Detailed Action
(The prior Office action dated 11/13/2025 has been replaced/vacated by this Office Action to correct the minor typographical errors in rejection statement numbers 2 and 7. The changes are underlined.
Amendment
Applicants’ amendment filed on 9/30/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-21 are pending. Of these, non-elected claims 20-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 20190038119) in view of Tsuji (US 20060287576).
Regarding claim 1, Morimoto discloses an endoscope light source device (abstract; FIG. 2, annotated) that supplies illumination light to a light guide of an endoscope, comprising:
a plurality of first semiconductor light sources (Light source driving unit 21; green light emitted from the second light source 72; light emitting element 71, blue light emitting element 81; light emitting element 88; FIGS. 2-3, annotated; Para [0068]) that emit pieces of light in wavelength ranges different from each other;
an illumination light generation unit that generates the illumination light that is white light by using the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (White light is generated by control unit; Para [0115]); and
a light source attachment unit (endoscope 12; FIG. 2) that is configured such that a second semiconductor light source (A light source in light source unit 20; FIG. 2) is attachable to and detachable from the light source attachment unit, wherein the illumination light generation unit generates the illumination light (Blue light emitted from the first light source 71, green light emitted from the second light source 72, and red light emitted from the third light source 75 are multiplexed to generate broadband white light. Para [0067]) by using the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources and light emitted from the second semiconductor light source in a case where the second semiconductor light source is attached to the light source attachment unit (The endoscope 12 is configured to be detachable from the light source device, so that one of different kinds of endoscopes is appropriately connected to the light source device for an endoscope and the processor device depending on a difference in an observation part or the like. Para [0006]).
Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein the light source attachment unit is provided in the light source device and includes a space for attaching the second semiconductor light source before the second semiconductor light source is attached or after the attached second semiconductor light source is detached.
Tsuji is directed to an endoscope (abstract) and teaches wherein a light source attachment unit (endoscope system 1; endoscope 9A; light guide 3; light source 18; para [0068]) is provided in the light source device (Endoscope of FIG. 7A, attached below; The direct-viewing-type rigid endoscope 9A comprises the light guide cable section 3 and the signal cable section 4, which can be freely detachably mounted to the rigid endoscope main body 2A; Para [0068]) and includes a space (See space as annotated in FIG. 7A) for attaching the second semiconductor light source before the second semiconductor light source is attached or after the attached second semiconductor light source is detached (See annotated FIG. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to provide a space in the endoscope side in accordance with the teaching of Tsuji so that connection to the endoscope could be firm and stable by way of having the connection space.
Regarding claim 2, Morimoto discloses wherein the illumination light generation unit includes a first multiplexing member (Dichroic mirror 76; para [0068]) that multiplexes the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources, and a second multiplexing member disposition portion in which a second multiplexing member (Dichroic mirror 77; FIG.3; Para [0068]) that reflects the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source (FIG. 3, annotated) to multiplex light emitted from at least one of the plurality of first semiconductor light sources with the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source is disposed in a case where the second semiconductor light source is attached.
Regarding claim 4, Morimoto discloses wherein the light source attachment unit is provided at a position (FIG. 2) where an optical path length of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source to the light guide is shorter (Light path from the second semiconductor light source is shorter. FIG. 2, annotated) than an optical path length of the light emitted from each of the plurality of first semiconductor light sources to the light guide (light guide 41).
Regarding claim 5, Morimoto discloses wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include the first semiconductor light source that emits blue light (FIG. 3, annotated) or the first semiconductor light source that emits green light, and
the illumination light generation unit is provided with the light source attachment unit at a position (FIG. 2) where the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source is multiplexed with the light emitted from the first semiconductor light source on an optical path of the blue light emitted from the first semiconductor light source (FIGS.2-3, annotated) or on an optical path of the green light emitted from the first semiconductor light source.
Regarding claim 6, Morimoto discloses wherein the illumination light generation unit generates the illumination light that is white light (White light is generated by control unit; Para [0115]) by using pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources in a case where the second semiconductor light source attached to the light source attachment unit is detached from the light source attachment unit (Even when the endoscope 12 is detached from the light source device 14, the white light is generated by control unit; Para [0115]).
Regarding claim 7, Morimoto discloses wherein at least one first multiplexing member is replaceable (As shown in FIG.2, multiplexer 99 are replaceable.).
