DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (6 – 13 – 2025) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (6 – 13 – 2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Schlüsselbauer et al. (US 20150246460 A1, hereinafter Schlüsselbauer) / Schlüsselbauer as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of
The combination of Schlüsselbauer and Schlüsselbauer II (US 20020001514 A1) is found to rely on hindsight reasoning.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Schlüsselbauer / Schlüsselbauer as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As detailed in the action of (4 – 22 – 2025) Schlüsselbauer is found to teach on ([0040]) that a preferred aspect of the present invention, the system comprises a control device for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations and the mold conveyor. Furthermore, the control device is preferably adapted to control the transport device. As such, the entire fabrication process is understood to be automated include the conveyor(s) and transport device. With Schlüsselbauer being modified by Schlüsselbauer II disclosure. Schlüsselbauer II teaching on ([0004]) that the invention is to provide an installation for hardening tubular concrete workpieces. ([0018]) teaches the workpieces 1, but also the cover plate segments 4 can be lifted by the overhead travelling crane 6. ([0003]) teaches that if tubular workpieces are subjected to vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening, the workpieces must be placed in chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization. To achieve this, chambers are known which are open at the top and which are closed by means of cover plates. To load and unload the chambers the cover plates must be opened before the workpieces can be inserted or removed. Due to the size of the relatively heavy cover plates. As such, Schlüsselbauer II disclose the use of cover plates which act as applicant’s sleeve (formerly identified as muff). As such, Schlüsselbauer II teaches the use and placement of a cover plates via cranes on the mold and chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization.Additionally, as illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 6) the intermediate storage area P3 is found to be provided downstream of the mold assembly station 5. As such, the intermediate storage area is provided downstream of the mold assembly station.
As detailed above, Schlüsselbauer II teaches that the benefit of implementing the cover plates, is it provides for a vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening process. Accordingly, Schlüsselbauer II is found to provide motivation for modifying Schlüsselbauer. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Schlüsselbauer / Schlüsselbauer as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 7 and 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "…the circulation system comprises…" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, applicant does have sufficient antecedent basis for the automated circulation system
Claim 7 recites the limitation "…the circulation system…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "…the circulation system …" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 7 & 10 – 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlüsselbauer et al. (US 20150246460 A1, hereinafter Schlüsselbauer) and in view of Johann Schlüsselbauer (US 20020001514 A1, hereinafter Schlüsselbauer II)Regarding claim 1,
A system for producing concrete products by casting moulds having outer and inner moulds, the system comprising an automated circulation system comprising:
- a hardening area configured to store concrete products hardening in a respective casting mould;
- an automated manufacturing area comprising a plurality of automated manufacturing devices; and
- a conveying unit comprising automated circulation conveyor sections configured to convey the casting moulds or the outer and inner moulds of the casting moulds from the hardening area to the automated manufacturing area, between respective manufacturing devices in the automated manufacturing area, and from the automated manufacturing area into the hardening area,
wherein the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system comprises:
- an automated filling unit configured to fill one or more casting moulds with concrete; and
- an assembly station for placing an upper sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould,
wherein the assembly station is arranged downstream of the filling unit,
wherein the automated manufacturing area comprises an intermediate storage area for intermediate storage of filled casting moulds before release into the hardening area,
wherein the intermediate storage area is provided for allowing release of air from a filled casting mould prior to closure with the upper sleeve,
wherein the intermediate storage area is provided downstream of the assembly station; and
wherein the upper sleeve is automatically placed on the casting moulds for closure of the casting moulds.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
([0001]) teaches the casting molds each have an upright outer mold and a mold core arranged in the upright outer mold.
([0021]) teaches that the system comprises a curing zone for storing a plurality of filled casting molds.
([0008]) teaches that the system comprises a fabrication zone having a plurality of fully automated fabrication stations and a mold conveyor for conveying the casting molds.
