DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 5/19/2026. Applicant amended claim 1 which changes the scope of the claims. As such a new grounds of rejection is issued. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
Wu fails to disclose the feature "a first charging control unit, supporting a first charging protocol ….a second charging control unit, supporting a second charging protocol" because both the element that performs handshaking method and the charge switching circuit are for performing direct charging mode.
And further asserts:
Wu fails to disclose the feature "wherein the control unit determines that the charger supports the first charging protocol, the control unit instructs the first charging control unit to control the conduction state of the switching component". Takaoka fails to compensate the deficiency of Wu.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claim 1 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Wu and Takaoka to teach claim language: “a first charging control unit ([0016] [0046]-[0048] element that performs handshaking method), supporting a first charging protocol (“general charging mode”), and electrically coupled to the configuration pin ([0046])… a second charging control unit (Fig. 2 a charge switching circuit 340), supporting a second charging protocol ( [0049] In the step S530,).
The Examiner further uses the teachings of Wu and Takaoka to teach claim language wherein when the control unit determines that the charger supports the first charging protocol, the control unit instructs the first charging control unit to control the conduction state of the switching component.
Specifically, the Examiner states “Wu teaches a control device (elements 360, 340, and control unit that performs handshaking) performing the functions of the claimed control unit, the first charging control unit and the second charging control unit” [0023] (as explained below), [0027] and Fig. 2).
The Examiner further stated that “It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu’s control device to instruct first charge control unit to control the conduction state of the switching component to be “off” in the first charging protocol ( i.e general charging mode) as it is merely a separation of parts. Specifically, separating Wu’s control unit into separate elements each performing different functions of Wu’s control unit would have been obvious as it is merely a separation of parts”.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20180278082) in view of Takaoka (US 6836814).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic device (Fig. 2), comprising:
a battery (310);
a connector (200), electrically coupled to the battery (Fig. 2), wherein the connector is adapted to be connected to a charger (adapter 100), and has a configuration pin (“CC1,2”), a signal transmission pin (D+,D-), and a power transmission pin (Vbus), and the power transmission pin is electrically coupled to the battery ([0018] the energy storage unit 310 is a battery) through a charging path (Fig. 2),
a charging management unit, disposed on the charging path (charging unit 320), and configured to receive power from the charger through the connector and charge the battery ([0022] the charging unit 320 receives the bus voltage Vb output by the converter 120 from the corresponding pin VBUS on the bus interface 200, and converts the bus voltage Vb into a charging voltage Vc, to output the charging voltage Vc to charge the energy storage unit 310.);
a switch component, disposed on the charging path (330, Fig. 2)
a first charging control unit ([0016] [0046]-[0048] element that performs handshaking method), supporting a first charging protocol (“general charging mode”), and electrically coupled to the configuration pin ([0046] … in the step S510, … it is identified whether the adapter 100 supports direct charging, and the electronic device 300 is controlled to operate in a general charging mode or a direct charging mode. [0047] …the step of identifying whether the adapter 100 supports direct charging includes performing the handshake identification between the adapter 100 and the electronic device 300… [0016] …the adapter 100 and the electronic device 300 performs the handshake identification by transmitting the handshake control signal through the pins such as CC1, CC2 . [0048] In the step S520, when the electronic device 300 operates in the general charging mode), …
a second charging control unit (Fig. 2 a charge switching circuit 340), supporting a second charging protocol ( [0049] In the step S530, when the electronic device 300 operates in the direct charging mode, the charge switching circuit 340 in the electronic device 300 outputs the on/off switching signal SS to turn on the switch unit 330 in the electronic device 300 to form the direct charging path, to charge the energy storage unit 310 by using the bus voltage Vb.);
a control unit (bus converter 360, charge switching circuit 340, and [0016] [0046]-[0048] control unit within the device 300 that performs handshaking method), electrically coupled to the first charging control unit and the second charging control unit (Fig. 2), determining whether the charger supports the first charging protocol or not by using the first charging control unit ([0047] …the step of identifying whether the adapter 100 supports direct charging includes performing the handshake identification between the adapter 100 and the electronic device 300… [0016] …the adapter 100 and the electronic device 300 performs the handshake identification by transmitting the handshake control signal through the pins such as CC1, CC2 . [0048] In the step S520, when the electronic device 300 operates in the general charging mode), and controlling a conducting state of the switch component according to a determination result of whether the charger supports the first charging protocol or not ( [0023]… After the adapter 100 and the electronic device 300 complete the handshake identification, and when the electronic device 300 determines that the adapter 100 supports the direct charging mode, the electronic device 300 outputs the corresponding enabling signal SOC_EN1, so that the second switch M4 is turned on…. When the control terminal of the first switch M3 in the charge switching circuit 340 receives the communication signal CS from the adapter 100 through the pin D+ in the bus interface 200, the first switch M3 is correspondingly turned on. [0024] When the first switch M3 and the second switch M4 in the charge switching circuit 340 are turned on at the same time, …so that the switches M5 and M6 .. are correspondingly turned on. See Also [0048] In the step S520, when the electronic device 300 operates in the general charging mode, the charging unit 320 in the electronic device 300 receives the bus voltage Vb through the bus interface 200 and converts the bus voltage Vb into the charging voltage Vc to charge the energy storage unit 310 in the electronic device 300 (i.e. switches M5 and M6 are off).
