DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snell (US 2019/0074749 A1) and in view of Sakuragi (US 2024/0022132 A1) and further in view of Harrison (US 3227418 A) and Omernik (US 2023/0366600 A1)).
In regards to claim 1, Snell teaches an environmental control system of an aircraft (HVAC system for environmental control, see paragraph 18 that is usable for an aircraft) comprising: a condenser (106); an expansion valve (expansion device, see paragraph 19); an evaporator (108); a compressor shroud (scroll assembly 234 with diffuser 232, see below annotated fig. 1);
an impeller compressor (at least impeller 232 and compressor 102) arranged within the compressor shroud (compressor motor and impeller 230 arranged within scroll assembly, see fig. 3) and comprising at least one rotor (at least rotor 204 of motor 104, see figs. 1-3);
a motor (104) having integrated magnetic bearings (104 includes magnetic bearings 214, 216, 218, see paragraph 26) configured to support the impeller compressor and at least one rotor (214, 216, 218 supporting rotor 206 and shaft 208, see fig. 3; paragraph 27; and claim 26), wherein a working fluid (refrigerant) is passed through the condenser, the expansion valve, the evaporator, the impeller compressor, and back to the condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser, expansion valve, evaporator and compressor and returned back to condenser, see paragraph 19); and
a shaft (208) operably coupling the motor and the impeller compressor (see fig. 3 and paragraphs 20-22); wherein the motor comprises a stator (204) comprising windings (stator includes windings) configured to generate a magnetic field (electric current passed through stator windings causing magnetic forces, see paragraphs 21, 24) and the shaft comprises a set of rotor magnets (plurality of rotor magnets 214, 216, 218) arranged relative to the windings to cause rotation of the shaft in response to the generated magnetic field (see paragraphs 26 and 20-21) and
a controller (control panel 114 and control drive 110, see paragraphs 16-17) configured to control operation of the compressor cycle (see paragraph 16). In addition, Snell teaches controlling the clearance/gap between the motor jacket and the housing and between the stator and the rotor (see claim 26 and paragraph 25) during operation of the environmental control system (see paragraphs 27-29, for operating conditions being maintained and varied), using radial position control of the magnetic bearing assembly (see paragraph 27).
However, Snell is silent about noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator.
Sakuragi discloses a compressor and electric motor (see abstract), wherein the motor (20) comprises a stator (40) comprising windings (stator windings 60, see paragraph 28) configured to generate a magnetic field (see paragraph 28) and the shaft comprises a set of rotor magnets (plurality of rotor magnets 16) arranged relative to the windings (see fig. 3 and paragraph 28) to cause rotation of the shaft in response to the generated magnetic field and to provide noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator (see paragraphs 39-41 and claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of the environmental control system of Snell by providing the shaft with a set of rotor magnets arranged relative to the windings to cause rotation of the shaft in response to the generated magnetic field and to provide noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator based on the teachings of Sakuragi for the advantage of generating a magnetic pole inside the stator and to have the suspension windings of the same phase connected together in parallel (see paragraphs 3-4, Sakuragi).
Snell also does not explicitly teach a proximity sensor arranged on the compressor shroud to detect gap between the rotor and the shroud; and the controller correcting the position of the rotor based on detected clearance gap.
However, Harrison teaches a rotor blade (13), a compressor shroud (14), a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 65, col. 5, lines 14-18) arranged on the compressor shroud (sensor 65 on compressor shroud 14, figs. 3 and 9), the at least one proximity sensor configured to detect a clearance gap between a tip of rotor blades of the at least one rotor and the compressor shroud (sensor 65 measuring gap between tip of blade 13 and compressor shroud 14, see figs. 3, 9; col. 5, lines 5-22; and claims 2-3); and a controller (control 66) in communication with the at least one proximity sensor (see fig. 9), the controller configured to continuously monitor the clearance gap (control 66 receives sensor signals from proximity sensor 65, see col. 5, lines 14-22) and configured to control the actuator (40) to continuously correct at least one of an axial and a radial position of the shroud based on the detected clearance gap (by adjusting the radial clearance between the shroud and the rotor, see figs. 3-7, 9; col. 5, lines 5-16; and claims 2-4) during operation of the environmental control system (while supplying hydraulic fluid to the actuator of the turbomachine, see col. 5, lines 14-22).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compressor shroud and rotor assembly of Snell as modified by providing a proximity sensor at the compressor shroud as taught by Harrison in order to accurately measure the gap between the shroud and the tip of the rotor blade to monitor compressor efficiency based on gap between the shroud and the rotor tip. It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Snell as modified to monitor a clearance gap between a tip of the rotor blades and the compressor shroud, to communicate with the at least one proximity sensor to continuously monitor the clearance gap and control the actuator to continuously correct at least one of an axial and a radial position of the shroud based on the detected clearance gap based on the teachings of Harrison in order to maintain efficiency of the compressor by adjusting a controlled gap between the compressor shroud and tip of the rotor blades, where spacing between the blades and the shroud leaks gas flow and allows the blade tips to wear (see col. 1, lines 15-46, Harrison).
