DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/159,093 filed on 01/25/2023. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-011516 filed on 01/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 is acknowledged. Group(s) II, claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20180323415-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. "the electrode assembly 100 is wound to be manufactured in a jelly-roll shape" in paragraph [0056]), comprising:
an elongated negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0066] and part number 110 in FIG. 6);
an elongated positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0066] and part number 120 in FIG. 6);
an elongated first separator (see e.g. "first separator sheet 130" in paragraph [0056] and part number 130 in FIG. 6); and
an elongated second separator (see e.g. "second separator sheet 140" and part number 140 in FIG. 6), wherein
the negative electrode, the positive electrode, the first separator, and the second separator are stacked and wound around a winding axis in a longitudinal direction (see e.g. "the electrode assembly 100 has a structure in which the first electrode sheet 110, the first separator sheet 130, the second electrode sheet 120, and the second separator sheet 140 are laminated and wound" in paragraph [0056]),
the first separator is arranged between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (see e.g. part number 130 in FIG. 6),
the second separator is arranged on an outermost surface of the wound electrode assembly (see e.g. "the second separator sheet 140 adheres to an outer surface of the second electrode sheet" in paragraph [0058] and part number 140 in FIG. 6),
on each of both main surfaces of the first separator and both main surfaces of the second separator (see e.g. "the electrode assembly 100 has to comprise the second separator sheet 140 on the outermost portion thereof so that the electrode assembly 100 is wound to be manufactured in a jelly-roll shape" in paragraph [0056] and "both surface of the second electrode sheet 120 may have the same adhesion force." in paragraph [0058] and FIG. 6 of Lee), an adhesion layer is located in stripe patterns with predetermined pitches (see e.g. part numbers 131 and 141 in FIG. 6; this is a side view presented in a stripe pattern), and
when viewed from a flat side surface of the wound electrode assembly, an angle of the adhesion layer of the first separator in a predetermined direction of the winding axis direction with respect to the winding axis on the main surface of the first separator is different from an angle of the adhesion layer of the second separator in the predetermined direction of the winding axis direction with respect to the winding axis on the main surface of the second separator opposed to the main surface of the first separator and sandwiching the negative electrode or the positive electrode with the main surface of the first separator (see e.g. FIG. 5 of Lee and annotated figure below; FIG. 5 of Lee discloses an adhesive layer 132 that covers the separator).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the adhesive layers of the first and second separators at different angles relative to the winding axis. Lee discloses adhesive layers in stripe patterns on multiple surfaces (see FIG. 6 and paragraphs [0056] and [0058]). Furthermore, Lee discloses different widths of strips including a version where 100% of the surface of the separator is covered. In the annotated figure below this example version with different angles can be seen. This inherently provides a choice in the orientation of these stripes. Choosing different angles for the first and second separators is a predictable design modification.
(Examiner created annotated figure for illustration)
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the wound electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Lee further discloses that a difference between the angle of the adhesion layer of the first separator with respect to the winding axis and the angle of the adhesion layer of the second separator with respect to the winding axis is 90° (see e.g. FIG. 5 of Lee and annotated figure below; FIG. 5 of Lee discloses an adhesive layer 132 that covers the separator). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the adhesive layers of the first and second separators at different angles relative to the winding axis. Lee discloses adhesive layers in stripe patterns on multiple surfaces (see FIG. 6 and paragraphs [0056] and [0058]). Furthermore, Lee discloses different widths of strips including a version where 100% of the surface of the separator is covered (see e.g. part number 132 in FIG. 5). In the annotated figure below this version can be seen where an angle of the first striped adhesion layer is 90° and the angle of the 100% covered adhesion layer is 180°. 180° - 90° = 90°.
Thus Lee discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
(Examiner created annotated figure for illustration)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses a battery (see e.g. "The unfinished electrode assembly is wound in a jelly-roll shape to manufacture a finished electrode assembly 100." in paragraph [0063]), comprising the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20180323415-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US-20210242538-A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee II.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the wound electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Lee is silent as the amount of the first and second separator that is covered by the adhesive layer and thus does not disclose that each of a rate of the main surface of the first separator covered by the adhesion layer and a rate of the main surface of the second separator covered by the adhesion layer is equal to or more than 50% and not more than 90%.
Lee II, however, in the same field of endeavor, patterned separators for use in wound electrode assemblies discloses a separator that has an adhesive layer formed on it at a ratio of 70-95% based on the total area of the separator (see e.g. "the patterned electrode adhesive layer is formed on the separator at a ratio of 70-95% based on the total area of the separator." in paragraph [0017] of Lee II).
Lee II discloses a range that overlaps with the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Lee II also teaches that when the adhesive is formed at a ratio less than the lower limit is difficulty for adhesion to form between the separator and the electrode and that when the adhesive is formed at a ratio larger than the upper limit is not possible to improve the electrolyte impregnation property of an electrode, thus it is important that the adhesive layer is formed in the disclosed ratio (see e.g. paragraph [0049] of Lee II). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rate of the rate of the main surface of the first separator covered by the adhesion layer and the rate of the main surface of the second separator covered by the adhesion layer of Lee e a. such that the rate of the main surface of the first separator covered by the adhesion layer and the rate of the main surface of the second separator covered by the adhesion layer is 70-95% based on the total area of the separator as taught by Lee II et al. in order to ensure proper adhesion between the separator and the electrode as well as improve the electrolyte impregnation property of the electrode as suggested by Lee II.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sun et al. (KR 2019-0114122-A)
Yamashita et al. (US-20230095398-A1)
Kusada et al. (US-20230198099-A1)
Kown et al. (US-20180315971-A1)
Azuma et al. (US-20190074551-A1)
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723