Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group II, claims 10-13, in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the growing media composition of claim 1 is not required for application to a plant or agricultural substrate of claim 10, the composition stands on its own.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicants are reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Ye Jianjun (CN1907916A).
Jianjun teaches a method of enhancing a plant or agricultural substrate, the method comprising: applying to a plant or to an agricultural substrate a mixture of a growing media and a biosurfactant (page 2, paragraph 3, a fermentation culture medium for producing a peat wetting agent, which involves adding rhamnolipid to peat to improve its water retention and hydrophilicity) at a concentration ratio of the growing media to the biosurfactant of about 0.01 to about 12 oz/yd3 (pages 2-6, preparation of a biosurfactant from fermentation of microorganisms, wherein, the concentration of rhamnolipid was 20-30 gL, which was subsequently concentrated to a 10% solution, page 6, paragraph 1, 0.5 kg of this concentrate was then added to 500kg of peat, and it was proved that the surface tension could be reduced and the peat could be completely moistened). The examiner deems that the content in weight percentage of rhamnolipid in peat disclosed in Jianjun falls within the content range defined in the present application.
Jianjun further teaches wherein the enhancement is at least one enhancement selected from the group consisting of: surface tension, reduction, increasing a speed to wet, increasing water retention, and increasing a time to dry (page 2, paragraph 1, “method for cultivating a novel and reasonable process, the product can improve the hydrophilicity of peat, and the formulation of peat wetting agent fermentation medium”, page 2, paragraph 3, “the resulting mixture is a peat wetting agent”).
Jianjun further teaches wherein the growing media is at least one selected from the group consisting of: peat, peat-like materials, sand, perlite, and vermiculite (page 1, paragraph 4, “The application of peat in agricultural production is mainly to improve soil”).
Jianjun further teaches wherein the biosurfactant is produced by mechanical means biological processes without any chemical reaction that alters a molecule of the biosurfactant and is at least one glycolipid selected from the group consisting of: rhamnolipid, sophorolipid, and mannosylerythritol lipid (page 2, paragraph 4, “ferment bacteria such as Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Bacillus subtillis, and the resulting biological surfactant rhamnolipid is used to improve peat.”). It is well known in the art that rhamnolipids act as biosurfactants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (U.S. 2017/0265468 A1) in view of Ye Jianjun (CN1907916A).
Ju et al. teach a method of enhancing a plant or agricultural substrate, the method comprising: applying to a plant or to an agricultural substrate a mixture of a growing media and a biosurfactant (Abstract, “A biopesticide composition includes a solvent and a plurality of rhamnolipid complexes”, paragraph 0018, “a coated article comprising an article selected from a seed and a plant, said article having a rhamnolipid-based coating thereon, said coating including a plurality of rhamnolipid complexes”, paragraph 0029, “The rhamnolipid complexes may be provided as part of a coating composition or a pellet composition. A coating composition or pellet composition including rhamnolipid complexes may also include one or more of solvents, additives, fillers, and combinations thereof”, paragraph 41, “rhamnolipid complexes are used with a seed or plant, it may be desirable to utilize cations having fertilizing properties”, paragraph 0044, “Rhamnolipids are commonly produced by the fermentation of Pseudomonas species. They act as biosurfactants”, paragraph 0070, “Exemplary fillers include… sand… vermiculite, perlite”, paragraph 0071, “In certain embodiments, one or more fillers may be premixed with the coating composition prior to the coating process”).
Ju et al. further teach wherein the enhancement is at least one enhancement selected from the group consisting of: surface tension, reduction, increasing a speed to wet, increasing water retention, and increasing a time to dry (paragraph 0044, “Rhamnolipids are commonly produced by the fermentation of Pseudomonas species. They act as biosurfactants” which are well known in the art that surfactants decrease surface tension.).
Ju et al. further teach wherein the growing media is at least one selected from the group consisting of: peat, peat-like materials, sand, perlite, and vermiculite (paragraph 70, “Exemplary fillers include… sand… vermiculite, perlite”).
