DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a third primary winding formed in a first printed circuit board (PCB) layer and encircling the third lobe; and a first secondary winding formed in a second PCB layer and encircling the third lobe” as recited in claim 13 and the “the exposed plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions are soldered to respective electrical pads of a PCB” as claimed in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it’s not clear what’s intended by “each additional wire positioned adjacently to a respective first primary winding neighboring wire positioned closer to the first lobe and encircling the first lobe at a distance greater than the respective first primary winding neighboring wire” as recited in lines 5-8. Specifically, it’s not clear if “a respective first primary winding neighboring wire” is the respective of the “a first wire” and “a plurality of additional wires” or not. For examination purpose, “a respective first primary winding neighboring wire” is interpreted as the respective of the “a first wire” and “a plurality of additional wires.” Similar clarification needs to be made with “each additional wire positioned adjacently to a respective second primary winding neighboring wire positioned closer to the second lobe and encircling the second lobe at a distance greater than the respective second primary winding neighboring wire” limitation.
Regarding claim 12, applicant should clarify what “its” refers to. It’s not also clear what’s intended by “a length of each additional wire of the first primary winding is longer than a length of its respective first primary winding neighboring wire” as recited. For example, in FIG. 1 of the present invention, the length of wire 104 would not be longer than wire 105 even though wire 105 is neighboring to wire 104. Only an outer wire further from the lobe would have a length longer than the wire that is closer to the lobe.
Claims 13-20 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sigamani (U.S. Patent No. 10,742,123 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Sigamani teaches an inductive coil 314 or 316 (annotated FIG. 4) comprising:
a plurality of wires (316a-316d, annotated FIG. 4, or wires of coil 314) wound about a winding axis (C-axis) and comprising:
a first wire (wire 316a, annotated FIG. 4, or similar first wire of coil 314 wound about the winding axis at a first distance (distance from center axis C to wire 316a) from the winding axis;
a second wire 316b wound about the winding axis adjacently to the first wire and along a full length (entire length) of the first wire and at a second distance (distance from center axis C to wire 316b) from the winding axis;
wherein a first radial distance (radial length of first distance) between the first distance and the winding axis is closer to the winding axis than a second radial distance (length of second distance) between the second distance and the winding axis by a width of the first wire (col. 7, lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 2, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wires further comprises a third wire 316c wound about the winding axis adjacently to the second wire and along a full length of the second wire and at a third distance (distance from center axis C to wire 316c from the winding axis;
wherein the second radial distance is closer to the winding axis than a third radial distance between the third distance and the winding axis by a width of the second wire (col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 3, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 1, wherein the first wire and the second wire comprise:
a first lead portion (portion between ends 316d and 316e) having a first end 316d and a second end 316e;
a second lead portion (portion between ends 316f and 316g) having a first end 316f and a second end 316g; and
a wound portion (spiral portion) having a first end (coil end adjacent end 316d) and a second end (coil end adjacent end 316f);
wherein the first end of the first lead portion is coupled with the first end of the wound portion; and
wherein the first end of the second lead portion is coupled with the second end of the wound portion (col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 4, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 3, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis greater than a single turn (col. 8. lines 2-4).
With respect to claim 5, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 4, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis by one and a half turns (col. 8. lines 2-4). The one and half turns as shown in FIG. 1 of the present invention is exactly the same as FIG. 4 of Sigamani.
With respect to claim 6, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 5, wherein the wound portion overlaps itself by one half turn (col. 8. lines 2-4).
With respect to claim 7, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 3, wherein the wound portion is wound about the winding axis greater than two turns (col. 7, line 65 to col. 8, line 2).
With respect to claim 11, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Sigamani teaches an electrical transformer 410 (FIG. 5) comprising:
a core (upper and lower core 442) comprising a first lobe (upper middle leg of upper core 442) and a second lobe (lower middle leg of lower core 442);
a first primary winding (primary winding 414 on first lobe) comprising:
a first wire (first wire similar first wire 316a of annotated FIG. 4) encircling the first lobe at a first distance (distance similar to distance between center axis C and first wire 316a of annotated FIG. 4); and
a plurality of additional wires (additional wires similar to additional wires 316a-316d of annotated FIG. 4), each additional wire positioned adjacently to a respective first primary winding neighboring wire positioned closer to the first lobe and encircling the first lobe at a distance greater than the respective first primary winding neighboring wire (as shown in annotated FIG. 4, the distance from the center axis C to any wire 316b-d is greater than the distance from center axis C to cire 316a);
a second primary winding (primary winding 414 on second lobe) comprising:
a first wire (first wire similar first wire 316a of annotated FIG. 4) encircling the second lobe at the first distance; and
a plurality of additional wires (additional wires similar to additional wires 316a-316d of annotated FIG. 4), each additional wire positioned adjacently to a respective second primary winding neighboring wire positioned closer to the second lobe and encircling the second lobe at a distance greater than the respective second primary winding neighboring wire (as shown in annotated FIG. 4, the distance from the center axis C to any wire 316b-d is greater than the distance from center axis C to cire 316a, and the same is true in FIG. 5) (col. 8, lines 27-31).
With respect to claim 12, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Sigamani teaches the electrical transformer of claim 11, wherein a length of each additional wire of the first primary winding is longer than a length of its respective first primary winding neighboring wire (as seen in annotated FIG. 4, wire 316b would have a length longer than wire 316a, and the same is true in FIG. 5) (col. 8, lines 27-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigamani, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Akiba et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,546,210).
