DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s Non-Final Rejection of 3/27/26, Applicant, on 6/25/26, amended claims. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without reciting significantly more.
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in MPEP 2106.03, the claim 1 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - MPEP 2106.04 - The claim 1 recites–
A … method of poro-elastic modeling, comprising:
a. receiving simulation parameters;
b. performing 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling using the simulation parameters, wherein the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling:
i. computes temporal stress, strain, pore pressure, particle displacement, and fluid flow fields; and
ii. is based on a rescaling of solid rock density and fluid density parameters to convert dynamic poro-elastic equations into quasi-static poro-elastic equations enabling enlarged simulation time steps under Courant stability conditions; and
c. storing simulated temporal quasi-static stresses and pore pressures computed by the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling ...
As drafted, this is, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, directed to the Abstract idea groupings of “mathematical relationships” as here we have a series of explicit math – receiving simulation parameters (claim 2 gives examples as various mathematical representations of viscosity, permeability, porosity, coefficient, modulus, density, etc), finite difference modeling (a numerical method) using the parameters (see claim 2), computing stress, strain, pore pressure, particle displacement, and fluid flow fields, and is based on rescaling rock density and fluid density parameters to convert dynamic poro-elastic equations into quasi-static poro-elastic equations enabling enlarged simulation time steps under Courant stability conditions; and then storing stress and pressures computed by the finite difference modeling. At this time, the claim is viewed as a series of mathematical relationships.
Step 2A, Prong Two - MPEP 2106.04 - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements include:
A computer-implemented method of poro-elastic modeling, comprising:
a. receiving simulation parameters;
b. performing 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling using the simulation parameters, wherein the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling:
i. computes temporal stress, strain, pore pressure, particle displacement, and fluid flow fields; and
ii. is based on a rescaling of solid rock density and fluid density parameters to convert dynamic poro-elastic equations into quasi-static poro-elastic equations enabling enlarged simulation time steps under Courant stability conditions; and
c. storing simulated temporal quasi-static stresses and pore pressures computed by the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
This is viewed as mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (computer, storing… to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B in MPEP 2106.05 - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, even if simulator is amended to include a computer, it would be considered MPEP 2106.05(f) (Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception – “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235) and MPEP 2106.05h (field of use). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. The claim is not patent eligible. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 2 further narrows the abstract idea by naming additional mathematical representations for the parameters in the alternative as discussed above.
Claim 3 and 4 have additional elements of “a graphical representation” that is displayed on a “graphical display.” This is considered “apply it [abstract idea] on a computer” (MPEP 2106.05f) and “field of use” (MPEP 2106.05h) at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2B.
Claim 5 and 6 have additional elements of “processors, memory, executing instructions to perform” the method of claim 1. This is considered “apply it [abstract idea] on a computer” (MPEP 2106.05f) and “field of use” (MPEP 2106.05h) at step 2a, prong 2 and step 2B.
Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For more information on 101 rejections, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annavarapu Srinivas, (US 2021/0096276), in view of Zhang et. al., “Finite-difference modeling of surface waves in poroelastic media and stress mirror conditions,” 2017, Applied Geophysics, Vol. 14, No. 1, pages 105-114 and Parchei-Esfahani, et al., "Simulation of hydraulic fracture trajectories in heterogeneous reservoirs," 2016, ARMA US Rock Mechanics/Geomechanics Symposium, pages 1-9.
