DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lang et al (11,553,969).
Regarding claim 5, Lang et al disclose a method comprising:
displaying a planned resection plane aligned with an object in a coordinate system on an augmented reality headset (at least one head mounted display (HMD) and a virtual bone cut plane – col.14, ll.28-30);
detecting, by the augmented reality headset, a guide marker attached to a resection guide (surgical instruments can be, for example, cut blocks, pin guides – col.22, ll.62-63; video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8);
determining an actual resection plan based on a position of the guide marker (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8);
displaying the actual resection plane on the augmented reality headset (video capture system integrated into the HMD – col.89, ll.61-65); and
placing the resection guide in accordance with guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane (as the optical marker enters the surgeon’s field of view, an image and/or video capture system can detect the optical marker and display the next virtual surgical step, e.g. an outline of a virtual proximal tibial cut block corresponding to the physical proximal tibial cut block, so that the surgeon can align or superimpose the physical surgical cut block or instrument onto the outline of the virtual surgical cut block or instrument – col.86, l.63-col.87, l.4; the distal femoral cut block 35 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Regarding claim 6, Lang et al disclose further comprising:
attaching one or more markers to the object at one or more points (tracking markers can be used to determine the pose of the bony structure to which they are rigidly attached) – col.270, ll.41-42), wherein each marker of the one or more markers comprises fiducials (tracking markers can be comprised of one or more fiducials – col.270, l.43);
identifying a pattern of the fiducials attached to each marker by the augmented reality headset to provide an identification of each point of the object (tracking of the markers can be continuous or at regular or irregular intervals, and the computer display can be updated – col.270, ll.60-63); and
creating a coordinate system based in part on one or more identifications of the one or more points of the object by the augmented reality headset (a pose of the first vertebra in a coordinate system from the first marker and the second marker – col.1, ll.53-58).
Regarding claim 7, Lang et al disclose further comprising: identifying fiducials attached to the guide marker in the coordinate system by the augmented reality headset (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8); and
determining the actual resection plane based on a pattern of the fiducials (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Regarding claim 14, Lang et al disclose a system comprising:
a resection guide configured to be attached to an object (surgical instruments can be, for example, cut blocks, pin guides – col.22, ll.62-63; fig.14c);
an augmented reality headset (head mounted display, for example for augmented reality applications – col.7, ll.30-33) configured to:
determine a location of the resection guide in a coordinate system (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8);
determine an actual reception plane based on the location of the resection guide (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8; fig.14c);
display a planned resection plane and the actual resection plane in the coordinate system (video capture system integrated into the HMD – col.89, ll.61-65; fig.14c); and
guide placement of the resection guide based on the planned and actual resection planes (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Regarding claim 15, Lang et al disclose further comprising:
a guide marker configured to be attached to the resection guide, the guide marker comprising a plurality of fiducials configured to define a fiducial plane (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8);
wherein the augmented reality headset is configured to determine the actual resection plane based on the fiducial plane in the coordinate system (video capture system can track the optical marker and the surgical instrument with respect to its location, position, orientation, alignment and/or direction of movement – col.90, ll.6-8).
Regarding claim 16, Lang et al disclose further comprising:
one or more markers configured to be attached to the object at one or more points (tracking markers can be used to determine the pose of the bony structure to which they are rigidly attached), each marker of the one or more markers comprising fiducials (tracking markers can be comprised of one or more fiducials – col.270, l.43);
wherein the augmented reality headset is configured to:
identify a pattern of the fiducials attached to each marker by the augmented reality headset to provide an identification of each point of the object (tracking of the markers can be continuous or at regular or irregular intervals, and the computer display can be updated – col.270, ll.60-63); and
create a coordinate system based in part on one or more identifications of the one or more points of the object by the augmented reality headset (a pose of the first vertebra in a coordinate system from the first marker and the second marker – col.1, ll.53-58).
Regarding claim 17, Lang et al disclose wherein the augmented reality headset is further configured to:
display the planned resection plane aligned with the object in the coordinate system (fig.14c); and
prompt to adjust a location and orientation of the resection guide to reduce a difference between the actual resection plane to the planned resection plane (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Regarding claim 18, Lang et al disclose wherein the augmented reality headset is further configured to prompt to adjust the location and orientation of the resection guide to reduce a distance, angle, or combination thereof between the planned resection plane and the actual resection plane (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al (11,553,969) in view of Leitner et al (2004/0143178).
Regarding claim 8, Lang et al disclose further comprising: guiding the resection along the actual resection plane (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Lang et al fail to explicitly disclose prompting to attach the guide marker to the resection guide; prompting to place the resection guide on the object; prompting to remove the guide marker from the resection guide.
However, Leitner et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, prompting to attach a guide marker to a resection guide (removable marker attached to the cutting jig); prompting to place the resection guide on an object (localization device is used to guide a surgeon in the placement of a cutting jig); prompting to remove the guide marker from the resection guide (after the cutting jig is secured, the removable marker is removed from the cutting jib) ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attached guide marker to the resection guide of Lang et al with prompting to attach the guide marker, prompting to place the resection guide and prompting to remove the guide marker of Leitner et al as it would provide placement of marker for visualization of the device and placement of the device as well as removing the removably marker for later attachment to tools used in subsequent steps (Leitner [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Lang et al disclose further comprising:
detecting a difference of the actual resection plane to the planned resection plane (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8); and
prompting to remove the guide marker from the resection guide if the detected difference is less than a predetermined difference (Examiner’s position is this limitation is a contingent limitation which does not provide any further patentable weight. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent area not met. See MPEP 2111.04. Examiner notes Leitner et al discloses securing the cutting jib and removing the marker only after the cutting jig is secured (difference is less than a predetermined distance, i.e., properly placed).).
