DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A-2, Species B-1, Species C-1, and Species D-1, claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12-14, and 18-20 in the reply filed on May 31, 2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 10, 11, and 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 31, 2023.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “microwave radiation source for generating microwave radiation” in claims 1, 9, and 24 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “source” coupled with functional language “generating microwave radiation” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The term “source” is merely a generic placeholder for the term “means.”
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 9, and 24 has/have been interpreted to cover “a microwave generator” corresponding to structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (Spec., para 0039).
Claim limitation “material feeding system” in claims 1, 18, 19, 20, and 24 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “material feeding” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The term “system” is merely a generic placeholder for the term “means.”
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 18, 19, 20, and 24 has/have been interpreted to cover “a hopper” corresponding to structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (Spec., para 0057).
Claim limitation “gas supply system” in claims 7 and 8 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “gas supply” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The term “system” is merely a generic placeholder for the term “means.”
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 7 and 8 has/have been interpreted to cover “a gas injector” corresponding to structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (Spec., para 0031, 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 18, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadidi (USP 6362449, already of record) in view of Kim (20120295033) and Barnes (US 20190381564, already of record).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 18, 20, 22, and 23, Hadidi teaches a microwave plasma apparatus for processing a material, the microwave plasma apparatus comprising:
a reaction chamber (54) (col. 6, lines 60-67 through col. 7, lines 1-24; see for example Fig. 3);
a microwave plasma applicator (10) in communication with the reaction chamber (54) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Figs. 1 and 3);
at least one microwave radiation source (14) for generating microwave radiation (col. 6, lines 60-67; see for example Fig. 3);
at least one waveguide configured to direct the microwave radiation from the at least one microwave radiation source (14) to the microwave plasma applicator (10) to generate a microwave plasma plume (24) (col. 6, lines 60-67 through col. 7, lines 1-24; see for example Fig. 3); and
a material feeding system (56) in communication with the reaction chamber (54) (col. 7, lines 11-13; see for example Figs. 3);
wherein the microwave plasma applicator (10) Is configured to generate a microwave plasma plume (24) (col. 7, lines 11-13; see for example Fig. 3);
wherein the microwave plasma applicator (10) has a downstream swirling gas flow (col. 6, lines 18-41).
Hadidi further teaches “One or more microwave plasma torches can be combined and mounted on the furnace chamber 54 to provide more power as needed” (col. 7, lines 17-19). Thus, Hadidi teaches providing a plurality of microwave plasma applicators (10) in communication with the reaction chamber (54).
Hadidi further teaches providing each microwave plasma applicator (10) with a microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Fig. 1). Thus, Hadidi teaches at least one waveguide (20) configured to direct the microwave radiation from at least one microwave radiation source (14) to a plurality of microwave plasma applicators (10) to generate a plurality of microwave plasma plumes (24).
Hadidi further shows the microwave plasma applicator (10) installed on a wall of the reaction chamber (54) (see for example Fig. 3).
Hadidi does not explicitly teach an extension tube surrounding the plasma plumes and extending into reaction chamber (54); wherein the plasma applicators (10) are arranged such that the plasma plume (24) from each plasma applicator (10) converges to form a combined plasma plume.
However, Kim teaches a material feeding system (290) configured to feed material between plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c), and an extension tube (260) surrounding plasma plumes (250) that extends into reaction chamber (300), wherein the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) are arranged such that each plasma plume generated by plasma applicator (210a, 210b, 210c) converges to form a combined plasma plume (250), and the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) are angled towards a central axis, and an angle between each of the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) and the central axis is between 0-90° (para 0054, 0058, 0060; see for example Fig. 2D), for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction (see para 0058) and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity (see para 0060).
The ordinary artisan would not draw the field of relevant art so narrowly so as to limit it only to plasma applicators that exclusively generate plasma with microwave energy, but rather would recognize that using arrangements of various other plasma application systems offers advantages and benefits that would also apply to microwave plasma applicators. In combining the prior art references, the ordinary artisan would arrange plasma applicators on the same wall of reaction chamber 54 as plasma applicator (10) due to outlet 58 (see annotated Fig. 3 of Hadidi and Fig. 2D of Kim below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: 1) arrange the microwave plasma applicators (10) such that each plasma plume (24) converges to form a combined plasma plume; 2) modify the material feeding system to inject materials into the plasma plumes; 3) and provide an extension tube surrounding the microwave plasma plumes in the apparatus of Hadidi, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity.
