DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4 August 2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al. (9,320,825) in view of Corzani et al. (2018/0110896).
With respect to claim 1, Joseph discloses composition for a wetness indicator comprising an oily gel, as disclosed in column 9, lines 22-24, and a wetness-sensitive colorant composition, as disclosed in column 3, lines 21-28.
Joseph discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the colorant composition comprising a leuco dye. Joseph discloses in column 1, lines 13-14, that the colorant composition may appear, and in column 6, lines 3-5, that the composition can be colorless initially, but remains silent as to the use of a leuco dye to achieve this. Corzani teaches the use of leuco dyes, which are colorless prior to contact with water, as disclosed in paragraph [0014], as the colorant in a wetness indicator composition, as disclosed in paragraph [0012]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the colorant of Joseph a leuco dye, as taught by Corzani, to apply a known technique to a known device to achieve the predictable result of a wetness indicator that appears upon contact with liquid.
With respect to claims 2-3, Joseph discloses the oily gel is a solid comprising an oily substance, paraffin oil or polyisobutylene, as disclosed in column 9, lines 22-24. Joseph does not disclose that paraffin oil or polyisobutylene is liquid at room temperature, but since it is the same chemical composition as claimed it inherently must have the same properties. Joseph further discloses a gelling agent that is a fatty acid alkyl ester, as disclosed in column 13, lines 31-45.
With respect to claim 4, the wetness-sensitive colorant of Joseph comprises a pH indicator, as disclosed in column 3, lines 24-25, and a surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 7-31.
With respect to claim 5, Joseph discloses a wetness indicator comprising the composition, as disclosed in column 1, lines 34-37.
With respect to claim 6, Joseph discloses an absorbent article comprising the wet indicator, as disclosed in column 6-8.
With respect to claim 7, Joseph discloses the surfactant is a nonionic surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 23-25.
With respect to claim 8, Joseph discloses the surfactant is an anionic surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 14-16.
With respect to claims 9-12, Corzani further teaches that the leuco dye is an aminophthalide that is thermochromic, as disclosed in paragraphs [0027-0028], which develops an intense color, as disclosed in paragraph [0029]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the colorant of Joseph a thermochromic aminophthalide, as taught by Corzani, to provide a colorant that develops an intense color to achieve the predictable result of a wetness indicator that is easy for a user to view.
With respect to claim 13, the wetness-sensitive colorant of Joseph comprises a pH indicator, as disclosed in column 3, lines 24-25, and a surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 7-31.
With respect to claim 16, Joseph discloses an embodiment in which the oily substance is polyisobutylene, as disclosed in column 9, lines 22-24.
With respect to claim 17, the wetness-sensitive colorant of Joseph comprises a surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 7-31.
With respect to claim 18, Joseph discloses the surfactant is a nonionic surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 23-25.
With respect to claim 19, Joseph discloses the surfactant is an anionic surfactant, as disclosed in column 11, lines 14-16.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al. (9,320,825) in view of Corzani et al. (2018/0110896), and further in view of Bommarito et al. (2016/0178553).
With respect to claim 14, modified Joseph discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the gelling agent being a three-dimensionally cross-linked gelling agent. Bommarito discloses a wetness indicating composition, as disclosed in paragraph [0053], and teaches using cross-linked gelling agents because they result in firmer materials capable of holding their shape, as disclosed in paragraph [0027]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the gelling agent of Joseph a cross-linked gelling agent, as taught by Bommarito, to achieve a gelling agent that is more capable of holding the shape of the material. With respect to the cross-linking being three-dimensional, any cross-linking of a three-dimensional material is considered to anticipate the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 15, modified Joseph discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a structural body including a cross-linked gelling agent with a liquid oily substance. Joseph discloses a liquid oily substance, as disclosed in column 9, lines 22-24, and gelling material, column 13, lines 31-45, but does not disclose the gelling agent is cross-linked. Bommarito discloses a wetness indicating composition, as disclosed in paragraph [0053], and teaches using cross-linked gelling agents because they result in firmer materials capable of holding their shape, as disclosed in paragraph [0027]. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the gelling agent of Joseph a cross-linked gelling agent, as taught by Bommarito, to achieve a gelling agent that is more capable of holding the shape of the material.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/160,453 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate all limitations of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781