DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106700135). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 106700135.
Considering Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 10, 13, and 15: Wang et al. teaches a flame retardant resin composition polystyrene (pg. 3), an alginic acid salt (pg. 3), and calcium superphosphate/a phosphorous containing flame retardant (Example 4). Wang et al. teaches an example comprising 12 parts of the alginate salt and 0.5 parts of the phosphorous flame retardant in a composition with 46.6 parts total after drying (Example 4). Therefore, the composition comprises 25% of alginate salt and 1 weight percent of the flame retardant. Wang et al. teaches using xanthan gum as an alternative to alginic acid salt (pg. 3).
Wang et al. does not teach the flame retardant as being 2 to 16 weight percent of the composition. However, the disclosed amount of 1 weight percent is sufficiently close to 2 weight percent that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compositions to have substantially similar properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a composition with 2 weight percent of flame retardant from the teachings of Wang et al. as a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compositions to have similar properties.
Considering Claims 4-6 and 11: Wang et al. teaches that the polysaccharide can be calcium alginate (Example 5). Alginic acid contains one carboxylic acid group per monosaccharide unit. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a mixture of xanthan gum and calcium alginate as the polysaccharide component, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Wang et al. suggests, they are functional equivalents for the same use. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). See MPEP § 2144.06.
Considering Claim 14: Wang et al. teaches the thermoplastic resin as being polystyrene, which has a softening point of ~100 ºC.
Considering Claim 16: Wang et al. teaches a molded article made from the composition (Example 4).
Considering Claim 17: The term flame-retardant housing is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106700135) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (CN 112080083). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 112080083.
Considering Claim 12: Wang et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above.
Wang et al. does not teach adding a phosphate ester to the composition. However, Han et al. teaches adding a phosphate ester to an expandable styrene composition (pg. 5). Wang et al. and Han et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely flame-retardant polystyrene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the phosphate ester of Han et al. to the composition of Wang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Han et al. suggests, to increase the fire retardancy of the composition (pg. 5).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106700135) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2017/0313839)
Considering Claim 18: Wang et al. teaches the molded product of claim 16 as shown above.
Wang et al. does not teach an electronic device comprising the molded product. However, Guo et al. teaches using expanded foam moldings in electronic packaging (¶0124). Wang et al. and Guo et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely flame-retardant polystyrene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the molding of Wang et al. in electronic packaging, as in Guo et al., and the motivation to do would have been, it is a known use for flame retardant expanded foams.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106700135) in view of Han et al. (CN 112080083). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 106700135 and CN 112080083.
Considering Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 15: Wang et al. teaches a flame retardant resin composition polystyrene (pg. 3), an alginic acid salt (pg. 3), and calcium superphosphate/a phosphorous containing flame retardant (Example 4). Wang et al. teaches an example comprising 12 parts of the alginate salt and 0.5 parts of the phosphorous flame retardant in a composition with 46.6 parts total after drying (Example 4). Therefore, the composition comprises 25% of alginate salt and 1 weight percent of the flame retardant. Wang et al. teaches using xanthan gum as an alternative to alginic acid salt (pg. 3).
Wang et al. does not teach adding a phosphate ester to the composition. However, Han et al. teaches adding 0.5 to 4.5 parts of a phosphate ester to an expandable styrene composition (pg. 5). Wang et al. and Han et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely flame-retardant polystyrene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the phosphate ester of Han et al. to the composition of Wang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Han et al. suggests, to increase the fire retardancy of the composition (pg. 5).
Considering Claims 4-6 and 11: Wang et al. teaches that the alginic acid salt can be calcium alginate (Example 5). Alginic acid contains one carboxylic acid group per monosaccharide unit. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a mixture of xanthan gum and calcium alginate as the polysaccharide component, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Wang et al. suggests, they are functional equivalents for the same use. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). See MPEP § 2144.06.
Considering Claim 14: Wang et al. teaches the thermoplastic resin as being polystyrene, which has a softening point of ~100 ºC.
Considering Claim 16: Wang et al. teaches a molded article made from the composition (Example 4).
Considering Claim 17: The term flame-retardant housing is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106700135) in view of Han et al. (CN 112080083) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2017/0313839)
Considering Claim 18: Wang et al. teaches the molded product of claim 16 as shown above.
Wang et al. does not teach an electronic device comprising the molded product. However, Guo et al. teaches using expanded foam moldings in electronic packaging (¶0124). Wang et al. and Guo et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely flame-retardant polystyrene compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the molding of Wang et al. in electronic packaging, as in Guo et al., and the motivation to do would have been, it is a known use for flame retardant expanded foams.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Wang et al. does not teach an acid functional polysaccharide, but only a neutralized polysaccharide, is not persuasive. Wang et al. teaches using xanthan gum as an alternative to alginic acid salt (pg. 3).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767