DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell et al (2017/0311241) in view of Jiang et al (2021/0235257) or Guo et al (2015/011202) further in view of Qidwai et al (2023/0199474).
Regarding claim 1. Russell teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a user device and based on accessing a subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with the user device, a subscriber identifier stored on the SIM card (0028, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match, the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137), figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137));
determining a failure to identify a profile corresponding to at least a portion of the subscriber identifier (0028, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found, the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137), figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137));
determining, based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least the portion of the subscriber identifier, a service identifier stored on the SIM card, wherein the service identifier is associated with a service entity (0028, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no found the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137), figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137)); and
causing, based at least on one or more configuration parameters indicated by a profile corresponding to the service identifier, a connection to be established between the user device and a network associated with the service entity (0028 – the UICC 130 stores APN information 137 that is accessed by the APN manager 122 to obtain APN information 137 that is used to facilitate PD connections when such information is not found int eh APN data file 124 of the UE, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137) … to be used to establish PD connection with the UE 102, figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, 0043 – information obtained from the UICC is used to facilitate establishment of one or more PD connections, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137)).
Regarding amendment dated 6/24/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach causing, base at least on a plurality of configuration parameters … .
Jiang teaches if an IMSI, MCC and MNC do not match then the UE determines a service identifier stored on the SIM (e.g., correspondence between the IMSI, SPN, and/or GID) which is used to determine operator parameters and perform configurations (0065-0066, 0069-0071) which enables the UE to connect to the correct service provider quickly (0005, 0037, 0059).
Guo teaches based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC, a service identifier (e.g., GID) is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone and after the GID of the UE is obtained, an operator corresponding to the UE can be determined (abstract, 0013, 0020, 0030, 0034-0035, 0053) thereby enabling the UE to adapt to various types of operators (0003-0004). Specifically, based on the failure to identify the profile based on MNC and MCC (0056), the GID is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone. After the GID of the UE is obtained, the operator corresponding to the UE can be determined. As a result, different MVNOs may be distinguished or an MVNO and a MNO may be distinguished and operator configuration information corresponding to the UE is accurately obtained, and the configuration parameters therein such as a dialing parameter and network parameter are loaded (0056-0059).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell to store a plurality of configuration parameters mapped to a service identifier as taught by Jiang or Guo in order to enable the UE to quickly connect to a service provider (as taught by Russell) or enable operator configuration information corresponding to NVNO or MNO to be automatically obtained and loaded from a preset configuration library of the UE (as taught by Guo).
Regarding RCE dated 9/18/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach determining, by the UE and based on accessing the SIM card … an IMSI; determining, based on failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least the portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI, a plurality of configuration parameters.
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier) (0084).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell in view of Jiang or Guo to use other information (e.g., service identifier) for SIM validation such as the ICCID or a GID as taught by Qidwai in order to determine SIM configuration parameters to use to camp on a cell operated by a second network operator (e.g., service entity) therefore the UE is able to operate on different networks owned by different service entities.
Regarding claim 8. Russell teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user device, an update to a subscriber identity module (SIM) card comprising a service identifier corresponding to a service entity (0018 – the APN information stored in USIM Elementary Files (EFs) in line with the solutions described may be updated by means of SIM update over the air (SIM-OTA) techniques, allowing an operator to remotely update the appropriate APNs stored in the UICCs);
causing the service identifier to be stored in a first file on the SIM card (0018 – the APN information stored in USIM Elementary Files (EFs) in line with the solutions described may be updated by means of SIM update over the air (SIM-OTA) techniques, allowing an operator to remotely update the appropriate APNs stored in the UICCs, 0044 – while the IMSI 402 and APNs 404 are shown as part of the UICC 136 in a single file in figure 4, as shown in figure 5, the IMSI 502 may reside in a first data structure in a first file 504 and the APN information 137 may reside in a second data structure in a second file 506);
determining a profile corresponding to the service identifier (0028 – the UICC 130 stores APN information 137 that is accessed by the APNH manager 122 to obtain APN information 137 that is used to facilitate PD connections when such information is not found in the APN data file 124 of the UE, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137) … to be used to establish PD connection with the UE 102, figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, 0043 – information obtained from the UICC is used to facilitate establishment of one or more PD connections, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137)); and
causing, based at least on one or more configuration parameters indicated by the profile corresponding to the service identifier, a connection to be established between the user device and a network associated with the service entity (0028 – the UICC 130 stores APN information 137 that is accessed by the APN manager 122 to obtain APN information 137 that is used to facilitate PD connections when such information is not found int eh APN data file 124 of the UE, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137) … to be used to establish PD connection with the UE 102, figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, 0043 – information obtained from the UICC is used to facilitate establishment of one or more PD connections, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137)).
