DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s Non-Final Rejection of 12/19/24, Applicant, on 3/18/25, amended claims. Claims 1-17, 21-23 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
The previous 112b rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The 101 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments. Notably, there is a new matter issue (112a), so it is possible the 101 rejection returns depending on how the claim is amended. At this time, the claim 1 overcomes the 101 rejections because the claim is now : a system comprising a label printer, a first production channel, a second production channel, a first scanner, a second scanner, determine a third time indicates a production time of a difference between the print time (indicating a print time by a label printer for an item) and a scan time of an item, and instructing a machine to automatically implement a step for production of a second item based on determining the first item was produced and the difference between a print time and a scan time of a first item. When viewing the claim as a whole, this when combined with the earlier limitations is viewed as a practical application as using a judicial exception in a meaningful way under MPEP 2106.05(e). The same reasons also apply to independent claim 13 and independent claim 21 which have similar limitations, and ends with automatically instructing a machine to produce a second item upon printing and scanning actions related to the first item.
The dependent claims are eligible for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The final limitation requires instructing a machine to automatically implement a step for production of a second item based on determining that the first item was produced and determining a third time. The third time is recited earlier and is a new limitation that is also an issue here, as it is based on first time (printing of label) and second time (scan time of item). Applicant’s remarks indicate support is found in [0034-0043, 0068-0075, 113, 130] as filed. Examiner has reviewed these, and unfortunately, is unable to find support. Examiner encourages Applicant to be more specific as to what they think could be the support for these limitations. The closest Examiner can find to support the limitations are: a) [0040] “the production controller 104 may use the orders and/or the order schedule to automatically determine when to cause the printer 106 to print a label 108 for each order or each item in an order” – however, while this still falls short of “third time” as recited, let alone instructing a machine based on a “difference” between printing and scan time of an earlier 1st item; b) [0069] “For example, a machine at a first work center can implement one or more first steps for production of the item (e.g., an espresso machine can pull one or more espresso shots) and a machine at a second work center can implement one or more second steps for production of the item (e.g., an automated syrup dispenser can dispense an amount of syrup to be added to the one or more espresso shots).” – however, this appears to be automated implementing a step for the same item, not automating production of a “second item” based on “timing of a first item” as recited.
Independent claims 13, 21 recite similar limitations and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2-12, 14-17, 22-23 depend from claims 1, 13, and 21 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13-17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 2020/0387912) and Zubarik (US 2022/0033242).
Concerning independent claim 1, Allen discloses:
A system for tracking performance of a store (Allen – see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134; see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times), the system comprising:
a label printer configured to print labels indicating a respective machine readable code (Allen – See par 21, FIG. 1 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. see par 22 – In other situations, the unique ID 140 may be fully or partially created by printing onto container 148 or labels at the time of ordering. see par 33, FIG. 2 (which is example of FIG. 1) - Server 210 is connected via the second network 204 to one or more printers 218 to produce secure IDs 140 in some examples. The secure IDs 140 may be placed on labels that are attached to an appurtenance 148 of the order, or the secure IDs 140 may be printed directly on the appurtenance 148 of the order, such as container 146.), wherein the respective machine readable code indicates respective item data associated with a respective item (Allen – See par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132);
a first production channel comprising a first channel start and a first channel end (Applicant’s [0072, FIG. 2B] gives example of layout of store with channel 206A, which may be “any work center 202 or location of a printer 106”; channel 206B may be any distribution point 204; [0043] gives example of “a distribution point or how the order will be delivered to or picked up by a customer)
Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135. (disclosing channel start and end for a 1st workflow station 136; a 2nd 137; a 3rd 138, etc.);