With respect to claim 8, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 3. Sigamani does not expressly teach each of the first wire and the second wire comprises:
a plurality of electrically conductive strands; and
an electrically insulative coating surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands.
Akiba et al., hereinafter referred to as “Akiba,” teaches an inductive coil (FIG. 6), wherein
each of the inductive coil wire (wire as shown in FIG. 6) comprises:
a plurality of electrically conductive strands 10a; and
an electrically insulative coating 12a surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the inductive coil of Sigamani to reduce skin effect and or to improve insulation of the coil.
With respect to claim 10, Sigamani teaches the inductive coil of claim 3. Sigamani does not expressly teach each of the first wire and the second wire comprises a Litz wire.
Akiba teaches an inductive coil (FIG. 6), wherein
each of the inductive coil wire (wire as shown in FIG. 6) comprises a Litz wire (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the inductive coil of Sigamani to reduce skin effect.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigamani in view of Akiba, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Inui (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2023/0402222 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the inductive coil of claim 8. Sigamani in view of Akiba does not expressly teach the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end of the first lead portion and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is laser-removed to bare the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions.
Inui teaches an inductive coil 3 (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end (tip of wire of coil 3) of the first lead portion 53a and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is laser-removed (portion 52a and 52b are laser-removed) to bare the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions (para. [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the laser-removed portion of the coil as taught by Inui to the inductive coil of Sigamani in view of Akiba to provide connection to external circuits.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigamani, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0043661 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Sigamani teaches the electrical transformer of claim 11. Sigamani does not expressly teach
wherein the core further comprises a third lobe; and
wherein the electrical transformer further comprises:
a third primary winding formed in a first printed circuit board (PCB) layer and encircling the third lobe; and
a first secondary winding formed in a second PCB layer and encircling the third lobe.
Jin et al., hereinafter referred to as “Jin,” teaches an electrical transformer (FIG. 2)
wherein the core M11 and M12 further comprises a third lobe M130 and M131; and
wherein the electrical transformer further comprises:
a third primary winding N22 formed in a first printed circuit board (PCB) layer 20 and encircling the third lobe; and
a first secondary winding S2 formed in a second PCB layer 22 and encircling the third lobe (para. [0039]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the third lobe, the third primary winding and first secondary winding as taught by Jin to the electrical transformer of Sigamani to reduce core loss and parasitic resistance (para. [0010]).
Claim 14-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigamani, as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Akiba.
With respect to claim 14, Sigamani teaches the electrical transformer of claim 11,
wherein the wires of the first primary winding are coupled together to form a first planar group of wires having the first wire of the first primary winding encircling the first lobe at the first distance closer than the distance of an outside wire of the planar group of wires farthest from the first wire of the first primary winding (col. 8, lines 27-31). Sigamani does not expressly teach
wherein the wires of the first and second primary windings comprise Litz wires having a plurality of electrically conductive strands and an electrically insulative coating surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands.
Akiba teaches a coil (FIG. 6),
wherein the wires of the first and second primary windings comprise Litz wires having a plurality of electrically conductive strands 10a and an electrically insulative coating 12a surrounding the plurality of electrically conductive strands (col. 3, lines 37-41). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the insulated conductive strands as taught by Akiba to the electrical transformer of Sigamani to reduce skin effect and or to improve insulation of the coil.
With respect to claim 15, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 14, wherein the Litz wires of the second primary winding are coupled together to form a second planar group of wires having the first wire of the second primary winding encircling the second lobe at the first distance closer than the distance of an outside wire of the second planar group of wires farthest from the first wire of the second primary winding (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
With respect to claim 16, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 14, wherein the first planar group of wires comprises:
a first lead portion (portion between ends 316d and 316e) having a first end 316d and a second end 316e;
a second lead portion (lead portion similar to lead portion between ends 316f and 316g of annotated FIG. 4) having a first end (similar to end 316f and a second end 316g of annotated FIG. 4); and
a wound portion (spiral portion) having a first end (similar to coil end adjacent end 316d of annotated FIG. 4) and a second end (coil end similar to coil end adjacent end 316f of annotated FIG. 4);
wherein the first end of the first lead portion is coupled with the first end of the wound portion; and
wherein the first end of the second lead portion is coupled with the second end of the wound portion (Sigamani, col. 7. lines 60-64).
With respect to claim 19, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 16, wherein the wound portion is wound about the first lobe greater than a single turn (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
With respect to claim 20, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 19, wherein the wound portion is wound about the first lobe by one and a half turns (Sigamani, col. 8, lines 27-31).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigamani in view of Akiba, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Inui.
With respect to claim 17, Sigamani in view of Akiba teaches the electrical transformer of claim 16, wherein the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end of the first lead portion and adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is removed to expose the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions.
Inui teaches an inductive coil 3 (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the electrically insulative coating adjacent to the second end (tip of wire of coil 3) of the first lead portion 53aand adjacent to the second end of the second lead portion is removed (portion 52a and 52b are laser-removed) to expose the plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions (para. [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the laser-removed portion of the coil as taught by Inui to the inductive coil of Sigamani in view of Akiba to provide connection to external circuits.
With respect to claim 18, Sigamani in view of Akiba and Inui teaches the electrical transformer of claim 17 wherein the exposed plurality of electrically conductive strands adjacent to the second ends of the first and second lead portions are soldered to respective electrical pads of a PCB (mounting board) (Inui, para. [0098]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837