Concerning claim 1, Annavarapu Srinivas discloses:
A computer-implemented method of poro-elastic modeling (Annavarapu – see par 70-76 – computer-implemented method for generating a three-dimensional geomechanical model of a subsurface volume… accessing one or more equations of the geomechanical model representing poroelastic behavior), comprising:
a. receiving simulation parameters (Annavarapu Srinivas – see par 43 - the geomechanical model may receive input from other models. For example, one or more variables, such as pressure, may be input from a reservoir model as an initial condition to solve for the stress state and consequently return updated porosity and permeability to the reservoir simulator…);
b. performing 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling using the simulation parameters, wherein the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling (Annavarapu – see par 19 - “Finite difference method” is a numerical method for solving differential equations by approximating them with difference equations, in which finite differences approximate the derivatives. Thus, the finite difference method converts differential equations (e.g., partial or ordinary) into a system of equations, which may then be solved by matrix algebra techniques; see par 48 - a 3D grid may be defined based on analysis of the seismic and well log data):
i. computes temporal stress (Annavarapu – see par 21 - Stress” is a measure of inter-particle forces arising within a body of material resisting deformation and/or distortion, in response to a stress-inducing force applied to the body, as particles within the body of material work to resist separation, compression and/or sliding.), strain (Annavarapu – see par 22 - “Poisson Ratio” means, for a substantially elastic body of material when placed under a substantially uniaxial stress, the ratio of the strain normal to the uniaxial stress to the strain parallel to the uniaxial stress.), pore pressure (Annavarapu – see par 29 - “Pore pressure” means the pressure within the pores of a part of the subsurface, such as a reservoir. For example, the reservoir may be subject to one or more stresses, such as due to in-situ tectonic stress and/or due to the presence of fluids residing within interstitial pore spaces. The in situ hydrocarbons may provide pore pressure, which acts against the overburden and supports the rock strata above the formation.), particle displacement (Annavarapu – see par 16 - The term “seismic data” as used herein broadly means any data received and/or recorded as part of the seismic surveying process, including particle displacement, velocity and/or acceleration, pressure and/or rotation, wave reflection, and/or refraction data. see par 18 - “Finite element method” is a numerical method for solving initial and boundary value problems for partial differential equations in engineering and mathematical physics. In the finite element method, the subsurface volume subject to analysis may be divided into sub-regions, called elements, and may be based on the seismic data), and fluid flow fields (Annavarapu – see par 39 - Various numerical methods may be used to solve the governing equations for fluid flow and mechanical deformation.); and ii. is based on a… of solid rock density and fluid… parameters ((Annavarapu see par 38 - The geomechanical model may be generated using one of several approaches. The approach selected may be based on any one, any combination, or all of: a preference on numerical discretization for porous flow and mechanical deformation; solver scheme; inputs to the model; and approximation in poro-mechanics; see par 41 - the geomechanical model is generated by solving, in combination, the finite element method at one, some or all of the vertices of a respective cell (e.g., along a discrete set of points of a perimeter of the respective cell); see par 48 - a 3D grid may be defined based on analysis of the seismic and well log data. Example features of the subsurface may include any one, any combination, or all of: layers of rock properties (e.g., for elastic material, the elastic modulus and the Poisson ratio; density of the rock material, pointwise or layer-wise); porous flow variables (e.g., permeability, porosity, viscosity and fluid saturations (multi-phase)); coupling inputs (e.g., the Biot coefficient, pore and granular compressibility moduli); etc.)) to convert dynamic poro-elastic equations into quasi-static poro-elastic equations (Annavarapu – see par 19 - “Finite difference method” is a numerical method for solving differential equations by approximating them with difference equations, in which finite differences approximate the derivatives. Thus, the finite difference method converts differential equations (e.g., partial or ordinary) into a system of equations, which may then be solved by matrix algebra techniques)).
Annavarapu disclose performing a numerical discretization and approximation for its model (See par 38, 41) and having features of rock density and fluid saturations (See par 48).
