DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4 recite “the the first application adapted to cause…” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claim is directed to communication processing involving:
Receiving and transmitting data and information.
These steps, when viewed in their entirety, describe organizing and managing interaction instructions for exchanging data, which is a form of managing human activity and following rules for allowing communication between people.
The recited “receiving… information”; and “receiving… data” steps are mental processes (e.g., talking with others, exchanging written notes, visually reviewing properties) that could be performed in the human mind and using pen and paper.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea: instructions for communicating data and information.
The claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The recited “non-transitory computer storage media”, “console identification processor”, and “communication processor” are generic computer components performing generic functions (storing instructions, executing instructions).
The claims do not improve the functioning of the computer itself or another technology; rather, it uses the computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea of communicating data and information according to instructions.
The additional elements (portable communication devices, videogame console) are conventional in video game implementations and do not impose a meaningful limit on the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The use of generic computer-readable media, generic processors, and generic applications to implement communication rules is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of computer gaming.
The “first application”, “second application”, and “third application” are merely different generic tools used in the abstract communication process; they do not constitute an unconventional technical solution or improvement in computer functionality.
The “identifying… a videogame console” step is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of computer gaming, commonly, used in connecting a first computing device to a second computing device, e.g., connecting a game controller to a game console.
No specific algorithm, data structure, or hardware improvement is claimed that would transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter.
Therefore, the claim as a whole amounts to no more than the abstract idea of communicating data and information according to rules, implemented on a generic computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. 20130318247 to Liu et al (Liu).
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 15. Liu discloses a videogame console input system, comprising:
a first portable communication device (Fig. 1, element 104) adapted to communicate with a videogame console (Fig. 1, element 102) using a first application (¶¶16 and 19), the first portable communication device including:
a console identification processor (Fig, 7, elements 710 and 712) adapted to identify the videogame console operating a second application (¶¶28 and 37-38), wherein the videogame console is associated with a user of the first portable communication device (¶50);
a communication processor (Figs. 7, elements 708, 710, and/or 712) adapted to receive, from the videogame console, information of the second application operating on the videogame console (¶¶19, 26, and 58); and
one or more other portable communication devices operable to communicate with the first portable communication device using a third application, different from the second application operating on the videogame console, wherein the communication processor is adapted to communicate with the one or more portable communication devices by receiving data generated using the third application operating on the one or more other portable communication devices (Fig. 6, and ¶¶225-230 “multiple devices are interconnected”; note, the applications as claimed can be interpreted as but not limited to one or more of the following: game, driver, program, code, network communication protocol, widget, interface, tool, logic, software, firmware, API, function, module, media, title, content, or the like).
Claims 2 and 10. Liu discloses which the first applicaton is adapted to cause the first portable communication device to carry out the steps of:
associating the one or more other portable communication devices with respective inputs to the videogame console; and
communicating with the videogame console to relay respective input data received from the one or more other portable communication devices as respective inputs (¶226 “multiple devices” uses inputs disclosed in ¶¶20-22).
Claims 3 and 11. Liu discloses in which data generated using the third application includes data corresponding to at least one of:
a short range wireless messaging protocol; and
a text or multimedia messaging service protocol (¶32 “messaging service”).
Claims 4, 7, and 14. Liu discloses in which the first application is adapted to cause the first portable communication device to carry out the steps of:
parsing the received data generated using the third application from the one or more portable communication devices into a format appropriate to transmit to the videogame console, and associating the received data with a respective input to the videogame console; and
transmitting the parsed data, associated with the respective input, to the videogame console (¶226 “multiple devices” uses inputs disclosed in ¶¶20-22).
Claim 16. Liu discloses comprising:
transmitting, using the first application, a version of the received data, generated using the third application, to the videogame console to control the second application operating on the videogame console (¶226 “multiple devices” uses inputs disclosed in ¶¶20-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20130318247 to Liu et al (Liu) in view of US Pub. 20190036989 to Eirinberg et al (Eirinberg)
Claims 5 and 12. Liu fails to explicitly disclose claims 5 and 12 limitations.
Eirinberg discloses in which the third application is a video chat application configured to generate data corresponding to a video chat protocol (¶¶12-14). The gaming system of Liu would have motivation to use the teachings of Eirinberg in order to provide additional ways that players can communicate with each other in doing so would provide an enhanced gaming experience.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Liu with the teachings of Eirinberg in order to provide additional ways that players can communicate with each other in doing so would provide an enhanced gaming experience.
Claims 6 and 13. Liu fails to explicitly disclose claims 6 and 13limitations.
Eirinberg teaches transmitting, to the one or more portable communication devices operating the third application graphics data (¶¶19-21). The gaming system of Liu would have motivation to use the teachings of Eirinberg in order to share additional visual data that others may find interesting in doing so would make communicating among a plurality of communication devices more fun.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Liu with the teachings of Eirinberg in order to share additional visual data that others may find interesting in doing so would make communicating among a plurality of communication devices more fun.
Claim 17. Liu in view of Eirinberg teaches wherein receiving the data using the third application comprises:
receiving data generated using a video chat application (see Eirinberg ¶¶12-14)
Claim 18. Liu in view of Eirinberg teaches wherein receiving the data generated using the video chat application comprises:
receiving audio data from a user of the one or more portable communication devices operating the video chat application (see Eirinberg ¶¶29 and 53 “audio”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715