As mentioned above, Hadidi teaches a material feeding system (56) in communication with the reaction chamber (54) (col. 7, lines 11-13).
Neither Kim nor Hadidi explicitly teach a swirling gas flow for entraining the injected material into the plasma plumes.
However, Barnes teaches a microwave plasma applicator having a downstream swirling gas flow, wherein the downstream swirling gas flow is an entrainment flow or a sheath flow (para 0120-0124); and a material feeding system configured to inject a material into the plasma plume from above (para 0121), wherein the material injected by the material feeding system is configured to be entrained by a swirling entrainment gas flow (para 0120, 0124), for the benefit of extending the torch lifetime, engaging the plasma downstream at desired melting temperatures suitable for powders, and accelerating powders towards the plasma (para 0120-0121, 0124; see for example Figs. 12A,B). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microwave plasma applicators and material feeding system in the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Barnes, for the benefit of extending the torch lifetime, engaging the plasma downstream at desired melting temperatures suitable for powders, and accelerating powders towards the plasma.
The proposed modification would yield process material being fed between the microwave plasma applicators in the apparatus of the prior art combination of Hadidi and Kim since process material is fed from opposite sides of each plasma applicator (see for example Fig. 12B of Barnes).
[AltContent: textbox (Kim teaches the modification in Fig. 2D (below) of arranging plasma applicators (10) on a wall of chamber (56) in Fig. 3 of Hadidi (above).)]
Regarding claim 7, Hadidi further teaches gas supply system (28) in communication with the plasma applicator (10) (col. 6, lines 18-42; see for example Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Hadidi further teaches that the plasma applicator (10) is configured to generate a plasma plume (24) when gas is introduced to the plasma applicator (10) from the gas supply system (28) (col. 6, lines 18-42; see for example Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claims 12, 13, and 14, as mentioned above, Hadidi does not explicitly teach an extension tube surrounding the plasma plumes and extending into reaction chamber (54); wherein the plasma applicators (10) are arranged such that the plasma plume (24) from each plasma applicator (10) converges to form a combined plasma plume.
However, Kim further teaches the number of plasma applicators may comprise two, three, or four microwave plasma applicators (para 0054; see for example Fig. 2D), wherein the plasma applicators (10) are planarly disposed relative to at least one other plasma applicator (10) at an angle of about 90°, about 120°, or about 180° (para 0054; see for example Fig. 2D), and the plasma applicators (10) are arranged in a planar geometry relative to one another (para 0054; see for example Fig. 2D), for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the microwave plasma applicators (10) in the claimed manner in the apparatus of Hadidi, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity.
Claims 9, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadidi (USP 6362449, already of record) in view of Kim (20120295033) and Barnes (US 20190381564, already of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Risby (US 20120034135, already of record).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, Hadidi teaches providing each microwave plasma applicator (10) with a microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Fig. 1).
Hadidi does not explicitly teach an equal number of microwave plasma applicators (10), microwave radiation sources (14), and waveguides (20).
However, Risby teaches a microwave plasma apparatus comprising the same number of magnetrons 301 (microwave radiation sources) and the same number of waveguides 302 as the number of microwave plasma nozzles 105(305) (applicator) (para 0062-0063, 0084; see for example Fig. 3), for the benefit of adding together the outputs of each plasma generator (para 0085). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each plasma applicator (10) with a respective microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) in the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Risby, for the benefit of adding together the outputs of each plasma generator.
Regarding claim 19, Hadidi further teaches that the reaction chamber (54) includes an outlet (58).
The previous art combination above does not explicitly teach that the material feeding system is configured to direct process materials to the reaction chamber (54) from a horizontal direction below outlet (58).
However, Risby further teaches unusued nozzles 105 (material feeding system) configured to direct process materials to reaction chamber (102) from a horizontal direction below the outlet (101), for the benefit of collecting gaseous reaction products (para 0064, 0082; see for example Fig. 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material feeding system to direct process materials to the reaction chamber (54) from a horizontal direction below outlet (101) in the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Risby, for the benefit of collecting gaseous reaction products.
Regarding claim 21, Hadidi does not explicitly teach that the microwave plasma plumes (54) are adjustable.
However, Risby further teaches that the length of the plurality of microwave plasma plumes may be adjusted by varying parameters such as the power, plasma gas flow, and type of gas, for the benefit of obtaining desired reaction outputs (para 0065-0066). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the microwave plasma plumes to be adjustable in the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Risby, for the benefit of obtaining desired reaction outputs.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadidi (USP 6362449, already of record) in view of Kim (20120295033) and Risby (US 20120034135, already of record).