Zhang discloses:
b. performing 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling using the simulation parameters, wherein the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling:
ii. is based on a “rescaling” of solid rock density and “fluid density” parameters (Zhang, page 106, Col. 1, 2nd paragraph – last paragraph - Due to the fluid diffusion across the free surface under hydraulic contacts and the creation of a Biot slow wave (Zhang et al., 2011, 2012), finite-difference (FD) modelings of surfaces in porous media require more vigorous conditions to maintain stability in their numerical computations. In this study, we propose a time-domain numerical formulation for FD modeling of surface waves that solves dynamic poroelastic equations; page 107, Col. 1, “FD surface-wave modeling approach” – All the differential operators are naturally centered at the same point in the space and time domain, which ensures its numerical accuracy and computational efficiency; page 109, Col. 1, 3rd paragraph – Courant condition for elastic media is revised by multiplying a partition ratio controlled by a coefficient, which must be positive to generate a stable response; For the poroelasticity formulations in equations (1), (2), (5), and (6), the coefficient can be written as follows: page 109, Table 1 – Material properties include density of fluid and density of solid; see page 112, Conclusion, Col. 2, last paragraph - Numerical examples demonstrate that with a sufficient Courant condition for internal mesh and more than 10 grids per the lowest wavelengths of the R1 wave along the free surface, the proposed algorithm can obtain stable and precise surface-wave numerical solutions at seismic frequencies. Results confirm that our proposed approach is efficient and precise. In future work, we will apply this approach to model seismic dispersion and attenuation in porous media characterized by more complex hydraulic
contact interface effects.).
Parchei-Esfahani applied below, also applies – see page 1, Introduction - Simulation of Hydraulic Fractures in its simplest form contains coupling of at least three physical processes: deformation of the solid matrix, fluid flow within the fracture network/porous media, and propagation of fractures; see page 4, col. 2, 1st paragraph – presuming desired critical time step… scaled mass density to maintain desired critical time step; see page 4, col. 2, 1st paragraph - see page 8, col. 2, last paragraph - simulator is able to simulate fracture trajectories with acceptable efficiency and accuracy, and is being extended to perform three-dimensional hydraulic fracturing analyses
Annavarapu discloses simulation having time steps (See par 46 - the reservoir model may be configured to simulate conditions in order to generate the initial pressure, with the solution or the initial pressure needing not to be solved at a same time step as the solution generated by the geomechanical model. par 60 - the time domain may be discretized in one of several ways. For example, a backward-Euler time stepping scheme may be used for temporal discretization. see par 63 – different time steps )
Parchei-Esfahani discloses:
is based on a rescaling of solid rock density and fluid density parameters to convert dynamic poro-elastic equations into quasi-static poro-elastic equations
“enabling enlarged simulation time steps under Courant stability conditions” (Parchei-Esfahani – discloses entire limitation– see page 2, col. 1, 4th paragraph - Our model possesses the capability of switching from fully dynamic to quasi-static analysis and vice versa during a simulation process; see page 4, col. 1, 2nd paragraph - Based on the Courant-Friedrichs-Lewy (CFL) condition (Courant et al., 1928), the critical time step for the central difference scheme is inversely proportional to the maximum frequency of the system, i.e., the square root of the maximum eigenvalue of (7). It is important to underscore that the static equilibrium state of a linear system is independent of the choice of mass and damping matrices; hence, one can scale the mass matrix so that a desired critical time step is achieved. see page 4, col. 1, last paragraph – Adaptive dynamic relaxation to maintain desired critical time increment; critical time step calculated directly from Courant-Friedrichs-Lewy (CFL) condition using an estimated upper bound for the maximum frequency of the system).
Annavarapu, Zhang, and Parchei-Esfahani disclose:
c. storing simulated temporal quasi-static stresses and pore pressures computed by the 3D fully coupled quasi-static poro-elastic finite difference modeling (Annavarapu see par 53 - A constitutive equation relates the stress state in the rock, σ in Equation (1), to the strains in the rock. For example, one elastic constitutive relation is given by σ′=C:ϵ where C is elastic modulus tensor and ε is rock strain. see par 55 - The mass balance of Equation (3) may be solved with a finite volume discretization for pressure at the center of the cell. This is illustrated in FIG. 2, which is a diagram 200 illustrating the location pressure (P) 220 in a center of grid cell 210. see par 59 - every cell in the unstructured 3D grid may have a corresponding representation in Equations (8) and (9). The two equations, for each cell, form a linear set of equations in order to solve for the model (e.g., solving in order to obtain displacement at a vertex in a designated cell and/or pressure at the center of the designated cell); see par 68 - the computer is a high performance computer (HPC), known to those skilled in the art. Such high performance computers typically involve clusters of nodes, each node having multiple CPU's and computer memory that allow parallel computation.
