DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 01/26/2023, the following is a Non-Final Office Action for Application No. 18159751.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 01/26/2023 and 04/11/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2023 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder, e.g. computer readable storage medium, that is coupled with functional language, e.g. having program instructions embodied therewith, without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith in claim 15 and dependent claims. Further, the specification at ¶0019 states that “Some known types of storage devices that include these mediums include: diskette, hard disk, random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), static random access memory (SRAM), compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM), digital versatile disk (DVD), memory stick, floppy disk, mechanically encoded device (such as punch cards or pits / lands formed in a major surface of a disc)…A computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims fall within statutory class of process or machine or manufacture; hence, the claims fall under statutory category of Step 1.
Step 2 is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test). The 2019 PEG makes two changes in Step 2A: It sets forth new procedure for Step 2A (called “revised Step 2A”) under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. The two-prong inquiry is as follows: Prong One: evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If claim recites an exception, then Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract idea indicated by non-boldface font and additional limitations indicated by boldface font:
1. A computer-implemented method for collaborative exchange, the method comprising: publishing a prediction task and key performance indicator (KPI) information; receiving, at a certain time, a plurality of prediction results, each of the plurality of prediction results being produced by one of a plurality of participants with one of a private model and private data association with the one of the plurality of participants; calculating, for each of the plurality of participants, a trade score based on the KPI information and the plurality of prediction results for each of the plurality of participants; determining an acquirement score for the one of the private model and the private data associated with each of the plurality of participants using the corresponding trade score; and publishing the acquirement score for trading the one of the private model and the private data among the plurality of participants.
[or]
8. A system comprising: a memory comprising computer readable instructions; and a processing device for executing the computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions controlling the processing device to perform operations for collaborative exchange, the operations comprising: publishing a prediction task and key performance indicator (KPI) information; receiving, at a certain time, a plurality of prediction results, each of the plurality of prediction results being produced by one of a plurality of participants with one of a private model and private data association with the one of the plurality of participants; calculating, for each of the plurality of participants, a trade score based on the KPI information and the plurality of prediction results for each of the plurality of participants; determining an acquirement score for the one of the private model and the private data associated with each of the plurality of participants using the corresponding trade score; and publishing the acquirement score for trading the one of the private model and the private data among the plurality of participants.
[or]
15. A computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: publishing a prediction task and key performance indicator (KPI) information; receiving, at a certain time, a plurality of prediction results, each of the plurality of prediction results being produced by one of a plurality of participants with one of a private model and private data association with the one of the plurality of participants; calculating, for each of the plurality of participants, a trade score based on the KPI information and the plurality of prediction results for each of the plurality of participants; determining an acquirement score for the one of the private model and the private data associated with each of the plurality of participants using the corresponding trade score; and publishing the acquirement score for trading the one of the private model and the private data among the plurality of participants.
The claim(s) recite(s) the following summarization of the abstract idea which includes collaborative exchange executed by the additional element(s) of memory medium and/or processor. This falls into at least the Abstract Idea Grouping of Mental Processes since the information can be analyzed by an abstract evaluation judgment process. Thus, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity since the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion).
Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion).
Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The memory medium and/or processing device is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic memory medium and/or processing device limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, publishing the acquirement score by a memory medium and/or processing device is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B.
Per Step 2B, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: memory medium and processing device. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, publishing the acquirement score by a memory medium and/or processing device is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure at ¶0020 wherein “computer 101 includes processor set 110 (including processing circuitry 120 and cache 121).” Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
v. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook. The courts have recognized the following computer functions inter alia to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations; receiving, processing, and storing data (e.g., the present claims); electronically scanning or extracting data; electronic recordkeeping; automating mental tasks (e.g., process/machine/manufacture for performing the present claims); and receiving or transmitting data (e.g., the present claims).
The dependent claims do not cure the above stated deficiencies, and in particular, the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea without reciting additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or providing significantly more than the abstract idea. Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Thus, viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 20200364791 A1) hereinafter referred to as Taylor.