a second production channel comprising a second channel start and a second channel end (Allen –See par 26, FIG. 1 - Each of the workflows 136, 137, 138 may have a workflow procedure 142 for the workers 132 to follow. At appropriate steps in the multiple workflows 134, the appropriate workflow procedure 142 may be displayed at each workflow station 135 in the workflow 134 along with the order options 143 and any relevant customer preferences 144);
a first scanner associated with the first production channel, the first scanner located at a first physical location within an environment, the first scanner configured to scan the respective machine readable code to receive the respective item data (Allen – see par 26, FIG. 1 - If the unique ID 140 is pre-printed or otherwise marked ahead of the order, the unique ID 140 may be scanned or read by a unique ID 140 capture device 130 during the association with the order. Each of the workflows 136, 137, 138 may have a workflow procedure 142 for the workers 132 to follow; The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking and to display the appropriate workflow procedure 142 and customer preferences 144.);
a second scanner associated with the second production channel, the second scanner located at a second physical location within the environment, the second scanner configured to scan the respective machine readable code to receive the respective item data (Allen – see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking and to display the appropriate workflow procedure 142 and customer preferences 144.); and
a production controller (Applicant’s [0038] as published states “The production controller 104 may receive the orders and/or any information related to the orders. The production controller 104 may schedule or sequence orders.:
Allen discloses the limitations based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification – see par 30 – FIG. 2 is example system 200 to implement FIG. 1; For order placement 106 the system 200 may include a first network 202 that communicates with multiple input devices 110, such as smartphone 112, ordering system 122; first network communicates with a server 210 that contains instructions in computer readable medium, that when read and executed by processors 215 (FIG. 7), implements order placement 106, order fulfillment 107, order delivery 108) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions (Allen – see par 30 – server 210 with processors 215 (FIG. 7); FIG. 7, par 51-52 – server includes computer-readable medium 211; The computer-readable medium 211 allows for storage of one or more sets of data structures and instructions (e.g., software, firmware, logic) as modules embodying or utilized by any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein; the main memory and the processor memory also constitute computer-readable medium 211.); and
at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Allen – see par 30 - server 210 that contains instructions in computer readable medium, that when read and executed by processors 215 (FIG. 7), implements order placement 106, order fulfillment 107; par 51-52 - The server 210 includes one or more processors 215 having one or more cores to execute modules of instructions.), to:
cause the at least one processor to:
instruct the label printer to print a label comprising a machine readable code associated with a first item (Allen – see FIG. 1-2, order placement; see par 53 – During order placement 106, an order module 702 includes instructions to accept an order for an object 150 from a customer 102; See par 21, FIG. 1 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. see par 22 – In other situations, the unique ID 140 may be fully or partially created by printing onto container 148 or labels at the time of ordering. see par 33, FIG. 2 (which is example of FIG. 1) - Server 210 is connected via the second network 204 to one or more printers 218 to produce secure IDs 140. The secure IDs 140 may be placed on labels that are attached to an appurtenance 148 of the order, or the secure IDs 140 may be printed directly on the appurtenance 148 of the order, such as container 146.; each workflow station 135 may include a unique ID capture device 130 to capture the unique ID 140 of the order when it arrives at the respective workflow station 135. see par 24 - the unique ID 140 may be created from an existing serial number or barcode with an additional mark…and allow for future interaction with the customer 142 to occur. QR codes are widely used and commercially available).
Allen discloses that unique ID 140 capture device 130 located at different workflow stations 135 for workflow tracking (See par 26) and that there is order fulfillment for an object (e.g. coffee) that proceeds at different speeds and results in different completion times (See par 51). Allen does not explicitly state that the time starts at the printing of the ID 140.
Svenson discloses:
obtain, from the label printer, first time data indicating a print time of the label by the label printer (Svenson – See col. 21, lines 31-44 – device 210 creates a first order tickets and sends the first order ticket data structure 210, with information such as items ordered, time of the order, and other customer information to the server 112; See col. 39, lines 31-67, FIG. 10 - each of the order tickets may be associated with a dynamic code, such as a QR code or barcode, that may be used to track the status of the order at any point in time. Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time. The barcode, along with order ticket, may also be printed on a customer receipt so the customers can also track the order status).