Regarding amendment dated 6/24/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach causing, base at least on a plurality of configuration parameters … .
Jiang teaches if an IMSI, MCC and MNC do not match then the UE determines a service identifier stored on the SIM (e.g., correspondence between the IMSI, SPN, and/or GID) which is used to determine operator parameters and perform configurations (0065-0066, 0069-0071) which enables the UE to connect to the correct service provider quickly (0005, 0037, 0059).
Guo teaches based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC, a service identifier (e.g., GID) is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone and after the GID of the UE is obtained, an operator corresponding to the UE can be determined (abstract, 0013, 0020, 0030, 0034-0035, 0053) thereby enabling the UE to adapt to various types of operators (0003-0004). Specifically, based on the failure to identify the profile based on MNC and MCC (0056), the GID is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone. After the GID of the UE is obtained, the operator corresponding to the UE can be determined. As a result, different MVNOs may be distinguished or an MVNO and a MNO may be distinguished and operator configuration information corresponding to the UE is accurately obtained, and the configuration parameters therein such as a dialing parameter and network parameter are loaded (0056-0059).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell to store a plurality of configuration parameters mapped to a service identifier as taught by Jiang or Guo in order to enable the UE to quickly connect to a service provider (as taught by Russell) or enable operator configuration information corresponding to NVNO or MNO to be automatically obtained and loaded from a preset configuration library of the UE (as taught by Guo).
Regarding RCE dated 9/18/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach determining, without using an IMSI stored on the SIM card.
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier) (0084).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell in view of Jiang or Guo to use other information (e.g., service identifier) for SIM validation such as the ICCID or a GID as taught by Qidwai in order to determine SIM configuration parameters to use to camp on a cell operated by a second network operator (e.g., service entity) therefore the UE is able to operate on different networks owned by different service entities.
Regarding claim 15. Russell teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a user device and based on accessing a subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with the user device, a service identifier associated with a service entity, wherein the service identifier is different from a subscriber identifier stored on the SIM card (0028, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found, the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137), figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, figure 4 – IMSI (402) is different than APNs (137), figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137));
determining, based on the service identifier, one or more configuration parameters associated with a communication service of the service entity (0023 – APN data file as an XML data file that relates service providers to the Aps that are to be used to obtain data services from those service providers, figure 4 at item 402 (e.g., IMSI) and item 137 (APN), for example tether.operator.com, mms.operator.co.uk and wap.operator.ca, 0053 – APN values may include internet, tethering, WAP, MMS, Bootstrapping etc. (or representations of these), 0056 – provide prompt to the user via GUI or MMMI to query the user if the UE should connect to the desired service, 0057 – provide an interface to allow an alternative APN to be entered or selected from an internal list. This provides an opportunity for a user to indicate an alternative APN, 0072 – Tethered service APN is used, Internet APN is used, IMS APN, WAP APN, MMS APN, 0091-0092 – APN usage: What service that APN is to be used for, 0107 – the UE determines which APN to use for what data service, 0126-0127 – Service Identifier and APN pointer, 0028, 0031, figure 1 – wherein UE 102 first searches local memory (figure 1 at item 120, 124 and paragraph 0035 wherein IMSI, MCC, MNC, MSIN, APN and GID data are stored) for an IMSI and Access Point Name (APN) match and if there is no match found, the UE may access the information from the UICC (item 136, 137), figure 2, 0034,0042 – UE first determines if APNs for IMSI are specified in the UE memory (figure 1, items 120, 124) and if unavailable, the UE searches the UICC for APNs mapped to IMSI, figure 8, 0115 – UE determines if IMSI matches any set entries within the UE local memory (120, 124) or within the UICC (136, 137)); and
