DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the deployment device abuts the puncture.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification does not recite “removing… the hub… from the vessel” as recited in claims 4 and 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amplatz (US2007/0118207).
Regarding claim 1, Amplatz discloses a method of lining a vessel, the method comprising the steps of:
inserting a guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall (gain access by Seldiner technique, guidewire placed in artery by the access or puncture site, [0060]);
sliding a deployment device (14, [0060]) along the guidewire until a distal end of the deployment device is inside the vessel ([0060]);
actuating at least one of a tube (26, [0066]) and a mesh (mesh of prosthesis 12, prosthesis can be made of braided metal strands, [0025]) positioned along the tube to cause a lock to release the mesh from the distal end of the deployment device such that the mesh expands inside the vessel ([0063]); and
while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh ([0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sliding step further comprises placing the tube on a proximal end of the guidewire and advancing the tube in a distal direction along the guidewire and into the vessel ([0066]).
Regarding claim 3, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the sliding step further comprises advancing the tube along the guidewire into the vessel until a hub of the tube is in contact with a skin surface near the puncture (the tube would be advanced to a location of the deployment site within the vessel, [0060], where the hub portion of tube is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would in contact with a skin surface near the puncture).
Regarding claim 4, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the actuating step occurs when the hub is in contact with the skin surface near the puncture (the hub portion is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would contact the skin surface near the puncture when the actuating step occurs).
Regarding claim 6, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator (spring 32) to actuate the tube when the distal end of the deployment device abuts the puncture ([0052]).
Regarding claim 7, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator to actuate the tube when the mesh is completely inside the vessel ([0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the actuating step further comprises moving the lock from a locked position, where the mesh is fixed to the tube, to an unlocked position, where the mesh is not fixed to the tube ([0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the actuating step further comprises extending the tube from a first position where the lock is in the locked position to a second position where the lock is in the unlocked position ([0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Murray (US2008/0262590) in view of Amplatz (US2007/0118207).
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses a method of lining a vessel, the method comprising the steps of:
inserting a guidewire ([0055]);
sliding a deployment device (204) along the guidewire ([0055], see Fig. 2);
actuating at least one of a tube (106) and an implant (stent graft 202) positioned along the tube to cause a lock (112) to release the implant from the distal end of the deployment device such that the implant expands inside the vessel ([0063]); and
Murray is silent regarding the implant being a mesh.
Amplatz teaches a delivery mechanism for routing a prosthesis through the vascular system (see Abstract). The delivery mechanism is for delivering a mesh (mesh of prosthesis 12, prosthesis can be made of braided metal strands, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted the mesh of Amplatz for the implant of Murray, since the substitution would have yielded the same predictable result of placement of an implant for treating an aneurysm.
Murray is silent regarding the steps of: inserting the guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall; sliding the deployment device along the guidewire until a distal end of the tube is inside the vessel; while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh.
Amplatz teaches a delivery mechanism for routing a prosthesis through the vascular system (see Abstract). The delivery mechanism including the steps of inserting a guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall (gain access by Seldiner technique, guidewire placed in artery by the access or puncture site, [0060]); sliding an deployment device (14, [0060]) along a guidewire until a distal end of the elongated tube is inside the vessel ([0060]); actuating at least one of a tube (26, [0066]) and a mesh (mesh of prosthesis 12, prosthesis can be made of braided metal strands, [0025]) positioned along the tube to cause a lock to release the mesh from the distal end of the elongated tube such that the mesh expands inside the vessel ([0063]); while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the method of lining a vessel of Murray include the steps of: inserting a guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall; sliding the deployment device along the guidewire until a distal end of the tube is inside the vessel; while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh, since the steps recited are common technique used to gain access to a vessel and would have been known to one having ordinary skill in art as to gain access to an artery, and also removing the tube from within the mesh is common medical practice in order to complete a procedure for patient discharge.
Regarding claim 2, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 1, Amplatz further teaches wherein the sliding step further comprises placing the tube on a proximal end of the guidewire and advancing the tube in a distal direction along the guidewire and into the vessel ([0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 2, the modified invention further discloses wherein the sliding step further comprises advancing the tube along the guidewire into the vessel until a hub of the tube is in contact with a skin surface near the puncture (Amplatz teaches the tube would be advanced to a location of the deployment site within the vessel, [0060], where the hub portion of tube is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would in contact with a skin surface near the puncture).
Regarding claim 4, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 3, the modified invention further discloses wherein the actuating step occurs when the hub is in contact with the skin surface near the puncture (the hub portion is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would contact the skin surface near the puncture when the actuating step occurs).
Regarding claim 5, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 4; yet, does not explicitly disclose further comprising removing the mesh, the hub, and the guidewire from the vessel after removing the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the order of performing process steps, i.e. the order the removal of the hub, the guidewire, and the mesh after release of the mesh, would be obvious absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary, because both methods would produce an expanded implant and a delivery apparatus that must be withdrawn from the body (MPEP 2144.04 [R-1]). “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”.
