Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 01/26/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Takahashi et al. (JP-2004039957-A), hereinafter Takahashi.
Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi teaches a method of manufacturing a coil component (11, Figures 11-12), the coil component including:
an element body including a plurality of magnetic layers (13) stacked in a first direction (see Fig 11) and having a surface in the first direction or in a second direction (an upper and lower surface) that is opposite to the first direction;
a coil (not numbered, Figure 11) in the element body;
extended wiring (12a) in the element body, electrically connected to an end portion of the coil, extending at least in the first direction (left and right directions; Paragraph [0049]; Fig 11), and exposed from the surface of the element body (Paragraph [0049]; Fig 11-12); and
an outer electrode (15) which is at least on the surface (Fig 11) of the element body and connected to the extended wiring (wiring 12a connects to electrode 15, Fig 11, Paragraph [0049]), in which
the coil includes a coil wiring layer (C1 to C6) extending in a direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (Paragraph [0018-0020]; Fig 3), and
the extended wiring includes an extended wiring layer (C11, Fig 12) in a layer that is different from the coil wiring layer (C12 to C15) with respect to the first direction (Paragraph [0047-0049]; Fig 11-12),
the method comprising:
forming an unbaked coil wiring layer zone by providing a paste-like unbaked coil wiring layer (C12 to C15) and a paste-like unbaked magnetic layer (S12 to S15) in a same layer in the direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (see Fig 11-12, Paragraph [0047-0050]) on an upper surface of a sheet-like unbaked magnetic layer (S11, at the bottom right sight side of Fig 12) with respect to the first direction (Paragraph [0047-0049]; Fig. 11-12); and
A method comprising: forming an unbaked extended wiring layer zone by providing a paste-like unbaked extended wiring layer (C11, a conductive layer in the S11 layer, Paragraph [0046]) and a paste-like unbaked magnetic layer (S11 comprises a paste-like unbaked magnetic layer since it is formed using a ‘slurry’ [0046]) in a same layer in the direction that is orthogonal to the first direction without providing a sheet-like unbaked magnetic layer (Paragraph [0046-0048]; Fig. 11-12)
Takahashi anticipates the teaching ‘without providing a sheet-like unbaked magnetic layer’ since the unbaked magnetic layer of Takahashi comprises a slurry and unfired, in order to ‘reduce stray capacitance’ (Paragraph [0051]). The unfired slurry is analogous to the unbaked magnetic layer because it is a paste-like form and remains unheated in this stage of processing as required by the limitation of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 1, further comprising: stacking the unbaked coil wiring layer zone (C12 to C15) and the unbaked extended wiring layer zone (C11) in the first direction (length direction) (Paragraph [0046-0050]; Figure 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Sato et al. (US-20210304954-A1), hereinafter Sato.
Regarding Claim 3, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figures 11-12) according to Claim 1. However, Takahashi does not explicitly specify order of steps and teach a method wherein the forming the unbaked extended wiring layer zone is performed after the forming the unbaked coil wiring layer zone, and the forming the unbaked extended wiring layer zone includes providing the paste-like unbaked extended wiring layer on an upper surface of the paste-like unbaked coil wiring layer.
Sato teaches a method wherein the forming the unbaked extended wiring layer zone (V1 to V5) is performed after the forming the unbaked coil wiring layer zone (C11 to C16 on layers 11 to 16 respectively), and the forming the unbaked extended wiring layer zone includes providing the paste-like unbaked extended wiring layer on an upper surface of the paste-like unbaked coil wiring layer (Paragraph [0067]; Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Sato by forming the unbaked extended wiring layer after forming the coil wiring layer to ensure that connections between layers are properly aligned in order to facilitate compact, high-density routing of signals.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Arata et al. (US-20130257576-A1), hereinafter Arata.
Regarding Claim 4, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figures 11-12) according to Claim 1,
Takashi does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction, and the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode , the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer, and the first extended wiring and the coil are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface.
Arata teaches a multilayer coil component (1) wherein the surface of the element body (2) includes a first surface (principal face 2a) in the second direction, and extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer (11, top layer), and the first extended wiring and the coil (coil C) are sequentially arranged in the first direction (thickness direction), the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface (principal face 2a, Paragraph [0004]; Arata) (Paragraph [0031-0036]; Arata).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
Regarding Claim 9, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figures 11-12) according to Claim 2,
Takahashi does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode, the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer, and the first extended wiring and the coil are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface.