Allen and Svenson disclose:
obtain, from the first scanner, production data, second time data (Svenson – See col. 25, lines 49-67 – additional order ticket data 218; second order ticket 214; The second order ticket 214 can include one or more of the identity of the order ticket 208, the identity of the customer, indications of the second items, an indication of one or more items from the second items that are in an “in-progress” state, a timer that indicates an amount of time since the data capture device 202 received the second customer order), a first scanner identifier, and item data, wherein the production data indicates that the first scanner scanned the machine readable code (Allen – See par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process; Each of the multiple workers 132 may have a unique worker ID 139 assigned to them to allow for tracking and monitoring of the performance of each worker 132; see par 33 - Each workflow station 135 may include a unique ID capture device 130 to capture the unique ID 140 of the order when it arrives at the respective workflow station 135), wherein the second time indicates a scan time of the machine readable code by the first scanner, wherein the first scanner identifier indicates the first physical location, and wherein the item data indicates the first item (Allen – see FIG. 2 – many scanners 130; see par 21 - Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times; see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking; see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134. A unique IDs processed* field 334 may be used to keep a list of the various orders based on their unique IDs 140 that have been processed at that workflow station 135;
see also Svenson – See col. 18, lines 4-17 - the second merchant device 108 can further synchronize with the first merchant device 108 at given time intervals and/or after receiving input. For instance, the second merchant device 108 can receive input indicating that one or more order tickets and/or one or more items on an order ticket are complete. see col. 46, lines 23-30 - The wait time may also be based on the average order processing time computed, for example, based on historical processing times of specific orders; See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time); and
determine, that the first item was produced via the first production channel, and a production time of the item, from the first production channel and the second production channel, based at least in part on the production data, the first scanner identifier, and the item data (Allen – see par 21 - If the unique ID 140 is pre-printed or otherwise marked ahead of the order, the unique ID 140 may be scanned or read by a unique ID 140 capture device 130 during the association with the order. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135;
see also Zubarik – see par 35 - if the assembly sequence for the food or beverage item is important for the proper creation of the food or beverage item, the controller 50 can sequentially activate the indicators 34 for the components such that the components are added in a desired order; See par 40 - If the item order ticket 52 calls for the component/ingredient that is within the dispenser, the dispenser would be activated to dispense the food or beverage component.);
determine third time data associated with the first item based at least in part on the first time data and the second time data, wherein the third time data indicates a production time that corresponds to a difference between the print time and the scan time (Allen – see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times;
see also Svenson – See col. 39, lines 30-67, FIG. 10 - each of the order tickets [disclosing more than one] may be associated with a dynamic code, such as a QR code or barcode, that may be used to track the status of the order at any point in time. Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time; see col. 54, lines 47-55 - the second merchant device 108 can further synchronize with the first merchant device 108 at given time intervals and/or after receiving input. For instance, the second merchant device 108 can receive input indicating that one or more order tickets and/or one or more items on an order ticket are complete).
Allen discloses using unique ID 140 capture device 130 located at different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking (See par 26) and having a server 210 connected to clients 220 (e.g. displays) at each workflow station 139 (See par 33). Svenson discloses the order moves from one kitchen station to another, where merchant scans the barcode so the kitchen display system knows the order status and location in real-time (See Col. 39, lines 35-55).
Zubarik discloses:
instruct one or more machines in the environment to automatically implement a step for production of a second item based on determining that the first item was produced via the first production channel and determining the third time data (Zubarik - see par 10, 40 - mobile device application software or online ordering platform that will generate an order number (could also be a QR code or bar code) through which the beverage or food item is tracked and/or labeled. The order number or code is selected or scanned at a starting point device to queue the food or beverage item to be built. The staff member will position the food or beverage item at the first ingredient to be added and the desired portion of the ingredient will be dispensed either automatically (sensors) ... In one contemplated alternate embodiment, each dispensing point can include a sensor that is operable to directly read the QR or bar code of the order ticket or as printed onto a container for the food or beverage item. The dispensing of the component will be authorized only when the order ticket is presented to a dispensing point that includes a component that needs to be added to the food or beverage item. If the item order ticket is presented at the wrong dispenser, the dispenser will not be activated and will not dispense.).