Taylor teaches:
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method for collaborative exchange, the method comprising:
publishing a prediction task and key performance indicator (KPI) information (¶0091 The data receive stage offloads the signal generate stage from the computing tasks of receiving data from a data stream. Exemplary tasks include performing network protocol stack processing such as copying a packet into a buffer, verifying the correctness of packet contents using a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC), resequencing packets that arrive out of order, and requesting retransmissions of missing packets from the sender. The data receive stage may also parse the input data stream to extract specific data fields that are required by the signal generate stage. The data receive stage may sub-divide its work into pipeline stages, as well as parallel pipelines, in order to maximize its throughput. ¶0142 An automated model quality monitoring system produces daily performance reports to validate the efficacy of the estimators against production data, also called forward testing. Live models are monitored for decay or for material change in any key performance indicators (KPI). Each KPI allows for either objective or subjective determination of performance decay or material change. In the example of FIG. 29B, the decision to retrain is a human decision, but this may be automated. As the model is re-trained with additional, newly available labeled data, the performance accuracy of the model can improve over time.);
receiving, at a certain time, a plurality of prediction results, each of the plurality of prediction results being produced by one of a plurality of participants with one of a private model and private data association with the one of the plurality of participants (¶0091 The data receive stage offloads the signal generate stage from the computing tasks of receiving data from a data stream. Exemplary tasks include performing network protocol stack processing such as copying a packet into a buffer, verifying the correctness of packet contents using a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC), resequencing packets that arrive out of order, and requesting retransmissions of missing packets from the sender. The data receive stage may also parse the input data stream to extract specific data fields that are required by the signal generate stage. The data receive stage may sub-divide its work into pipeline stages, as well as parallel pipelines, in order to maximize its throughput. ¶0235 We will now discuss the relationship between signal accuracy and “opportunity capture” (which is also known as recall). Signal accuracy is the percentage of predictions that are correct, while opportunity capture is the percentage of price durations in the market that are correctly predicted as short or long fuse … For example, consider a series of 40 quote price updates, 10 of which are short fuse and 30 of which are long fuse. Of the 10 short fuse quotes, assume the Quote Fuse signal predicts six short fuse quotes. Of the 30 long fuse quotes, assume the Quote Fuse signal predicts two short fuse quotes. Accuracy and opportunity capture of short fuse quotes for this example would be 80% (6 of 8) and 60% (6 of 10), respectively. Accuracy and opportunity capture of long fuse quotes for this example would be 87.5% (28 of 32) and 93% (28 of 30), respectively.);
calculating, for each of the plurality of participants, a trade score based on the KPI information and the plurality of prediction results for each of the plurality of participants (¶0139 Step 4, Model Assessment The resulting model solution is applied to out-of-sample historical market data, where the out-of-sample data are forward in time versus training data. For example, the training data can be sampled from a selected time period (e.g., August-November 2018) whereas the testing data comes from any date after this time period. The scored output of test data is benchmarked against key performance indicators such as precision, recall, F1, Brier scores, Matthews Correlation Coefficient, etc. A model that passes out-of-sample testing undergoes back testing. Back testing applies the model to many years of historical market data to ascertain its efficacy over multiple market cycles. The back testing dates can encompass both training and testing dates. ¶0356 we wondered about the variability in purse value of each symbol on a per trade (or per share) basis. We note that a symbol like SPY that typically trades with a penny spread has an expected price change of one penny increments, whereas a high priced stock like Berkshire Hathaway can have a significantly larger price change between sequential NBBO quotes and trade events. Since the purse is calculated as the quote price difference (delta) multiplied by the size of the trade, we can calculate a new metric: “Purse per Share” (PPS). PPS can be calculated for each trade and averaged daily for each symbol. For each symbol in our test universe, FIG. 46 plots PPS relative to its average spread traded over one day. Accurately predicting the direction of the next NBBO price change can deliver extraordinary improvements to a wide variety of trading strategies.);
determining an acquirement score for the one of the private model and the private data associated with each of the plurality of participants using the corresponding trade score (¶0371 As shown in FIG. 47, the example Tier 2/3 trading application can use predictive models that consume derivative signal summaries along with market data, historical market data, and other internal signals. Note that the market data in this example may be provided by a market data feed consolidator that uses centralized or regional infrastructure to aggregate and distribute market data at slower speeds and lower cost to Tier 2 and 3 market participants. The predictive model drives trading logic that places buy and sell orders for financial instruments at lower frequency than Tier 1 trading applications.); and
publishing the acquirement score for trading the one of the private model and the private data among the plurality of participants (¶0372 As discussed above, the ability to generate derivative trading signals from the real-time, low latency, trading signals provides significant technical benefits in the form of dramatically reduced latency. As discussed above for the use of case of detecting the trading activities of natural investors, the conventional approach has been to source Form 13F and Form 4 regulatory filings via computerized searches of the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) system of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) to glean so-called “smart money” movements by large, natural investors).