Regarding claim 14, Morimoto discloses wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range (Morimoto: second light source 72 emits light of a green component G, which is within the white light range) in a wavelength range longer than the wavelength ranges of the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (Morimoto: First semiconductor emits blue. Therefore, the wavelength range emitted by the second semiconductor light source which is green is longer than blue.).
Regarding claim 18, Morimoto discloses an endoscope system (abstract; FIG. 2, annotated) comprising:
an endoscope (an endoscope 12; FIG. 2) that has a light guide (light guide 41) guiding illumination light; and
an endoscope light source device that supplies the illumination light to the light guide, wherein the endoscope light source device includes a plurality of first semiconductor light sources (Light source driving unit 21; green light emitted from the second light source 72; light emitting element 71, blue light emitting element 81; FIGS. 2-3, annotated; Para [0068]) that emit pieces of light in wavelength ranges different from each other,
an illumination light generation unit that generates the illumination light that is white light by using the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (White light is generated by control unit; Para [0115])), and
a light source attachment unit (endoscope 12; FIG. 2 annotated) that is configured such that a second semiconductor light source (A light source in light source unit 20; FIG. 2) is attachable to and detachable from the light source attachment unit (The endoscope 12 is configured to be detachable from the light source device for an endoscope and the processor device, so that one of different kinds of endoscopes is appropriately connected to the light source device for an endoscope and the processor device depending on a difference in an observation part or the like. Para [0006]), and the illumination light generation unit generates the illumination light (Blue light emitted from the first light source 71, green light emitted from the second light source 72, and red light emitted from the third light source 75 are multiplexed to generate broadband white light. Para [0067]) by using the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources and light emitted from the second semiconductor light source in a case where the second semiconductor light source is attached to the light source attachment unit.
Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein the light source attachment unit is provided in the light source device and includes a space for attaching the second semiconductor light source before the second semiconductor light source is attached or after the attached second semiconductor light source is detached.
Tsuji is directed to an endoscope (abstract) and teaches wherein a light source attachment unit (endoscope system 1; endoscope 9A; light guide 3; light source 18; para [0068]) is provided in the light source device (Endoscope of FIG. 7A, attached below; The direct-viewing-type rigid endoscope 9A comprises the light guide cable section 3 and the signal cable section 4, which can be freely detachably mounted to the rigid endoscope main body 2A; Para [0068]) and includes a space (See space as annotated in FIG. 7A) for attaching the second semiconductor light source before the second semiconductor light source is attached or after the attached second semiconductor light source is detached (See annotated FIG. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include a space in the endoscope side in accordance with the teaching of Tsuji so that connection to the endoscope could be firm and stable by way of having the connection space.
Regarding claim 19, Morimoto wherein the illumination light generation unit generates the illumination light that is white light (White light is generated by control unit; Para [0115]) by using pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources in a case where the second semiconductor light source attached to the light source attachment unit is detached from the light source attachment unit (The endoscope 12 is configured to be detachable from the light source device for an endoscope and the processor device, so that one of different kinds of endoscopes is appropriately connected to the light source device for an endoscope and the processor device depending on a difference in an observation part or the like. As seen from FIG. 2, the control unit is capable of generating white light when being detached from the endoscope. Para [0115]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 20190038119) in view of Tsuji (US 20060287576) and further in view of Niitani (US 20240019677).
Regarding claim 3, Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein the second multiplexing member disposition portion is configured such that the second multiplexing member is attachable to and detachable from the second multiplexing member disposition portion.
Niitani is directed to a microscope (abstract) and teaches wherein the second multiplexing member disposition portion is configured such that the second multiplexing member is attachable to and detachable from the second multiplexing member disposition portion (Detachable dichroic mirror 20a disposed between the objective lens 21 and the second objective lens 19. Para [0324]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto so that the second multiplexing member (the dichroic mirror 20a) would be attachable to and detachable from the second multiplexing member disposition portion in accordance with the teaching of Niitani so that the dichroic mirror may be replaced when it is required for a repair or a device update.
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 20190038119) in view of Tsuji (US 20060287576) and further in view of Daidoji (US 20170112370).
Regarding claim 8, Morimoto discloses wherein each of the first semiconductor light sources emits any one piece of light selected from among violet light, blue light (light emitting element 81 emits blue light.), green light, and red light, the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include at least two first semiconductor light sources (FIG. 3, annotated), and a continuous wavelength range is formed by light emitted from each of the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (White light is generated by control unit; Para [0115]).
Morimoto does not expressly disclose the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include at least three first semiconductor light sources.