([0054]) teaches that a conveyor system is provided between all various points in the manufacturing cycle. ([0081] — [0083]) adding that the system comprises a fabrication zone having a plurality of fully automated fabrication stations and a mold conveyor for conveying the casting molds or the outer mold and the mold core of casting molds between the fabrication stations.Additionally, ([0077]) teaches that the transport device 30 is adapted to receive a casting mold stored in curing zone B and transport it to the mold feeding position P1 and receive a casting mold arranged at the mold releasing position P3 and transport it to the corresponding storage position in the curing zone. As illustrated in (Figs. 1-2) a conveyor system and transportation device are found to provide an automated circulation conveyor between all manufacturing stations including between the hardening area to the automated manufacturing area, between the manufacturing devices in the automated manufacturing area, and from the automated manufacturing area back into the hardening area. Accordingly, while only a single conveyor system and/or transportation system is illustrated, it is understood that these can be duplicated to convey parts for one zone or area to another zone or area, expecting the same result of being able to transfer an article from one area or zone to the other. Consequently, citing the case law for the duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The court held that unexpected result is produced. Schlüsselbauer discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the conveyor system or transport device, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the conveyor system or transportation device for the purpose of being able to transfer a desired number of article from one area or zone to the other. Thus, a conveyor system and/or a transportation device between the additional fabrication stations is understood to be within the art.
([0009]) teaches that the system comprises at least one mold assembly station for assembling a casting mold from an outer mold and a mold core and at least one filling station for filling an assembled casting mold with concrete.
& f.) ([0052]) teaches that additional fabrication stations can be provided sequentially or preferably in parallel (e.g., also by bypassing other regular fabrication stations), including optional manual machining stations where the special product to be manually machined can be taken temporarily from the fully automatic circulation cycle. As such, additional fabrication may be placed before and after
& h.) ([0091]) teaches that the conveyor 20 is adapted to convey a casting mold filled with concrete at the first filling station 6 a to a first mold releasing position P3 a and to convey a casting mold filled with concrete at the second filling station 6 b to a second mold releasing position P3 b. As such, the mold releasing position P3 acts as intermediate storage for the filled casting moulds prior to moving and releasing them into the hardening area via the transport device 30.Highlighting, (Figs. 9-10) shows the molds being filled, and which are then moved to P3, where the mold are found to be open to their external environment and thus provide for a release of air from a filled casting mould, while in the intermediate storage area P3. Accordingly, at the mold at releasing position P3 the mold is understood to lack a cover / top / or capping, as such with the top of the mold is open / exposed to atmospheric conditions, which it is understood as being capable of allowing the release of air from a filled casting mould.
As detailed in (Figs. 1 – 6) the intermediate storage area P3 is found to be provided downstream of the mold assembly station 5.
([0040]) teaches that a preferred aspect of the present invention, the system comprises a control device for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations and the mold conveyor. Furthermore, the control device is preferably adapted to control the transport device. As such, the entire fabrication process is understood to be automated include the conveyor(s) and transport device.
Regarding Claim 1, Schlüsselbauer by teaches the above detailed including a transportation device for moving the workpieces from intermediate storage to the hardening station. Schlüsselbauer is silent on implementing an assembly station for placing an upper sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould. In analogous art for the production of a concrete article, Schlüsselbauer II suggests details regarding an assembly station for placing an sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould, and in this regard, Schlüsselbauer II teaches the following:
& h.) ([0004]) teaches that the invention is to provide an installation for hardening tubular concrete workpieces. ([0018]) teaches the workpieces 1, but also the cover plate segments 4 can be lifted by the overhead travelling crane 6. ([0003]) teaches that if tubular workpieces are subjected to vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening, the workpieces must be placed in chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization. To achieve this, chambers are known which are open at the top and which are closed by means of cover plates. To load and unload the chambers the cover plates must be opened before the workpieces can be inserted or removed. Due to the size of the relatively heavy cover plates.
([0004]) teaches that the invention is to provide an installation for hardening tubular concrete workpieces. ([0018]) teaches the workpieces 1, but also the cover plate segments 4 can be lifted by the overhead travelling crane 6. ([0003]) teaches that if tubular workpieces are subjected to vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening, the workpieces must be placed in chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization. To achieve this, chambers are known which are open at the top and which are closed by means of cover plates. To load and unload the chambers the cover plates must be opened before the workpieces can be inserted or removed. Due to the size of the relatively heavy cover plates. Where the cover plates act as applicant’s upper sleeve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Schlüsselbauer. By modifying the transportation device to include a crane that provides for moving not only workpieces but a cover plate on and off the workpieces, as taught by Schlüsselbauer II. Highlighting, one would motivate to implement a crane that transports cover plates on and off the workpieces is it provides for a vaporization process to achieve more effective hardening, ([0016]). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim(s) 5 – 6 as applied to claim 1 & 5 respectively,
Wherein a release unit is provided for releasing a casting mould filled in the automated filling unit into the hardening area.