see also Zhang - Applicant’s [0039] as published states “Here, we use the term quasi-static to refer to time scales where the deformations associated with propagating elastic waves are considered negligible in amplitude relative to the geomechanical deformations.” Zhang discloses – see page 106, col. 1, 2nd paragraph - When a seismic wave propagates beyond a critical angle, P- and S-waves interfere with this interface and generate a surface wave along the surface. Due to the discontinuity in the physical properties, surface-wave modeling faces severe instability problems; see page 106, col. 1, last paragraph – page 107, col. 2, 1st paragraph - we propose a time-domain numerical formulation for FD modeling of surface waves that solves dynamic poroelastic equations; see page 108, col. 2 – equation 36 – calculating stress; T must satisfy the following… to maintain stability in the surface-wave numerical solutions; see page 109, col. 1, 2nd paragraph - Because of the solid and fluid coupling in real poroelastic media, the existence of the Darcy coefficient b makes available; Meanwhile, the stress mirror implementation on the free surface is unaffected by the time integration.) to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Annavarapu – see par 64 – applications used in conjunction with a computer, programmed to implement methods; CPU; see par 65, 102 – computer system may include non-transitory computer-readable media; causing processors to execute stored computer-executable instructions in any embodiment).
Annavarapu, Zhang, and Parchei-Esfahani are analogous art as they are directed to modeling using stress on surfaces (See Annavarapu Abstract, par 19; Zhang Abstract, par 34; Parchei-Esfahani, page 1, Abstract and Introduction). 1) Annavarapu disclose performing a numerical discretization and approximation for its model (See par 38, 41), having features of rock density and fluid saturations (See par 48). Zhang improves upon Annavarapu by disclosing multiplying a ratio controlled by a coefficient while modeling surfaces with material properties of both fluid density and solid density, and obtaining stable numerical solutions for stress modeling (See page 107, 109, 112 (conclusion)). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include a ratio/coefficient for stable models with fluid density and solid density and stable modeling of stress to efficiently improve upon the monitoring and simulating to predict changes in geomechanical stress in a three-dimensional model in Annavarapu. 2) Annavarapu discloses simulation having time steps (See par 46, par 60 - the time domain may be discretized in one of several ways. For example, a backward-Euler time stepping scheme may be used for temporal discretization. see par 63 – different time steps). Zhang discloses considering Courant condition (page 109). Parchei-Esfahani improves upon Annavarapu and Zhang by disclosing considering Courant condition, scaling mass density based on desired critical time step, and using an upper bound for a critical time increment (See page 1, 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include an upper bound on critical time steps using Courant conditions to efficiently improve upon the monitoring and simulating using “time steps” to predict changes in geomechanical stress in a three-dimensional model in Annavarapu and the consideration of Courant condition in Zhang.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of
generating a three-dimensional geomechanical model in Annavarapu to further include revising using coefficients for a stable model with fluid and solid densities and stable modeling of stress as disclosed in Zhang, and to further include an upper time step considering Courant condition in simulation of fracture as disclosed in Zhang, as the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Concerning claims 2, Annavarapu, Zhang, and Parchei disclose:
The method of claim 1 wherein the simulation parameters include one or more of dynamic viscosity, zero-frequency permeability, porosity, tortuosity, Biot's coefficient, fluid storage coefficient, shear modulus, drained bulk modulus, rock solid density, and fluid density (Annavarapu see par 28 - “Biot coefficient” is defined by the ratio of drained bulk modulus of rock to the poroelastic expansion coefficient. It describes the change in bulk volume due to a pore pressure change while the stress remains constant. see par 48 - a 3D grid may be defined based on analysis of the seismic and well log data. In particular, seismic data may be analyzed in order to identify various features of the subsurface, such as the materials (e.g., types of rocks) within a particular volume of the subsurface, faults in the subsurface (e.g., a fracture or zone of fractures between two blocks of rock), planes or layers in the subsurface, or the like. Example features of the subsurface may include any one, any combination, or all of: layers of rock properties (e.g., for elastic material, the elastic modulus and the Poisson ratio; density of the rock material, pointwise or layer-wise); porous flow variables (e.g., permeability, porosity, viscosity and fluid saturations (multi-phase)); coupling inputs (e.g., the Biot coefficient, pore and granular compressibility moduli); etc;
see also Zhang - page 109, Table 1 – Material properties include density of fluid and density of solid; Shear modulus of porous media; bulk modulus of solid).
