DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/159,093 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 04/07/2026. Claims 1-10 are under examination. Claims 5-6 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/07/2026 have been fully considered and were found persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record. However, in light of the amendments a new search was conducted and new prior art identified that renders the arguments moot. See claims 1-4 and 7-10 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (KR 10-1625602 B1) and further in view of Woon et al. (KR 10-2315719 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ho discloses a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. "secondary battery" in paragraph [5] and FIG. 10), comprising:
an elongated negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode plate 20" in paragraph [15] and part number 20 in FIG. 4);
an elongated positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode plate 10" in paragraph [15] and part number 10 in FIG. 4);
an elongated first separator (see e.g. " separators 30" in paragraph [15] and upper part number 30 in FIG. 4); and
an elongated second separator (see e.g. " separators 30" in paragraph [15] and lower part number 30 in FIG. 4), wherein
the elongated negative electrode, the elongated positive electrode, the elongated first separator, and the elongated second separator are stacked and wound about a winding axis in a longitudinal direction of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see part numbers 10, 20 and 30 in FIG 2),
the elongated first separator is arranged between the elongated negative electrode and the elongated positive electrode (see e.g. upper part number 30 in FIG. 4),
the elongated second separator is arranged on an outermost surface of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. lower part number 30 in FIG. 4),
on each of both main surfaces of the elongated first separator, a first adhesion layer is located in stripe patterns with first predetermined pitches (see e.g. "patterned adhesive pattern layer 40" in paragraph [15] and part number 40 in FIG. 3), wherein the first adhesion layer includes
a plurality of first linear adhesion layers extending at a first angle in a predetermined direction with respect to the winding axis (see e.g. part number 40 in FIG. 3), and
a plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas between adjacent first linear adhesion layers of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers (see e.g. part number 40 in FIG. 3; the first adhesion layer not-formed areas are the areas where the adhesive is not formed i.e. the open spaces between the adhesive),
on one main surface of the elongated second separator, a second adhesion layer is located in stripe patterns with second predetermined pitches (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3), wherein the second adhesion layer includes
a plurality of second linear adhesion layers extending at a second angle in a predetermined direction with respect to the winding axis (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3) , and
a plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas between adjacent second linear adhesion layers of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3; the first adhesion layer not-formed areas are the areas where the adhesive is not formed i.e. the open spaces between the adhesive), and
the main surface of the elongated second separator being opposed to the main surface of the elongated first separator (see e.g. the upper and lower part number 30 in FIG. 3; corresponding the first and second separator respectively) and sandwiching the elongated negative electrode or the elongated positive electrode with the main surface of the elongated first separator (see e.g. the upper and lower part number 30 in FIG. 3; corresponding the first and second separator respectively).
Ho does not explicitly disclose that the second adhesion layer is on both main surfaces of the elongated second separator.
Ho, however, teaches that the adhesive layer or patterned adhesive pattern layer may be transferred to the surface of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separation membrane, and that the patterned adhesive pattern layer is interposed between the respective layers to serve as an adhesive layer (see e.g. paragraph [7]). Since the function of Ho’s patterned adhesive pattern layer is to bond adjacent electrode/separator interfaces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the patterned adhesive pattern layer on each of both main surfaces of the elongated second separator where both main surfaces face adjacent electrode layers, so as to bond both opposed separator/electrode interfaces. Such a modification would have amounted to applying Ho’s same patterned adhesive layer to the separator surfaces rather than the electrode surfaces, with the predictable result of maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers while preserving electrolyte flow through the adhesive-not-formed areas.
Ho further does not disclose that when viewed from a flat side surface of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly, the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers of the elongated first separator on a main surface of the both main surfaces of the elongated first separator is different from the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers of the elongated second separator on a main surface of the both main surfaces of the elongated second separator.
Woon, however, in the same field of endeavor of secondary battery electrode assemblies, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces. Woon discloses that the pattern may be formed in a diagonal direction with respect to an electrode having a rectangular shape in plan view, that the axis of the pattern may be formed at an angle of 20 to 70 degrees with respect to the direction in which the electrode tab protrudes, and that the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [52], [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon).
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the stripe pattern on a main surface of the elongated first separator extends at a first angle and the stripe pattern on an opposed main surface of the elongated second separator extends at a second angle different from the first angle as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Regarding Claim 2, Ho in view of Woon discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ho does not disclose that a difference between the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers of the elongated first separator with respect to the winding axis and the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers of the elongated second separator with respect to the winding axis is equal to or more than 40° and not more than 140°.
Woon, however, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces, wherein the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. “the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in a direction orthogonal to each other” in paragraph [52] and FIG. 3 of Woon). Woon further discloses that the low-adhesion portion pattern of the upper mixture layer and the low-adhesion portion pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed in a direction orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon). Thus, Woon teaches pattern directions having an angle difference of 90°, which is equal to or more than 40° and not more than 140°.
