DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/14/2026 with respect to the objection to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the amended claims 1, 12 and 16 being novel over the prior art of record have been fully considered and are persuasive in part. However a new rejection is made in view of Lee. Examiner does not agree that Walter does not disclose a hood in fluid communication with the housing through a duct. The hose (21) represents an enclosed passage or channel for conveying a substance, especially a liquid or gas which is the definition of a duct. Examiner agrees that Lee does not expressly disclose a power connection point or an electronic control connection nor is it certain that it includes these features based on the disclosure of Walter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (DE2918980) in view of Lee (US 2025/0179720).
As for claim 1, Walter discloses a hair dryer comprising: a housing having an inlet (5, fig. 1) and a hood (3, fig. 1) in fluid communication with the housing through a duct (21, fig. 1); a fan (2, fig. 1) carried by the housing to draw an ambient air into the housing (5, [0010]); a[n] evaporator coil carried by the housing adapted to cool the ambient air producing a drier air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air (11, fig. 1, [0012], examiner notes that the evaporator condenses moisture from the ambient air); a heating element carried by the housing adapted to heat the drier air (18, fig. 1, [0015], note 18 erroneously identified as “8” in this paragraph, which is actually the item number for the condenser); a cartridge removably carried by the housing wherein the cartridge includes the fan, evaporator coil, heating element and any combination thereof; and an outlet included in the housing adapted to direct heated air to the hood (21, 3, fig. 1).
Walter discloses an outlet included in the housing adapted to direct heated air to the hood (21, fig. 1, terminus at hood) and the claimed invention except for a cartridge removably received in the housing, the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil, and heating element as an integrated unit, wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement. Lee teaches a cartridge removably received in the housing [0058], the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil [0006], and heating element as an integrated unit (670, fig. 4), wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement (paragraph [0012] teaches the controls integral to the heat pump cartridge, paragraph [0058] teaches that the cartridge is completely pulled in and out. Examiner takes official notice that the heat pump cartridge must have a power point connection in order for the compressor to be fed power to circulate the refrigerant and it also must inherently have an electronic control connection in order to energize the controls taught in [0012]) in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Walter would benefit equally from providing easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a cartridge removably received in the housing, the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil, and heating element as an integrated unit, wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement as taught by Lee in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Examiner notes that although Lee’s cartridge is used for treating garments instead of hair it does solve the same problem of facilitating the installation and removal of the mechanical components of a heat pump system.
As for claim 4, Walter discloses the evaporator coil operatively associated with a condenser coil to produce drier air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air (8, 11, fig, 1).
As for claim 5, Walter discloses a basin carried by the housing to collect moisture removed from ambient air (14, fig. 1).
As for claim 9, Walter discloses a liquid outlet in fluid communications with the evaporator coil adapted to direct liquid to a drain (15, fig. 1p).
As for claim 12, Walter discloses a housing having an inlet (5, fig. 1) and a hood (3, fig. 1); a fan carried by the housing to draw ambient air into the housing (2, fig. 1); a dehumidifier carried by the housing adapted to produce drier air from the ambient air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air (11, fig. 1. [0005], examiner notes the term evaporator is used for a condensing unit of a heat pump system, whereas the term condenser is used for a condensing unit of a refrigeration cycle); a heating element carried by the housing adapted to heat the drier air to produce heated air (18, fig. 1, [0015], improperly identified as 8 in the paragraph which is actually the evaporator); an outlet included in the housing adapted to direct heated air to the hood (21, fig. 1).
Walter discloses an outlet included in the housing adapted to direct heated air to the hood (21, fig. 1, terminus at hood) and the claimed invention except for a cartridge removably received in the housing, the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil, and heating element as an integrated unit, wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement. Lee teaches a cartridge removably received in the housing [0058], the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil [0006], and heating element as an integrated unit (670, fig. 4), wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement (paragraph [0012] teaches the controls integral to the heat pump cartridge, paragraph [0058] teaches that the cartridge is completely pulled in and out. Examiner takes official notice that the heat pump cartridge must have a power point connection in order for the compressor to be fed power to circulate the refrigerant and it also must inherently have an electronic control connection in order to energize the controls taught in [0012]) in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Walter would benefit equally from providing easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a cartridge removably received in the housing, the cartridge including the fan, evaporator coil, a condenser coil operatively associated with the evaporator coil, and heating element as an integrated unit, wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement as taught by Lee in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Examiner notes that although Lee’s cartridge is used for treating garments instead of hair it does solve the same problem of facilitating the installation and removal of the mechanical components of a heat pump system.