It would have been obvious to combine Annavarapu and Zhang for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 3, Annavarapu and Zhang disclose:
The method of claim 1 further comprising generating a graphical representation of the simulated temporal quasi-static stresses and displaying the graphical representation on a graphical display (Annavarapu see par 66 – user interface; output device with display device 520 for a computer; see par 68 - models may be visualized and edited using any interactive visualization programs and associated hardware).
Concerning claim 4, Annavarapu and Zhang disclose:
The method of claim 1 further comprising generating a graphical representation of the simulated pore pressures and displaying the graphical representation on a graphical display (Annavarapu – see par 29 - “Pore pressure” means the pressure within the pores of a part of the subsurface, such as a reservoir. For example, the reservoir may be subject to one or more stresses, such as due to in-situ tectonic stress and/or due to the presence of fluids residing within interstitial pore space; see par 30 – reservoir surveillance data may include “well pressure history”; see par 50 - As another example, an initial pore pressure state for the geomechanical model domain may likewise be input. In particular, the initial pore pressure may be estimated from one of several sources, such as a 1-D model or a reservoir production simulation, in order to incorporate the pore pressure field in the geomechanical model domain. see par 51 - At 150, the finite element method at the vertices and the finite volume method at the center for the cells in the 3D grid may be solved in combination in order to determine rock displacement and/or pressure; see par 66 – user interface; output device with display device 520 for a computer; see par 68 - models may be visualized and edited using any interactive visualization programs and associated hardware;
see also Zhang – page 106, col. 2 – p is the pore pressure).
It would have been obvious to combine Annavarapu and Zhang for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 5, Annavarapu and Zhang disclose:
A computer system, comprising:
one or more processors (Annavarapu – see par 64 - the computer system 500 may comprise a networked, multi-processor computer system that may include a hybrid parallel CPU/GPU system; see par 67 - v);
memory (Annavarapu – see par 65 - The computer system 500 may also include computer components such as non-transitory, computer-readable media. Examples of computer-readable media include a random access memory (RAM) 506, which may be SRAM, DRAM, SDRAM, or the like. The computer system 500 may also include additional non-transitory, computer-readable media such as a read-only memory (ROM) 508; see par 66 - The storage device(s) may be used when RAM 506 is insufficient for the memory requirements associated with storing data for operations of the present techniques. The data storage of the computer system 500 may be used for storing information and/or other data used or generated as disclosed herein. For example, storage device(s) 512 may be used to store configuration information or additional plug-ins in accordance with the present techniques.); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the system to perform claim 1 (Annavarapu – see par 64 – applications used in conjunction with a computer, programmed to implement methods; CPU; see par 65, 102 – computer system may include non-transitory computer-readable media; causing processors to execute stored computer-executable instructions in any embodiment).
