DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed June 9, 2026. The application has been updated accordingly.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolner et al. (2010/0226748) hereinafter Wolner.
Wolner discloses:
Claim 1: A lifeline apparatus comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3; 101/121) defining an interior portion (Fig. 4; 137) configured for storing at least a portion of a retractable lifeline (Fig. 4; 225) therein;
a spool lock assembly (Fig. 4; 145) selectively configurable between a locked configuration (Fig. 10, Para. [0034]) and an unlocked configuration (Fig. 14, Para. [0034]) to facilitate a selective deployment of at least a portion of the retractable lifeline from within the housing (Para. [0053-0055]), the spool lock assembly comprising:
a latch plate (Fig. 5A; 148) positioned on an exterior of the housing, the latch plate movable from a nominal position (Fig. 10, Para. [0034]) to an actuated position by pulling at least a portion of the latch plate outward from the exterior of the housing (Fig. 14, Para. [0034]);
a lock arm (Fig. 5A; 155) at least partially engaged with the latch plate (Fig. 10; Para. [0034]) and configured for arrangement between an engaged position (Fig. 10; Para. [0034]) and a disengaged position based at least in part on a position of the latch plate (Fig. 14; Para. [0034]), wherein the engaged position of the lock arm is defined by the lock arm being positioned to prevent the selective deployment of the lifeline from within the housing by restricting rotation of one or more components operatively connected to the at least a portion of the retractable lifeline (Fig. 10; Para. [0034]);
wherein the configuration of the spool lock assembly between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration is defined at least in part by the position of the latch plate between the nominal position and the actuated position (Fig. 10 & 14; Para. [0034]),
wherein the latch plate includes an underside (Fig. 10; see detail) accessible to a user via an opening between the latch plate and the exterior of the housing.
Claim 4: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the locked configuration of the spool lock assembly is defined at least in part by the lock arm being arranged in the engaged position (Fig. 10; 155, Para. [0034]).
Claim 5: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spool lock assembly further comprises a tray (Fig. 10; 146) defined by an outer sidewall provided on an exterior surface of the housing and an interior tray portion defined within the outer sidewall, wherein the nominal position of the latch plate is defined at least in part by an exterior plate (Fig. 10; see detail) surface of the latch plate being arranged in an at least substantially flush configuration with at least a portion of the tray (Fig. 10; 148).
Claim 6: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spool lock assembly is configured such that, upon being configured in the unlocked position, the spool lock assembly is held in the unlocked configuration until a threshold locking force sufficient to cause the latch plate to be moved from the actuated position towards the nominal position is received at the latch plate (Para. [0053]).
Claim 7: The lifeline apparatus of claim 6, wherein the spool lock assembly comprises a plurality of corresponding interface features (Fig. 5A; 159/157a,281, Para. [0036-0037]) configured for engagement with one another to at least partially secure the latch plate in one or more directions relative to the lock arm to facilitate a retention of the latch plate and the lock arm in the actuated position and the disengaged position, respectively (Para. [0034]).
Claim 8: The lifeline apparatus of claim 7, wherein the plurality of corresponding interface features comprise an interface protrusion feature (Fig. 5A; 159) defined by the latch plate and an interface cavity feature defined by the lock arm (Fig. 5A; 157a, Para. [0037]), wherein, upon the spool lock assembly being configured in an unlocked configuration, the interface protrusion feature and the interface cavity feature physically contact one another such that the interface cavity feature receives at least a portion of the interface protrusion feature therein (Fig. 8; 159 protrudes through 157a into 281, Para. [0037]).
Claim 9: The lifeline apparatus of claim 8, wherein the interface protrusion feature is defined by a protrusion extending from an arm engagement tab of the latch plate (Fig. 5B; 159 extends from 150a), and the interface cavity feature is defined by a recessed groove provided along a first arm end defined by the lock arm (Fig. 5A; 281, Para. [0037]), the recessed groove being configured to receive at least a portion of the protrusion therein to at least partially restrict a relative movement of the arm engagement tab with respect to the first arm end in one or more directions (Para. [0055]).
Claim 13: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spool lock assembly further comprises a secondary safety mechanism (Fig. 5A; 161, Para. [0038]) that is configured for selective arrangement in a locked position such that the spool lock assembly defines a secondary locking means for securing the latch plate in the nominal position (Fig. 5A; via 155, Para. [0034])
Claim 14: The lifeline apparatus of claim 13, wherein the secondary safety mechanism defines a dynamic configuration (Fig. 5A; 161, Para. [0038]) relative to the latch plate, wherein the secondary safety mechanism is selectively configurable between the locked position and an unlocked position based at least in part on one or more movements of the secondary safety mechanism relative to the latch plate (Fig. 5A; 148, Para. [0053]).
Claim 15: The lifeline apparatus of claim 14, wherein the spool lock assembly is configured such that configuring the spool lock assembly in the unlocked configuration is defined by a dual-action unlocking operation (Fig. 5A; via 148 and 154).
Claim 16: The lifeline apparatus of claim 15, wherein the dual-action unlocking operation is defined by a first arrangement of the secondary safety mechanism in an unlocked position (Fig. 5A; when 161 are not engaged) and a second arrangement of the latch plate in the actuated position (Fig. 14; Para. [0034]).
