DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a plurality of wires wound about a winding axis and comprising: a first wire wound about the winding axis at a first distance from the winding axis and forming a first primary winding encircling a first limb of a core; a second wire wound about the winding axis adjacently to the first wire and along a full length of the first wire and at a second distance from the winding axis and forming a second primary winding encircling a second limb of the core…a first radial distance between the first distance and the winding axis is closer to the winding axis than a second radial distance between the second distance and the winding axis by a width of the first wire” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regrading claim 1, the originally filed specification does not disclose “a plurality of wires wound about a winding axis and comprising: a first wire wound about the winding axis at a first distance from the winding axis and forming a first primary winding encircling a first limb of a core; a second wire wound about the winding axis adjacently to the first wire and along a full length of the first wire and at a second distance from the winding axis and forming a second primary winding encircling a second limb of the core” as amended.
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it’s not clear what’s intended by “a plurality of wires wound about a winding axis and comprising: a first wire wound about the winding axis at a first distance from the winding axis and forming a first primary winding encircling a first limb of a core; a second wire wound about the winding axis adjacently to the first wire and along a full length of the first wire and at a second distance from the winding axis and forming a second primary winding encircling a second limb of the core” as amended.
For example, if the plurality of wires are wound about a winding axis, and the first wire [of the plurality of wires] is wound about winding axis and encircling the first limb of a core, how can the second wire [of the plurality of wires] be wound on the same winding axis [as the first wire] and encircle a second limb of the same core? FIG. 1 of the present invention and the corresponding written description discloses a plurality of wire 101-105, and the first wire 101 and the second wire 102 of the plurality of wires are wound on the same winding axis on the same core limb, not different core limbs. FIGs. 7 and the corresponding written description appear to teach two different wires 706 and 707 of different core limbs, but they also have different winding axis, not the same winding axis. Furthermore, it’s not clear how the second wire is adjacent the first wire when the two wires are wound on two different legs of the core.
These are mere examples of the claim 1 that are not clear.
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0138801 A1) in view of Sigamani (U.S. Patent No. 10,742,123 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Chen teaches an apparatus 130 (FIG. 6) comprising:
a plurality of wires (wires of primary windings P1 and P2) wound about a winding axis (dotted line at the center of the middle leg of cores 110-1 to 110-5, annotated FIG. 6) and comprising:
a first wire (wire of primary winding P1a) wound about the winding axis at a first distance (length of solid horizontal arrow) from the winding axis and forming a first primary winding P1 encircling a first limb (middle leg of core 110-1) of a core (cores 110-1 and 110-5 collectively);
a second wire (wire of primary winding P2a) wound about the winding axis and at a second distance (length of dotted horizontal arrow) from the winding axis and forming a second primary winding P2 encircling a second limb (middle leg of core 1110-2) of the core;
wherein a first radial distance (distance of solid arrow) between the first distance and the winding axis is closer to the winding axis than a second radial distance (distance of dotted arrow) between the second distance and the winding axis by a width of the first wire;
a third primary winding P3 formed in a first printed circuit board (PCB) layer and encircling a third limb of the core (middle leg of core 110-3); and
a first secondary winding S5 or S6 formed in a second PCB laver and encircling the third limb (paras. [0036] and [0044]).
Chen does not expressly teach a second wire wound about the winding axis adjacently to the first wire and along a full length of the first wire.
Sigamani teaches an apparatus 310 (annotated FIG. 4) comprising:
a plurality of wires (314a-314d, annotated FIG. 4, or wires of coil 314) wound about a winding axis (dotted axis) and comprising:
a second wire 314b (annotated FIG. 4) wound about the winding axis C adjacently to the first wire and along a full length of the first wire 314a (col. 7, lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second wire along the first wire as taught by Sigamani to the apparatus of Chen to provide the desired winding ratio to get the required output (col. 8 lines 4-6).
With respect to claim 2, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wires further comprises a third wire 316c wound about the winding axis adjacently to the second wire and along a full length of the second wire and at a third distance (distance from center axis C to wire 316c from the winding axis;
wherein the second radial distance is closer to the winding axis than a third radial distance between the third distance and the winding axis by a width of the second wire (Sigamani, col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 3, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first wire and the second wire comprise:
a first lead portion (portion between ends 316d and 316e) having a first end 316d and a second end 316e;
a second lead portion (portion between ends 316f and 316g) having a first end 316f and a second end 316g; and
a wound portion (spiral portion) having a first end (coil end adjacent end 316d) and a second end (coil end adjacent end 316f);
wherein the first end of the first lead portion is coupled with the first end of the wound portion; and
wherein the first end of the second lead portion is coupled with the second end of the wound portion (Sigamani, col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 4, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis greater than a single turn (Sigamani, col. 8. lines 2-4).
With respect to claim 5, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis by one and a half turns (Sigamani, col. 8. lines 2-4). The one and half turns as shown in FIG. 1 of the present invention is exactly the same as FIG. 4 of Sigamani.
With respect to claim 6, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the wound portion overlaps itself by one half turn (col. 8. lines 2-4).
With respect to claim 7, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis greater than two turns (Sigamani, col. 7, line 65 to col. 8, line 2).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches an electrical transformer 130 (annotated FIG. 6 above) comprising:
a core (cores 110-1 and 110-5 collectively) comprising a first limb (middle leg of core 110-1), a second limb (middle leg of core 110-2), and a third limb (middle leg of core 110-3);
a first primary winding P1 comprising:
a first wire (wire of primary winding P1a) encircling the first limb at a first distance;
a second wire (wire of primary winding P1b) positioned adjacently to the first wire encircling the first limb; and
a third wire (wire of primary winding P1c) positioned adjacently to the second wire encircling the first limb;
a second primary winding comprising:
a first wire (wire of primary winding P2a) encircling the second limb at the first distance;
a second wire (wire of primary winding P2b) positioned adjacently to the first wire encircling the second limb, the second wire of the second primary winding encircling the second limb at the second distance (the claim does not require the first distance is different from the second distance); and
a third wire (wire of primary winding P2b) positioned adjacently to the second wire encircling the second limb, the third wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at the third distance;
a third primary winding P3 formed in a first printed circuit board (PCB) layer and encircling the third limb; and
a first secondary winding S5 and or S6 formed in a second PCB layer and encircling the third limb (paras. [0036] and [0044]).