Regarding claim 24, Hadidi teaches a microwave plasma apparatus for processing a material, the microwave plasma apparatus comprising:
a reaction chamber (54) having an outlet (60) (col. 6, lines 60-67 through col. 7, lines 1-24; see for example Fig. 3);
a microwave plasma applicator (10) in communication with the reaction chamber (54) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Figs. 1 and 3);
at least one microwave radiation source (14) for generating microwave radiation (col. 6, lines 60-67; see for example Fig. 3);
at least one waveguide configured to direct the microwave radiation from the at least one microwave radiation source (14) to the microwave plasma applicator (10) to generate a microwave plasma plume (24) (col. 6, lines 60-67 through col. 7, lines 1-24; see for example Fig. 3); and
a material feeding system (56) in communication with the reaction chamber (54), wherein the material feeding system (56) is configured to feed material from above the outlet (60) (col. 7, lines 11-13; see for example Figs. 3),
wherein the microwave plasma applicator (10) Is configured to generate a microwave plasma plume (24) (col. 7, lines 11-13; see for example Fig. 3);
wherein the microwave plasma applicator (10) has a downstream swirling gas flow (col. 6, lines 18-41).
Hadidi further teaches “One or more microwave plasma torches can be combined and mounted on the furnace chamber 54 to provide more power as needed” (col. 7, lines 17-19). Thus, Hadidi teaches providing a plurality of microwave plasma applicators (10) in communication with the reaction chamber (54).
Hadidi further teaches providing each microwave plasma applicator (10) with a microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Fig. 1). Thus, Hadidi teaches at least one waveguide (20) configured to direct the microwave radiation from at least one microwave radiation source (14) to a plurality of microwave plasma applicators (10) to generate a plurality of microwave plasma plumes (24).
Hadidi further shows the microwave plasma applicator (10) installed on a wall of the reaction chamber (54) (see for example Fig. 3).
Hadidi does not explicitly teach an extension tube surrounding the plasma plumes and extending into reaction chamber (54); wherein the plasma applicators (10) are arranged such that the plasma plume (24) from each plasma applicator (10) converges to form a combined plasma plume.
However, Kim teaches a material feeding system (290) configured to feed material between plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) from above, and an extension tube (260) surrounding plasma plumes (250) that extends into reaction chamber (300), wherein the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) are arranged such that each plasma plume generated by plasma applicator (210a, 210b, 210c) converges to form a combined plasma plume (250), and the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) are angled towards a central axis, and an angle between each of the plasma applicators (210a, 210b, 210c) and the central axis is between 0-90° (para 0054, 0058, 0060; see for example Fig. 2D), for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction (see para 0058) and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity (see para 0060).
The ordinary artisan would not draw the field of relevant art so narrowly so as to limit it only to plasma applicators that exclusively generate plasma with microwave energy, but rather would recognize that using arrangements of various other plasma application systems offers advantages and benefits that would also apply to microwave plasma applicators. In combining the prior art references, the ordinary artisan would arrange plasma applicators on the same wall of reaction chamber 54 as plasma applicator (10) due to outlet 58 (see annotated Fig. 3 of Hadidi and Fig. 2D of Kim below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to: 1) arrange the microwave plasma applicators (10) such that each plasma plume (24) converges to form a combined plasma plume; 2) modify the material feeding system to inject materials into the plasma plumes from above; 3) and provide an extension tube surrounding the microwave plasma plumes in the apparatus of Hadidi, as taught by Kim, for the benefit of the materials undergoing uniform reaction and effectively maintaining temperature to enhance reactivity.
As mentioned above, Hadidi teaches providing each microwave plasma applicator (10) with a microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) (col. 6, lines 4-42; see for example Fig. 1).
Hadidi does not explicitly teach an equal number of microwave plasma applicators (10), microwave radiation sources (14), and waveguides (20).
However, Risby teaches a microwave plasma apparatus comprising the same number of magnetrons 301 (microwave radiation sources) and the same number of waveguides 302 as the number of microwave plasma nozzles 105(305) (applicator) (para 0062-0063, 0084; see for example Fig. 3), for the benefit of adding together the outputs of each plasma generator (para 0085). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each plasma applicator (10) with a respective microwave radiation source (14) and waveguide (20) in the apparatus of the previous art combination above, as taught by Risby, for the benefit of adding together the outputs of each plasma generator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717