Wu does not specifically disclose/teach wherein when the control unit determines that the charger supports the first charging protocol, the control unit instructs the first charging control unit to control the conduction state of the switching component.
However Wu teaches the control unit (bus converter 360, charge switching circuit 340, and control unit within the device 300 that performs handshaking method) sends instructions to control the conduction state of the switching component (330) to be “off” in the first charging protocol (i.e general charging mode) and to be “on” in the second charging protocol (i.e. direct charging).
This can be seen in [0023] (as explained above), [0027] and Fig. 2 where the switch unit 330 is controlled to be “off” from the bus converter 360 (control unit) via the handshaking method operation (first charging control unit) and the bus converter 360/switching circuit 340 (second charging control unit).
Therefore, Wu teaches a control device (elements 360, 340, and control unit that performs handshaking) performing the functions of the claimed control unit, the first charging control unit and the second charging control unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu’s control device to instruct first charge control unit to control the conduction state of the switching component to be “off” in the first charging protocol ( i.e general charging mode) as it is merely a separation of parts. Specifically, separating Wu’s control unit into separate elements each performing different functions of Wu’s control unit would have been obvious as it is merely a separation of parts.
Wu does not disclose/teach an operating system; the connector electrically coupled to the operating system; a multiplexer, configured to selectively electrically couple the signal transmission pin to the operating system or the second charging control unit; and the controller controlling a connection state of the multiplexer according to a determination result of whether the charger supports the first charging protocol or not.
Takaoka teaches an operating system (Fig. 4 host CPU and serial control signal interface 3), the connector electrically coupled to the operating system (Fig. 5); a multiplexer (switching circuit 4), configured to selectively electrically couple the signal transmission pin to the operating system (Fig. 4-5 control signal interface to CPU) or the second charging control unit (USB interface 2. Column 5 lines 37-44. The first change-over switch 41 optionally changes over and connects the USB device controller 21 and the serial control signal interface 3 with respect to the USB data transmission pins P and P3 of the system connector 5) and the controller controlling a connection state of the multiplexer according to a determination result of whether the charger supports the first charging protocol or not (Fig. 3 and column 6 lines 57-67 and columns 7 lines 1-10 when the voltage detection value is the USB power source voltage (4.75 to 5.25V), it is determined that the external device which is connected is a device which has a USB host function.…when the type of the external interface incorporated in the external device is determined, the host CPU 1 conducts the change-over control of the switching circuit 4 at step 3e on the basis of the determination result thereof. For example, now, the personal computer PC having the USB host function is connected as an external device. Consequently, the host CPU 1 changes over the first change-over switch 41 to the side of the USB device controller 21.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to include an operating system; the connector electrically coupled to the operating system; a multiplexer, configured to selectively electrically couple the signal transmission pin to the operating system or the second charging control unit; and the controller controlling a connection state of the multiplexer according to a determination result of whether the charger supports the first charging protocol or not in order to provide a mobile communication terminal device which allows a connection with an external device without providing a ….plurality of types of connectors, so that the consumption power is small, the cost is cheap and the reduction in size is small (Column2 lines 5-10).
As to claim 6, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the charger does not support the first charging protocol (Fig. 5 step S530) , the control unit controls the multiplexer to electrically couple the signal transmission pin to the second charging control unit (Fig. 2, and determines whether the charger supports the second charging protocol or not by using the second charging control unit (Column 5 lines 37-44 and Fig. 3 column 6 lines 57-67 of Takaoka).
