DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant asserts that:
“However, in a reproduction of a mark in multiple locations, the combination of the marks does not represent a single piece of information. Instead, each of the marks represents a piece of information by itself and, together, multiple pieces of information are present. Indeed, Ariumi does not suggest that the a combination of the marks corresponds to any particular piece of information (e.g., "AB 123 AB123" read together does not correspond to any single piece of information). The additional prior art references of record do not teach or render obvious a modification to Ariumi that meets the features of claim 1.
For at least the above reasons, the prior art fails to teach or render obvious every feature of claim 1. Therefore, it is requested that the rejection of claim 1, and of claims 4-11, 17 and 20 which depend from claim 1, be withdrawn.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Ariumi discloses that the engraved mark portion 50 includes a first portion “AB123” (area B1) and a second portion “AB123” (area B2); wherein a combination of the first portion “AB123” and the second portion “AB123” represents a single piece of information (i.e., “AB123”). Those skilled in the art, by looking at the first portion “AB123” and the second portion “AB123” in figure 7, would clearly understand that they represent a single piece of information which is “AB123”.
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that the rejections to claims 1, 4-11, 17, and 20 are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemura (US 2011/0304993) in view of Watanabe (US 2015/0170988), and Ariumi (US 2020/0036103).
As to claim 1, Takemura discloses a high-frequency module (see at least figure 2) comprising: a module substrate 31 having a main surface 32; a first circuit component 35 and a second circuit component 36 (see paragraphs [0049], [0050]) arranged on the main surface 32; a resin member 39 covering at least a part of the main surface 32, the first circuit component 35, and the second circuit component 36; a metal shield layer 40 covering at least an upper surface of the resin member 39; and a metal shield plate 34 (see paragraphs [0065], [0067], [0081]) arranged on the main surface 32 and between the first circuit component 35 and the second circuit component 36 when the main surface 32 is viewed in a plan view, wherein the metal shield plate 34 is in contact with the metal shield layer 40.
Takemura fails to disclose an engraved mark portion indicating predetermined information is provided directly on the upper surface of the resin member 39. Watanabe discloses an engraved mark portion 7 (see figure 1) indicating predetermined information is provided directly on an upper surface of a resin member 6 (see paragraph [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Watanabe to Takemura, in order to allow the user to easily view the production information such as the product number, the year of manufacture, and the manufacture plant where the apparatus was manufactured.
The combination of Takemura and Watanabe fails to disclose that (i) the engraved mark portion 7 (see Watanabe, figure 1) does not overlap at least an upper end surface of the metal shield plate 34 (see Takemura, figure 2) when the main surface is viewed in a plan view, (ii) the engraved mark portion includes a first portion and a second portion arranged across the metal shield plate when the main surface is viewed in a plan view, (iii) each of the first portion and the second portion includes a character, a figure, a symbol, or a two-dimensional code, and (iv) a combination of the first portion and the second portion represents a single piece of information. Ariumi discloses (i) an engraved mark portion 50 (see figures 1B, 7) indicating predetermined information is provided on an upper surface of a resin member 120 (see figure 1B), wherein the engraved mark portion 50 does not overlap at least an upper end surface of a metal shield plate 118 when the main surface is viewed in a plan view (see figure 7, paragraph [0139]), (ii) wherein the engraved mark portion 50 includes a first portion B1 and a second portion B2 arranged across the metal shield plate 118 when the main surface is viewed in a plan view, (iii) each of the first portion B1 and the second portion B2 includes a character, a figure, a symbol, or a two-dimensional code (see figure 7), and (iv) a combination of the first portion B1 and the second portion B2 represents a single piece of information (i.e., “AB123”). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Ariumi to the combination of Takemura and Watanabe, in order to allow the engraved mark portion 50 to be viewed entirely.
As to claim 4, the combination of Takemura and Ariumi discloses that the first circuit component is arranged in any of a transmission path for transmitting a transmission signal, a reception path for transmitting a reception signal, and a transmission/reception path for transmitting a transmission signal and a reception signal, and the second circuit component is arranged in any of the transmission path, the reception path, and the transmission/reception path except for a path in which the first circuit component is arranged (see Takemura, paragraph [0050] which discloses that the first circuit is a Bluetooth circuit, and the second circuit is a FM circuit).
As to claims 5, 17, Takemura discloses that the upper end surface of the metal shield plate 34 (see at least figure 2) is flush with the upper surface of the resin member 39.
As to claims 6, 20, Takemura discloses that the metal shield plate 34 is provided with a through-hole 54 (see figure 4A) penetrating in a direction parallel to the main surface 32.
As to claim 7, Takemura discloses that the through-hole 54 (see the through-hole 54 located at the bottom of the base 51 in figure 4A) has a shape cut out from a lower end surface toward the upper end surface of the metal shield plate 34.
As to claim 8, Takemura discloses that the through-hole 54 (see the through-hole 54 located at the upper left of the metal shield plate 34) has a shape cut out from the upper end surface toward a lower end surface of the metal shield plate 34.
As to claim 9, Takemura discloses that the metal shield plate includes: a main body portion vertically arranged on the main surface; and an extension portion arranged to extend in parallel to the main surface from a lower end portion of the main body portion, and wherein the extension portion is bonded to a ground electrode provided on the main surface.
As to claim 10, Takemura discloses that the metal shield plate 34 includes: a main body portion (see at least numerical 56 in figure 4A) bonded to a ground electrode 38 provided on the main surface 32 and vertically arranged on the main surface 32; and a flat-plate-shaped main body end portion 51a arranged at an end portion of the main body portion 56 located in a direction parallel to the main surface 32 and vertically arranged from the main surface toward the upper surface of the resin member 39, and wherein the main body portion 56 and the main body end portion 51a are not parallel to each other.
As to claim 11, Takemura discloses a communication device (see paragraph [0050]) comprising: an RF signal processing circuit 35, 36 configured to process a high-frequency signal transmitted and received by an antenna (inherently included); and the high-frequency module according to Claim 1, configured to transmit the high-frequency signal between the antenna and the RF signal processing circuit (see paragraph [0050]).
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646