Snell also does not explicitly teach magnetic bearing control based on detected clearance gap.
However, Omernik teaches a controller (360) configured to monitor a clearance gap between a rotating component of the compressor and a stationary component of the compressor (controller 360 with position sensors 282, 283 measures clearance gap between stationary component and the rotor of the compressor, see paragraphs 23-24, 38 and 47-50), the controller configured to control the motor having integrated magnetic bearings (401, 411) to correct the clearance gap (see adjusting/calibrating gap between the shaft and stationary component, paragraphs 61, 84, 56, 47 and figs. 5-7) in response to the detected clearance gap being outside a predetermined threshold (clearance gap outside the calibrated value, location range or threshold value, see paragraphs 84, 91). In addition, Omernik teaches calibration during compressor operation (see paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller during the operation of the environmental system of Snell to monitor a clearance gap between a rotating component of the compressor and a stationary component of the compressor, the controller configured to control the motor having integrated magnetic bearings to continuously correct for a detected clearance gap in response to the detected clearance gap being outside a predetermined threshold during the operation of the environmental control system based on the teachings of Omernik in order to improve efficiency and functionality of the compressor by uniformly and gradually adjusting the gap between the tip of the rotor blades and the compressor shroud and without causing major maintenance event due to shaft crashing into bearing (see paragraph 72, Omernik).
In regards to claim 5, Snell further teaches an axial support assembly (supports 214, 218, see fig. 3) arranged on the shaft to axially support the shaft relative to the motor (supports 214, 218 on shaft 208, see fig. 3 and paragraph 26).
In regards to claim 6, Snell further teaches the axial support assembly comprises permanent magnetic bearings (magnetic bearings 214, 218, see fig. 3 and paragraphs 26-27).
In regards to claim 7, Snell further teaches a first motor unit (first end of the motor 238 with the surrounding components, see fig. 3), a second motor unit (second end of the motor 240 with the surrounding components, see fig. 3), and a magnetic bearing unit (magnetic bearings 214, 218, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 8, Snell further teaches that the first motor unit provides two degrees of freedom (with respect to the first end 238, the motor 104 is reversible with AC current to provide clockwise and counterclockwise movement, see paragraph 17; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraph 26), the second motor unit provides two degrees of freedom (with respect to the second end 240, the motor 104 is reversible with AC current to provide clockwise and counterclockwise movement, see paragraph 17; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraph 26), and the magnetic bearing unit provides one degree of freedom (rotational movement, see paragraph 26).
In regards to claim 9, Snell further teaches that the first motor unit provides a radial degree of freedom (rotational movement and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraphs 17 and 26-27), and the second motor unit provides a radial degree of freedom (rotational movement and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraphs 17 and 26-27), and the magnetic bearing unit provides an axial degree of freedom (see axial shaft support by magnetic bearings, see paragraph 27).
In regards to claim 10, Snell further teaches a motor unit (first and second ends 238, 240 of the motor with surrounding components, see fig. 3), and a magnetic bearing unit (magnetic bearings 214, 218, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 11, Snell further teaches that the motor unit provides two degrees of freedom (with respect to the first end 238, the motor 104 is reversible with AC current to provide clockwise and counterclockwise movement, see paragraph 17; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraph 26; and with respect to the second end 240, the motor 104 is reversible with AC current to provide clockwise and counterclockwise movement, see paragraph 17; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraph 26) and the magnetic bearing unit provides three degrees of freedom (each magnetic bearing 214, 216, 218, of the magnetic bearing assembly provides at least one degree of freedom, see paragraphs 26-27).
In regards to claim 12, Snell further teaches that the motor unit provides a radial degree of freedom (with respect to the first and second ends 238, 240, the motor 104 is reversible with AC current to provide clockwise and counterclockwise movement, see paragraph 17; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement, see paragraph 26) and the magnetic bearing unit provides axial and radial degrees of freedom (see axial shaft support by magnetic bearings, see paragraph 27; and levitation allows motor shaft some radial movement due to magnetic bearings, see paragraph 26).
In regards to claim 13, Snell as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Sakuragi further teaches that the motor is a bearingless motor (bearningless motor 20, see paragraphs 22-29).
In regards to claim 14, Snell further teaches that the working fluid passing through the condenser, the expansion valve, the evaporator, the compressor, and back to the condenser defines a vapor phase cycle (vapor compression system, see paragraphs 6, and 16-19).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snell (US 2019/0074749 A1) in view of Sakuragi and Harrison and Omernik as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fujimoto (WO 2014/010634 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Snell teaches the limitations of claim 2 except a gear assembly arranged between the shaft and the compressor.