Claim 17: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spool lock assembly further comprises a biasing spring (Fig. 5A; 154) engaged with the lock arm (Fig. 5A; 155b) and configured to apply one or more bias forces to the lock arm to bias a rotation thereof towards the locked position (Para. [0055]).
Claim 18: The lifeline apparatus of claim 17, wherein at least a portion of the lock arm is in physical contact with an arm engagement tab provided along an underside of the latch plate (Fig. 10; 155b is depicted as having physical contact with 280) such that a biased configuration of the lock arm causes the latch plate to be biased towards the nominal position (Para. [0055]).
Claim 20: The lifeline apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actuated position of the latch plate is defined at least in part by at least a portion of the latch plate protruding outward in a direction at least partially away from an exterior surface of the housing (Fig. 5A; 155b protrudes away from the exterior surface of 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolner et al. (2010/0226748) hereinafter Wolner, in view of Kolb (3,517,570).
Claim 10: Wolner discloses the lifeline apparatus of claim 6, but fails to disclose further comprising one or more ball plungers configured to facilitate a retention of the latch plate in one or more of the nominal position and the actuated position by engaging a surface of the latch plate to cause an interference between the latch plate and an adjacent surface of a tray of the spool lock assembly that operably resists a rotational movement of the latch plate away from one or more of the nominal position and the actuated position.
However, Kolb discloses ball plungers (Fig. 2; 62) and openings (Fig. 2; 76) to receive the ball plungers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the latch plate and adjacent surface (146) of Wolner to include the ball plungers and openings, as taught by Kolb, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate discrete positioning when turning the knob (Col. 3, Lines 10-16).
Thus, in combination Wolner and Kolb disclose the one or more ball plungers, of Kolb, to configured to facilitate a retention of the latch plate, of Wolner, in one or more of the nominal position and the actuated position by engaging a surface of the latch plate to cause an interference between the latch plate and an adjacent surface of a tray of the spool lock, modified by Kolb to include openings, assembly that operably resists a rotational movement of the latch plate away from one or more of the nominal position and the actuated position (Kolb - Col. 3, Lines 10-16).
Claim 11: Wolner and Kolb disclose the lifeline apparatus of claim 10, wherein the latch plate (Wolner - Fig. 3; 148) defines one or more indentions (Kolb - Fig. 2; 76) provided at respective lateral side surfaces thereof is configured such that, when the latch plate is positioned in one or more of the nominal position and the actuated position, the latch plate is configured to receive at least a portion of the one or more ball plungers (Kolb - Fig. 2; 62) within the one or more indentions, wherein the one or more ball plungers being at least partially disposed within the one or more indentions at least partially secures the latch plate relative to the adjacent surface of the tray to resist a relative movement of the latch plate away from the adjacent surface of the tray (Kolb - Col. 3, Lines 10-16).
Claim 12: Wolner and Kolb disclose the lifeline apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more ball plungers (Kolb - Fig. 2; 62) comprises a first ball plunger disposed between a first lateral side surface of the latch plate (Wolner - Fig. 5A; 148, once modified by Kolb Fig. 2; 62 right) and a first lateral side surface of the tray adjacent thereto (Wolner - Fig. 5A; 146, once modified by Kolb Fig. 2; 76 right), and a second ball plunger disposed between an opposing second lateral side surface of the latch plate (Wolner - Fig. 5A; 148, once modified by Kolb Fig. 2; 62 left) and a second lateral side surface of the tray adjacent thereto (Wolner - Fig. 5A; 146, once modified by Kolb Fig. 2; 76 left), wherein the one or more indentions defined by the latch plate comprises a first indention provided along the first lateral side surface and configured to receive at least a portion of the first ball plunger therein when the latch plate is positioned in the actuated position, and a second indention provided along the second lateral side surface and configured to receive at least a portion of the second ball plunger therein when the latch plate is positioned in the actuated position (Kolb - Col. 3, Lines 10-16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is considered allowable due to the recitation of the latch plate being hingedly connected to a latch pin.
Claim 21 is considered allowable due to the recitation of the latch plate including an exterior plate surface positioned opposite to the underside of the latch plate.
Claim 3 is considered allowable due its dependency from claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the prior art rejections, applicant argues that the primary reference of Wolner fails to disclose “wherein the latch plate includes an underside accessible to a user via an opening between the latch plate and the exterior of the housing.” This argument is not persuasive because Fig. 10 depicts feature 148 (the latch plate) which has a top or front portion at the outer most face of 148, a flanged portion (149) and an underside located at the back portion of the flanged portion, which is accessible to a user via the open space between the flanged portion and the exterior of the housing. The annotation of Fig. 10 is not meant to point to the flanged portion (149) but the “underside” portion behind 149. Additionally, the user would grasp behind the flanged portion through an opening formed between the flanged portion and the exterior of the housing in order to engage the latch plate.
For at least these reasons applicant’s remarks are not found persuasive and the claims remain rejected as advanced above.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/THEODORE V ADAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635