Daidoji is directed to endoscope system and teaches semiconductor light sources that include at least three semiconductor light sources (FIG. 13; Light sources lasers 181a-181e; white light generation; Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include plurality of semiconductor lights together in accordance with the teaching of Daidoji so that housing and control of the lights would be easier to provide an illumination of wide ranges of wavelengths such as white light.
Regarding claim 9, Morimoto discloses a continuous wavelength range is formed by light emitted from each of the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (In normal mode white light is generated; Para [0042]).
Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include at least four first semiconductor light sources that each emit any one piece of light selected from among violet light, blue light, green light, and red light.
Daidoji is directed to endoscope system and teaches wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include at least four first semiconductor light sources that each emit any one piece of light selected from among violet light (Violet laser 181a), blue light (blue laser 181b; para [055]), green light (third laser 181c, green laser; para [0042]), and red light (red laser 181d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include a plurality of semiconductor lights together in accordance with the teaching of Daidoji so that housing and control of the lights would be easier.
Regarding claim 10, Morimoto as modified teaches wherein, in a case where light emitted from each of two first semiconductor light sources among the plurality of first semiconductor light sources forms a continuous wavelength range (Daidoji: In normal mode white light is generated; Para [0042]), a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range between the wavelength ranges of the pieces of light emitted from the two first semiconductor light sources (Morimoto: second light source 72 emits light of a green component G, which is within the white light range. ).
Regarding claim 11, Morimoto as modified teaches wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include the first semiconductor light source that emits blue light (Daidoji: blue laser 181b; para [055]) and the first semiconductor light source that emits green light (third laser 181c, green laser; para [0042]), and a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range between a wavelength range of the blue light emitted from the first semiconductor light source and a wavelength range of the green light (Morimoto: second light source 72 emits light of a green component G, which is within the white light range) emitted from the first semiconductor light source.
Regarding claim 12, Morimoto as modified teaches wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include the first semiconductor light source that emits green light (Daidoji: third laser 181c, green laser; para [0042]) and the first semiconductor light source that emits red light (Daidoji: red laser 181d), and a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range between a wavelength range of the green light (Morimoto: The second light source 72 emits light of a green component G, which is within the white light range.) emitted from the first semiconductor light source and a wavelength range of the red light emitted from the first semiconductor light source.
Regarding claim 13, Morimoto discloses wherein the plurality of first semiconductor light sources include the first semiconductor light source that emits violet light (violet laser 181a) and the first semiconductor light source that emits blue light (blue laser 181b; para [055]).
Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range between a wavelength range of the violet light emitted from the first semiconductor light source and a wavelength range of the blue light emitted from the first semiconductor light source.
Daidoji teaches wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range between a wavelength range of the violet light (A violet laser light emitted from a first laser 181a of a light source 180; FIG. 2) emitted from the first semiconductor light source and a wavelength range of the blue light emitted from the first semiconductor light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include a violet light in accordance with the teaching of Daidoji so that violet light could be used in generation of illumination light.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 20190038119) in view of Tsuji (US 20060287576) and further in view of Mizuyoshi (US 20110077465).
Regarding claim 15, Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range in a near-infrared range.
Mizuyoshi is directed to a medical apparatus (abstract) and teaches wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range in a near-infrared range (The laser beam of the near infrared light having the central wavelength of 375 nm is introduced from the laser light sources LD11 and LD12 to the projecting units 71B and 71C. Para [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include an infrared light in the second semiconductor light source so that infrared light could be used in generation of light illumination.
Regarding claim 16, Morimoto does not expressly disclose wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range in a wavelength range shorter than the wavelength ranges of the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources.
Mizuyoshi is directed to a medical apparatus (abstract) and teaches wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range in a wavelength range (The laser light source LD1 is a narrow bandwidth of light observation light source which emits a violet laser light having a central wavelength of 405 nm. Para [0046]) shorter than the wavelength ranges of the pieces of light emitted from the plurality of first semiconductor light sources (Morimoto: Blue; FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morimoto to include a violet laser light in the second semiconductor light source so that a violet light could be used in generation of illumination light.
Regarding claim 17, Morimoto as modified teaches wherein a wavelength range of the light emitted from the second semiconductor light source includes a wavelength range in an ultraviolet range (Mizuyoshi: The laser light source LD1 is a narrow bandwidth of light observation light source which emits a violet laser light having a central wavelength of 405 nm. Para [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, filed 9/30/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection dated 7/1/2025 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection under 103 has been made. See rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 02/23/26