Wherein the release unit has a program-controlled, automated fitting device for fitting a sleeve on a filled casting mould.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
& 6a.) ([0077]) teaches that a transport device 30 is adapted to receive a casting mold stored in curing zone B and transport it to the mold feeding position P1 and receive a casting mold arranged at the mold releasing position P3 and transport it to the corresponding storage position in the curing zone. ([0086]) adding that the system comprises a control device (not shown) for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations 1 to 6, the mold conveyor 20 and the transport device 30. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Fig. 10) the transport device is shown for releasing a casting mould filled in the automated filling unit into the hardening area.Accordingly, while only a single transportation system is illustrated, it is understood that these can be duplicated to convey parts for one zone or area to another zone or area, expecting the same result of being able to transfer an article from one area or zone to the other. Consequently, citing the case law for the duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The court held that unexpected result is produced. Schlüsselbauer discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the transport device, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the transportation device for the purpose of being able to transfer a desired number of article from one area or zone to the other. Thus, a transportation device between the fabrication stations is understood to be within the art.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system has an automated demoulding unit for demoulding of a casting mould arriving from the hardening area and for removal of a hardened concrete product.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
([0009]) teaches that the fabrication zone has at least one demolding station for removing an outer mold from a casting mold positioned at the demolding station and for removing a cured tubular concrete product from a mold core positioned at the demolding station. ([0040]) teaches that the system comprises a control device for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations and the mold conveyor.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the filling unit has a multitude of automated filling stations for parallel filling of multiple casting moulds with concrete in the filling unit.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
([0039]) teaches that a plurality of filling stations can furthermore be provided, wherein the conveyor is preferably adapted to convey the casting mold assembled at the assembly station to each of the plurality of filling stations
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the system has a control unit for programmed control of the manufacturing devices of the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system and the conveying unit.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
([0086]) teaches that, the system comprises a control device (not shown) for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations 1 to 6, the mold conveyor 20 and the transport device 30. Thus, all fabrication stations 1 to 6 and the mold conveyor 20 can be controlled in harmony with one another.
B.) Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlüsselbauer in view of Schlüsselbauer II and in further view of Hume et al. (US-2006/0,138,688, hereinafter Hume)Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the automated demoulding unit has a grab for removing a hardened concrete product from a casting mould.
Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
([0040]) teaches that the control device is preferably adapted to control the transport device. ([0077]) teaches that the transport device 30 is adapted to move the gripping device 30 c. Noting, that the transportation device was already noted to act as applicants release unit. However, the duplication of parts can be applied for a second unit that operates in a similar manner for transporting molding units from one location to another. Consequently, citing the case law for the duplication of parts. In re Harza, 21A F.2d 669, 124 USPQ378 (CCPA 1960). The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Schlüsselbauer discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the transport device, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the transport device for the purpose of or transporting molding units from one location to another.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Schlüsselbauer as modified by Schlüsselbauer II teaches the above detailed. Schlüsselbauer as modified by Schlüsselbauer II is silent on details regarding grab for removing a hardened concrete product. In analogous art as applied above, Hume II suggests details regarding the intermediate storage area after filling station, and in this regard, Hume II teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that the curing carousels 57 and 58 are similar to the carousels of FIGS. 1 to 4 and using the same carrying ring as described for FIGS. 6 to 8. An articulated lifting beam 54 transfers the reinforcing cage to the moulds, the moulded poles to the curing carousels and then the cured poles 55 back to the truss 56 for removal to the storage and transport section of the plant. The lifting beam or crane 54 is guided to each pick-up and delivery point by a programmable logic controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Schlüsselbauer as modified by Schlüsselbauer II. By further augmenting the concrete fabrication process to including grabbing unit, as taught by Hume II. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implemented a grabbing unit as it provides a means for moving the articles and molds from one workstation to another, and removal of the article from the fabrication process to the storage and transport sections of the plant, ([0048]).C.) Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlüsselbauer in view of Schlüsselbauer II and in further view of Jani Eilola (US 20150314480 A1, hereinafter Eilola)Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the automated demoulding unit has a grab for removing a hardened concrete product from a casting mould.