Regarding claim 6, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 1, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator (1810, [0107]) to actuate the tube when the distal end of the deployment device abuts the puncture (at least some portion of the deployment device 118 would abut the puncture of the vessel wall since its passes through it)
Regarding claim 7, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 1, the modified invention discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator to actuate the tube when the mesh is completely inside the vessel (the implant of Murry is intended to be released when fully inside of the vessel, [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 1, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises moving the lock from a locked position, where the mesh is fixed to the tube, to an unlocked position, where the mesh is not fixed to the tube ([0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 8, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises extending the tube (106) from a first position where the lock is in the locked position to a second position where the lock is in the unlocked position ([0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 9, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises moving the lock from the locked position where the lock (112) is disposed on a protrusion (124) positioned between a proximal surface and a distal stop surface (proximal and distal surfaces of the protrusion 124) that is spaced from the proximal surface along a longitudinal axis in a distal direction, to an unlocked position where the lock is not disposed on the protrusion, to release the mesh in the unlocked position ([0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Murray discloses a method of lining a vessel, the method comprising the steps of:
inserting a guidewire ([0055]);
sliding an elongated tube (106) along the guidewire ([0055], see Fig. 2), the tube having a proximal end, a distal end spaced from the proximal end of the tube (see Fig. 2), a protrusion (124), and a distal groove (groove defined by the annular space 128) between the protrusion and the distal end of the tube (see Fig. 1);
actuating at least one of the tube and an implant (stent graft 202) positioned along the protrusion ([0064], see Fig. 2) of the tube to cause a lock (112) to release the implant from between the proximal end of the tube and the distal groove such that the implant expands inside the vessel ([0071]).
Murray is silent regarding the implant being a mesh.
Amplatz teaches a delivery mechanism for routing a prosthesis through the vascular system (see Abstract). The delivery mechanism is for delivering a mesh (mesh of prosthesis 12, prosthesis can be made of braided metal strands, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted the mesh of Amplatz for the implant of Murray, since the substitution would have yielded the same predictable result of placement of an implant for treating an aneurysm.
Murray is silent regarding the steps of: inserting the guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall; sliding the tube along the guidewire until a distal end of the tube is inside the vessel; while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh.
Amplatz teaches a delivery mechanism for routing a prosthesis through the vascular system (see Abstract). The delivery mechanism including the steps of inserting a guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall (gain access by Seldiner technique, guidewire placed in artery by the access or puncture site, [0060]); sliding an elongated tube (14, [0060]) along a guidewire until a distal end of the elongated tube is inside the vessel ([0060]); actuating at least one of a tube (26, [0066]) and a mesh (mesh of prosthesis 12, prosthesis can be made of braided metal strands, [0025]) positioned along the tube to cause a lock to release the mesh from the distal end of the elongated tube such that the mesh expands inside the vessel ([0063]); while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the method of lining a vessel of Murray include the steps of: inserting a guidewire into the vessel through a puncture in a vessel wall; sliding an elongated tube along the guidewire until a distal end of the tube is inside the vessel; sliding an elongated tube along the guidewire until a distal end of the tube is inside the vessel; while maintaining the mesh in the vessel, removing the tube from within the mesh, since the steps recited are common technique used to gain access to a vessel and would have been known to one having ordinary skill in art as to gain access to an artery, and also removing the tube from within the mesh is common medical practice in order to complete a procedure for patient discharge.
Regarding claim 12, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 11, Amplatz further teaches wherein the sliding step further comprises placing the tube on a proximal end of the guidewire and advancing the tube in a distal direction along the guidewire and into the vessel ([0060]).
Regarding claim 13, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 12, the modified invention further discloses wherein the sliding step further comprises advancing the tube along the guidewire into the vessel until a hub of the tube is in contact with a skin surface near the puncture (Amplatz teaches the tube would be advanced to a location of the deployment site within the vessel, [0060], where the hub portion of tube is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would in contact with a skin surface near the puncture).
Regarding claim 14, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 13, the modified invention further discloses wherein the actuating step occurs when the hub is in contact with the skin surface near the puncture (the hub portion is interpreted as the portion of the hub that would contact the skin surface near the puncture when the actuating step occurs).
Regarding claim 15, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 14; yet, does not explicitly disclose further comprising removing the mesh, the hub, and the guidewire from the vessel after removing the tube. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the order of performing process steps, i.e. the order the removal of the hub, the guidewire, and the mesh after release of the mesh, would be obvious absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary, because both methods would produce an expanded implant and a delivery apparatus that must be withdrawn from the body (MPEP 2144.04 [R-1]). “Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”.
Regarding claim 16, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 11, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator (1810, [0107]) to actuate the tube when the distal end of the deployment device abuts the puncture (at least some portion of the deployment device 118 would abut the puncture of the vessel wall since its passes through it).
Regarding claim 17, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 11, the modified invention discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises engaging an actuator (1810, [0107]) to actuate the tube when the mesh is completely inside the vessel (the implant of Murry is intended to be released when fully inside of the vessel, [0071]).
Regarding claim 18, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 11, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises moving the lock from a locked position, where the mesh is fixed to the tube, to an unlocked position, where the mesh is not fixed to the tube ([0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 18, Murray further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises extending the tube (106) from a first position where the lock is in the locked position to a second position where the lock is in the unlocked position ([0071]).
Regarding claim 20, Murray/Amplatz makes obvious the method of claim 19, Murray further discloses invention further discloses wherein the actuating step further comprises moving the lock from the locked position where the lock is disposed on the protrusion positioned between a proximal surface and a distal stop surface (proximal and distal surfaces of the protrusion 124) that is spaced from the proximal surface along a longitudinal axis in a distal direction, to an unlocked position where the lock is not disposed on the protrusion, to release the mesh in the unlocked position ([0071]).
Conclusion
/M.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799