Arata teaches a coil component wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface (lower surface of 2a) in the second direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer (11, top layer), and the first extended wiring and the coil (coil C) are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode (see layer 2a (in Fig 2) with electrodes 4 and 6 disposed on the layer, wherein the electrodes are connected to the extended wiring; Paragraph [0033-0034]; Arata), and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface (principal face 2a, Paragraph [0004]; Arata).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
Claims 5 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Arata in further view of Kim et al. (US-20180122555-A1), hereinafter Kim
Regarding Claim 5, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 1,
Takahashi does not explicitly teach a embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction and a second surface in the first direction, and the element body includes a third surface between the first surface and the second surface, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode, the first extended wiring, the coil, and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the third surface of the element body defines a mount surface.
Arata teaches a coil component wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface (lower surface of 2a) in the second direction and a second surface (upper surface of 2a) in the first direction, and the element body includes a third surface (side surface) between the first surface and the second surface, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring, the coil, and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction (Figure 2), the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode (see layer 2a (in Fig 2) with electrodes 4 and 6 disposed on the layer, wherein the electrodes are connected to the extended wiring; Paragraph [0033-0034]; Arata)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
However, the combination of Takahashi and Arata does not explicitly disclose a third surface of the element body which defines a mount surface.
Kim teaches a third surface (107, bottom surface in Fig 1) of the element body which defines a mount surface (Paragraph [0032]; Fig 1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Arata with the teachings of Kim by having one surface be a mount surface in the invention. This can be done in order to implement a higher degree of inductance which occurs when the coil is formed in a direction perpendicular to the mount surface (Kim, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding Claim 11, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 2,
Takahashi does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction and a second surface in the first direction, and the element body includes a third surface between the first surface and the second surface, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode, the first extended wiring, the coil, and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the third surface of the element body defines a mount surface.
Arata teaches a coil component wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface (lower surface of 2a) in the second direction and a second surface (upper surface of 2a) in the first direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring, the coil (coil C), and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode (see layer 2a (in Fig 2) with electrodes 4 and 6 disposed on the layer, wherein the electrodes are connected to the extended wiring; Paragraph [0033-0034]; Arata)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
However, the combination of Takahashi and Arata does not explicitly disclose a third surface of the element body which defines a mount surface.
Kim teaches a third surface (107, bottom surface in Fig 1) of the element body which defines a mount surface (Paragraph [0032]; Fig 1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Arata with the teachings of Kim by having one surface be a mount surface in the invention. This can be done in order to implement a higher degree of inductance which occurs when the coil is formed in a direction perpendicular to the mount surface (Kim, Paragraph [0005]).
Claims 6-8 and 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in further view of Noguchi et al. (US-20150014042-A1), hereinafter Noguchi
Regarding Claim 6, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 1, wherein the extended wiring includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers (C11) stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil (not numbered, Figure 11) and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5)
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0012]; Fig. 7)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they do not overlap in order to prevent the direct current value from becoming too high which could damage the components of the device (Noguchi, Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding Claim 7, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 1, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil (not numbered, Figure 11) and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Regarding Claim 8, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 1, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and portions of the plurality of extended wiring layers that extend in the first direction.
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Regarding Claim 13, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 2, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil (not numbered, Figure 11) and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0012]; Fig. 7)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they do not overlap in order to prevent the direct current value from becoming too high which could damage the components of the device (Noguchi, Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding Claim 17, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 2, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Regarding Claim 19, Takahashi teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Figure 11-12) according to Claim 2, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and portions of the plurality of extended wiring layers that extend in the first direction.
However, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Sato, and in further view of Arata.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Takahashi and Sato teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Fig 11-12) according to Claim 3,
However, the combination of Takahashi and Sato does not explicitly disclose an embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode, the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer, and the first extended wiring and the coil are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode, and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface.