Allen, Svenson, and Zubarik are analogous art as they are directed to tracking preparation of food/beverage items by a merchant (See Allen Abstract, par 18; Svenson Col. 4, lines 10-30 - track progress through kitchen; Zubarik Abstract, par 10). Allen discloses using unique ID 140 capture device 130 located at different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking (See par 26) and having a server 210 connected to clients 220 (e.g. displays) at each workflow station 139 (See par 33). Svenson discloses the order moves from one kitchen station to another, where merchant scans the barcode so the kitchen display system knows the order status and location in real-time (See Col. 39, lines 35-55). Zubarik improves upon Allen and Svenson by disclosing having automatic dispensing at stations for preparing beverage/item. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include automated dispensing during beverage/item preparation to improve upon the tracking of an order at different workflow stations in Allen (See par 26, 33) and the scanning of the barcode as order moves from one station to another in Svenson (See col. 39, lines 35-55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create unique IDs 140 for coffee orders in Allen to further include capturing time of order along with printing of codes as disclosed in Svenson, to further include automated dispensing for fulfillment of order/beverages as disclosed in Zubarik, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Concerning independent claim 13, Allen and Svenson disclose:
A computer implemented method (Allen – see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134; see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times) comprising:
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 above and the claim is rejected for the same reasons. It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning independent claim 21, Allen and Svenson disclose:
A system (Allen – see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134; see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times), comprising:
a label printer located at a first physical location within an environment, the label printer configured to print labels indicating a respective machine readable code (Allen – See par 21, FIG. 1 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. see par 22 – In other situations, the unique ID 140 may be fully or partially created by printing onto container 148 or labels at the time of ordering. see par 33, FIG. 2 (which is example of FIG. 1) - Server 210 is connected via the second network 204 to one or more printers 218 (See FIG. 2) to produce secure IDs 140 in some examples. The secure IDs 140 may be placed on labels that are attached to an appurtenance 148 of the order, or the secure IDs 140 may be printed directly on the appurtenance 148 of the order, such as container 146 (See FIG. 1 – showing a cup for a coffee).), wherein the machine readable code indicates respective item data associated with a respective item (Allen – See par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132);
a production channel comprising a channel start and a channel end (Allen [same as cl. 1 above] – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135. (disclosing channel start and end); that leads to an “end” of a distribution point of 108 in FIG. 1 or 230 in FIG. 2.);
a scanner associated with the first production channel, the scanner located at a second physical location within the environment, and the scanner configured to scan the respective machine readable code to receive the respective item data (Allen – see par 26, FIG. 1 - If the unique ID 140 is pre-printed or otherwise marked ahead of the order, the unique ID 140 may be scanned or read by a unique ID 140 capture device 130 during the association with the order. Each of the workflows 136, 137, 138 may have a workflow procedure 142 for the workers 132 to follow; The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking and to display the appropriate workflow procedure 142 and customer preferences 144 (See FIG. 2 – showing printer 218 in one location; scanners 130 at other locations).);
a production controller (Allen discloses the limitations based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification [same as cl. 1 above] – see par 30 – FIG. 2 is example system 200 to implement FIG. 1; For order placement 106 the system 200 may include a first network 202 that communicates with multiple input devices 110, such as smartphone 112, ordering system 122; first network communicates with a server 210 that contains instructions in computer readable medium, that when read and executed by processors 215 (FIG. 7), implements order placement 106, order fulfillment 107, order delivery 108) comprising:
The remaining limitations are similar to claim 1 above and the claim is rejected for the same reasons. It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 2, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the first channel start is a work center, and wherein the first physical location corresponds to the first channel end (Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135).
Concerning claim 3, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 2, wherein the first channel start corresponds to a work center, and wherein the first channel end corresponds to a distribution point (Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135. (disclosing channel start and end for a 1st workflow station 136; a 2nd 137; a 3rd 138, etc) that leads to a distribution point of 108 in FIG. 1 or 230 in FIG. 2.
Concerning claim 4, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 3, wherein the work center comprises a machine of the one or more machines (Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132; see FIG. 1; see also par 39 - For instance, for a coffee bar, a worker 132 who has not been trained on safety, preventative maintenance, and failure response for an espresso machine that operates steam at high temperature and pressure may not be allowed to operate the espresso machine as that worker 132 may not have his/her respective worker ID 135 in the list of approved worker IDs.).