causing, based at least on the one or more configuration parameters, a connection to be established between the user device and a network associated with the service entity (0023 – APN data file as an XML data file that relates service providers to the Aps that are to be used to obtain data services from those service providers, figure 4 at item 402 (e.g., IMSI) and item 137 (APN), for example tether.operator.com, mms.operator.co.uk and wap.operator.ca, 0053 – APN values may include internet, tethering, WAP, MMS, Bootstrapping etc. (or representations of these), 0056 – provide prompt to the user via GUI or MMMI to query the user if the UE should connect to the desired service, 0057 – provide an interface to allow an alternative APN to be entered or selected from an internal list. This provides an opportunity for a user to indicate an alternative APN, 0072 – Tethered service APN is used, Internet APN is used, IMS APN, WAP APN, MMS APN, 0091-0092 – APN usage: What service that APN is to be used for, 0107 – the UE determines which APN to use for what data service, 0126-0127 – Service Identifier and APN pointer).
Regarding amendment dated 6/24/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach causing, base at least on a plurality of configuration parameters … .
Jiang teaches if an IMSI, MCC and MNC do not match then the UE determines a service identifier stored on the SIM (e.g., correspondence between the IMSI, SPN, and/or GID) which is used to determine operator parameters and perform configurations (0065-0066, 0069-0071) which enables the UE to connect to the correct service provider quickly (0005, 0037, 0059).
Guo teaches based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC, a service identifier (e.g., GID) is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone and after the GID of the UE is obtained, an operator corresponding to the UE can be determined (abstract, 0013, 0020, 0030, 0034-0035, 0053) thereby enabling the UE to adapt to various types of operators (0003-0004). Specifically, based on the failure to identify the profile based on MNC and MCC (0056), the GID is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone. After the GID of the UE is obtained, the operator corresponding to the UE can be determined. As a result, different MVNOs may be distinguished or an MVNO and a MNO may be distinguished and operator configuration information corresponding to the UE is accurately obtained, and the configuration parameters therein such as a dialing parameter and network parameter are loaded (0056-0059).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell to store a plurality of configuration parameters mapped to a service identifier as taught by Jiang or Guo in order to enable the UE to quickly connect to a service provider (as taught by Russell) or enable operator configuration information corresponding to NVNO or MNO to be automatically obtained and loaded from a preset configuration library of the UE (as taught by Guo).
Regarding RCE dated 9/18/2025. Applicant amends and argues prior art does not teach determining, a service identifier comprising an identifier of a service entity, … different from an IMSI … and without using an IMSI stored on the SIM card.
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity) (0084).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell in view of Jiang or Guo to use other information (e.g., service identifier) for SIM validation such as the ICCID or a GID as taught by Qidwai in order to determine SIM configuration parameters to use to camp on a cell operated by a second network operator (e.g., service entity) therefore the UE is able to operate on different networks owned by different service entities.
Regarding claim 3. Russell teaches wherein the subscriber identifier is stored in a first file on the SIM card and the service identifier is stored in a second file on the SIM card (figure 4 – UICC has first field 402 (e.g,. IMSI = subscriber identifier) and second field 137 (APN = service identifier), 0044 – IMSI and APNs are part of the UICC in a single file in figure 4, as shown in figure 5, the IMSI 502 may reside in a first data structure in a first field 504 and the APN information 137 may reside in a second data structure in a second field 506. For example, the field 504 may identify the file name and line number 508 the APNS 510).
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity) (0084).
