DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 1/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Previously, claims 1, 9, and 14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forsyth. Now, based on amendments to the claim language, claims 1, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, 14-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koop et al., US 20220022952, herein referred to as “Koop”.
Regarding claim 1, Koop discloses a pulse generator for use with an electroporation system (Figure 1: electroporation generator 130), the pulse generator configured to be coupled to a catheter (Figure 1: electroporation catheter 105) including a plurality of electrodes (Figure 2A: electrodes 201a, 201b, 201c, 201d, 201e, and 201f) and configured to generate a waveform to be delivered using at least one of the plurality of electrodes (Figure 3F), the waveform including: a pulse train having positive and negative pulses (Figure 3F: non-alternating pulse sequence 301f), wherein an average charge over the pulse train is zero ([0092]: “FIG. 3F. is a diagram illustrating two pulse sequences 305f, one non-alternating (301f) and the other alternating (302f), of charge-and-energy balanced, asymmetric triphasic pulses (311t) to be delivered to electrodes in an electroporation electrode arrangement of the catheter.”), and wherein each positive pulse in the pulse train has a greater amplitude and shorter pulse width than each negative pulse in the pulse train (Figure 3F: 301f and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”).
Regarding claim 2, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 1, wherein the pulse train includes a first pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, first pulse with v1 and d-1), a last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, last pulse in Figure, also v1 and d-1), and at least one intermediate pulse between the first pulse and the last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, there are many intermediate pulses, including many with v2 and d2), and wherein a polarity of the first pulse is the same as a polarity of the last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, the last and first pulse have the same polarity and [0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 2, wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse width (Figure 3F: 301f, d2), and wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse width that is different than the first pulse width (Figure 3F: 301f, d1 and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”).
Regarding claim 5, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 2, wherein positive pulses of the at least one intermediate pulse have a different pulse width and a different amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, d1 and v1) than negative pulses of the at least one intermediate pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, d2 and v2).
Regarding claim 6, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 2, wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, v2), and wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse amplitude that is different than the first pulse amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, v1).
Regarding claim 9, Koop discloses a pulse generator for use with an electroporation system (Figure 1: electroporation generator 130), the pulse generator configured to be coupled to a catheter (Figure 1: electroporation catheter 105) including a plurality of electrodes (Figure 2A: electrodes 201a, 201b, 201c, 201d, 201e, and 201f) and configured to generate a waveform to be delivered using at least one of the plurality of electrodes (Figure 3F), the waveform including: a single, asymmetrical pulse train having positive and negative pulses (Figure 3F: alternating pulse sequence 302f), wherein the pulse train includes a first pulse (Figure 3F: 302f, first pulse with v1 and d-1), a last pulse (Figure 3F: 302f, last pulse in Figure, also v1 and d-1), and at least one intermediate pulse between the first pulse and the last pulse (Figure 3F: 302f, there are many intermediate pulses, including many with v2 and d2), and wherein, to facilitate reducing a maximum absolute charge of the pulse train, the first and last pulses have at least one of a different amplitude and a different pulse width than the at least one intermediate pulse (Figure 3F: 321f and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”), wherein an average charge over the pulse train is zero ([0092]: “FIG. 3F. is a diagram illustrating two pulse sequences 305f, one non-alternating (301f) and the other alternating (302f), of charge-and-energy balanced, asymmetric triphasic pulses (311t) to be delivered to electrodes in an electroporation electrode arrangement of the catheter.”), and wherein each positive pulse in the single, asymmetrical pulse train has a greater amplitude and shorter pulse width than each negative pulse in the single, asymmetric pulse train (Figure 3F: 302f and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”).
Regarding claim 10, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 9, wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have different polarities (Figure 3F: 302f, the last and first pulse have opposite polarities and [0092]).
Regarding claim 11, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 9, wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have the same polarity (Figure 3F: 301f, the last and first pulse have the same polarities and [0092]) and wherein an average charge over the pulse train is zero ([0092]: “FIG. 3F. is a diagram illustrating two pulse sequences 305f, one non-alternating (301f) and the other alternating (302f), of charge-and-energy balanced, asymmetric triphasic pulses (311t) to be delivered to electrodes in an electroporation electrode arrangement of the catheter.”).