Regarding Claim 9, Schlüsselbauer as modified by Schlüsselbauer II teaches the above detailed. Schlüsselbauer as modified by Schlüsselbauer II is silent on the demoulding unit has a grab for removing a hardened concrete product. In analogous art for the production of a concrete block that utilizes, a conveying device, a filling station, and other manufacturing stations, Eilola gives details regarding a crane mechanism in the demoulding unit, and in this regard Eilola teaches the following:
([0039]) teaches that once the concrete products in their molds are cured, the molds are moved out of the curing chamber 13, 13' to workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' for demoulding, where the mold sidewalls are removed from the mold table. Between the demoulding workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' is arranged additional buffer place 16, 16’, which can alternatively also be used as an additional demoulding workstation, in the last phase the cured concrete products are removed from the mold table in workstation 17, 17', which is implemented by tilting the mold table, fixing lifting hooks to lifting lugs located in the products and lifting the concrete products with a crane from the workstations to a separate removal carriages 23, 23’, the tracks of which are shown in the figure extending from the circulating line casting process lines, and moved to storage. When the cast, concrete product is moved from the mold table, the mold table is moved to the workstation 5, 5' for cleaning and for a new casting process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Schlüsselbauer as modified above. By further augmenting the system to include a crane in the demoulding station, as taught by Eilola, due to the fact it would amount to nothing more than a use of a known moving mechanism for harden concrete products, implemented for its intended use, in a known environment, to accomplish entirely expected result, as suggested by Eilola. here a crane for moving the harden concrete product, provides a known means for lifting concrete products with a crane from the workstations to separate removal carriages for further transportation and storage, ([0039]). Accordingly, applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the case law related to KSR to be recited, ''A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.'' KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).D.) Claim(s) 1 – 2, 7 & 9 – 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilola and in further view of Schlüsselbauer IIRegarding claim 1,
A system for producing concrete products by casting moulds having outer and inner moulds, the system comprising an automated circulation system comprising:
- a hardening area configured to store concrete products hardening in a respective casting mould;
- an automated manufacturing area comprising a plurality of automated manufacturing devices; and
- a conveying unit comprising automated circulation conveyor sections configured to convey the casting moulds or the outer and inner moulds of the casting moulds from the hardening area to the automated manufacturing area, between respective manufacturing devices in the automated manufacturing area, and from the automated manufacturing area into the hardening area,
wherein the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system comprises:
- an automated filling unit configured to fill one or more casting moulds with concrete; and
- an assembly station for placing an upper sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould,
wherein the assembly station is arranged downstream of the filling unit,
wherein the automated manufacturing area comprises an intermediate storage area for intermediate storage of filled casting moulds before release into the hardening area,
wherein the intermediate storage area is provided for allowing release of air from a filled casting mould prior to closure with the upper sleeve,
wherein the intermediate storage area is provided downstream of the assembly station; and
wherein the upper sleeve is automatically placed on the casting moulds for closure of the casting moulds.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0037]) teaches that after casting the concrete in the molds, the molds with cast products are moved to a curing chamber 13, 13′.
([0036]) teaches a circulating line casting processes 1, 1′ comprises plurality of work phases or workstations which are located side by side in the lengthwise direction of the processes in two separate workstation
([0023]) teaches casting mold tables are transferred from one workstation to another, characterized in that the time which a mold table. ([0037]) adding that that the casting mold tables are transferred to each station including from the curing chamber 13, 13 to the automated manufacturing area including to workstations 14, 14′ and 15, 15′ for demoulding, and, between respective manufacturing devices and stations at workstations 6, 6′ and 7, 7′. Once the mold is ready, the required reinforcements are added and in-stalled in the mold in workstations 8, 8′, 9, 9′, 10, 10′ and 11, 11’, and from the automated manufacturing area into the curing chamber 13, 13.
([0037]) teaches the casting of the concrete mass is carried out in workstation 12, 12′.