As for claim 21 Walter discloses the claimed invention except for the cartridge includes the condenser coil. Lee teaches the cartridge includes the condenser coil (620, fig. 4, [0056], condenser includes a condensing coil) in order to facilitate easier maintenance of the mechanical equipment. Walter would benefit equally from facilitating easier maintenance of the mechanical equipment. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with the cartridge includes the condenser coil as taught by Lee in order to facilitate easier maintenance of the mechanical equipment.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grunert (US 8,789,290).
As for claim 2, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a container received in the housing and adapted to collect the moisture generated from the evaporator coil. Grunert teaches a container received in the housing and adapted to collect the moisture generated from the condenser coil (19, 5:63-6:3) in order to provide a convenient tank that a user can dump at their leisure. Walter would benefit equally from providing a convenient tank that a user can dump at their leisure. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a container received in the housing and adapted to collect the moisture generated from the condenser coil as taught by Grunert in order to provide a convenient tank that a user can dump at their leisure.
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of KR20180002423U, hereinafter “’423”.
As for claim 3, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a filter carried by the housing adapted to remove particulates from the ambient air prior to the evaporator coil. “423” teaches a filter carried by the housing adapted to remove particulates from the ambient air prior to the condenser coil (38, 37, fig. 2) in order to remove contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils. Walter would benefit equally from removing contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a filter carried by the housing adapted to remove particulates from the ambient air prior to the condenser coil as taught by “423” in order to remove contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils.
As for claim 13, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a filter in an airflow path that include the dehumidifier and the heating element. “423” teaches a filter (38) in an airflow path that include the dehumidifier (37) and the heating element (35) in order to remove contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils. Walter would benefit equally from removing contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a filter in an airflow path that include the dehumidifier and the heating element as taught by “423” in order to remove contaminants before they can deposit on and clog the dehumidifying coils.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kang (US 2025/0179720).
As for claim 7, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for the catch basin removably carried by the cartridge. Kang teaches the catch basin removably carried by the cartridge (326, fig. 9. [0223]) in order to simplify construction and assembly of the unit. Walter would benefit equally from . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with the catch basin removably carried by the cartridge as taught by Kang in order to a catch basin removably carried by the cartridge.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phipps (US 2,392,405).
Walter discloses the claimed invention except for the hood is a first hood, the outlet is a first outlet and a second outlet is included in the housing for directing heated air to a second hood carried by the housing. Phipps teaches the hood is a first hood, the outlet is a first outlet and a second outlet is included in the housing for directing heated air to a second hood carried by the housing (35, 35, fig. 4, upstream of vanes 35 in air supply line to the various hoods) in order to service more individuals at the same time. Walter would benefit equally from servicing more individuals at the same time. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with the hood is a first hood, the outlet is a first outlet and a second outlet is included in the housing for directing heated air to a second hood carried by the housing as taught by Phipps in order to service more individuals at the same time.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR20180002423U, hereinafter “’423”.
Walter discloses a second fan is positioned horizontally relative to the base of the unit (2, fig. 1). Walter discloses the claimed invention except for the fan is a first fan and the first fan is positioned vertically relative to a base unit. “423” teaches the fan is a first fan and the first fan is positioned vertically relative to a base unit (25, fig. 5) in order to increase the draw air into the housing. Walter would benefit equally from increasing the draw air into the housing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with the fan is a first fan and the first fan is positioned vertically relative to a base unit as taught by “423” in order to increase the draw air into the housing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2020/0390218).
As for claim 11, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the hood includes a front opening for improving access to the hood by a user. Chang teaches wherein the hood includes a front opening for improving access to the hood by a user (51, fig. 6, [0051]) in order to limit the hood to the portions of a head that include hair which requires treatment for increased user visibility and ease of use. Walter would benefit equally from limiting the hood to the portions of a head that include hair which requires treatment for increased user visibility and ease of use. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with wherein the hood includes a front opening for improving access to the hood by a user as taught by Chang in order to limit the hood to the portions of a head that include hair which requires treatment for increased user visibility and ease of use.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of DeMuro (US 3.972,126).
Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of air expelled from the hood where the temperature sensor is configured to place the hair dryer in a safe mode if a temperature of an expelled air expelled from the hood exceeds a predetermined temperature. DeMuro teaches a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of air expelled from the hood where the temperature sensor is configured to place the hair dryer in a safe mode if a temperature of an expelled air expelled from the hood exceeds a predetermined temperature (2:49-52) in order to protect a user from overheated air. Walter would benefit equally from protecting a user from overheated air. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of air expelled from the hood where the temperature sensor is configured to place the hair dryer in a safe mode if a temperature of an expelled air expelled from the hood exceeds a predetermined temperature as taught by DeMuro in order to protect a user from overheated air.
