DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 19-24 and 29-33 were/stand cancelled. Claims 7-13, 25 and 34 were amended. Claims 7-18, 25-28 and 34-36 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and structure 1 in the reply filed on July 9 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-18, 25-28 and 34-36 are pending in the application. Claims 34-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 9 2026. Accordingly, claims 7-18 and 25-28 are being examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a CON of 16/759,610 (04/27/2020; PAT 11,597,701) which is a 371 of PCT/US18/58471 (10/31/2018) which claims benefit of 62/679,549 (06/01/2018) and claims benefit of 62/646,739 (03/22/2018) and claims benefit of 62/580,398 (11/01/2017) as reflected in the filing receipt issued November 28 20223.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 22 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-17 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzemann et al. (US Patent No. 6576637) in view of Deming et al. (WO0194379) and Juliano et al. (Theranostics, 2011).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims an αvβ6 integrin ligand. As elected the ligand is:
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Holzemann et al. is directed to β-alanine derivatives. Claimed is a compound of formula I:
wherein Q1-Q4 can be CH, R1 is A which is a C1 alkyl, n is 4, R2 is H, R6 is H and R3 can be:
wherein R4 is H and Ar is aryl (claim 1). Ar can be naphthyl (column 6, lines 6-12). Claimed compounds include 4-methylpyridin-2-ylamino which corresponds to A being a C1 alkyl (aka methyl) and Q1-Q4 being CH (claims). A specific compound taught is: 3-{2-[4-(4-methylpyridin-2-ylamino)butyrylamino]acetylamino}-3-(4-naphthalen-1-ylphenyl)propionic acid which differs from the instant claims in the length of n (3 vs claimed 4) and silence to the stereochemistry as well as PEG group (example 23).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Holzemann et al. teach an integrin ligand which is similar in scope to the instant claims, Holzemann et al. does not teach attachment to an oligonucleotide or an ethylene glycol group attached. However, these deficiencies are cured by Deming et al. and Juliano et al.
Deming et al. is directed to methods and compositions for controlled polypeptide synthesis. It is taught that one approach to producing nonionic water-soluble polypeptides employs polyethylene glycol (PEG) which is typically grafted onto polypeptides or other polymers to improve their properties in vivo. PEG is nonionic, water-soluble and most importantly not recognized by immune systems. It is believed that PEG imports biocompatibility though formation of hydrated “steric barrier” at the surface of material that cannot be penetrated or recognized by biological molecules such as proteolytic enzymes. Despite its attractive properties, a drawback is the need for expensive amino-or-carboxylato-functionalized molecules for coupling (page 6; 12; 24). Taught are the use of oilgo (ethylene glycol) functionalized amino acids and their subsequence polymerization into oligo(ethylene glycol) functionalized polypeptides. The method of making these monomers includes the step of combining an ethylene glycol derivative with an amino acid having a reactive size group, such as serine. This results in an EG derivative of formula (CH3OCH2CH2)nX where n is about 1 to 3 EG repeats. A generalized scheme is shown in Scheme 1:
(pages 20-21). Attachment of the peptide to functional groups such as oligonucleotides is taught (page 27; claim 14).
Juliano et al. is directed to integrin targeted delivery of gene therapeutics. Antisense and siRNA oligonucleotides have tremendous potential as therapeutic agents in cancer and other diseases. However, the effective delivery of these molecules to their intracellular site of action remains a key impediment. Members of the integrin family of cell surface adhesion receptors seem particularly attractive target for enhancing the efficiency and selectivity of delivery of antisense and siRNA oligonucleotides. Taught is direct conjugation between oligonucleotide and integrin targeting ligands. This direct conjugation allows enhanced cellular uptake. Bivalent RGD was conjugated (page 211-213).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Holzemann et al., Deming et al. and Juliano et al. and replace the glycine of Holzmann et al. with the ethylene glycol derivatized amino acid of Deming et al., specifically structure A. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to replace the glycine to afford the benefits of a PEG group as taught by Deming et al. Since both the glycine of Holzmann et al. and Deming et al. would be coupled to other amino acids in the same manner, there is a reasonable expectation of success in simple substitution of one amino acid with another. Since PEG attachment not only provides for a point of attachment to other groups but also other benefits as taught by Deming et al. one skilled in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution. This results in structure 1a/1 claimed in claim 7-8.
