the modified Collins device is silent as to the length of the first and second straps explicitly being adjustable; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes length adjustable straps (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8 and 10; para. 0066-0067). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s straps to be length adjustable, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Regarding claim 49, the modified Collins device is silent as to the second strap including first and second portions configured to attach via a fastener; however, Sabolis teaches a similar device which includes straps made of portions connected together with a fastener (see Sabolis Fig. 5-6, 8, and 10, para. 0066-0067, strap portions connected via fastener 126). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s second strap to include first and second portions attached via a fastener, as taught by Sabolis in order to provide the ability for the user to adjust the fit of the respirator on their face (Sabolis para. 0066-0067).
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, Szasz, and Stranberg as applied to claim 47 above, and further in view of Seppala.
Regarding claim 50, the modified Collins device is silent as to the first strap including a skull cap configured to be positioned on a crown of the head of the wearer; however, Seppala teaches a similar respirator with a first strap having a skull cap as claimed (see Seppala Fig. 4, skull cap 46, para. 0019). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s first strap to include a skull cap, as taught by Seppala, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element (strap type) for another and one would expect the modified Collins device to perform equally as well and such a strap provides a soft textured feel (see Seppala para. 0019).
Claim(s) 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Szasz as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Sabolis.
Regarding claim 40, the modified Collins device is silent as to the filter being fused to the frame; however, Sabolis teaches a similar respirator device whose filter is fused to a frame (see Sabolis para. 0063). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device’s filter to be fused to the frame, as taught by Sabolis, in order to provide a single-use type respirator (to ensure a new/clean filter is used before each time a user enters hazardous environment).
Regarding claim 41, the modified Collins device’s filter is ultrasonically fused to the frame (see Sabolis para. 0063).
Claim(s) 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins and Szasz as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Eswarappa.
Regarding claim 42, the modified Collins device is silent as to further including a safety module including one or more air pressure sensors for obtaining pressure measurements in the space of the filter and wearer and a processor in communication with the sensors to analyze the measurements and a vibration motor or status indicator; however, Szasz discloses a similar respirator which includes a safety module which monitors the life of the filter with an indicator (see Szasz para. 0019, 0023-0024, 0092 disclosing various sensors, para. 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111) and Eswarappa discloses a filter cartridge whose filter life is measured based on air pressure drop across the filter (see Eswarappa para. 0079). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Collins device to include a safety module, as taught by Szasz and Eswarappa, in order to provide the ability to monitor the lifetime of the filter and notify a user when to replace the filter (Szasz para. 0023-0024 and 0103-0105).
Regarding claim 43, the modified Collins device’s processor is configured to determine baseline pressure, current pressure and determine whether current pressure exceeds the baseline by a threshold and trigger the vibration motor or visual indicator to generate an alert (see Eswarappa para. 0079, Szasz 0019, 0023-0024, 0092, 0095, 0103-0105, 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 44, the modified Collins device’s safety module further includes a motion sensor coupled to the processor configured to analyze motion measurements obtained (see Szasz para. 0096, 0103).
Regarding claim 45, the modified Collins device’s safety module includes a communication interface configure to transmit measurements to an external device for analysis (see Szasz para. 0018-0024 which discloses air quality sensing and communication with a server via a network, see para. 0077 and 0087-0090).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responded to the drawing objections by indicating that replacement drawings had been filed addressing the objections; however, there does not appear to be new, replacement drawings with the response filed 12/17/25.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN W STUART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785