([0007]) teaches movement of molds from one workstation to another is generally implemented with manual operation of the transferring equipment after required work steps in the workstation to the mold table are done and the next workstation is ready to receive the mold table, or there is empty buffer zone located after the workstation. Accordingly, the use of a buffer zone after workstations is understood be disclosed. Highlighting, that (Fig. 1) shows a single blank (buffer zone) between casting workstation 12, 12′ and curing chamber 13, 13. As such, an intermediate storage is understood to be provided after the filling and before release into the curing area. Highlighting, ([0039]) speaks to providing an additional buffer place 16, 16 between the demoulding workstations 14, 14′ and 15, 15′. As such, if it is determined that a buffer zone after the filling and before release into the hardening area is not directly spoken to. The case law for duplication of parts may be recited. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.
As noted above, concrete mass is carried out in workstation 12, 12′. With (Fig. 1) shows a single blank (buffer zone) between casting workstation 12, 12′ and curing chamber 13, 13. Additionally, Eilola makes no mention of the mold comprising a cover / top / or capping, noting that at least one portion is understood to be open to allow for casting of the concrete into the mold. As such, the mold at the single blank (buffer zone) between casting workstation 12, 12′ and curing chamber 13, 13 is understood to lack a cover / top / capping, as such with the top of the mold is open / exposed to atmospheric conditions, which it is understood as being capable of allowing the release of air from a filled casting mould.
([0037]) teaches that the first work phase carried out in first workstation 5, 5′ is the cleaning of the mold table, after which the mold table is moved to furnishing stage where mold sidewalls are fixed to the mold table to form the casting mold, which is carried out in workstations 6, 6′ and 7, 7′. Accordingly, assembly of the mold is found to transpire at workstations 6, 6′ and 7, 7′. As such, the workstations 6, 6′ and 7, 7′ are understood to act as applicant’s automated assembly station. As noted above in (g), (Fig. 1) illustrates a single blank (buffer zone) between casting workstation 12, 12′ and curing chamber 13, 13. As such, an intermediate storage is understood to be provided after the filling and before release into the curing area. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Fig. 1), the single blank (buffer zone) between casting workstation 12, 12′ and curing chamber 13, 13, is found to be downstream of the assembly workstations 6, 6′ and 7, 7′.
([0008]) teaches that the circulating line casting process may also be equipped with an automatic control system. Further, the automatic control system may be used to provide required materials as well as relating product information to a specific mold and mold table in time for each workstation. ([0014]) teaches that the circulating line casting process is preferably controlled to allow passage of a mold table through all or some of the workstations and the required work steps without additional delays in order to obtain correct time determinations for the time a mold table is worked in a workstation. As such, the automatic control system provides for automating the various workstation and operations.
Regarding Claim 1, Eilola by teaches the above detailed including a transportation device for moving the workpieces from intermediate storage to the hardening station. Eilola is silent on implementing an assembly station for placing an upper sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould. In analogous art for the production of a concrete article, Schlüsselbauer II suggests details regarding an assembly station for placing an upper sleeve onto an already concrete-filled casting mould, and in this regard, Schlüsselbauer II teaches the following:
, f.) & h.) ([0004]) teaches that the invention is to provide an installation for hardening tubular concrete workpieces. ([0018]) teaches the workpieces 1, but also the cover plate segments 4 can be lifted by the overhead travelling crane 6. ([0003]) teaches that if tubular workpieces are subjected to vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening, the workpieces must be placed in chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization. To achieve this, chambers are known which are open at the top and which are closed by means of cover plates. To load and unload the chambers the cover plates must be opened before the workpieces can be inserted or removed. Due to the size of the relatively heavy cover plates.