Regarding claim 10, Lang et al disclose prompting to adjust a location and orientation of the resection guide to reduce a distance, angle, or combination thereof between the planned resection plane and the actual resection plane (the distal femoral cut block 305 (solid line) can be moved and aligned to be substantially superimposed with or aligned with the virtual surgical guide – col.231, ll.5-8).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Lang et al as modified by Leitner et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Lang et al further disclose an insertion member of the guide marker into a slot of the resection guide; and remove the insertion member from the slot (one or more optical markers can be included in, integrated into or attached to an insert for a cutting block or guide. The insert can be configured to fit into one or more slots or guides within the cutting block or guide for guiding a saw blade – col.87, ll.42-46).
Regarding claim 13, Lang et al as modified by Leitner et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Lang et al further discloses wherein guiding resections along the actual resection plane comprises guiding a resection device into a slot (one or more optical markers can be included in, integrated into or attached to an insert for a cutting block or guide. The insert can be configured to fit into one or more slots or guides within the cutting block or guide for guiding a saw blade – col.87, ll.42-46).
Regarding claim 19, Lang et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed, but fail to explicitly disclose prompting to place the resection guide on the object; prompting to attach the guide marker to the resection guide before adjusting; and prompting to remove the guide marker from the resection guide after adjusting.
However, Leitner et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, prompting to place the resection guide on an object (localization device is used to guide a surgeon in the placement of a cutting jig); prompting to attach a guide marker to a resection guide before adjusting (removable marker attached to the cutting jig); and prompting to remove the guide marker from the resection guide after adjusting (after the cutting jig is secured, the removable marker is removed from the cutting jib) ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the attached guide marker to the resection guide and augmented reality headset of Lang et al with prompting to attach the guide marker, prompting to place the resection guide and prompting to remove the guide marker of Leitner et al as it would provide placement of marker for visualization of the device and placement of the device as well as removing the removably marker for later attachment to tools used in subsequent steps (Leitner [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, Lang et al as modified by Leitner et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above. Lang et al further discloses wherein the guide marker comprises an insertion member; and wherein the resection guide comprises a slot extending along the actual resection plane, the slot configured to receive either a resection device or the insertion member (one or more optical markers can be included in, integrated into or attached to an insert for a cutting block or guide. The insert can be configured to fit into one or more slots or guides within the cutting block or guide for guiding a saw blade – col.87, ll.42-46).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 5, Applicant states the prior art fails to explicitly disclose “determining an actual resection plane based on a position of the guide marker” and “placing the resection guide in accordance with guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane”.
Specifically, Applicant states Lang does not disclose or suggest that the resection plane is determined based on the guide marker connected to the resection guide because Lang describes a video capture system that can determine the location, position, orientation, alignment and direction of movement of a variant of surgical instruments. Lang does not disclose or suggest “determining an actual resection plane based on a position of the guide marker”.
Lang further does not disclose or suggest “placing the resection guide in accordance with guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane”. Lang describes an alignment of a physical guide to match a virtual guide and does not describe “placing the resection guide in accordance with guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane” as recited in the combination of claim 5.
Examiner’s position is the actual resection plane is considered to be the plane in which the physical surgical instrument (i.e., block) is located. This information is determined since the location, position, alignment and/or orientation of the optical marker on the surgical instrument are known and the dimensions or geometry of the surgical instrument are known. The image and/or video capture system tracks the optical marker and the surgical instrument, therefore the actual resection plane is determined based on the position of the guide marker that is attached to the surgical instrument (i.e., resection guide).
Lang et al further disclose placing the resection guide in accordance with guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane (as the optical marker enters the surgeon’s field of view, an image and/or video capture system can detect the optical marker and display the next virtual surgical step, e.g. an outline of a virtual proximal tibial cut block corresponding to the physical proximal tibial cut block, so that the surgeon can align or superimpose the physical surgical cut block or instrument onto the outline of the virtual surgical cut block or instrument – col.86, l.63-col.87, l.4). This is similarly disclosed in col.231, ll.5-8. The actual resection plane being the determined current plane of the surgical instrument and the planned resection plane being the virtual resection plane. The placement of the resection guide is in accordance with “guidance provided based on the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane” as the surgical instrument is moved from the determined physical surgical instrument (actual resection plane of the instrument) to the virtual surgical block or instrument (virtual resection plane).
The planes of both the physical cut block (actual resection plane) and the virtual cut block (planned resection plane) can be seen in corresponding figures 14b and 14c. Examiner notes the claim does not define the “guidance provided” nor does the claim define how the guidance is “based on” the actual resection plane and the planned resection plane.
Applicant states for at least analogous reasons described above with reference to claim 5, Applicant submits that Lang fails to disclose the features described.
Examiner’s position is Lang et al disclose the features described for at least the reasons set forth with respect to claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797