Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (CN202211051528.2, filed 08/31/2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al. (CN 114772903 A; published 22 July 2022; machine translation provided and referenced herein) in view of NOH et al. (WO 2021261988 A1) and TABATA et al. (JP 2011156524 A; machine translation provided and referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 6, SONG discloses a sludge dehydrating/conditioning system comprising a reactor main body 1 (i.e., a reaction kettle body for accommodating sludge), water jacket 2 (i.e., a refrigeration jacket arranged outside the reaction kettle body), circulating refrigerator 4, sludge storage tank 7, first pressure reducing valve 8, gas cylinder 9 (i.e., a carbon dioxide storage tank), second one-way valve 10, sludge recovery/recycling tank 11, pressure sensor 18, and temperature sensor 19 (par. spanning pg. 2-3; Example 1, pg. 5, par. 1-3; FIG. 1). In the system, sludge from sludge storage tank 7 is conveyed to the reactor main body 1, gas is injected from gas cylinder 9 via a first pressure reducing valve 8 until a predetermined internal pressure is reached, circulating a refrigerant by the circulating refrigerator 4 that cools the water jacket 2 to cool the sludge to crystallize hydrates and thereby treating the sludge in the reactor main body 1, and finally flowing the conditioned sludge to the sludge recovery tank 11 to finalize sludge treatment (pg. 3, bottom paragraphs). SONG further discloses the gas stored in the gas cylinder 9 is carbon dioxide (pg. 4, par. 3).
[AltContent: textbox (Refrigerant
Circulating
Pipe)][AltContent: textbox (Temperature Sensor)][AltContent: textbox (Pressure Sensor)][AltContent: textbox (Sludge Recovery/Recycling Tank)][AltContent: textbox (Gas Cylinder)][AltContent: textbox (Pressure Reducing Valve)][AltContent: textbox (Sludge Storage Tank)][AltContent: textbox (Circulating
Refrigerator)][AltContent: textbox (Water
Jacket)][AltContent: textbox (Reactor Main Body)]
SONG is deficient in explicitly disclosing a gas compressor in communication with the reaction kettle body and in communication with the carbon dioxide storage tank.
NOH discloses a carbonation reactor that utilizes pressurized carbon dioxide to form a suspension in a reactor for treating seawater (abstract; pg. 2, lines 10-12). NOH further discloses a pressure regulator linked to a carbon dioxide compressor and a carbon dioxide tank (i.e., a gas compressor which is in communication with the reaction kettle body and in communication with the carbon dioxide storage tank; FIG. 2, pg. 7, lines 26-27). Advantageously, the use of a compressor allows for the adjustment of pressure in the reactor to better control the desired reaction (pg. 7, lines 26-28). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include a gas compressor in communication with the reactor and with the carbon dioxide storage tank as taught by NOH for the reaction system taught by SONG.
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Modified SONG is deficient in disclosing a stirring assembly arranged in the reaction kettle body.
TABATA discloses a cooling reactor in which liquefied carbon dioxide is used as a coolant for a reaction vessel (abstract); the reaction vessel is provided with a stirrer to stir the reaction object (i.e., a stirring assembly arranged in the reaction kettle body; pg. 3, par. 1). Advantageously, the inclusion of a stirrer reduces temperature unevenness in the reaction vessel (pg. 3, par. 1). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a stirring assembly as taught by TABATA for the reaction system made obvious by modified SONG.
The limitations “wherein the sludge is added into the reaction kettle body, the gas compressor is used to intermittently introduce high-pressure carbon dioxide at a low-temperature condition until a partial pressure of the carbon dioxide is stable, and the stirring assembly is used to stir the sludge until no gas escapes to obtain treated sludge” are directed toward materials and articles worked upon by the claimed system and to manners or methods by which the claimed system is used and are not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935); MPEP §2115). The manner or method in which an apparatus is to be utilized is not subject to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); MPEP §2115).
