DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-15 remain pending in the application. Claim 2 was cancelled. Claims 13-15 were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire (US 20180370701 A1) in view of Conrad (US 20150090083 A1) and Francis (US 7059810 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Maguire teaches Cutting device configured to cut a cap intended to close a container, said cutting device including:
- a support member (75) to support at least one horizontal blade configured to perform at least one circumferential cut on the cap rolling on said cutting device along an advancement direction (see Figure 7); the at least one horizontal blade is a single piece (see Figure 7).
Maguire fails to teach at least one modular insert supported by said support member to perform at least one vertical or oblique cut on the cap; said at least one modular insert including at least one cutting element provided at an end thereof with a cutting edge, and at least one abutting block which is interchangeable, and which is couplable with said cutting element to fix a dimension of said at least one modular insert, said dimension being a length between said cutting edge and an abutting face of said at least one abutting block; said at least two abutting blocks which are interchangeable to obtain dimensions different to each other; said support member including a support body which includes, on a peripheral edge thereof and for each modular insert, a housing cavity, said modular insert being insertable in, and removable from, said housing cavity which is shaped for receiving said modular insert so that said cutting edge protrudes from said peripheral edge , said abutting face being configured to abut a back wall of said housing cavity so that a rear end of said cutting element opposed to said cutting edge is spaced from said back wall.
Conrad teaches a cutting system with replaceable cutting bits (1242, 1232 and 1222, while each bit is difference in shape, see Figure C-6 and C-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Maguire to change the cutting portion of the blade with replaceable, as taught by Conrad, in order to cutting different shape as desired by the end user (paragraph 0187 of Conrad).
Francis teaches a cutting with replaceable cutting bits made with a cutting tip (12) and a abutting block (14).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Maguire to replaceable bit into the two part system, as taught by Francis, in order to reduce cost, as only the cutting portion need to be replaced first during normal wear (abstract of Francis).
The resulting device of modified Maguire teaches
at least one modular insert supported by said support member to perform at least one vertical or oblique cut on the cap (As modified by Conrad and Francis, interchangeable different shape bits); said at least one modular insert including at least one cutting element provided at an end thereof with a cutting edge, and at least one abutting block which is interchangeable other (as modified by Francis, with different holder shape 14, see Figure 8 of Francis), and which is couplable with said cutting element to fix a dimension of said at least one modular insert, said dimension being a length between said cutting edge and an abutting face of said at least one abutting block other (as modified by Francis, with different holder shape 14, see Figure 8 of Francis); at least two abutting blocks which are interchangeable to obtain dimensions different to each other (as modified by Francis, with different holder shape 14, see Figure 8 of Francis), said support member including a support body which includes, on a peripheral edge thereof and for each modular insert, a housing cavity, said modular insert being insertable in, and removable from other (as modified by Francis, with different holder shape 14, see Figure 8 of Francis), said housing cavity which is shaped for receiving said modular insert so that said cutting edge protrudes from said peripheral edge , said abutting face being configured to abut a back wall of said housing cavity so that a rear end of said cutting element opposed to said cutting edge is spaced from said back wall other (as modified by Francis, with different holder shape 14, see Figure 8 of Francis).
Regarding claim 3, modified Maguire further teaches said cutting element extends along a main direction between said rear end and said cutting edge, said cutting element including a coupling slot transverse to said main direction, said at least one abutting block including a coupling protrusion arranged for being inserted at least partially in said coupling slot to form said modular insert so as to prevent a displacement between said at least one abutting block and said cutting element at least in parallel to said main direction (as modified by Conrad and Francis, see the placement of the Francis, with the desired shaped required by Conrad).
Regarding claim 4, modified Maguire further teaches said at least two abutting blocks have distances between said coupling protrusion and said abutting face different to each other (as modified by Conrad and Francis, see the placement of the Francis, with the desired shaped required by Conrad).
Regarding claim 5, modified Maguire further teaches said at least one abutting block includes a further abutting face opposite to said abutting face and shaped for abutting an abutting wall of said housing cavity, said abutting wall being opposite to said back wall (as modified by Conrad and Francis, see the placement of the Francis, with the desired shaped required by Conrad).
Regarding claim 6, modified Maguire further teaches a layer structure in which said at least one horizontal blade and said support body are stacked along a vertical direction (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire).
Regarding claim 7, modified Maguire further teaches said at least one horizontal blade includes a first horizontal blade arranged for performing one or more horizontal cuts at a first height and a second horizontal blade arranged for performing one or more horizontal cuts at a second height different to the first height; and wherein said support body is interposed between said first horizontal blade and said second horizontal blade so as to prevent an undesired vertical displacement of said at least one modular insert (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire and the desired shape changes from Conrad).
Regarding claim 8, modified Maguire further teaches said support body is plate shaped; said at least one modular insert being, in particular, insertable in, removable from, said housing cavity along a direction parallel to a transverse thickness of said plate-shaped support body (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire).
Regarding claim 9, modified Maguire further teaches said housing cavity has an L-shaped section, said section being taken on a reference plane orthogonal to a transverse thickness of said plate-shaped support body (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire and the cavity of Francis).
Regarding claim 10, modified Maguire further teaches said housing cavity is pass-through with respect to a transverse thickness of said plate-shaped support body (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire and the cavity of Francis).
Regarding claim 11, modified Maguire further teaches said housing cavity is blind with respect to a transverse thickness of said plate-shaped support body (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire and the cavity of Francis).
Regarding claim 12, modified Maguire further teaches at least two cutting elements which are interchangeable having a cutting edge sharpened on a side only and/or on two sides (see layer in Figure 10 of Maguire and the bits of Francis).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that modified Maguire fails to teach that the at least two abutting blocks are interchangeable. The Examiner disagree and notes Francis which was used to modify Maguire teaches different shape interchangeable blocks with different shape and holds different blades (see Figure 8 of Francis), thus teaches the claimed limitation, as the current claim does not require the same cutting element can fit into every abutting block, i.e. the same mounting shape for each cutting element and abutting block.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 3/03/2026