Chen does not expressly teach
the second wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at a second distance greater than the first distance
the third wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at a third distance greater than the second distance.
Sigamani teaches an electrical transformer 310 (annotated FIG. 4) comprising:
a first primary winding 314 comprising:
a first wire 314a encircling the first limb (middle core leg of core 342) at a first distance (radius from winding axis dotted line);
a second wire 314b positioned adjacently to the first wire encircling the first limb, the second wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at a second distance (radius from winding axis dotted line) greater than the first distance; and
a third wire 314c positioned adjacently to the second wire encircling the first limb, the third wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at a third distance (radius from winding axis dotted line) greater than the second distance (col. 7, lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second wire along the first wire as taught by Sigamani to the electrical transformer of Chen to provide the desired winding ratio to get the required output (col. 8 lines 4-6).
With respect to claim 12, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the electrical transformer of claim 11, wherein a length of the second wire of the first primary winding is longer than a length of the first wire of first primary winding; and
wherein the length of the second wire of the first primary winding is longer than a length of the third wire of the first primary winding (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
10. Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sigamani, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Akiba et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,546,210).
With respect to claim 8, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Chen in view of Sigamani does not expressly teach each of the first wire and the second wire comprises:
a plurality of electrically conductive strands; and
an electrically insulative coating surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands.
Akiba et al., hereinafter referred to as “Akiba,” teaches an apparatus (FIG. 6), wherein
each of the inductive coil wire (wire as shown in FIG. 6) comprises:
a plurality of electrically conductive strands 10a; and
an electrically insulative coating 12a surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the apparatus of Chen in view of Sigamani to reduce skin effect and or to improve insulation of the coil.
With respect to claim 10, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Chen in view of Sigamani does not expressly teach each of the first wire and the second wire comprises a Litz wire.
Akiba teaches an inductive coil (FIG. 6), wherein
each of the inductive coil wire (wire as shown in FIG. 6) comprises a Litz wire (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the inductive coil of Chen in view of Sigamani to reduce skin effect.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba, as applied to claims 8 and 16 above, and further in view of Inui (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0402222 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba does not expressly teach the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end of the first lead portion and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is laser-removed to bare the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions.
Inui teaches an apparatus 3 (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end (tip of wire of coil 3) of the first lead portion 53a and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is laser-removed (portion 52a and 52b are laser-removed) to bare the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions (para. [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the laser-removed portion of the coil as taught by Inui to the apparatus of Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba to provide connection to external circuits.
Claims 14-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sigamani, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Akiba.
With respect to claim 14, Chen in view of Sigamani teaches the electrical transformer of claim 11,
wherein the wires of the first primary winding are coupled together to form a first planar group of wires having the first wire of the first primary winding encircling the first limb at the first distance closer than the distance of an outside wire of the planar group of wires farthest from the first wire of the first primary winding (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31). Chen in view of Sigamani does not expressly teach
wherein the wires of the first and second primary windings comprise Litz wires having a plurality of electrically conductive strands and an electrically insulative coating surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands.
Akiba teaches a coil (FIG. 6),
wherein the wires of the first and second primary windings comprise Litz wires having a plurality of electrically conductive strands 10a and an electrically insulative coating 12a surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the electrical transformer of Chen in view of Sigamani to reduce skin effect and or to improve insulation of the coil.
With respect to claim 15, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 14, wherein the Litz wires of the second primary winding are coupled together to form a second planar group of wires having the first wire of the second primary winding encircling the second lobe at the first distance closer than the distance of an outside wire of the second planar group of wires farthest from the first wire of the second primary winding (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
With respect to claim 16, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 14, wherein the first planar group of wires comprises:
a first lead portion (portion between ends 316d and 316e) having a first end 316d and a second end 316e;
a second lead portion (lead portion similar to lead portion between ends 316f and 316g of annotated FIG. 4) having a first end (similar to end 316f and a second end 316g of annotated FIG. 4); and
a wound portion (spiral portion) having a first end (similar to coil end adjacent end 316d of annotated FIG. 4) and a second end (coil end similar to coil end adjacent end 316f of annotated FIG. 4);
wherein the first end of the first lead portion is coupled with the first end of the wound portion; and
wherein the first end of the second lead portion is coupled with the second end of the wound portion (Sigamani, col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 19, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 16, wherein the wound portion is wound about the first lobe greater than a single turn (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
With respect to claim 20, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 19, wherein the wound portion is wound about the first lobe by one and a half turns (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Inui.
With respect to claim 17, Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 16. Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba does not expressly teach the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end of the first lead portion and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is removed to expose the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions.
Inui teaches an inductive coil 3 (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end (tip of wire of coil 3) of the first lead portion 53aand adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is removed (portion 52a and 52b are laser-removed) to expose the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions (para. [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the laser-removed portion of the coil as taught by Inui to the inductive coil of Chen in view of Sigamani and Akiba to provide connection to external circuits.
With respect to claim 18, Chen in view of Sigamani, Akiba and Inui teaches the electrical transformer of claim 17 wherein the exposed plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions are soldered to respective electrical pads of a PCB (mounting board) (Inui, para. [0098]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837