Regarding the claimed stereochemistry, Holzman et al. teaches that the compounds have at least one chiral center and can therefore occur in several stereoisomeric forms. All these forms are included in the formula (column 4, lines 41-46).
Regarding the claimed cargo molecule, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Holzemann et al., Deming et al. and Juliano et al. and conjugate the peptide of Holzemann et al. to an oligonucleotide. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to conjugate an oligonucleotide to the peptide in order to afford targeted delivery of the oligonucleotide as taught by Juliano et al. Since Juliano et al. teaches the peptide can be directly conjugated to the oligonucleotide and PEG is a group which can be utilized to conjugate groups and Deming et al. teaches that oligonucleotides can be conjugated to the peptide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Holzemann et al., Deming et al. and Juliano et al. and conjugate the oligonucleotide through the PEG group.
Regarding claim 11, Juliano et al. teaches an antisense oligonucleotide and siRNA reading on an RNAi agent.
Regarding claim 13, the instant specification provides no limiting definition of linking group and scaffold, therefore the use of the PEG reads on both linking group and scaffold which then binds the ligand of claim 7 to the cargo.
Regarding claims 14-17, as suggested by Juliano et al. the integrin ligand is used to target the oligonucleotide. Juliano et al. even suggests bivalent peptides which can be attached to oligonucleotides. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Holzemann et al., Deming et al. and Juliano et al. and vary the number of integrin ligands attached in order to achieve the desired level of targeting.
Regarding claim 25, Holzmann et al. exemplifies pharmaceutical compositions such as solutions.
Regarding claims 25-28, Holzmann et al. suggest the same ligand except for the PEG group and the oligonucleotide. Juliano et al. teaches an antisense oligonucleotide or siRNA. Since claims 25-28 are directed to the capabilities of the instantly claimed structure and the prior art suggests the claimed structure, the claims do not structurally distinguish from the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12655428. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant application claims an αvβ6 integrin ligand. As elected the ligand is:
Patent ‘428 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the patent claims and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12486502. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Patent ‘502 claims an RNAi agent for inhibition expression of a Receptor for Advanced Glycation End-products gene. As claimed, the RNAi includes the nucleotide sequence and a ligand which is of the following structure:
Introduction into a cell is claimed.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi.
Therefore, the scope of the patent claims and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-61 of copending Application No.19707992. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘992 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Compositions are claimed. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, 30-32 and 37 of copending Application No.19394336 (USPGPUB NO. 20260193655). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘336 claims an RNAi agent for inhibition expression of a Receptor for Advanced Glycation End-products gene. As claimed, the RNAi includes the nucleotide sequence and a ligand which is of the following structure:
Compositions are claimed.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 17-18, 20, 23, 25, 26, 28, 31,33, 37-39, 48, 52 and 47 of copending Application No.18791757 (USPGPUB NO: 20240392292). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘757 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Compositions are claimed. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6-8, 13-17, 19, 23-24, 27, 30, 32, 35, 38, 42 and 47 of copending Application No.19287091 (USPGPUB NO: 20260022379). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘091 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Compositions are claimed. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, 30-31, 34-36, 45, 49 and 52 of copending Application No.19299635 (USPGPUB NO: 20260043029). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘635 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Compositions are claimed. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Claims 7-13, 16, 18 and 25-28 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 17-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, 30-31, 34-36, 40, 42 and 46 of copending Application No.19266598 (USPGPUB NO: 20260078375). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘598 claims an RNAi agent wherein the RNAi agent is linked to a target of the following formula.
Thus, attachment of this target to the RNAi results in the same structure 1/1a wherein the cargo molecule is an RNAi. Compositions are claimed. Administration to treat a respiratory disease is claimed.
Therefore, the scope of the copending application and the instant application overlap and thus they are obvious variants of one another.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636