DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0077], Table 3A needs to be resubmitted as the table is blurry in the newly filed amendments to the Specification, dated 5/13/25.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (US 2018/0261245) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 5,815,343).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5-6, Niwa discloses a magnetic recording medium comprising a nanogranular magnetic film [0044] comprising a structure including first phases comprises of nano-domains dispersed in a second phase, wherein the first phases include pure Co, and the second phase includes GeO2 [0044], wherein volume of the second phase is 10-50 vol.% [0045], which thereby overlaps the vol.% of the first phase as claimed. Niwa fails to explicitly disclose the content of the noble gas is 0.20-0.80 at.% as presently claimed.
Ishikawa discloses a magnetic recording medium, which is an analogous art to that of Niwa, comprising a Co alloy magnetic film comprising of Ar in a concentration of 0.1-5% (col. 12, line 66 – col. 13, line 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niwa’s nanogranular magnetic film to incorporate Ar with the concentration as claimed, since Ishikawa discloses that this will enhance the anisotropic magnetic field and the coercivity of the magnetic film (col. 13, lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 2, Niwa discloses first phases, however, fails to explicitly disclose the average size as claimed. However, Niwa discloses that the nanogranular magnetic film has a thickness of 3 nm [0046]. Given that the first phases or magnetic crystal grains must be within the thickness of a magnetic layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage that the first phases or magnetic crystal grains must be within the thickness range. Therefore, Niwa discloses an overlapping average size as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 4, Niwa discloses an electronic component Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 7, Niwa discloses 10% of B, C, Si, and Ge (Table 1, Ex. 14-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant stated that a newly filed specification was submitted to overcome the objection of paragraph [0077], Table 3A, however, no correction was submitted.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785