Concerning claim 5, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 4, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:
receive machine data from the one or more machines, and wherein the machine data comprises the production data (Allen –See par 31 – server 210 of system 200 connected to one or more databases 212; See par 36 – FIG. 3 is example database tables for use with example database 212 in FIG. 2 system 200 to help fulfill the order; see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134; An approved worker IDs* field 332 may be used to point to a list of worker IDs that represent which the multiple workers 132 may be qualified or otherwise based on their role be able to perform the various workflow station 135 procedures. For instance, for a coffee bar, a worker 132 who has not been trained on safety, preventative maintenance, and failure response for an espresso machine that operates steam at high temperature and pressure may not be allowed to operate the espresso machine; A unique IDs processed* field 334 may be used to keep a list of the various orders based on their unique IDs 140 that have been processed at that workflow station 135; see FIG. 3).
Concerning claim 6, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 3, wherein the distribution point corresponds to one or more of a pick-up counter or a drive-thru counter (Allen – See par 34 - The waiting customers 102 can easily identify if any objects at the fulfillment station 230 (see FIG. 2, Showing “Bookshelf Coffee” with coffee 150) are their order or not based on the displayed customer representation 152; see par 47 – finished objects 150 waiting at the counter).
Concerning claim 7, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the first production channel comprises one or more intermediate production stages, wherein the first channel start and each intermediate production stage of the one or more intermediate production stages comprises a respective work center (Allen – see FIG. 1, par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135. The workflow at each workflow station 135 may be performed by one or more of the multiple workers 132.),
and wherein at least one intermediate production stage of the one or more intermediate production stages comprises a scanner (Allen – see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135).
Concerning claim 8 and claim 14, Allen and Svenson disclose:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the execution of the computer-executable instructions, by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:
instruct the label printer to print a second label comprising a second machine readable code associated with a third item (Allen – see par 20 - In some examples, a check is made to the ordering system to ensure that the representation 152 of the customer 102 is sufficiently unique from other customers 102 that have already placed orders that have not been fulfilled. If the customer 102 has placed a prior order that has not been fulfilled and then places an additional order; see FIG. 1-2 – showing multiple customers 102 waiting for different orders; see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item);
obtain, from the label printer, a fourth time data indicating a second print, a time of the second label by the label printer (See MPEP 2144.04 – Duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced – which is relevant to each of limitations here in claim 8; Svenson – See col. 21, lines 31-44 – device 210 creates a first order tickets and sends the first order ticket data structure 210, with information such as items ordered, time of the order, and other customer information to the server 112; See col. 39, lines 31-67, FIG. 10 - each of the order tickets [disclosing more than one] may be associated with a dynamic code, such as a QR code or barcode, that may be used to track the status of the order at any point in time. Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time. The barcode, along with order ticket, may also be printed on a customer receipt so the customers can also track the order status);
obtain, from the second scanner, second production data, fifth time data, a second scanner identifier, and second item data, wherein the second production data indicates that the second scanner scanned the second machine readable code (Allen – See par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 [disclosing 1st order at 136; 2nd order at 137 or 138] with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process; Each of the multiple workers 132 may have a unique worker ID 139 assigned to them to allow for tracking and monitoring of the performance of each worker 132; see par 33 - Each workflow station 135 may include a unique ID capture device 130 to capture the unique ID 140 of the order when it arrives at the respective workflow station 135 [disclosing 2nd scanner at 137 or 138]), wherein the fifth time indicates a second scan time of the second machine readable code by the second scanner, and wherein the second scanner identifier indicates the second physical location (Allen – duplication of parts relative to claim 1– see FIG. 2 – many scanners 130; see par 21 - Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times; see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking; see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134. A unique IDs processed* field 334 may be used to keep a list of the various orders based on their unique IDs 140 that have been processed at that workflow station 135; see also Svenson – See col. 18, lines 4-17 - input indicating that one or more order tickets and/or one or more items on an order ticket are complete. see col. 46, lines 23-30 - The wait time may also be based on the average order processing time computed; See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time; and
determine, that the third item was produced via the second production channel, from the first production channel and the second production channel, based at least in part on the second production data, the second scanner identifier, and the second item data (Allen – see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times;
see also Svenson – See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time; see col. 54, lines 47-55 - the second merchant device 108 can further synchronize with the first merchant device 108 at given time intervals and/or after receiving input. For instance, the second merchant device 108 can receive input indicating that one or more order tickets and/or one or more items on an order ticket are complete);
determine sixth time data associated with the third item based at least in part on the fourth time data and the fifth time data, wherein the sixth time data indicates a second production time that corresponds to a difference between the second print time and the second scan time (See MPEP 2144.04 – Duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced – which is relevant to each of limitations here in claim 8; Allen – see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking; see par 39 - A workflow related table 330 may be used to track operations performed at various workflow stations 135 in the multiple workflows 134. see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times;
see also Svenson – See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time).