Ju et al. further teach wherein the biosurfactant is produced by mechanical means biological processes without any chemical reaction that alters a molecule of the biosurfactant and is at least one glycolipid selected from the group consisting of: rhamnolipid, sophorolipid, and mannosylerythritol lipid (paragraph 0044, “Rhamnolipds (RLs) are particular glycolipid produced by microorganisms. Rhamnolipids are commonly produced by the fermentation of Pseudomonas species. The act as biosurfactants.”).
Ju et al. do not teach the biosurfactant at a concentration from about 0.01 to about 12 oz/yd3 of growing media.
Jianjun teaches a method of enhancing a plant or agricultural substrate, the method comprising: applying to a plant or to an agricultural substrate a mixture of a growing media and a biosurfactant (page 2, paragraph 3, a fermentation culture medium for producing a peat wetting agent, which involves adding rhamnolipid to peat to improve its water retention and hydrophilicity) at a concentration ratio of the growing media to the biosurfactant of about 0.01 to about 12 oz/yd3 (pages 2-6, preparation of a biosurfactant from fermentation of microorganisms, wherein, the concentration of rhamnolipid was 20-30 gL, which was subsequently concentrated to a 10% solution, page 6, paragraph 1, 0.5 kg of this concentrate was then added to 500kg of peat, and it was proved that the surface tension could be reduced and the peat could be completely moistened). The examiner deems that the content in weight percentage of rhamnolipid in peat disclosed in Jianjun falls within the content range defined in the present application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the concentration of biosurfactant (glycolipid, rhamnolipid) 20-30g/L, which was subsequently concentrated to a 10% solution, 0.5 kg of this concentrate was then added to 500 kg of peat (it was proved that the surface tension could be reduced and the peat could be completely moistened) as taught by Jianjun as experimentally routine in order to utilize the desired concentration of biosurfactant per cubic yard to optimize media wettability, plant growth, and/or biocontrol of plant diseases and pests.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,582,924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope.
The claim set of the instant application is to a method of enhancing a plant or agricultural substrate, the method comprising: applying to a plant or to an agricultural substrate a mixture of a growing media and a biosurfactant at a concentration ratio of the growing media to the biosurfactant of about 0.1 to about 12 oz/yd3; wherein the enhancement is at least one enhancement selected from the group consisting of: surface tension reduction, increasing a speed to wet, increasing water retention, and increasing a time to dry; wherein the growing media is at least one selected from the group consisting of: peat, peat-like materials, sand, perlite, and vermiculite; wherein the biosurfactant is produced by mechanical and biological processes without any chemical reaction that alters a molecule of the biosurfactant and is at least one glycolipid selected from the group consisting of: rhamnolipid, sophorolipid, and mannosylerythritol lipid.
The claim set of U.S. Patent No. 11,582,924 is to a growing media composition comprising: growing media; and a biosurfactant mixed or dispersed in the growing media at a concentration from about 0.1 to about 12 oz/yd3 of growing media; wherein said growing media composition, when applied to a plant or agricultural substrate, is effective for improving initial water uptake or wetting, rewetting, and/or water retention over time of said plant or agricultural substrate; wherein the biosurfactant is at least one biosurfactant selected from the group consisting of: glycolipids, lipopeptides, phospholipids, fatty acids, and polymeric surfactants; wherein the growing media is at least one selected from the group consisting of: peat, peat-like materials, sand, perlite, and vermiculite; wherein the biosurfactant is a glycolipid, wherein the biosurfactant is a glycolipid selected from the group consisting of: rhamnolipid, sophorolipid, and mannosylerythritol lipid; wherein the biosurfactant is rhamnolipid; wherein the biosurfactant is produced by mechanical and biological processes without any chemical reaction that alters a molecule of the biosurfactant; wherein the growing media composition is a plant or agricultural substrate.
Future Correspondence
/KENT L. BELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1661
/KENT L BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1661