DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Won (US20210250890)/also see provisional application No. 62/ 972, 912 .
Per claim 1, Won discloses a method of an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, an update notification message (paragraph 0597-0599, i.e. In case j, e.g., upon reception of UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] from the UDM to be forwarded to the UE, the AMF can or shall: a) set the Payload container type IE to “UE parameters update transparent container”; and
b) set the contents of the Payload container IE to the UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] received from the UDM). including first information for updating a user equipment (UE) with a multimedia priority service (MPS) priority corresponding to an access identity 1 (paragraph 0351, i.e. the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 1 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MPS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to “Access identity 1 valid”, in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MPS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MPS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM) ;transmitting, to the UE , a configuration update command message including second information validating the access identity 1 for the MPS priority based on the first information; and receiving, from the UE, a registration request message based on the second information (paragraph 0353, i.e. during ongoing active PDU sessions that were set up relying on the MPS indicator bit being set to “Access identity 1 valid”, if the network indicates in a registration update that the MPS indicator bit is reset to “Access identity 1 not valid”, then the UE can or shall no longer act as a UE with access identity 1 configured for MPS unless the USIM contains a valid configuration for access identity 1 in RPLMN or equivalent PLMN and paragraph 0354, i.e. d) the network informs the UE that the use of access identity 2 is valid in the RPLMN or equivalent PLMN by setting the MCS indicator bit of the 5GS network feature support IE to “Access identity 2 valid”, in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message. Based on operator policy, the AMF sets the MCS indicator bit in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message based on the MCS priority information in the user's subscription context obtained from the UDM.
Per claim 2, Won discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the update notification message is received from the UDM entity without a transmission of a request message to the UDM entity, see paragraph 0597-0599, i.e. In case j, e.g., upon reception of UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] from the UDM to be forwarded to the UE, the AMF can or shall: a) set the Payload container type IE to “UE parameters update transparent container”; and b) set the contents of the Payload container IE to the UE parameters update data [see, e.g., 3GPP TS 23.502] received from the UDM).
Per claim 3, Won discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE determines whether an access identity 1 is valid based on the second information(paragraph 0355,i.e. The MCS indicator bit in the 5GS network feature support IE provided in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message is valid until the UE receives a REGISTRATION ACCEPT message with the MCS indicator bit set to “Access identity 2 not valid” or until the UE selects a non-equivalent PLMN. Access identity 2 is only applicable while the UE is in N1 mode).
Per claim 4, Won discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the registration request message includes a parameter of establishment cause indicating a priority service (paragraph 0399-0401, i.e. the UE is configured for high priority access in selected PLMN; the REGISTRATION REQUEST message is as a paging response; or the UE is establishing an emergency PDU session or performing emergency services fallback).
Per claim 5, Won discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message (paragraph 0248 without authentication in at least one of a network slice admission control (NSAC) procedure or a network slice-specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure.
Per claim 6, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1 (except from the UE perspective
instead of an AMF, see response to Applicant's argument section).
Per claim 7, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 8, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 9, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 10, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0132, for controller, and paragraph 0134, for transmitter and receiver.
Per claim11, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0132, for controller, and paragraph 0134, for transmitter and receiver.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 5.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647