Regarding Claim 7, modified SONG makes obvious the reaction system of Claim 6. As further shown in FIG. 1 of SONG, the water jacket 2 sleeves the reaction main body 1 is connected with the circulating refrigerator 4 (i.e., a cooler); a refrigerant circulating pipe (i.e., a refrigerant circulating pipe) is shown embedded within the water jacket 2 (i.e., the refrigerant circulating pipe is immersed in the refrigerating medium). Further, the disclosure of a water jacket 2 implies that water is provided as a refrigerating medium (i.e., the refrigeration jacket is internally provided a refrigerating medium).
Regarding Claim 9, modified SONG makes obvious the reaction system of Claim 6. SONG further discloses pressure sensor 18 in the reactor main body 1 (i.e., the reaction kettle body is further provided with a… pressure sensor; pg. 5, par. 2). As noted earlier, the gas provided to the reactor main body 1 is carbon dioxide (i.e., a carbon dioxide pressure sensor; pg. 4, par. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, modified SONG makes obvious the reaction system of Claim 6. SONG further discloses a line leading from the bottom of reactor main body 1 to sludge recovery/recycling tank 11 (i.e., a bottom of the reaction kettle body is provided with a sludge discharge pipe; FIG. 1).
Regarding Claims 11-14, modified SONG makes obvious the reaction system of Claim 6. The instant limitations of Claims 11-14 are all directed toward materials and articles worked upon by the claimed system and to manners or methods by which the claimed system is used and are not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935); MPEP §2115). The manner or method in which an apparatus is to be utilized is not subject to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); MPEP §2115).
Regarding Claims 15-18, modified SONG makes obvious the reaction system Claims 11-14, respectively. As further shown in FIG. 1 of SONG, the water jacket 2 sleeves the reaction main body 1 is connected with the circulating refrigerator 4 (i.e., a cooler); a refrigerant circulating pipe (i.e., a refrigerant circulating pipe) is shown embedded within the water jacket 2 (i.e., the refrigerant circulating pipe is immersed in the refrigerating medium). Further, the disclosure of a water jacket 2 implies that water is provided as a refrigerating medium (i.e., the refrigeration jacket is internally provided a refrigerating medium).
Claim(s) 8, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al. (CN 114772903 A) in view of NOH et al. (WO 2021261988 A1) and TABATA et al. (JP 2011156524 A), as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of ELLIOTT et al. (US 2022/0357084 A1).
Regarding Claims 8, 19, and 20, modified SONG makes obvious reaction systems of Claims 6, 11, and 12, respectively. Modified SONG is deficient in disclosing the refrigeration jacket is further provided with a temperature detection sensor.
ELLIOTT discloses a refrigeration system comprising a condenser, a refrigerant, and a refrigerant conduit defining a cyclic flow path for the refrigerant from the condenser (p0011). There is further a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the refrigerant (p0011; p0046) to advantageously be used to monitor refrigerant temperature to prevent overcooling (p0009). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a temperature sensor as disclosed by ELLIOTT in a refrigerant conduit to monitor refrigerant temperature for the refrigerant jacket made obvious by modified SONG.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 14 October 2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the Claim Objections of Claim 6, Applicant’s amendments to Claim 6 are sufficient; these objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 6-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, Applicant’s amendments to Claims 6, 7, and 15-20 are sufficient; these rejections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections of Claim(s) 6, 7, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 3970666 B2; Claim(s) 8, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3970666 B2 in view of ELLIOTT et al. (US 2022/0357084 A1); and Claim(s) 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3970666 B2 in view of TSUBOUCHI et al. (US 2009/0194564 A1), Applicant’s amendments are sufficient; these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made for Claim(s) 6, 7, and 9-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al. (CN 114772903 A) in view of NOH et al. (WO 2021261988 A1) and TABATA et al. (JP 2011156524 A); and Claim(s) 8, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG et al. (CN 114772903 A) in view of NOH et al. (WO 2021261988 A1), TABATA et al. (JP 2011156524 A), and ELLIOTT et al. (US 2022/0357084 A1).
Applicant’s arguments filed 14 October 2025 have been considered but are not persuasive because they are directed to grounds of rejection that have been withdrawn. Therefore, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the presently pending claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777