DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry Chang (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0100325, previously presented), and further in view of Wang et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0286896). Hereinafter Chang and Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving first information from a first user equipment (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, paragraph [0050]), wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first multicast broadcast service (MBS), and the first MBS is an MBS that the first user equipment is interested in (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, where the remote UE device determines that it wants to receive broadcast/multicast delivery, and the MBMS Interest Indication message identifies the MBMS of interest, paragraphs [0045], [0050]; the remote UE device (i.e. first UE) is interested to receive the identified MBMS);
sending a first message to the first user equipment, wherein the first message comprises first configuration information, the first configuration information is used for configuring a radio bearer between a second user equipment and the first user equipment, and the radio bearer is for transmitting data of the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device, where the relay UE device determines the MBMS service to be delivered via broadcast or unicast, paragraph [0059]).
While Chang discloses the communication link between remote UE device and relay UE device is configured to be 3GPP D2D communication link (paragraph [0044]), Chang does not explicitly disclose “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete.”
Wang discloses “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 1, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
sending first indication information to the first user equipment when a cell supports the first MBS, wherein the first indication information indicates that the cell supports the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; or
sending second indication information to the first user equipment when the cell does not support the first MBS, wherein the second indication information indicates that the cell does not support the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment.
Wang discloses UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 3, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 1, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein before the receiving of the first information from the first user equipment, the method further comprises:
receiving second configuration information from a network device, wherein the second configuration information is for receiving data of a second MBS, the second MBS is an MBS supported by a cell, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; and
sending second information to the first user equipment, wherein the second information comprises an identifier of the second MBS.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 4, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 3, Chang discloses wherein the method further comprises:
sending a second message to the network device, wherein the second message comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS Interest Indication message to the base station, paragraphs [0053] – [0054]); and
receiving a third message from the network device, wherein the third message comprises third configuration information, and the third configuration information is for configuring the radio bearer (the base station sends the control information to the relay UE device, where the base station provides the SC-PTM control information or handover the relay UE device if the cell serving the relay UE device cannot provide the SC-PTM control information, paragraph [0055]).
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “SL radio bearer.” Wang discloses “SL radio bearer” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 5, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 1, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
receiving the data of the first MBS from a network device; and
sending the data of the first MBS to the first user equipment through the SL radio bearer.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 6, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 5, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS from a first protocol layer entity based on the data of the first MBS received from a bottom layer entity, wherein the first protocol layer entity is any one of a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, a radio link control layer protocol (RLC) entity, or an adaptation layer entity; and
sending one of the at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS to an upper layer entity of the first protocol layer entity.
Wang discloses the receiving UE buffers the data temporarily (for example, on the PDCP buffer) and does not deliver the data to the upper layer first if the receiving UE receives the data on the target SLRB and of the QoS flow before receiving the end marker on the source SLRB and of the QFI, and the receiving UE delivers the temporarily buffered data on the target SLRB and of the OFI to the upper layer so as to guarantee in-order delivery of data packets to the upper layer when receiving the end marker (that is, the control/end-marker SDAP PDU) on the source SLRB and of the QFI (paragraphs [0110] – [0112]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate receiving UE obtains data in PDCP buffer before sending to upper layer as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 7, Chang and Wang disclose the method according to claim 3, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second configuration information comprises one or more of the following: the identifier of the second MBS, information about a first time-frequency resource, or information about a first multimedia broadcast multicast service point to multipoint radio bearer (MRB), wherein the first time-frequency resource is for carrying the second MBS, the first MRB is for transmitting the data of the second MBS, the information about the first MRB comprises first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information, the first PDCP configuration information is for configuring a second PDCP entity, and the second PDCP entity is for receiving the data of the second MBS.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses a communication apparatus (user equipment (UE) device), comprising a processor (the UE device includes controller, Fig. 2B, paragraphs [0030], [0032], [0033]), wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, and the memory is configured to store a program or instructions (the UE device includes controller that is any combination of hardware, software, and/or firmware for executing the functions of a UE device, where the controller includes code running on microprocessor or processor arrangement connected to memory, Fig. 2B, paragraphs [0030], [0032], [0033]); and when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising (the UE device includes controller that is any combination of hardware, software, and/or firmware for executing the functions of a UE device, where the controller includes code running on microprocessor or processor arrangement connected to memory, Fig. 2B, paragraphs [0030], [0032], [0033]):
receiving first information from a first user equipment (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, paragraph [0050]), wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first multicast broadcast service (MBS), and the first MBS is an MBS that the first user equipment is interested in (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, where the remote UE device determines that it wants to receive broadcast/multicast delivery, and the MBMS Interest Indication message identifies the MBMS of interest, paragraphs [0045], [0050]; the remote UE device (i.e. first UE) is interested to receive the identified MBMS);
sending a first message to the first user equipment, wherein the first message comprises first configuration information, the first configuration information is used for configuring a radio bearer between a second user equipment and the first user equipment, and the radio bearer is for transmitting data of the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device, where the relay UE device determines the MBMS service to be delivered via broadcast or unicast, paragraph [0059]).