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising facilitating exchange of the one of the private model and the private data (¶0364 Yet another example use case is for matching engines—which can attract liquidity with AI-driven order types. An operator of trading venue (exchange, dark pool, or ATS) attracts more order flow by providing order types that improve execution quality. The matching engine also wins more direct market access business by offering order types that incorporate tactical trading logic. ¶0109 When transacting trades, exchanges, dark pools, and Alternative Trading Systems (ATS) must either match or improve those prices or route the orders away to a market with a superior price. Similarly, arbitrage trading strategies must be able to identify superior and inferior prices across multiple markets in order to identify profitable trading opportunities. The above-referenced and incorporated U.S. Pat. Nos. 7,921,046 and 8,768,805 describe how market data messages can be aggregated and enhanced, such as by computing aggregate pricing views such as the NBBO at high speed and throughput, as well as further explanations of their value. (See also the above-referenced and incorporated U.S. Pat. No. 10,229,453). Note that the computation of aggregate pricing views and the value of fast computations and predictive signals applies to any fungible financial instrument that trades across multiple markets. Examples include currencies (i.e. the FX market), some fixed income instruments such as on-the-run treasury bonds, as well as stocks and options in the United States, Canada, Europe, and Japan.).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving, calculating, determining, and publishing are repeatedly executed (¶0174 When the exposed size is filled, the next chunk of the reserve order is exposed; and this process repeats itself until the full size of the reserve order has been filled (or the remainder of the order has been canceled). The size of each chunk may be fixed or variably sized to further disguise the presence of the reserve order (e.g., by randomizing the sizes of each exposed chunk).).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating, for each participant, a reputation score by using historic accuracies of past predictions by the participant; and publishing the reputation score (¶0140 The resulting model solution is applied to out-of-sample historical market data, where the out-of-sample data are forward in time versus training data. For example, the training data can be sampled from a selected time period (e.g., August-November 2018) whereas the testing data comes from any date after this time period. The scored output of test data is benchmarked against key performance indicators such as precision, recall, F1, Brier scores, Matthews Correlation Coefficient, etc. A model that passes out-of-sample testing undergoes back testing. Back testing applies the model to many years of historical market data to ascertain its efficacy over multiple market cycles. The back testing dates can encompass both training and testing dates.).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the trade score is further based at least in part on the reputation score (¶0140 The resulting model solution is applied to out-of-sample historical market data, where the out-of-sample data are forward in time versus training data. For example, the training data can be sampled from a selected time period (e.g., August-November 2018) whereas the testing data comes from any date after this time period. The scored output of test data is benchmarked against key performance indicators such as precision, recall, F1, Brier scores, Matthews Correlation Coefficient, etc. A model that passes out-of-sample testing undergoes back testing. Back testing applies the model to many years of historical market data to ascertain its efficacy over multiple market cycles. The back testing dates can encompass both training and testing dates.).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: aggregating the plurality of prediction results for a requestor of the prediction task; and allocating returns to the plurality of participants (¶0359 Another example use case is for proprietary traders—who can allocated capital more profitably. For example, a proprietary trader using mid-frequency or high-frequency strategies needs to allocate capital to the most profitable trading opportunities. The Quote Vector signal allows the trader to select liquid names with large Purse-per-Share (PPS) opportunity. For example, consider Stock A and B that are priced at $18.50 and $14.75, respectively, and Stock A and B have PPS values are $0.03 and $0.01, respectively. While Stock A requires 8.5% more capital commitment per share, the trader can capture 3× more profit per share by using the Quote Vector signal. With limits on available capital to trade, the trader chooses to trade Stock A, making the most of Quote Vector's ability to drive profitable trades).
Taylor teaches:
Claim 7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the one of the private model and the private data is encrypted (¶0206 As discussed above, an example of an estimator trading signal that can be generated by embodiments disclosed herein is an estimate that is indicative of the size of a detected reserve order, which can be referred to as a hidden liquidity size estimation. Thus, if the purpose of the liquidity indictor trading signal discussed above is to signal market conditions that beget concentrations of execution activity, then the hidden liquidity size estimation trading signal can serve as a useful companion signal that enables customers to respond to the liquidity indicator trading signal with high efficacy and low risk. As discussed above, FIG. 29A shows example processing logic for computing an estimate of the size of a detected reserve order. AI and ML techniques can be used for computing such estimates, such as supervised learning as shown in FIG. 29B to develop a model that estimates the probability of a detected reserve order having a particular size).
As per claims 8-14 and 15-20, the system and manufacture tracks the method of claims 1-7 and 1-6, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1-7 and 1-6 are applied to claims 8-14 and 15-20, respectively. Taylor discloses that the embodiment may be found as a system and manufacture (Fig. 50 and ¶0130).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240210903 A1
IORDAN; Alexandru et al.
Software Development (DevOps) Pipelines for Robotic Process Automation
US 20240161216 A1
Godfrey; George S.
Method, System, and Computer Program Product for Efficiently Activating with Multiple Interacting Pipelines
US 20230342707 A1
Penta; Antonio et al.
DELIVERY PLAN GENERATION
US 8494894 B2
Jaster; Mark et al.
Universal customer based information and ontology platform for business information and innovation management
WO 2009140363 A1
INDECK D M et al.
Bit stream e.g. XML data record, processing method for enabling decision making processes by e.g. corporation, involves processing portion against one condition to generate checking result, where result indicative of condition satisfied
NPL
Dan Givoly & Yifan Li & Ben Lourie & Alexander Nekrasov
Key performance indicators as supplements to earnings: Incremental informativeness, demand factors, measurement issues, and properties of their forecasts
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624