Concerning claim 6, Annavarapu and Zhang disclose:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by an electronic device with one or more processors and memory, cause the device to perform claim 1 (Annavarapu – see par 64 – applications used in conjunction with a computer, programmed to implement methods; CPU; see par 65, 102 – computer system may include non-transitory computer-readable media; causing processors to execute stored computer-executable instructions in any embodiment).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot in view of the new rejections.
With regards to 101, Applicant argues there is a specific improvement in “computational geomechanical modeling of subsurface formations.” Remarks, page 4. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appear this may be referring to Applicant’s specification [0032] as published stating “First, this method uses an explicit finite difference scheme that permits computation of large 3D models without a significant computation effort compared to the implicit methods that require matrix construction and inversion.” However, “finite difference” is in the claim, but this reflects a mathematical relationship. See e.g. Merriam-Webster where “finite difference” is defined as “any of a sequence of differences obtained by incrementing successively the dependent variable of a function by a fixed amount.” See IEEE Dictionary, 2000, “finite difference frequency domain” and “finite difference time domain” both defined as “numerical technique for solving partial differential equations.”
Applicant then argues that there is a “physical transformation of governing poro-elastic equations by rescaling solid rock density and fluid density parameters” to allow a) attenuates inertial terms in the governing equations. Remarks, page 4. First, the simulation or math involved is not a physical transformation. Regarding a), it is unclear how terms are attenuated in the claims, or which limitations are referred to. Applicant further argues b) suppresses propagation of dynamic Biot waves. Regarding b) it does not appear that aspects related to [0041, 0045] discussing Biot’s waves are required by the claim. Applicant further argues c) converts dynamic equations into quasi-static equations. Regarding c), just converting equations into other equations is further mathematical relationships. Applicant further argues d) enables stable simulation using enlarged time steps under Courant stability.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding d) the claims do not encompass “stable simulation,” but rather the Courant stability condition, which is a mathematical condition in equation [5] of paragraph 38 as published. Applicant further argues e) increasing density scaling parameter y causes accelerations to approach zero, thereby converting the governing equations into quasi-static form. Regarding e), these aspects are not reflected by the claims; the “converting” in claims is from [0039] as published, but the discussion on in creasing density scaling causing accelerations to approach zero is from further portions of the specification in [0040, 43-44].
Applicant further argues f) scaling enlarges allowable simulation time step under the Courant condition, enabling computational feasibility and “solve a recognized computational limitation”. Regarding f), the claim only required “enlarged simulation time step” – not the opposite portion regarding feasibility. Yet, the [0032] as published states the scheme permits computation of large 3D models without a significant computation effort. Perhaps this argument, in addition to [0045] regarding “This criterion assures that during the simulation, we do not generate a propagating Biot's slow wave, and compute solely the quasistatic response of the relaxed state at low frequency. To provide clarity on the upper limit of γ for the simulation time step Δt.sub.γ that is free of the Biot's slow waves…” can be used as inspiration for improving the claim under 101. It is unclear how the math of having a larger time period is a technical improvement. Similarly, Applicant’s statement that the “large” timesteps are a technical improvement are not persuasive at this time, as the claim just encompasses any planning horizon – such as 1000 days or any other number of days (Applicant’s specification [0047, 0055].
Applicant argues there is a “specific transformation technique (density scaling).” Remarks, page 5. Examiner respectfully disagrees. See MPEP 2106.05(c), “For data, mere "manipulation of basic mathematical constructs [i.e.,] the paradigmatic ‘abstract idea,’" has not been deemed a transformation. CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1372 n.2, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 n.2 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (quoting In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1355, 1360, 31 USPQ2d 1754, 1755, 1759 (Fed. Cir. 1994)). Here, just changing math relationships is not considered a “transformation” under 101.
With regards to 103, many arguments are directed to new limitations and are moot in view of the revised rejections. Applicant appears to be arguing that claim 1 requires “attenuate inertial terms”, but this is not found in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IVAN R GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619