Regarding claims 4 and 17. Russell teaches wherein the profile corresponding to the service identifier is stored on the user device (figure 1, 0035 – IMSI and APNs are stored in the UE memory (e.g., 120, 124), and wherein the profile corresponding to the service identifier comprises the one or more configuration parameters (0023 – APN data file as an XML data file that relates service providers to the Aps that are to be used to obtain data services from those service providers, figure 4 at item 402 (e.g., IMSI) and item 137 (APN), for example tether.operator.com, mms.operator.co.uk and wap.operator.ca, 0053 – APN values may include internet, tethering, WAP, MMS, Bootstrapping etc. (or representations of these), 0056 – provide prompt to the user via GUI or MMMI to query the user if the UE should connect to the desired service, 0057 – provide an interface to allow an alternative APN to be entered or selected from an internal list. This provides an opportunity for a user to indicate an alternative APN, 0072 – Tethered service APN is used, Internet APN is used, IMS APN, WAP APN, MMS APN, 0091-0092 – APN usage: What service that APN is to be used for, 0107 – the UE determines which APN to use for what data service, 0126-0127 – Service Identifier and APN pointer).
Jiang teaches MCC, MNC, and/or IMSI, (subscriber identifier) stored on first file of the SIM and Service Provider Name (SPN) (e.g., service identifier) and GID (e.g., service identifier) stored on a second file of the SIM (0043, 0045).
Guo teaches MCC and MNC (e.g., subscriber identifier) stored in a first file of the SIM and GID (e.g., service identifier) stored in a second file of the SIM (0020).
Regarding claim 6. Applicant’s response dated 6/24/2025 at page 6 defines sending IMSI to establish connection.
Russell teaches wherein causing, the connection to be established between the user device and the network associated with the service entity comprises sending the subscriber identifier to the network (0016 – UE uses IMISI to connect to MNO, 0017 – IMISI also used to connect to MVNO, 0035 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0040 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0041 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network).
Jiang teaches wherein SIM card information comprises IMSI (abstract, 0003).
Regarding claim 7. Russel teaches wherein the wherein the service identifier is different from the subscriber identifier (figure 4 – IMSI (402 = subscriber ID) is different than APNs (137 = service ID), figure 5 wherein IMSI (502) is different than the APNs (137)).
Jiang teaches if an IMSI, MCC and MNC (e.g., subscriber identifier) do not match then the UE determines a service identifier stored on the SIM (e.g., correspondence between the IMSI, SPN, and/or GID (e.g., service identifier)) which is used to determine operator parameters and perform configurations (0065-0066, 0069-0071) which enables the UE to connect to the correct service provider quickly (0005, 0037, 0059).
Guo teaches based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC (e.g., subscriber identifier), a service identifier (e.g., GID) (e.g,. service identifier) is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone and after the GID of the UE is obtained, an operator corresponding to the UE can be determined (abstract, 0013, 0020, 0030, 0034-0035, 0053) thereby enabling the UE to adapt to various types of operators (0003-0004). Specifically, based on the failure to identify the profile based on MNC and MCC (0056), the GID is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone. After the GID of the UE is obtained, the operator corresponding to the UE can be determined. As a result, different MVNOs may be distinguished or an MVNO and a MNO may be distinguished and operator configuration information corresponding to the UE is accurately obtained, and the configuration parameters therein such as a dialing parameter and network parameter are loaded (0056-0059).
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity different from the IMSI), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity different from the IMSI) (0084).
Regarding claim 9. Russell teaches receiving, at a server modem of the user device, at least one of a short messaging service (SMS) notification indicating the update to the SIM card or a Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) link indicating the update to the SIM card (0230-0232 – network (e.g.,. by sending an SMS) updates SIM card information).
