DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 20 January 2026, and amended claims 1 and 11.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 7,644,285) in view of Shah et al. (US 2015/0135257 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Murray discloses: a method (i.e., data is communicated between system elements and the launcher signs on to the database and creates a temporary restricted user in Murray, col. 3 lines 31-42),
[a user credential] that is natively recognized by the database (i.e., the temporary sign on uses a database password and user name, and the database accepts the sign on as successful; credential accepted by the database itself is natively recognized by the database in Murray, col. 6 lines 1-11, col. 7 lines 32-47)
and that defines database-level privileges corresponding to the database access rights (i.e., temporary sign on has restricted access to database files and the temporary user is limited to particular predefined data and functions; restrictions are database-level privileges corresponding to the user's database access rights in Murray, col. 5 line 60 to col. 6 line 1-3; col. 6 lines 56-67),
wherein the temporary, user-specific database credential corresponds to a database principal selected from a database user account or a database role (i.e., creates a temporary database user and uses a temporary database user name and password to sign on as that temporary user in Murray, col. 2 lines 37-65; col. 6 lines 56-67), and
wherein the temporary, user-specific database credential is not an identity token service, cookie, or tag evaluated by an application-layer or intermediary authorization service (i.e., credential is a temporary database user name/password and connect string accepted by the database, not an identity token, service cookie, or tag evaluated by an intermediary authorization service. in Murray, col. 2 lines 37-65; col. 6 lines 56-67; col. 7 lines 32-47); and
when the user uses the webapp to access the database, the database, using the temporary database credential, enforces the database-level privileges to determine accessible database content and permitted operations (i.e., database accepts the temporary sign on, and the temporary sign on restricts database files to predefined data/functions; using the temporary database credential, the database enforces database-level privileges to determine accessible content and permitted operations in Murray, col. 5 line 60 to col. 6 line 1-3; col. 6 lines 56-67; col. 7 lines 32-47).
Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses:
receiving, by a policy layer from a webapp, user information and a database request that identifies a database (i.e., policy layer sub-system receives a user request through an interface/URI, determines the user's identity, and accesses the user's profile for the requested service in Shah, ¶0065, ¶0066, ¶0068), and
the database request is automatically made and transmitted by the webapp to the policy layer as a result of an interaction of a user with a page of the webapp (i.e., use of a URI/interface causes the policy management subsystem to detect the user's action and receive a request in Shah, ¶0017, ¶0053, ¶0065);
obtaining, by the policy layer, information identifying database access rights for the user who transmitted the database request using the page of the webapp (i.e., policy management subsystem accesses the user's profile to identify applicable policies and then uses those policies with identity management in Shah, ¶0068, ¶0069);
creating, by the policy layer at the database, a temporary, user-specific database credential (i.e., policy management subsystem obtains user policies and requests temporary credentials for services the user may access in Shah, ¶0018, ¶0041, ¶0069);
returning, by the policy layer, the temporary database credential to either the user or to the webapp (i.e., temporary credentials are transmitted to or managed by the policy management subsystem to enable user access through an interface/service in Shah, ¶0018, ¶0041, ¶0069), and
displaying by the webapp, based on the database-enforced access (i.e., interface is customized according to policies and can present only permitted services/resources/actions in Shah, ¶0017, ¶0023, ¶0070),
(1) database content that the user is authorized to access (i.e., interface is customized to only utilize or show permissible services, resources, and actions in Shah, ¶0017, ¶0053, ¶0070), and
(2) user privileges that the user has with respect to the database content (i.e., policies display identifies database service, resource, allow/deny effect, and actions the user may take in Shah, ¶0054, ¶0055, ¶0070),
wherein the webapp does not evaluate, enforce, or determine database authorization or database access privileges (i.e., policy management subsystem determines user validity, extracts policies, and has identity management apply them; interface does not evaluate, enforce, or determine database authorization or privileges. in Shah, ¶0018, ¶0067, ¶0068).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 2, Murray discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the credential includes user privileges (i.e., temporary user is created with restricted access rights that allow only predefined data/functions in Murray, col. 7 lines 32-47).
With respect to claim 3, Murray discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein when the user uses the credential, the user is granted access to the database, and the access is constrained by user privileges (i.e., temporary database user name and password initiates a temporary database session, the database accepts the sign on, and access is in a restricted fashion in Murray, col. 2 lines 37-64; col. 7 lines 32-47).
With respect to claim 4, Murray discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the credential is specific to the user (i.e., a separate password is created for each user file and the temporary signon uses the temporary database password and the user's name in Murray, col. 7 lines 32-47).
With respect to claim 5, Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the webapp is configured to use user privilege information in the credential to change what is displayed to, and/or selectable by, the user (i.e., interface is customized according to user policies and can show or allow only permissible services/resources/actions in Shah, ¶0017, ¶0053, ¶0070).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 6, Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the information identifying the database privileges is obtained by the policy layer from either the database, or from a centralized identity management system (i.e., the policy management subsystem accesses user profiles/policies and communicates with an identity management service to obtain temporary credentials and define actions in Shah, ¶0018, ¶0023, ¶0069).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 8, Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the credential is generated ad hoc in response to the database request (i.e., policy management subsystem receives a user request, obtains applicable policies, and requests temporary credentials in Shah, ¶0065, ¶0068, ¶0069).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 9, Murray discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, and to the database (i.e., creates a separate password for each user file, uses the user's name, and targets database 60 through the software application in Murray, col. 2 lines 27-36)
Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses: , wherein the credential is specific to the user, the webapp (i.e., generating a user-specific interface and credentials for particular services/resources/actions, such as a database service and named database resource in Shah, ¶0023, ¶0055, ¶0070).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 10, Murray discloses launcher mediates database access and creates temporary restricted database user (col. 2 lines 6-26). Murray do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Shah, in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system (¶0019), discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the webapp makes no determination as to whether or not the user is granted access to the database (i.e., policy management subsystem determines whether the user is valid, extracts policies, and has identity management enforce allowed actions in Shah, ¶0067, ¶0068, ¶0069).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Shah to improve upon those of Murray in order to reduce administrative burden by specifying user policies for any service using a policy sub-system.
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 9.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 10.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 7,644,285) in view of Shah et al. (US 2015/0135257 A1), and further in view of Lemaster et al. (US 2014/0289830 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Murray discloses initiating temporary session using temporary database user name and password (col. 2 lines 37-65). Murray and Shah do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Lemaster, in order to improve security exposure by providing deactivation of remote user sessions after a period of time (¶0060), discloses: the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the credential expires automatically after a period of time (i.e., session timeouts with start/end dates or expiration periods, and deleting tokens/closing access when the expiration time is met in Lemaster, ¶0060, ¶0072, ¶0082).
Based on Murray in view of Shah, and further in view of Lemaster, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lemaster to improve upon those of Murray in order to improve security exposure by providing deactivation of remote user sessions after a period of time.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
5/23/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447