([0004]) teaches that the invention is to provide an installation for hardening tubular concrete workpieces. ([0018]) teaches the workpieces 1, but also the cover plate segments 4 can be lifted by the overhead travelling crane 6. ([0003]) teaches that if tubular workpieces are subjected to vaporization to facilitate a more effective hardening, the workpieces must be placed in chambers for hardening which are closed for vaporization. To achieve this, chambers are known which are open at the top and which are closed by means of cover plates. To load and unload the chambers the cover plates must be opened before the workpieces can be inserted or removed. Due to the size of the relatively heavy cover plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Eilola. By modifying the transportation device to include a crane that provides for moving not only workpieces but a cover plate on and off the workpieces, as taught by Schlüsselbauer II. Highlighting, one would motivate to implement a crane that transports cover plates on and off the workpieces is it provides for a vaporization process to achieve more effective hardening, ([0016]). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system has an automated demoulding unit for demoulding of a casting mould arriving from the hardening area and for removal of a hardened concrete product.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0039]) teaches once the concrete products in their molds are cured, the molds are moved out of the curing chamber 13, 13′ to workstations 14, 14′ and 15, 15′ for demoulding.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the automated demoulding unit has a grab for removing a hardened concrete product from a casting mould.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0039]) teaches that once the concrete products in their molds are cured, the molds are moved out of the curing chamber 13, 13' to workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' for demoulding, where the mold sidewalls are removed from the mold table. Between the demoulding workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' is arranged additional buffer place 16, 16’, which can alternatively also be used as an additional demoulding workstation, in the last phase the cured concrete products are removed from the mold table in workstation 17, 17', which is implemented by tilting the mold table, fixing lifting hooks to lifting lugs located in the products and lifting the concrete products with a crane from the workstations to a separate removal carriages 23, 23’, the tracks of which are shown in the figure extending from the circulating line casting process lines, and moved to storage. When the cast, concrete product is moved from the mold table, the mold table is moved to the workstation 5, 5' for cleaning and for a new casting process.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the filling unit has a multitude of automated filling stations for parallel filling of multiple casting moulds with concrete in the filling unit.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0037]) teaches nest the casting of the concrete mass is carried out in workstation 12, 12′. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Fig. 1) the concrete manufacturing system comprises a plurality of automated filling stations for parallel filling of multiple casting moulds.
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the system has a control unit for programmed control of the manufacturing devices of the automated manufacturing area of the circulation system and the conveying unit.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0008]) teaches that the circulating line casting process may also be equipped with an automatic control system. Further, the automatic control system may be used to provide required materials as well as relating product information to a specific mold and mold table in time for each workstation. ([0014]) teaches that the circulating line casting process is preferably controlled to allow passage of a mold table through all or some of the workstations and the required work steps without additional delays in order to obtain correct time determinations for the time a mold table is worked in a workstation. As such, the automatic control system provides for automating the various workstation and operations.
E.) Claim(s) 5 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilola in view of Schlüsselbauer II and in further view of SchlüsselbauerRegarding claim(s) 5 – 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein a release unit is provided for releasing a casting mould filled in the automated filling unit into the hardening area.
Wherein the release unit has a program-controlled, automated fitting device for fitting a muff on a filled casting mould.
Regarding Claim(s) 5 – 6, Eilola teaches the above detailed including a transportation device for moving the workpieces from carriage to the workstation is provided, ([0040]). Eilola is silent on details regarding a releasing unit. In analogous art as applied above, Schlüsselbauer II suggests details regarding the releasing unit, and in this regard, Schlüsselbauer II teaches the following:
– 6a.) ([0016]) teaches that the installation for hardening tubular workpieces 1 features numerous adjacent chambers 2 which are open at the top and can be closed with cover plates 3. ([0017]) teaches that This hoist 9 consists of a supporting frame 10 which travels above the workpieces 1 to be hoisted and on which the brackets 11 for encompassing the exterior of the workpieces are arranged, as can be seen in FIG.3. As such, a crane is provided for releasing the filled mould into the hardening area. ([0018]) adds that in accordance with FIG. 5 the cover plate segments 4 may be pick-up recesses 15 for the dogs 12 on the brackets 11, with the recesses designed to accommodate the bracket arrangement. As such, a bracket is provided the moves both the workpieces and the cover plates.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding Claim(s) 5 – 6, Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II teaches the above detailed including a transportation device for moving the workpieces from carriage to the workstation is provided, ([0040]). Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II is silent on details regarding the path of a releasing unit and control device. In analogous art as applied above, Schlüsselbauer suggests details regarding the path of a releasing unit and control device, and in this regard, Schlüsselbauer teaches the following:
– 6a.) ([0040]) teaches that a control device for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations and the mold conveyor. Furthermore, the control device is preferably adapted to control the transport device. ([0077]) teaches that a transport device 30 is adapted to receive a casting mold stored in curing zone B and transport it to the mold feeding position P1 and receive a casting mold arranged at the mold releasing position P3 and transport it to the corresponding storage position in the curing zone. ([0086]) adding that the system comprises a control device (not shown) for controlling the fully automated fabrication stations 1 to 6, the mold conveyor 20 and the transport device 30. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Fig. 10) the transport device is shown for releasing a casting mould filled in the automated filling unit into the hardening area via brackets. Accordingly, while only a single transportation system is illustrated, it is understood that these can be duplicated to convey parts for one zone or area to another zone or area, expecting the same result of being able to transfer an article from one area or zone to the other. Consequently, citing the case law for the duplication of parts. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The court held that unexpected result is produced. Schlüsselbauer discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the transport device, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the transportation device for the purpose of being able to transfer a desired number of article from one area or zone to the other. Thus, a transportation device between the fabrication stations is understood to be within the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II. By further augmenting the system to include an automated mold conveyor 20, a transport device 30, as taught by Schlüsselbauer. Highlighting, one would be motivated to include an automated transport device 30 in conjunction with the mold conveyor as it provides for transporting the mold between various workstations including a mold releasing position P3 to the storage position in the curing zone and the mold releasing position or the mold feeding position of the fabrication zone, ([0022] & [0072]).F.) Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eilola in view of Schlüsselbauer II and in further view of HumeRegarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein the automated demoulding unit has a grab for removing a hardened concrete product from a casting mould.