It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 9, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 8, wherein the second physical location corresponds to the second channel end (Allen –See par 26, FIG. 1 - Each of the workflows 136, 137, 138 may have a workflow procedure 142 for the workers 132 to follow. At appropriate steps in the multiple workflows 134, the appropriate workflow procedure 142 may be displayed at each workflow station 135 in the workflow 134 along with the order options 143 and any relevant customer preferences 144).
Concerning claim 10, claim 1 is now amended to indicate that the first item is produced from the first production channel and the second production channel. Examiner notes if future amendments are changed back towards requiring different distribution points for different channels, Lewis US 20150095169 (as applied in previous Rejection), would apply.
Allen now discloses claim 10, in light of claim 1 amendments:
The system of Claim 9, wherein the second channel start corresponds to a work center, and wherein the second channel end corresponds to a distribution point (Allen discloses that there are multiple different workstations (136, 137, 138) (See par 26) that can produce different items (See FIG. 1) and coffee/beverage then provided to customer at delivery station 230 (See FIG. 2, par 47, FIG. 6D);
See also Zubarik – See par 17, FIG. 1 – counter 10 for giving food/beverage (disclosing a distribution point); see par 35 - if the assembly sequence for the food or beverage item is important for the proper creation of the food or beverage item, the controller 50 can sequentially activate the indicators 34 for the components such that the components are added in a desired order).
It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson and Zubarik for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 15, Allen discloses:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 13, further comprising:
determining, based at least in part on the production time, second production data, wherein the second production data indicates one or more of an item performance, a work center performance, an environment performance, a speed of service, or a particular production time (Allen – see par 21 - ach of the multiple workers 132 may have a unique worker ID 139 assigned to them to allow for tracking and monitoring of the performance of each worker 132; see par 39 - A unique IDs processed* field 334 may be used to keep a list of the various orders based on their unique IDs 140 that have been processed at that workflow station 135. (disclosing work center performance);
see also Svenson see col. 46, lines 23-30 - The wait time may also be based on the average order processing time computed, for example, based on historical processing times of specific orders).
Concerning claim 16, Allen discloses:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 13, wherein the production channel comprises a channel start and a channel end, wherein the channel start corresponds to a work center (Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135), and wherein the channel end corresponds to a distribution point (Allen – see par 21 - After receipt of order, a unique ID 140 is created, assigned or otherwise associated with the order for each item in a multiple workflow fulfillment process 134 that has a separate workflow 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135 to be performed by multiple workers 132. Each workflow station 135 may have a unique workflow ID for identification of the point in the workflow process. Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times and may have a different number of workflow steps 135 that occur at one or more workflow stations 135. (disclosing channel start and end for a 1st workflow station 136; a 2nd 137; a 3rd 138, etc) that leads to a distribution point of 108 in FIG. 1 or 230 in FIG. 2.)
Concerning claim 17, Allen discloses:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 16, wherein the physical location of the scanner corresponds to the distribution point (Allen – see par 45, FIG. 1, 2- To prevent confusion, speed up the delivery, and increase the customer experience, a capture device 130 may be used to read the unique IDs 140 on each finished object 150.).
