DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5 have been amended. Claims 1-5 are pending. Examiner’s further notes: The amendment fails to provide the proper status identifiers in accordance with MPEP 714 Section IIC. However, for the sake of compact prosecution the examination will proceed on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.The examiner provides marked-up reproductions of applicable drawings (as needed) to facilitate discussion of the prior art.
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Smith (US 4,574,859).
[AltContent: textbox (End face)]Regarding claims 1, 3-4, Smith discloses a multi-piece tire rim assembly to include a flange 77 and bead seat 54.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (radially extending axially inward surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (radially extending axially outward surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer fillet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner fillet)][AltContent: textbox (circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface (continuously tapered))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
The assembly is configured to have at least one tire flange 77 including an end face and a circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface formed as a single continuous taper, the circumferentially extending radially inward surface further including an outer fillet provided at an edge between a radially extending axially outward surface of the tire flange and the circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface, and an inner fillet provided at the edge between a radially extending axially inward surface of the tire flange and the circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface.
[AltContent: textbox (θ1)][AltContent: textbox (θ2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second tapered surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead seat)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First tapered surface)]
At least one bead seat including a first tapered surface inclined at an angle of θ1 formed on a circumferentially extending radially outward surface of the bead seat, and a second tapered surface inclined at an angle of θ2 formed on a circumferentially extending radially inward surface of the bead seat, wherein θ1 is greater than θ2. And as depicted above, the circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface of the tire flange has a taper matching a taper of the first tapered surface; and the outer and inner fillets are provided as curved transitional surfaces at the edges
As to upon tire inflation, the circumferentially extending tapered radially inward surface of the tire flange is completely mounted within the first tapered surface of the bead seat, such that tire loads are transferred to the first tapered surface and support reactions are carried by the second tapered surface, thereby preventing fretting, reducing stress concentration on the tire flange, and enhancing rigidity of the bead seat in the critical region under load; and imparts a gradually increasing section in critical region of the bead seat under load, thereby enhancing rigidity of the bead seat and restricting the tire flange from establishing contact with a radially extending axially inward flange surface of the bead seat upon tire inflation; and for preventing stress concentration on the tire flange:
The tire flange and bead seat assembly of a multi-piece wheel rim is considered to be and examined as an apparatus. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claimed, see MPEP 2114 II. It being further noted, Smith’s apparatus anticipates claim 1 as there are no structural differences between what Smith presents and what is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.The examiner provides marked-up reproductions of applicable drawings (as needed) to facilitate discussion of the prior art.
Claims 2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 4,574,859), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Balaji (WO 2020/194072 A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 2, 5, Smith does not explicitly disclose a thickness difference within the tire flange to create the clearance. However, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, see MPEP 2144.04. Moreover, Balaji discloses a tire flange 403 suitable for retaining and supporting a wall of a tire substantially the same function as Oba’s side ring 15. The flange 403 being shaped to have:
A radially extending axially outward surface and a radially extending axially inward surface, wherein the radially extending axially outward surface divided into an upper surface and a lower surface; wherein a thickness T1 formed between the upper surface and the radially extending axially inward surface and a thickness T2 formed between the lower surface and the radially extending axially inward surface; and wherein the thickness T2 is less than the thickness T1 as clearly depicted above. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would appreciate such a change in shape that would provide a means for providing a clearance between the lower surface and a radially extending axially inward flange surface of a bead seat flange.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith’s tire flange to have a change in thickness as claimed and taught by Balaji to provide a means for securing a clearance between the radially extending surface of the flange and the radially extending surface of the bead seat. As to thereby preventing direct contact between the lower surface and the flange surface; and the thickness T1 and T2 are configured in relation to the load acting on the wheel, such that the rigidity of the bead seat is maintained while reducing mass of the tire flange: This relates to intended use and fails to require any tire structure different from that as suggested by the prior art to perform the claimed use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749