Eilola teaches the following:
([0039]) teaches that once the concrete products in their molds are cured, the molds are moved out of the curing chamber 13, 13' to workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' for demoulding, where the mold sidewalls are removed from the mold table. Between the demoulding workstations 14, 14' and 15, 15' is arranged additional buffer place 16, 16’, which can alternatively also be used as an additional demoulding workstation, in the last phase the cured concrete products are removed from the mold table in workstation 17, 17', which is implemented by tilting the mold table, fixing lifting hooks to lifting lugs located in the products and lifting the concrete products with a crane from the workstations to a separate removal carriages 23, 23’, the tracks of which are shown in the figure extending from the circulating line casting process lines, and moved to storage. When the cast, concrete product is moved from the mold table, the mold table is moved to the workstation 5, 5' for cleaning and for a new casting process.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II teaches the above detailed. Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II is silent on details regarding grab for removing a hardened concrete product. In analogous art as applied above, Hume II suggests details regarding the intermediate storage area after filling station, and in this regard, Hume II teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that the curing carousels 57 and 58 are similar to the carousels of FIGS. 1 to 4 and using the same carrying ring as described for FIGS. 6 to 8. An articulated lifting beam 54 transfers the reinforcing cage to the moulds, the moulded poles to the curing carousels and then the cured poles 55 back to the truss 56 for removal to the storage and transport section of the plant. The lifting beam or crane 54 is guided to each pick-up and delivery point by a programmable logic controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production apparatus that comprises a curing zone, a fabrication zone with a plurality fully automated fabrication stations, at least one mold assembly station, a means for conveying the mold assemblies, and filling station of Eilola as modified by Schlüsselbauer II. By further augmenting the concrete fabrication process to including grabbing unit, as taught by Hume II. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implemented a grabbing unit as it provides a means for moving the articles and molds from one workstation to another, and removal of the article from the fabrication process to the storage and transport sections of the plant, ([0048]). Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johann Schlüsselbauer (US 20020095757 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) an apparatus for pulling a molding ring off a neck of a concrete tubular workpiece formed by the molding ring comprises two clamping jaws positioned diametrically opposite each other with respect to a vertical axis of the tubular workpiece, the clamping jaws overlapping the molding ring from above and engaging the workpiece below the molding ring
Johann Schlüsselbauer (US 20030205833 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a method for the automatic production of hollow bodies from mixed material, particularly concrete. A mold assembled from a mold core comprising a shaking device, an exterior mold and a bottom sprue is positioned in a molding area, non-solidified bulk material, particularly unset concrete, is uniformly filled into the mold space between the mold core and the exterior mold, the mixed material is compressed by shaking, an upper centering end is formed by pressing an upper sprue into the unset concrete column and thereafter the so formed.
Johann Schlüsselbauer (US 5533885 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) it is desired to simplify the design of an apparatus for manufacturing annular or tubular workpieces from concrete, which comprises a mold having a vertical axis and a mold cavity between a core and a shell. The shell surrounds and is radially spaced from the core, and the mold cavity, is adapted to be filled with concrete from above a feeding and distributing devices is radially guided relative to the mold and serve to feed and distribute the concrete which is to be dispensed into the mold cavity. A
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743