While Chang discloses the communication link between remote UE device and relay UE device is configured to be 3GPP D2D communication link (paragraph [0044]), Chang does not explicitly disclose “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete.”
Wang discloses “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 9, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
sending first indication information to the first user equipment when a cell supports the first MBS, wherein the first indication information indicates that the cell supports the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; or
sending second indication information to the first user equipment when the cell does not support the first MBS, wherein the second indication information indicates that the cell does not support the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment.
Wang discloses UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 10, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving second configuration information from a network device, wherein the second configuration information is for receiving data of a second MBS, the second MBS is an MBS supported by a cell, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; and
sending second information to the first user equipment, wherein the second information comprises an identifier of the second MBS.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 10, Chang discloses wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
sending a second message to the network device, wherein the second message comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS Interest Indication message to the base station, paragraphs [0053] – [0054]); and
receiving a third message from the network device, wherein the third message comprises third configuration information, and the third configuration information is for configuring the radio bearer (the base station sends the control information to the relay UE device, where the base station provides the SC-PTM control information or handover the relay UE device if the cell serving the relay UE device cannot provide the SC-PTM control information, paragraph [0055]).
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “SL radio bearer.” Wang discloses “SL radio bearer” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 12, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 8, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving the data of the first MBS from a network device; and
sending the data of the first MBS to the first user equipment through the SL radio bearer.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 13, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 12, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
obtaining at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS from a first protocol layer entity based on the data of the first MBS received from a bottom layer entity, wherein the first protocol layer entity is any one of a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, a radio link control layer protocol (RLC) entity, or an adaptation layer entity; and
sending one of the at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS to an upper layer entity of the first protocol layer entity.
Wang discloses the receiving UE buffers the data temporarily (for example, on the PDCP buffer) and does not deliver the data to the upper layer first if the receiving UE receives the data on the target SLRB and of the QoS flow before receiving the end marker on the source SLRB and of the QFI, and the receiving UE delivers the temporarily buffered data on the target SLRB and of the OFI to the upper layer so as to guarantee in-order delivery of data packets to the upper layer when receiving the end marker (that is, the control/end-marker SDAP PDU) on the source SLRB and of the QFI (paragraphs [0110] – [0112]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate receiving UE obtains data in PDCP buffer before sending to upper layer as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 14, Chang and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 10, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein the second configuration information comprises one or more of the following: the identifier of the second MBS, information about a first time-frequency resource, or information about a first multimedia broadcast multicast service point to multipoint radio bearer (MRB), wherein the first time-frequency resource is for carrying the second MBS, the first MRB is for transmitting the data of the second MBS, the information about the first MRB comprises first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information, the first PDCP configuration information is for configuring a second PDCP entity, and the second PDCP entity is for receiving the data of the second MBS.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Chang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and when the computer program or the instructions are executed by a communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising (the UE device includes controller that is any combination of hardware, software, and/or firmware for executing the functions of a UE device, where the controller includes code running on microprocessor or processor arrangement connected to memory, Fig. 2B, paragraphs [0030], [0032], [0033]):
receiving first information from a first user equipment (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, paragraph [0050]), wherein the first information comprises an identifier of a first multicast broadcast service (MBS), and the first MBS is an MBS that the first user equipment is interested in (the remote UE device transmits MBMS Interest Indication message to the relay UE device, where the remote UE device determines that it wants to receive broadcast/multicast delivery, and the MBMS Interest Indication message identifies the MBMS of interest, paragraphs [0045], [0050]; the remote UE device (i.e. first UE) is interested to receive the identified MBMS);
sending a first message to the first user equipment, wherein the first message comprises first configuration information, the first configuration information is used for configuring a radio bearer between a second user equipment and the first user equipment, and the radio bearer is for transmitting data of the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device, where the relay UE device determines the MBMS service to be delivered via broadcast or unicast, paragraph [0059]).
While Chang discloses the communication link between remote UE device and relay UE device is configured to be 3GPP D2D communication link (paragraph [0044]), Chang does not explicitly disclose “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete.”