Regarding claim 10. Russell teaches wherein the profile corresponding to the service identifier is stored on the user device (figure 1, 0035 – IMSI and APNs are stored in the UE memory (e.g., 120, 124), 0023 – APN data file as an XML data file that relates service providers to the Aps that are to be used to obtain data services from those service providers, figure 4 at item 402 (e.g., IMSI) and item 137 (APN), for example tether.operator.com, mms.operator.co.uk and wap.operator.ca, 0053 – APN values may include internet, tethering, WAP, MMS, Bootstrapping etc. (or representations of these), 0056 – provide prompt to the user via GUI or MMMI to query the user if the UE should connect to the desired service, 0057 – provide an interface to allow an alternative APN to be entered or selected from an internal list. This provides an opportunity for a user to indicate an alternative APN, 0072 – Tethered service APN is used, Internet APN is used, IMS APN, WAP APN, MMS APN, 0091-0092 – APN usage: What service that APN is to be used for, 0107 – the UE determines which APN to use for what data service, 0126-0127 – Service Identifier and APN pointer).
Regarding claim 12. Russell teaches wherein causing the connection to be established between the user device and the network associated with the service entity comprises sending an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) to the network (0016 – UE uses IMISI to connect to MNO, 0017 – IMISI also used to connect to MVNO, 0035 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0040 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0041 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network).
Jiang teaches wherein SIM card information comprises IMSI (abstract, 0003).
Regarding claim 13. Russell teaches wherein an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) is stored in a second file on the SIM card (figure 1 – wherein the UE has a second file (item 136, 137) on the UICC to store IMSI, figure 4 – UICC has first field 402 (e.g,. IMSI = subscriber identifier) and second field 137 (APN = service identifier), 0044 – IMSI and APNs are part of the UICC in a single file in figure 4, as shown in figure 5, the IMSI 502 may reside in a first data structure in a first field 504 and the APN information 137 may reside in a second data structure in a second field 506. For example, the field 504 may identify the file name and line number 508 the APNS 510).
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity) (0084).
Regarding claim 14. Russell teaches wherein the service identifier is different from an international mobile subscriber identity (MSI)) (figure 4 – IMSI (402 = subscriber ID) is different than APNs (137 = service ID), figure 5 wherein IMSI (502) is different than the APNs (137)).
Jiang teaches if an IMSI, MCC and MNC (e.g., subscriber identifier) do not match then the UE determines a service identifier stored on the SIM (e.g., correspondence between the IMSI, SPN, and/or GID (e.g., service identifier)) which is used to determine operator parameters and perform configurations (0065-0066, 0069-0071) which enables the UE to connect to the correct service provider quickly (0005, 0037, 0059).
Guo teaches based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC (e.g., subscriber identifier), a service identifier (e.g., GID) (e.g,. service identifier) is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone and after the GID of the UE is obtained, an operator corresponding to the UE can be determined (abstract, 0013, 0020, 0030, 0034-0035, 0053) thereby enabling the UE to adapt to various types of operators (0003-0004). Specifically, based on the failure to identify the profile based on MNC and MCC (0056), the GID is used to uniquely identify an operator corresponding to the mobile phone. After the GID of the UE is obtained, the operator corresponding to the UE can be determined. As a result, different MVNOs may be distinguished or an MVNO and a MNO may be distinguished and operator configuration information corresponding to the UE is accurately obtained, and the configuration parameters therein such as a dialing parameter and network parameter are loaded (0056-0059).
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity different from the IMSI), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity different from the IMSI) (0084).
Regarding claim 18. Russell teaches wherein the subscriber identifier is configured to establish a connection between the user device and the network associated with the service entity (0016 – UE uses IMISI to connect to MNO, 0017 – IMISI also used to connect to MVNO, 0035 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0040 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0041 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0023 – APN data file as an XML data file that relates service providers to the Aps that are to be used to obtain data services from those service providers, figure 4 at item 402 (e.g., IMSI) and item 137 (APN), for example tether.operator.com, mms.operator.co.uk and wap.operator.ca, 0053 – APN values may include internet, tethering, WAP, MMS, Bootstrapping etc. (or representations of these), 0056 – provide prompt to the user via GUI or MMMI to query the user if the UE should connect to the desired service, 0057 – provide an interface to allow an alternative APN to be entered or selected from an internal list. This provides an opportunity for a user to indicate an alternative APN, 0072 – Tethered service APN is used, Internet APN is used, IMS APN, WAP APN, MMS APN, 0091-0092 – APN usage: What service that APN is to be used for, 0107 – the UE determines which APN to use for what data service, 0126-0127 – Service Identifier and APN pointer).