As to claim 9, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the connector is a universal serial bus connector ([0013] of Wu bus interface 200 is a USB (Universal Serial Bus) Type-C or a USB of another standard).
As to claim 10, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Wu in view of Takaoka does not disclose/teach wherein the first charging control unit and the second charging control unit are located on a same charging control chip
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to wherein the first charging control unit and the second charging control unit are located on a same charging control chip in order to reduce the number of components in the electronic devices, thereby reducing the manufacturing steps.
As to claim 11, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Wu in view of Takaoka does not disclose/teach wherein the first charging control unit is a charging control chip.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to wherein the first charging control unit is a charging control chip as placing electronic control units on integrated circuits is an old and well-known engineering method (See [0022]of Wu).
As to claim 12, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Wu does not disclose/teach wherein the control unit is an embedded controller
Takaoka teaches wherein the control unit is an embedded controller (Fig. 3 and column 6 lines 57-67 and columns 7 lines 1-10 the host CPU 1)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to wherein the control unit is an embedded controller in order to reduce processing time.
Claims 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20180278082) in view of Takaoka (US 6836814) In view of Chang (US 20220407336).
As to claim 2, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the switch component comprises a second switch (330), the second switch is disposed on a second charging path (Fig. 2), and the first charging path and the second charging path respectively correspond to the first charging protocol and the second charging protocol ([0016],[0023] and [0046]-[0049]).
Wu in view of Takaoka does not disclose/teach wherein the switch component comprises a first switch, the first switch is disposed on a first charging path.
Chang teaches wherein the switch component comprises a first switch (Fig. 12 M11), the first switch is disposed on a first charging path (Fig. 12 M11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu in view of Takaoka to wherein the switch component comprises a first switch, the first switch is disposed on a first charging path as switching circuits are a common component in voltage converter circuits to aid in their operations.
As to claim 3, Wu in view of Takaoka in view of Chang teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein when the charger does not support the first charging protocol (Fig. 5 of Wu step 530), the control unit controls the multiplexer to electrically couple the signal transmission pin to the second charging control unit (, and turns on the second switch (Column 5 lines 37-44 and Fig. 3 column 6 lines 57-67 of Takaoka).
As to claim 4, Wu in view of Takaoka in view of Chang teaches the electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the first charging control unit is electrically coupled to the first switch, and the control unit controls a conducting state of the first switch by using the first charging control unit (Fig. 12 of Chang. Controller that controls M11).
As to claim 5, Wu in view of Takaoka in view of Chang teaches the electronic device according to claim 4, wherein the second charging control unit is electrically coupled to the second switch (Fig. 2 element 340 of Wu), and the control unit controls a conducting state of the second switch by using the second charging control unit ([0049] In the step S530, when the electronic device 300 operates in the direct charging mode, the charge switching circuit 340 in the electronic device 300 outputs the on/off switching signal SS to turn on the switch unit 330 in the electronic device 300 to form the direct charging path, to charge the energy storage unit 310 by using the bus voltage Vb).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20180278082) in view of Takaoka (US 6836814) in view of Hu (US 20160336779).
As to claim 7, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 6.
Wu in view of Takaoka does not disclose/teach wherein when the charger does not support the second charging protocol, the control unit instructs the charging management unit to charge according to a preset charging power of the connector.
Hu teaches wherein when the charger does not support the second charging protocol, the control unit instructs the charging management unit to charge according to a preset charging power of the connector (Fig. 9 USB adapter wherein the second protocol. Is quick charging identifier is not identified “no” to “Enter into a low charging state”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to wherein when the charger does not support the second charging protocol , the control unit instructs the charging management unit to charge according to a preset charging power of the connector in order to protect the electronic device from damage.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20180278082) in view of Takaoka (US 6836814) In view of Kong (US 20170194805).
As to claim 8, Wu in view of Takaoka teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first charging protocol is a USB PD protocol ([0041]).
Wu in view of Takaoka does not disclose/teach the second charging protocol is a QC protocol
Kon teaches wherein the second charging protocol is a QC protocol [0019] The user-defined charging mode comprises Quick Charge (QC) charging mode and Pump Express plus (PE+) charging mode)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic device of Wu to include wherein the second charging protocol is a QC protocol in order to support common well known current charging technologies ([0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859