Wang discloses “the first configuration information is used for configuring, by the first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) radio bearer,” and “receiving a fourth message from the first user equipment indicating configuration of the SL radio bearer is complete” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 16, Chang and Wang disclose the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the computer program or the instructions are executed by the communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
sending first indication information to the first user equipment when a cell supports the first MBS, wherein the first indication information indicates that the cell supports the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; or
sending second indication information to the first user equipment when the cell does not support the first MBS, wherein the second indication information indicates that the cell does not support the first MBS, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment.
Wang discloses UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 17, Chang and Wang disclose the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the computer program or the instructions are executed by the communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving second configuration information from a network device, wherein the second configuration information is for receiving data of a second MBS, the second MBS is an MBS supported by a cell, and the cell is a serving cell of the second user equipment; and
sending second information to the first user equipment, wherein the second information comprises an identifier of the second MBS.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Since Chang discloses the relay UE device determines whether the relay UE device can support the MBMS Interest Indication request, where the relay UE device transmits the MBMS traffic to the remote UE device if it supports the MBMS, and the relay device informs the remote UE device if the relay UE device cannot support the MBMS (paragraphs [0052], [0054], [0055], [0059]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link between relay UE device and remote UE device of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 18, Chang and Wang disclose the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17, Chang discloses wherein when the computer program or the instructions are executed by the communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
sending a second message to the network device, wherein the second message comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates the first MBS (the relay UE device transmits the MBMS Interest Indication message to the base station, paragraphs [0053] – [0054]); and
receiving a third message from the network device, wherein the third message comprises third configuration information, and the third configuration information is for configuring the radio bearer (the base station sends the control information to the relay UE device, where the base station provides the SC-PTM control information or handover the relay UE device if the cell serving the relay UE device cannot provide the SC-PTM control information, paragraph [0055]).
However, Chang does not explicitly disclose “SL radio bearer.” Wang discloses “SL radio bearer” as UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraph [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 19, Chang and Wang disclose the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the computer program or the instructions are executed by the communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving the data of the first MBS from a network device; and
sending the data of the first MBS to the first user equipment through the SL radio bearer.
Wang discloses UE1 triggers the sidelinkUEInformation, where the base station configures an SLRB for the UE1 and allocates sidelink unicast communication sending resource for the UE1, and UE1 sends the SLRB configuration information to UE2 through PC5 RRC configuration signaling, where the UE2 replies with SLRB configuration response and establish a corresponding SLRB if the UE2 accepts the SLRB configuration, and UE1 obtains a sidelink unicast communication sending resource from the base station and sends corresponding data through the established SLRB when data reaches (paragraphs [0240] – [0241]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate UE2 determining to accept the configuration and responding with established SLRB connection as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Regarding claim 20, Chang and Wang disclose the computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, but Chang does not explicitly disclose wherein when the computer program or the instructions are executed by the communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is enabled to perform operations comprising:
obtaining at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS from a first protocol layer entity based on the data of the first MBS received from a bottom layer entity, wherein the first protocol layer entity is any one of a first packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity, a radio link control layer protocol (RLC) entity, or an adaptation layer entity; and
sending one of the at least two pieces of the data of the first MBS to an upper layer entity of the first protocol layer entity.
Wang discloses the receiving UE buffers the data temporarily (for example, on the PDCP buffer) and does not deliver the data to the upper layer first if the receiving UE receives the data on the target SLRB and of the QoS flow before receiving the end marker on the source SLRB and of the QFI, and the receiving UE delivers the temporarily buffered data on the target SLRB and of the OFI to the upper layer so as to guarantee in-order delivery of data packets to the upper layer when receiving the end marker (that is, the control/end-marker SDAP PDU) on the source SLRB and of the QFI (paragraphs [0110] – [0112]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chang and Wang before him or her, to incorporate receiving UE obtains data in PDCP buffer before sending to upper layer as taught by Wang, to improve the D2D communication link of Chang for the motivation of improving transport efficiency, and providing convenience or entertainment information (paragraph [0003] of Wang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10 – 12, filed December 17, 2025, with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KUO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0071028) – the relay UE establishes a layer-2 link with a remote UE, creates a radio bearer between the relay UE and the eNB for forwarding data packets between the remote UE and a PDN corresponding to the PDN connection, sends a NAS message to the eNB if a failure of the layer-2 link is detected, and receives a RRC message indicating release of the radio bearer in response to transmission of the NAS message from the eNB
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468