Regarding claim 14, Koop discloses a method for controlling an electroporation system (Figure 1), the method comprising: generating, using a pulse generator (Figure 1: electroporation generator 130), a waveform (Figure 3F) including a single, asymmetrical pulse train having positive and negative pulses (Figure 3F: alternating pulse sequence 301f), wherein an average charge over the pulse train is zero ([0092]: “FIG. 3F. is a diagram illustrating two pulse sequences 305f, one non-alternating (301f) and the other alternating (302f), of charge-and-energy balanced, asymmetric triphasic pulses (311t) to be delivered to electrodes in an electroporation electrode arrangement of the catheter.”), and wherein each positive pulse in the single, asymmetrical pulse train has a greater amplitude and shorter pulse width than each negative pulse in the single, asymmetric pulse train (Figure 3F: 301f and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”); and delivering, using one or more electrodes (Figure 2A: electrodes 201a, 201b, 201c, 201d, 201e, and 201f) on a catheter (Figure 1: electroporation catheter 105) coupled to the pulse generator, the generated waveform to target tissue ([0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Koop discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the pulse train includes a first pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, first pulse with v1 and d-1), a last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, last pulse in Figure, also v1 and d-1), and at least one intermediate pulse between the first pulse and the last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, there are many intermediate pulses, including many with v2 and d2), and wherein a polarity of the first pulse is the same as a polarity of the last pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, the last and first pulse have the same polarity and [0092]).
Regarding claim 16, Koop discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse width (Figure 3F: 301f, d2), and wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse width that is different than the first pulse width (Figure 3F: 301f, d1 and [0094]: “And each triphasic pulse may have a first voltage pulse length and a second voltage pulse length, the first voltage pulse length being less than or equal to the second voltage pulse length. The illustrated triphasic pulses have asymmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is less than d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced while having a higher voltage amplitude than symmetric triphasic pulses (such as those shown in FIG. 3E).”).
Regarding claim 18, Koop discloses the method of claim 15, wherein positive pulses of the at least one intermediate pulse have a different pulse width and a different amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, d1 and v1) than negative pulses of the at least one intermediate pulse (Figure 3F: 301f, d2 and v2).
Regarding claim 19, Koop discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, v2), and wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse amplitude that is different than the first pulse amplitude (Figure 3F: 301f, v1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Embodiment A of Koop (Figure 3F) in view of Embodiment B of Koop (Figure 3E).
Regarding claim 4, Embodiment A of Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose a pulse generator wherein the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width.
However, Embodiment B of Koop teaches a pulse generator wherein the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width (Figure 3E and [0093]: “The illustrated triphasic pulses have symmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is approximately equal to one half of d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pulse generator disclosed by Embodiment A of Koop so that the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width as taught by Embodiment B of Koop to ensure that the pulse train is both charge and energy balanced ([0093]).
Regarding claim 12, Embodiment A of Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 9, including wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse width (Figure 3F: d2), but does not explicitly disclose a pulse generator wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse width that is half of the first pulse width.
However, Embodiment B of Koop teaches a pulse generator wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse width that is half of the first pulse width (Figure 3E and [0093]: “The illustrated triphasic pulses have symmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is approximately equal to one half of d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pulse generator disclosed by Embodiment A of Koop so that the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width as taught by Embodiment B of Koop to ensure that the pulse train is both charge and energy balanced ([0093]).
Regarding claim 17, Embodiment A of Koop discloses the method of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width.
However, Embodiment B of Koop teaches a method wherein the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width (Figure 3E and [0093]: “The illustrated triphasic pulses have symmetric voltage amplitudes (v) and varied pulse lengths such that d1 is approximately equal to one half of d2 and are therefore charge-and-energy balanced.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Embodiment A of Koop so that the second pulse width is half of the first pulse width as taught by Embodiment B of Koop to ensure that the pulse train is both charge and energy balanced ([0093]).
Claims 7, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koop.
Regarding claim 7, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose a pulse generator wherein the second pulse amplitude is half of the first pulse amplitude.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second pulse amplitude so that it is half of the first pulse amplitude since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding claim 13, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose a pulse generator wherein the at least one intermediate pulse has a first pulse amplitude, and wherein the first pulse and the last pulse have a second pulse amplitude that is half of the first pulse amplitude.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second pulse amplitude so that it is half of the first pulse amplitude, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding claim 20, Koop discloses the method of claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose a method wherein the second pulse amplitude is half of the first pulse amplitude.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second pulse amplitude so that it is half of the first pulse amplitude, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 8 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koop in view of Forsyth et al., US 20200289185, herein referred to as “Forsyth”.
Regarding claim 8, Koop discloses the pulse generator in accordance with claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a pulse generator wherein the pulse train is a subset of pulses within a longer burst waveform, and wherein the average charge over the burst waveform is non-zero.
However, Forsyth teaches a pulse generator (Figure 5: power supply 108) wherein the pulse train is a subset of pulses (Figure 16: first output 910) within a longer burst waveform (Figure 16: second output 912), and wherein the average charge over the burst waveform is non-zero ([0140]: “The method then includes making an adjustment, as indicated at 924, to the charge balance that results from the first and second outputs 910, 912.”).
Conclusion
/N.W.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794