Woon discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the difference between the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers of the elongated first separator with respect to the winding axis and the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers of the elongated second separator with respect to the winding axis is 90°, which is equal to or more than 40° and not more than 140° as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Regarding Claim 3, Ho in view of Woon discloses the wound electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ho further discloses that each of a rate of the main surface of the elongated first separator covered by the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and a rate of the main surface of the elongated second separator covered by the plurality of second linear adhesion layers is equal to or more than 5% and not more than 80% (see e.g. " it is preferable that the adhesive pattern layer is formed in a range of 5% to 80% of the surface area of the separation membrane." in paragraph [89]).
Ho discloses a range that overlaps with the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 4, Ho discloses a battery (see e.g. “secondary battery” in paragraph [5] and “the electrode structure 60 is sealed in the case, the electrolyte is injected and finally sealed and packed, A battery is manufactured” in paragraph [64]), comprising;
a flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. “secondary battery” in paragraph [5], electrode structure 60 formed by winding the laminate 50 in paragraphs [62]-[64], and FIG. 10), including
an elongated negative electrode (see e.g. “negative electrode plate 20” in paragraph [15] and part number 20 in FIG. 4);
an elongated positive electrode (see e.g. “positive electrode plate 10” in paragraph [15] and part number 10 in FIG. 4);
an elongated first separator (see e.g. “separators 30” in paragraph [15] and upper part number 30 in FIG. 4); and
an elongated second separator (see e.g. “separators 30” in paragraph [15] and lower part number 30 in FIG. 4), wherein
the elongated negative electrode, the elongated positive electrode, the elongated first separator, and the elongated second separator are stacked and wound about a winding axis in a longitudinal direction of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. part numbers 10, 20 and 30 in FIG. 2 and paragraphs [62]-[63]),
the elongated first separator is arranged between the elongated negative electrode and the elongated positive electrode (see e.g. upper part number 30 in FIG. 4),
the elongated second separator is arranged on an outermost surface of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly (see e.g. lower part number 30 in FIG. 4),
on each of both main surfaces of the elongated first separator, a first adhesion layer is located in stripe patterns with first predetermined pitches (see e.g. “patterned adhesive pattern layer 40” in paragraph [15], part number 40 on both sides of the upper separator 30 in FIG. 3, and “stripe” pattern in paragraph [89]), wherein the first adhesion layer includes
a plurality of first linear adhesion layers extending at a first angle in a predetermined direction with respect to the winding axis (see e.g. part number 40 in FIG. 3), and
a plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas between adjacent first linear adhesion layers of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers (see e.g. part number 40 in FIG. 3; the first adhesion layer not-formed areas are the areas where the adhesive is not formed i.e. the open spaces between the adhesive),
on one main surface of the elongated second separator, a second adhesion layer is located in stripe patterns with second predetermined pitches (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3 and “stripe” pattern in paragraph [89]), wherein the second adhesion layer includes
a plurality of second linear adhesion layers extending at a second angle in a predetermined direction with respect to the winding axis (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3), and
a plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas between adjacent second linear adhesion layers of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers (see e.g. lower part number 40 in FIG. 3; the second adhesion layer not-formed areas are the areas where the adhesive is not formed i.e. the open spaces between the adhesive), and
the main surface of the elongated second separator being opposed to the main surface of the elongated first separator (see e.g. the upper and lower part number 30 in FIG. 3; corresponding to the first and second separator respectively) and sandwiching the elongated negative electrode or the elongated positive electrode with the main surface of the elongated first separator (see e.g. the upper and lower part number 30 in FIG. 3; corresponding to the first and second separator respectively).
Ho does not explicitly disclose that the second adhesion layer is on both main surfaces of the elongated second separator.
Ho, however, teaches that the adhesive layer or patterned adhesive pattern layer may be transferred to the surface of the positive electrode plate, the negative electrode plate, or the separation membrane, and that the patterned adhesive pattern layer is interposed between the respective layers to serve as an adhesive layer (see e.g. paragraphs [7], [15], and [58]). Since the function of Ho’s patterned adhesive pattern layer is to bond adjacent electrode/separator interfaces, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the patterned adhesive pattern layer on each of both main surfaces of the elongated second separator where both main surfaces face adjacent electrode layers, so as to bond both opposed separator/electrode interfaces. Such a modification would have amounted to applying Ho’s same patterned adhesive layer to the separator surfaces rather than the electrode surfaces, with the predictable result of maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers while preserving electrolyte flow through the adhesive-not-formed areas.
Ho further does not disclose that when viewed from a flat side surface of the flat-shaped wound electrode assembly, the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers of the elongated first separator on a main surface of the both main surfaces of the elongated first separator is different from the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers of the elongated second separator on a main surface of the both main surfaces of the elongated second separator.