Concerning claim 22, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 21, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: store, in the memory, a first identifier of the first physical location and a second identifier of the second physical location (Allen –– see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking; see par 62 - In some examples, the instructions allow for the processor 215 tracking in the database 212 with a workflow ID the object through a workflow 134 to fulfill the order. The instructions may also allow for the processor 215 displaying on a set of clients 220 at each workflow location 135 the set of order options 143 and the set of customer preferences 144 based on the workflow ID 331. In block 910, the instructions allow for the processor 215 displaying with a display device 156 the representation 152 of the customer in a vicinity of the appurtenance 148 after fulfillment of the order; see also Svenson – See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time).
It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 23, Allen and Svenson disclose:
The system of Claim 21, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:
obtain, from the label printer, a printer identifier, wherein the printer identifier indicates the first physical location (Allen – see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking and to display the appropriate workflow procedure 142 and customer preferences 144; see also Svenson – See col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time).
It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 2020/0387912) and Svenson (US 10,467,559) and Zubarik (US 2022/0033242), as applied to claims 1-10, 13-17, and 21-23 above, and further in view of Kelly (US 2021/0406853).
Concerning claim 11, Allen discloses having workflows 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135. It is unclear if an order can go through each of 136 and 137 (or 137 and 138 for example).
Zubarik discloses “The dispensing of the component will be authorized only when the order ticket is presented to a dispensing point that includes a component that needs to be added to the food or beverage item” (See par 10, 40) where there are multiple channels (See FIG. 2 – multiple dispensers 26).
Kelly discloses:
The system of Claim 1, further comprising a third production channel, wherein the third production channel comprises a third channel start and a third channel end, wherein the third channel start corresponds to the first channel start, wherein the third channel end corresponds to the second channel end, and wherein the first channel end corresponds the second channel start (Kelly – See par 243, FIG. 30A - An order preparation station 3020 may be where bins or pods are deployed to or sent from for quick interaction with employee order fulfillment. Multiple order preparation stations may exist. A preparation station may adjoin with employee terminals 3040; see par 245, FIG. 30B - The food item container's may be passed, manually or autonomously, to an employee 3071 loading a bin 3063 and subsequently matched to one or combination of said bin, dispenser 3062, pickup point, customer, and the like. Food item containers may also be filled, processed, marked, stamped, scanned, matched, or placed within a bin at separate order preparation stations and subsequently sent to the next necessary order preparation station until the order fulfillment process was complete and the bin ready to be sent to a pickup, delivery, or dispenser location.)
Allen, Svenson, Zubarik, and Kelly are analogous art as they are directed to tracking preparation of food/beverage items by a merchant (See Allen Abstract, par 18; Svenson Col. 4, lines 10-30 - track progress through kitchen; Zubarik Abstract, par 10; Kelly – see par 239 – estimated order preparation or fulfillment time; par 240 – prioritize total estimated completion time; see par 244-245 - preparation station 3067 or a multitude of preparation stations may scan, mark, print 3066, or stamp a unique identifier on a food item container such as a cup 3030,). Allen discloses having workflows 136, 137, 138 with one or more workflow stations 135. Zubarik discloses “The dispensing of the component will be authorized only when the order ticket is presented to a dispensing point that includes a component that needs to be added to the food or beverage item” (See par 10, 40) where there are multiple channels (See FIG. 2 – multiple dispensers 26). Kelly improves upon Allen, Svenson, and Zubarik by disclosing that items can be sent to a “next” preparation station, until order fulfillment is complete as well as having overlapping employee stations/counters (See par 245, FIG. 30B). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include having an item flow through a combination of preparation stations and arranging stations apparat from each other to improve upon the multiple workstations for preparing items/coffee in Allen and the tracking of orders in Svenson and the automated dispensing in Zubarik.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create unique IDs 140 for coffee orders in Allen to further include capturing time of order along with printing of codes as disclosed in Svenson, to further include sending an item to a “next” preparation station that is arranged overlapping with another stations as disclosed in Kelly, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Concerning claim 12, Allen discloses:
The system of Claim 11, wherein execution of the computer-executable instructions, by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:
