DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, 15 and 18.
Applicant canceled clams 4, 8, 13 and 17.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16 and 18 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Won reference fails to disclose that an AMF receives a registration request transmitted by a UE based on second information validating access identity 1 for an MPS priority based on first information. Applicant suggest Won merely discloses that a UE receives a registration update with an MPS identity indicator, and sends response based on the indicator. Won, paragraphs [0353]-[0354]. Won does not disclose or suggest that the UE sends a registration request message based on the registration update with an MPS identity indicator.
Examiner respectfully disagree. Won reference discloses receiving, from the UE, a registration request message based on the second information (paragraph 0139, i.e. In the context of a communications system, e.g., the system 100, emergency services can be requested, such as by the UE 102, by sending a PDU session request message to the AMF 108. In a 5G network, for instance, a Closed Access Groups (CAG) may be established or defined.and paragraph 0140, i.e. , according to the latest 5G protocol, there is currently no solution for identifying emergency session requests from a UE that is connected via a CAG, but that has been removed from the CAG list. Said otherwise, there is no current solution for determining which sessions or session requests to disallow and which to retain when, after a UE has rightfully accessed the network via a CAG and the examiner interprets the second information is….paragraph 0147 , i.e. In some embodiments, if the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message is initiated only due to changes to the allowed NSSAI and these changes require the UE to initiate a registration procedure, but the AMF is unable to determine an allowed NSSAI for the UE, e.g., as specified in, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.501, then the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message can or shall indicate “registration requested” in the Registration requested bit of the Configuration update indication IE, and can or shall not contain any other parameters, where Examiner interprets any update where there are conflicts in data which may cause potential errors accessing a system where old data doesn’t match the new data) , wherein the registration request message includes a parameter of establishment cause indicating a priority service.(paragraph 0353 and 0354, i.e. during ongoing active PDU sessions that were set up relying on the MPS indicator bit being set to “Access identity 1 valid”, if the network indicates in a registration update that the MPS indicator bit is reset to “Access identity 1 not valid”, then the UE can or shall no longer act as a UE with access identity 1 and the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 2 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MCS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to “Access identity 2 valid”, in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MCS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MCS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM). Therefore examiner interprets that when there’s an update of data where the old data doesn’t match the new data and when the access is denied. The UE request for registration where it is identified that the request is for emergency services based on UE parameter update data/payload container from the UDM and forwarded to a UE(paragraph 0597-0599,see claim 1). Therefor the 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16 and 18 will be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Won (US20210250890)/also see provisional application No. 62/ 972, 912.
Per claim 1, Won discloses a method of an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, an update notification message (paragraph 0597-0599,i.e. In case j, e.g., upon reception of UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] from the UDM to be forwarded to the UE, the AMF can or shall: a) set the Payload container type IE to "UE parameters update transparent container"; and b) set the contents of the Payload container IE to the UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] received from the UDM). including first information for updating a user equipment (UE) with a multimedia priority service (MPS) priority corresponding to an access identity 1 (paragraph 0351, i.e. the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 1 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MPS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to "Access identity 1 valid", in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MPS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MPS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM) ;transmitting, to the UE a configuration update command message including second information validating the access identity 1 for the MPS priority based on the first information; and receiving, from the UE, a registration request message based on the second information (paragraph 0353, i.e. during ongoing active PDU sessions that were set up relying on the MPS indicator bit being set to "Access identity 1 valid", if the network indicates in a registration update that the MPS indicator bit is reset to "Access identity 1 not valid", then the UE can or shall no longer act as a UE with access identity 1 configured for MPS unless the USIM contains a valid configuration for access identity 1 in RPLMN or equivalent PLMN and paragraph 0354, i.e. d) the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 2 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MCS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to "Access identity 2 valid", in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MCS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MCS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM. , wherein the registration request message includes a parameter of establishment cause indicating a priority service. wherein the registration request message includes a parameter of establishment cause indicating a priority service.(paragraph 0353 and 0354, i.e. during ongoing active PDU sessions that were set up relying on the MPS indicator bit being set to “Access identity 1 valid”, if the network indicates in a registration update that the MPS indicator bit is reset to “Access identity 1 not valid”, then the UE can or shall no longer act as a UE with access identity 1 and the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 2 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MCS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to “Access identity 2 valid”, in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MCS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MCS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM, refer to the Response to Argument section ).
Per claim 2, Won discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the update notification message is received from the UDM entity without a transmission of a request message to the UDM entity, see paragraph 0597-0599, i.e. In case j, e.g., upon reception of UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] from the UDM to be forwarded to the UE, the AMF can or shall: a) set the Payload container type IE to "UE parameters update transparent container"; and b) set the contents of the Payload container IE to the UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] received from the UDM).
Per claim 3, Won discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE determines whether an access identity 1 is valid based on the second information(paragraph 0355, The MCS indicator bit in the 5GS network feature support IE provided in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message is valid until the UE receives a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with the MCS indicator bit set to "Access identity 2 not valid" or until the UE selects a non-equivalent PLMN. Access identity 2 is only applicable while the UE is in N1 mode).
Per claim 5, Won discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message (paragraph 0248 without authentication in at least one of a network slice admission control (NSAC) procedure or a network slice-specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure.
Per claim 6, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 (except from the UE perspective instead of an AMF, see response to Applicant's argument section).
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 9, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0132, for controller, and paragraph 0134, for transmitter and receiver.
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0132, for controller, and paragraph 0134, for transmitter and receiver.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647