However, Fujimoto teaches a gear assembly (48, 48’, see figs. 11) arranged between the shaft (49) and the compressor (compressor 1, fig. 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shaft of the control system of Snell by providing a gear assembly arranged between the shaft and the compressor as taught by Fujimoto for the advantage of generating power at various angles due to geared connection with the shaft.
Claim(s) 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klimpel (US 2015/0013355 A1) and in view of Snell (US 2019/0074749 A1) and further in view of Sakuragi (US 2024/0022132 A1) and Harrison (US 3227418 A) and Omernik (US 2023/0366600 A1).
In regards to claim 15, Klimpel teaches an aircraft (abstract and paragraphs 21-22) comprising:
a cabin (aircraft cabin, see paragraphs 21-22, 33); and
an environmental control system (compressor, condenser, evaporator for cooling, see paragraphs 17-20, and 35-36) comprising: a condenser (42, 20); an expansion valve (60, 80); an evaporator (evaporator 38, see paragraph 57); and a compressor (72, 18) rotationally driven by an integrated magnetic bearing (magnetic bearing 88, see paragraph 60); and a working fluid (refrigerant) is passed through the condenser (74), the expansion valve (80), the evaporator (38), the compressor (72), and back to the condenser (see fig. 1).
However, Klimpel does not explicitly teach plurality of bearings and compressor driven by motor with magnetic bearings.
Snell teaches an environmental control system of an aircraft (HVAC system for environmental control, see paragraph 18 that is usable for an aircraft) comprising: a condenser (106); an expansion valve (expansion device, see paragraph 19); an evaporator (108); and a impeller compressor (at least impeller 232 and compressor 102) rotationally driven by a motor (104) having integrated magnetic bearings (104 includes magnetic bearings 214, 216, 218, see paragraph 26), wherein a working fluid (refrigerant) is passed through the condenser, the expansion valve, the evaporator, the compressor, and back to the condenser (refrigerant passed through condenser, expansion valve, evaporator and compressor and returned back to condenser, see paragraph 19). Snell also teaches at least one rotor (at least rotor 204 of motor 104, see figs. 1-3); a motor (104) having integrated magnetic bearings (104 includes magnetic bearings 214, 216, 218, see paragraph 26) configured to support the compressor and at least one rotor (214, 216, 218 supporting rotor 206 and shaft 208, see fig. 3; paragraph 27; and claim 26); and a controller (control panel 114 and control drive 110, see paragraphs 16-17) configured to control operation of the compressor cycle (see paragraph 16); and control a clearance/gap between the motor jacket and the housing and between the stator and the rotor (see claim 26 and paragraph 25) during operation of the environmental control system (see paragraphs 27-29, for operating conditions being maintained and varied), using radial position control of the magnetic bearing assembly (see paragraph 27).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the environmental control system of the aircraft of Klimpel by providing a condenser; an expansion valve; an evaporator; and a compressor rotationally driven by a motor having integrated magnetic bearings, wherein a working fluid is passed through the condenser, the expansion valve, the evaporator, the compressor, and back to the condenser based on the teachings of Snell in order to allow the compressor to function efficiently without a major maintenance event due to shaft crashing into bearing.
However, Klimpel is silent about noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator.
Sakuragi discloses a compressor and electric motor (see abstract), wherein the motor (20) comprises a stator (40) comprising windings (stator windings 60, see paragraph 28) configured to generate a magnetic field (see paragraph 28) and the shaft comprises a set of rotor magnets (plurality of rotor magnets 16) arranged relative to the windings (see fig. 3 and paragraph 28) to cause rotation of the shaft in response to the generated magnetic field and to provide noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator (see paragraphs 39-41 and claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of the environmental control system of Klimpel by providing the shaft with a set of rotor magnets arranged relative to the windings to cause rotation of the shaft in response to the generated magnetic field and to provide noncontact magnetic suspension between the shaft and the stator based on the teachings of Sakuragi for the advantage of generating a magnetic pole inside the stator and to have the suspension windings of the same phase connected together in parallel (see paragraphs 3-4, Sakuragi).
Klimpel also does not explicitly teach a proximity sensor arranged on the compressor shroud to detect gap between the rotor and the shroud; and the controller correcting the position of the rotor based on detected clearance gap.