Arata teaches a coil component wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface (lower surface of 2a) in the second direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring and the second extended wiring are arranged in a same layer (11, top layer), and the first extended wiring and the coil (coil C) are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode (see layer 2a (in Fig 2) with electrodes 4 and 6 disposed on the layer, wherein the electrodes are connected to the extended wiring; Paragraph [0033-0034]; Arata), and the first surface of the element body defines a mount surface (principal face 2a, Paragraph [0004]; Arata).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Sato with the teachings of Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
Claim 12 is rejected as being unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Sato in further view of Arata and Kim.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Takahashi and Sato teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Fig 11-12) according to Claim 3,
The combination of Takahashi and Sato does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface in the second direction and a second surface in the first direction, and the element body includes a third surface between the first surface and the second surface, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring and a second extended wiring, and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode and a second outer electrode, the first extended wiring, the coil, and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode
Arata teaches a coil component wherein the surface of the element body includes a first surface (lower surface of 2a) in the second direction and a second surface (upper surface of 2a) in the first direction, the extended wiring includes a first extended wiring (33, 35, 37, and 39) and a second extended wiring (33, 35, 41, and 43), and the outer electrode includes a first outer electrode (4) and a second outer electrode (6), the first extended wiring, the coil (coil C), and the second extended wiring are sequentially arranged in the first direction, the first extended wiring is exposed from the first surface of the element body and is connected to the first outer electrode, and the second extended wiring is exposed from the second surface of the element body and is connected to the second outer electrode (see layer 2a (in Fig 2) with electrodes 4 and 6 disposed on the layer, wherein the electrodes are connected to the extended wiring; Paragraph [0033-0034]; Arata)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Takashi and Sato with the teachings of Arata by including two extended wiring portions in order to more uniformly distribute current and better diffuse any heat generated during operation.
However, the combination of Takahashi, Sato, and Arata does not explicitly disclose the third surface of the element body which defines a mount surface.
Kim teaches a third surface (107, bottom surface in Fig 1) of the element body which defines a mount surface (Paragraph [0032]; Fig 1)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi and Sato in view of Arata with the teachings of Kim by having one surface be a mount surface in the invention. This can be done in order to implement a higher degree of inductance which occurs when the coil is formed in a direction perpendicular to the mount surface (Kim, Paragraph [0005]).
Claims 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Sato in further view of Noguchi.
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Takahashi and Sato teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component according to Claim 3, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
The combination of Takahashi and Sato does not teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0012]; Fig. 7)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi and Sato with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they do not overlap in order to prevent the direct current value from becoming too high which could damage the components of the device (Noguchi, Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Takahashi and Sato teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component according to Claim 3, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
However, the combination of Takahashi and Sato does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Sato with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of Takahashi and Sato teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component according to Claim 3, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction (length direction), and portions of the plurality of extended wiring layers that extend in the first direction.
However, the combination of Takahashi and Sato does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0013]; Fig. 5)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Sato with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they overlap in order to implement a shorter path of travel and thus reduce resistance in instances where higher current is necessary.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Arata in further view of Noguchi.
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Takahashi and Arata teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component according to Claim 4, wherein the extended wiring (C11) includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers stacked in the first direction, and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode (5).
However, the combination of Takahashi and Arata does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0012]; Fig. 7)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Arata with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they do not overlap in order to prevent the direct current value from becoming too high which could damage the components of the device (Noguchi, Paragraph [0045]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, Arata, and Kim in further view of Noguchi.
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Takahashi, Arata, and Kim teaches the method of manufacturing the coil component (11, Fig 11-12) according to Claim 5, wherein the extended wiring includes a plurality of the extended wiring layers (C11) stacked in the first direction (length direction), and a first zone in the extended wiring in contact with the coil and a second zone in the extended wiring in contact with the outer electrode.
The combination of Takahashi, Arata, and Kim does not explicitly disclose first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction.
Noguchi does teach first and second zones that do not overlap when viewed from the first direction (Paragraph [0012]; Fig. 7)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Takashi in view of Arata with the teachings of Noguchi by arranging the extended wiring where they do not overlap in order to prevent the direct current value from becoming too high which could damage the components of the device (Noguchi, Paragraph [0045]).
Conclusion
/AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837