Regarding claim 19. Applicant’s response dated 6/24/2025 at page 6 defines sending IMSI to establish connection.
Russell teaches wherein causing, the connection to be established between the user device and the network associated with the service entity comprises sending the subscriber identifier to the network (0016 – UE uses IMISI to connect to MNO, 0017 – IMISI also used to connect to MVNO, 0035 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0040 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network, 0041 – UE uses IMSI to connect to the network).
Jiang teaches wherein SIM card information comprises IMSI (abstract, 0003).
Regarding claim 20. Russell teaches wherein the service identifier is stored in a first file on the SIM card and an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) is stored in a second file on the SIM card (figure 1 – wherein the UE has a second file (item 136, 137) on the UICC to store IMSI, figure 4 – UICC has first field 402 (e.g,. IMSI = subscriber identifier) and second field 137 (APN = service identifier), 0044 – IMSI and APNs are part of the UICC in a single file in figure 4, as shown in figure 5, the IMSI 502 may reside in a first data structure in a first field 504 and the APN information 137 may reside in a second data structure in a second field 506. For example, the field 504 may identify the file name and line number 508 the APNS 510)Regarding claim 14. The method of clam 8, wherein the service identifier is different from an international mobile subscriber identity (MSI)).
Qidwai teaches the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier of a service entity) (0084).
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
a) Applicant continues to argue prior art does not teach “determining based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to at least the portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI, a plurality of configuration parameters” (paper dated 12/23/2025).
The Examiner notes Applicant does not define what “portion of the IMSI” is referring to.
It appears determining based on failure to identify the profile corresponding to at least the “portion of the IMSI” is nothing more than “determining a profile matching the MCC-MNC combination my not exist” (Applicants specification as published at 0061) which is clearly covered by prior art (see rejection listed above).
Applicant concede that Russell indeed teaches “determining a failure to identify a profile corresponding to at least portion of the subscriber identifier” since Applicant amended (see RCE dated 9/18/2025) wherein subscriber identifier has been renamed to IMSI.
b) Russell does not explicitly teach “a plurality of” configuration parameters but Jian and Guo were used to teach based on the failure to identify a network operator using the MCC and MNC … a service identifier (e.g., GID) is used to obtain operator configuration parameters.
c) Applicant RCE dated 9/18/2025 further amended “determining based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI, a plurality of configuration parameters corresponding to a service identifier”.
It is unclear as to what “determining based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI” is referring to?
Qidwai also teaches: the UE first compares MCC and MNC values stored on the UE with the MCC and MNC (e.g., at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI) stored on the SIM to identify that the SIM was provisioned for the operator of the first network (0084). In the case of the first SIM being invalid to camp on the first network, the MCC and/or MNC values would not match. In some aspects, the UE may use other information (e.g., without using the IMSI) for identifying the SIM such as the integrated circuit card ID (ICCID) (e.g., service identifier), or a group identifier (GID) (e.g., service identifier) (0084).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Russell in view of Jiang or Guo to use other information (e.g., service identifier) for SIM validation such as the ICCID or a GID as taught by Qidwai in order to determine SIM configuration parameters to use to camp on a cell operated by a second network operator (e.g., service entity) therefore the UE is able to operate on different networks owned by different service entities.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2020/0314635) Park et al also teaches “determining based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI, a plurality of configuration parameters corresponding to a service identifier” (0056-0058).
---(2012/0309374) Tagg et al teaches “determining based on the failure to identify the profile corresponding to the at least portion of the IMSI, and without using the IMSI, a plurality of configuration parameters corresponding to a service identifier” (0099)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646