Woon, however, in the same field of endeavor of secondary battery electrode assemblies, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces. Woon discloses that the pattern may be formed in a diagonal direction with respect to an electrode having a rectangular shape in plan view, that the axis of the pattern may be formed at an angle of 20 to 70 degrees with respect to the direction in which the electrode tab protrudes, and that the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [52], [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon).
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the stripe pattern on a main surface of the elongated first separator extends at a first angle and the stripe pattern on an opposed main surface of the elongated second separator extends at a second angle different from the first angle as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon. Regarding Claim 7, Ho in view of Woon disclose the wound electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ho does not disclose that the plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas overlap each other to form dots of overlap areas.
Woon, however, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces, wherein the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [52], [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that since the first adhesion layer not-formed areas are the open spaces between adjacent first linear adhesion layers and the second adhesion layer not-formed areas are the open spaces between adjacent second linear adhesion layers, arranging the first and second stripe patterns in different directions, including orthogonal directions, would cause the first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the second adhesion layer not-formed areas to overlap at crossing portions, thereby forming discrete dot-like overlap areas.
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas extend in different directions, including orthogonal directions, as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Regarding Claim 8, Ho in view of Woon disclose the wound electrode assembly of claim 7 (see e.g. claim 7 rejection above).
Ho does not disclose that the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, and the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the plurality of second linear adhesion layers extend toward each other and intersect each other.
Woon, however, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces, wherein the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. “the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in a direction orthogonal to each other” in paragraph [52] of Woon). Woon further discloses that the pattern direction of the low-adhesion portion 312 of the upper mixture layer 310 and the pattern direction of the low-adhesion portion 322 of the lower mixture layer 320 are formed to be inconsistent with each other, and specifically, the low-adhesion portion 312 pattern of the upper mixture layer 310 and the low-adhesion portion 322 pattern of the lower mixture layer 320 are formed in a direction orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon).Thus, Woon teaches first and second linear pattern directions that extend toward each other and intersect each other in an orthogonal arrangement, i.e., at approximately 90°, which is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°.
Woon discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers are each approximately 90°, which is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, and such that the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the plurality of second linear adhesion layers extend toward each other and intersect each other as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Regarding Claim 9, Ho in view of Woon disclose the battery of claim 4 (see e.g. claim 4 rejection above).
Ho does not disclose that the plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas overlap each other to form dots of overlap areas.
Woon, however, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces, wherein the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [52], [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that since the first adhesion layer not-formed areas are the open spaces between adjacent first linear adhesion layers and the second adhesion layer not-formed areas are the open spaces between adjacent second linear adhesion layers, arranging the first and second stripe patterns in different directions, including orthogonal directions, would cause the first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the second adhesion layer not-formed areas to overlap at crossing portions, thereby forming discrete dot-like overlap areas.
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the plurality of first adhesion layer not-formed areas and the plurality of second adhesion layer not-formed areas extend in different directions, including orthogonal directions, as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Regarding Claim 10, Ho in view of Woon disclose the wound electrode assembly of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ho does not disclose that the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, and the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the plurality of second linear adhesion layers extend toward each other and intersect each other.
Woon, however, discloses patterned regions of relatively high adhesion and relatively low adhesion at electrode/separator interfaces, wherein the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in directions orthogonal to each other (see e.g. “the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer may be formed in a direction orthogonal to each other” in paragraph [52] of Woon). Woon further discloses that the pattern direction of the low-adhesion portion 312 of the upper mixture layer 310 and the pattern direction of the low-adhesion portion 322 of the lower mixture layer 320 are formed to be inconsistent with each other, and specifically, the low-adhesion portion 312 pattern of the upper mixture layer 310 and the low-adhesion portion 322 pattern of the lower mixture layer 320 are formed in a direction orthogonal to each other (see e.g. paragraphs [82]-[85] and FIG. 3 of Woon).Thus, Woon teaches first and second linear pattern directions that extend toward each other and intersect each other in an orthogonal arrangement, i.e., at approximately 90°, which is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°.
Woon discloses a point that lies within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Woon also teaches that when the pattern of the upper mixture layer and the pattern of the lower mixture layer are formed perpendicular to each other, electrolyte inflow passages are formed in different directions and the electrolyte impregnation rate is increased (see e.g. paragraphs [53] and [91] of Woon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stripe patterned adhesive pattern layers of Ho such that the first angle of the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the second angle of the plurality of second linear adhesion layers are each approximately 90°, which is equal to or more than 75° and not more than 105°, and such that the plurality of first linear adhesion layers and the plurality of second linear adhesion layers extend toward each other and intersect each other as taught by Woon et al. in order to form electrolyte movement paths in different directions and increase electrolyte impregnation while maintaining adhesion between adjacent electrode and separator layers as suggested by Woon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723