obtain, from the second scanner, second production data, fourth time data, a second scanner identifier, and the item data, wherein the second production data indicates that the second scanner scanned the machine readable code, wherein the fourth time data indicates a second scan time of the machine readable code by the second scanner, and wherein the second scanner identifier indicates the second physical location (Allen – see par 26 - The unique ID 140 capture device 130 may be located at the different workflow stations 135 to allow for workflow tracking and to display the appropriate workflow procedure 142 and customer preferences 144
See also Svenson - See col. 39, lines 31-67, FIG. 10 - each of the order tickets may be associated with a dynamic code, such as a QR code or barcode, that may be used to track the status of the order at any point in time. Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time.), and
determine, that the first item was produced via the second production channel, from the first production channel and the second production channel, based at least in part on the second production data, the second scanner identifier, and the item data (See Kelly See par 212 - the system may communicate a unique order label to apparatus in the kitchen which may be used to identify and track an order process. At each step in the process of preparing the food order, assembling the food order, and placing the food order into dispensers a unique order label(s) will be scanned to allow the order and its associated status to be tracked, logged, and matched to a dispenser and corresponding user-specific, unique identifier. See par 236 - barcode scan at a kiosk or dispenser may be analyzed and provide restaurant activity statistics, order statistics, wait status; see par 244 - A preparation station 3067 or a multitude of preparation stations may scan, mark, print 3066, or stamp a unique identifier on a food item container such as a cup 3030, fry holder, burger holder, and the like. Said food item container may match, associate, or pair said customer's order with the food item container's unique identifier. Food item container's may be scanned, marked, printed 3066, or stamped with said unique identifier among different locations of the order fulfillment process; see par 246 - Said order fulfillment status may be determined by one of many methods such as tracking individual food item container's scanned);
determine fifth time associated with the first item based at least in part on the first time data and the fourth time data, wherein the fifth time data indicates a second production time that corresponds to a difference between the scan time and the second scan time (Allen – see FIG. 2 – many scanners 130; see par 21 - Each workflow 136, 137, 138 may be completed with varying workflow completion times;
see also Svenson – see col. 39, lines 30-61 - Therefore, as the order moves from one kitchen station to another, the merchant may scan the barcode at each station so as to let the kitchen display system know the order status and location in real-time;
see also Kelly – see par 245 - food item containers may also be filled, processed, marked, stamped, scanned, matched, or placed within a bin at separate order preparation stations and subsequently sent to the next necessary order preparation station until the order fulfillment process was complete and the bin ready to be sent to a pickup, delivery, or dispenser location); and
determine, based at least in part of the production time and the second production time, a third production time associated with the first item (Allen – see par 51 - For instance, FIG. 7 is an example of a computer system, server 210 of FIG. 2, for implementing customized order fulfillment for an object 150. The object 150 may be one of many objects 150 from different customers 102 processed during the workflow 132 that proceeds through the workflow 132 at different speeds and resulting in different completion times;
See also Svenson - see col. 54, lines 47-55 - the second merchant device 108 can further synchronize with the first merchant device 108 at given time intervals and/or after receiving input. For instance, the second merchant device 108 can receive input indicating that one or more order tickets and/or one or more items on an order ticket are complete).
It would have been obvious to combine Allen and Svenson and Zubarik and Kelly for the same reasons as claim 11 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot in view of the new rejections.
With regards to 103, many of Applicant’s are moot in view of new rejections necessitated by amendment. Applicant’s appear to be arguing that Allen does not disclose various “time data” for production item of an item. Remarks pages 21-22. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Allen discloses in paragraph 0021 that there are varying workflow completion times, and paragraph 0026 discloses using the ID capture device 130 to perform workflow tracking and Svenson discloses scanning barcodes at each station to let the know the order status and location in “real-time.” See col. 39, lines 31-67, FIG. 10. Svenson is cited for the limitation of “obtain… scan time” - see col. 25, lines 49-67 – “in-progress”; “a timer that indicates an amount of time since the data capture device 202 received the second customer order.”
The remaining arguments then appear to switch to new limitations, but new reference Zubarik is now applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Venkatakrishnan US 2021/0221667 – directed to having automated dispensing for beverages, coffees (See par 40)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IVAN R GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619