However, Harrison teaches a rotor blade (13), a compressor shroud (14), a proximity sensor (proximity sensor 65, col. 5, lines 14-18) arranged on the compressor shroud (sensor 65 on compressor shroud 14, figs. 3 and 9), the at least one proximity sensor configured to detect a clearance gap between a tip of rotor blades of the at least one rotor and the compressor shroud (sensor 65 measuring gap between tip of blade 13 and compressor shroud 14, see figs. 3, 9; col. 5, lines 5-22; and claims 2-3); and a controller (control 66) in communication with the at least one proximity sensor (see fig. 9), the controller configured to continuously monitor the clearance gap (control 66 receives sensor signals from proximity sensor 65, see col. 5, lines 14-22) and configured to control the actuator (40) to continuously correct at least one of an axial and a radial position of the shroud based on the detected clearance gap (by adjusting the radial clearance between the shroud and the rotor, see figs. 3-7, 9; col. 5, lines 5-16; and claims 2-4) during operation of the environmental control system (while supplying hydraulic fluid to the actuator of the turbomachine, see col. 5, lines 14-22).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compressor shroud and rotor assembly of Klimpel as modified by providing a proximity sensor at the compressor shroud as taught by Harrison in order to accurately measure the gap between the shroud and the tip of the rotor blade to monitor compressor efficiency based on gap between the shroud and the rotor tip. It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Klimpel as modified to monitor a clearance gap between a tip of the rotor blades and the compressor shroud, to communicate with the at least one proximity sensor to continuously monitor the clearance gap and control the actuator to continuously correct at least one of an axial and a radial position of the shroud based on the detected clearance gap based on the teachings of Harrison in order to maintain efficiency of the compressor by adjusting a controlled gap between the compressor shroud and tip of the rotor blades, where spacing between the blades and the shroud leaks gas flow and allows the blade tips to wear (see col. 1, lines 15-46, Harrison).
Klimpel also does not explicitly teach magnetic bearing control based on detected clearance gap.
However, Omernik teaches a controller (360) configured to monitor a clearance gap between a rotating component of the compressor and a stationary component of the compressor (controller 360 with position sensors 282, 283 measures clearance gap between stationary component and the rotor of the compressor, see paragraphs 23-24, 38 and 47-50), the controller configured to control the motor having integrated magnetic bearings (401, 411) to correct the clearance gap (see adjusting/calibrating gap between the shaft and stationary component, paragraphs 61, 84, 56, 47 and figs. 5-7) in response to the detected clearance gap being outside a predetermined threshold (clearance gap outside the calibrated value, location range or threshold value, see paragraphs 84, 91). In addition, Omernik teaches calibration during compressor operation (see paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller during the operation of the environmental system of Snell to monitor a clearance gap between a rotating component of the compressor and a stationary component of the compressor, the controller configured to control the motor having integrated magnetic bearings to continuously correct for a detected clearance gap in response to the detected clearance gap being outside a predetermined threshold during the operation of the environmental control system based on the teachings of Omernik in order to improve efficiency and functionality of the compressor by uniformly and gradually adjusting the gap between the tip of the rotor blades and the compressor shroud and without causing major maintenance event due to shaft crashing into bearing (see paragraph 72, Omernik).
In regards to claim 17, Klimpel as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Snell further teaches a first motor unit (first end of the motor 238 with the surrounding components, see fig. 3), a second motor unit (second end of the motor 240 with the surrounding components, see fig. 3), and a magnetic bearing unit (magnetic bearings 214, 218, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 18, Klimpel as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Snell further teaches a motor unit (first and second ends 238, 240 of the motor with surrounding components, see fig. 3), and a magnetic bearing unit (magnetic bearings 214, 218, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 19, Klimpel as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the motor does not include any mechanical bearings (Klimpel does not include any mechanical bearings, see paragraph 60).
In regards to claim 20, Klimpel as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further teaches that the working fluid (refrigerant) passing through the condenser (74), the expansion valve (80), the evaporator (38), the compressor (72), and back to the condenser (see fig. 1) defines a vapor phase cycle (refrigerating apparatus 68 circulating refrigerant, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 57-59). Snell further discloses an impeller compressor (impeller 230 of compressor 102, see paragraph 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on most of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1 and 15 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Snell in view of Sakuragi and Harrison and Omernik; and over Klimpel in view of Snell and Sakuragi and Harrison and Omernik respectively.
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/04/2025 in the remarks have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "cited reference do not teach that the environmental control system controls position of the clearance gap during operation of the system because cited references do not teach active control/correction of the clearance gap via bearings," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that every claimed component of the independent claims 1 and 15 is part of the environmental control system, hence operation of any component including the impeller, compressor or the controller configured to control or detect compressor actions or clearance gaps is performed during an operation of the environmental control system. In addition, Snell teaches that the controller is configured to continuously control the operation of the compressor while clearance gas is being adjusted (see paragraph 16 and claim 26). Also, Omernik teaches calibration during compressor operation (see paragraph 5). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, "Omernik teaches calibration in response to prior or past events and not active and continuous monitoring," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that Omernik teaches calibration during compressor operation (see paragraph 5; also see above rejection of claims 1 and 15). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763