Claims 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee.
As for claim 16, Walter discloses a hood (3); a fan (2) to draw ambient air into the housing (5); a dehumidifier and including an evaporator coil and a condenser coil (1, 11, fig. 1), the dehumidifier adapted to produce drier air from the ambient air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air [0019]; a heating element adapted to heat the drier air to produce heated air directed to the hood (8, [0019]). Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a cartridge removable received in the housing; a fan carried by the cartridge to draw ambient air into the housing; a dehumidifier carried by the cartridge and including an evaporator coil and a condenser coil, the dehumidifier adapted to produce drier air from the ambient air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air; a heating element carried by the cartridge adapted to heat the drier air to produce heated air directed to the hood; and wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement. Lee teaches cartridge removable received in the housing [0058]; a fan carried by the cartridge to draw ambient air into the housing [0006]; a dehumidifier carried by the cartridge and including an evaporator coil and a condenser coil, the dehumidifier adapted to produce drier air from the ambient air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air [0006]; a heating element carried by the cartridge adapted to heat the drier air to produce heated air directed to the hood (670, fig. 4); and wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement (paragraph [0012] teaches the controls integral to the heat pump cartridge, paragraph [0058] teaches that the cartridge is completely pulled in and out. Examiner takes official notice that the heat pump cartridge must have a power point connection in order for the compressor to be fed power to circulate the refrigerant and it also must inherently have an electronic control connection in order to energize the controls taught in [0012]) in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Walter would benefit equally from providing easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with cartridge removable received in the housing; a fan carried by the cartridge to draw ambient air into the housing; a dehumidifier carried by the cartridge and including an evaporator coil and a condenser coil, the dehumidifier adapted to produce drier air from the ambient air through condensation of moisture from the ambient air; a heating element carried by the cartridge adapted to heat the drier air to produce heated air directed to the hood; and wherein the cartridge has a power connection point and an electronic control connection point capable of user connection and disconnection to allow the cartridge to be disconnected from power and control connections for replacement as taught by Lee in order to provide easy maintenance to the heat pump unit. Examiner notes that although Lee’s cartridge is used for treating garments instead of hair it does solve the same problem of facilitating the installation and removal of the mechanical components of a heat pump system.
As for claim 21, Walter discloses the hood is fixed to the housing (26-29, fig. 1).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kang.
As for claim 17, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a basin removable carried by the cartridge adapted to be removed from the cartridge when the cartridge is disposed in the housing. Kang teaches a basin removable carried by the cartridge adapted to be removed from the cartridge when the cartridge is disposed in the housing (326, fig. 9. [0223]) in order to simplify construction and assembly of the unit. Walter would benefit equally from simplifying construction and assembly of the unit. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a basin removable carried by the cartridge adapted to be removed from the cartridge when the cartridge is disposed in the housing as taught by Kang in order to simplify construction and assembly of the unit.
As for claim 19, Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a controller in communication with the fan, dehumidifier and heating element and adapted to actuate the fan, dehumidifier, and heating element. Kang teaches a controller in communication with the fan, dehumidifier and heating element and adapted to actuate the fan, dehumidifier, and heating element (62, fig. 2, [0017]) in order to automate dryer functions for increased process control. Walter would benefit equally from automating dryer functions for increased process control. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a controller in communication with the fan, dehumidifier and heating element and adapted to actuate the fan, dehumidifier, and heating element as taught by Kang in order to automate dryer functions for increased process control.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of DeMuro.
Walter discloses the claimed invention except for a sensor taken from the group consisting of a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a particulate sensor and any combination thereof. DeMuro teaches a sensor taken from the group consisting of a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a particulate sensor and any combination thereof (2:49-52) in order to protect a user from overheated air. Walter would benefit equally from protecting a user from overheated air. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter with a sensor taken from the group consisting of a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a particulate sensor and any combination thereof as taught by Lee in order to protect a user from overheated air.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter in view of Lee as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hawes (US 2013/0091724).
The combination of Walter and Lee discloses or teaches the controller adapted to actuate the fan, dehumidifier and heating element (62, fig. 2, [0017]) in order to automate dryer functions for increased process control and the claimed invention except for a remote computer device in communications with the controller. Hawes teaches a remote computer device in communications with the controller [0035] in order to increase user convenience and control. The combination of Walter and Lee would benefit equally from increasing user convenience and control. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Walter and Lee with a remote computer device in communications with the controller as taught by Hawes in order to increase user convenience and control.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762