DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues the combination of Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia fails to disclose or suggest at least "determining, by the base station and based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device" as required by claim 1. See remarks page 9.
B. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Puente Pestana and Tapia clearly teach the claimed limitation “determining, by the base station and based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”. In this case, Puente Pestana is cited for a determination of an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device by the base station based on a status of power. Whereas, Puente Pestana’s cited portions (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches after receiving the information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750, the NWDAF 780 can determine whether the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 (step 716). Moreover, the NWDAF 780 may determine that the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 if the reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode instead of a normal power consumption mode. Whereas, the “reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode” reads as the status of a power), clearly teaches the network determining to reduce the UE’s power consumption based on information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750. Thus, Puente Pestana clearly teaches the cited claim limitation “determining, by the base station and based on the status of the … power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”.
Whereas, Tapia is cited for a determination of an energy saving mode based on the status of the network power. Wherein, the cited portions (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0052, teaches the SON tool(s) 304 may then determine one or more configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment 310 based on the determined equipment and outage data. Wherein, the updated configuration may cause the access network equipment 310 to turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate), clearly teaches determining a configuration to save energy (turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate) based on information indicating a power outage of network equipment. Thus, Tapia clearly teaches the cited claim limitation “determining, … based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode”.
Thus, in combination Puente Pestana’s determined energy saving mode for at least one wireless device based on a status of power and Tapia’s determined energy saving mode based on the status of the network power, teaches the claimed limitation “determining, by the base station and based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”.
C. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues Tapia fails to disclose or suggest "determining, by the base station and based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device" as required by claim 1. Applicant further argues Tapia does not disclose or suggest using access network power outage as a basis to determine any energy saving mode "for at least one wireless device" as required by claim 1. See remarks page 9.
D. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Tapia is clearly cited for a determination of an energy saving mode based on the status of the network power. Whereas, cited Tapia portions (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0052, teaches the SON tool(s) 304 may then determine one or more configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment 310 based on the determined equipment and outage data. Wherein, the updated configuration may cause the access network equipment 310 to turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate) clearly teach determining a configuration to save energy (turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate) based on information indicating a power outage of network equipment. Thus, Tapia clearly teaches determining one or more energy saving modes based on a status of the network power. Furthermore, Tapia is not cited for “energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”. Puente Pestana is cited for and teaches “energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”, see above Examiner’s Response B. Thus, in combination Puente Pestana’s determined energy saving mode for at least one wireless device based on a status of power and Tapia’s determined energy saving mode based on the status of the network power, teaches the claimed limitation “determining, by the base station and based on the status of the network power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device”.
E. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-24 and independent claims 8 and 15 are patentable for at least the reasons above for independent claim 1 is patentable. See remarks page 9.
F. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons above.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puente Pestana et al. (US20230319709 hereinafter Puente Pestana), in view of Seo et al. (US20210185651 hereinafter Seo), in further view of Tapia (US20150050925).
Regarding claim 1. Puente Pestana teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a base station from a computing device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches NWDAF 780 receives from the AMF 760 an event exposure notification (step 715). Whereas, NWDAF 780 reads as a base station within the context of par. 0082, which teaches the network (e.g. by the NWDAF 780). Moreover, the AMF 760 reads as a computing device within the context of this passage. Par. 0040, teaches Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF) and Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)),
a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a … power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “identifier for the event and the power mode of the UE 750” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a power for a communication network);
determining, by the base station and based on the status of the … power, an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches after receiving the information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750, the NWDAF 780 can determine whether the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 (step 716). Moreover, the NWDAF 780 may determine that the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 if the reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode instead of a normal power consumption mode. Whereas, the “reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode” reads as the status of a power); and
sending, by the base station …, a second message indicating the energy saving mode (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Whereas, the battery saving policy notification (717) can indicate information indicating the battery level of the UE 750, and information indicating a power saving mode of the UE 750, information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750. Additionally, in response to the battery saving policy notification 717, the PCF 770 can activate a corresponding power saving policy(ies) for the UE 750 (step 718). Whereas, “the battery saving policy notification indicating information indicating a power saving mode of the UE 750” reads as a second message indicating the energy saving mode. Par. 0040, teaches Policy Control Function (PCF)).
However, although Puente Pestana teaches a second message indicating the energy saving mode (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102), the apparatus and methods of Puente Pestana explicitly fails to disclose, sending, by the base station to the at least one wireless device, a second message indicating the energy saving mode.
Seo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an energy saving mode, so Seo is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Seo teaches sending, by the base station to the at least one wireless device, a second message indicating the energy saving mode (pars. 0208-0209, teaches the network may indicate an application timing of the power saving mode and a configuration for power saving (for each UE) to the UE by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, etc.) based on the power saving report of the UE. Whereas, the “RRC indicating an application timing of the power saving mode and a configuration for power saving” reads as a second message indicating the energy saving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending, by the base station to the at least one wireless device, a second message indicating the energy saving mode, as disclosed by Seo with the method and apparatus of Puente Pestana. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Seo par. 0415)
However, although Puente Pestana suggest a status of a network power (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’)), the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device; determining, .. based on the status of the network power… an energy saving mode.
Tapia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a status of a network power, so Tapia is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Tapia teaches a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status. Whereas, the language “receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network. Wherein, pars. 0059-0060, teaches the access network(s) may be any sort of access networks, such as radio access networks utilizing licensed spectrum or wireless networks utilizing unlicensed spectrum, such as base station(s), and par. 0046, teaches SON device(s) 302 may be an example of the computing device. Thus, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device. Par. 0002, teaches Self-Organizing Networks (SON));
determining, … based on the status of the network power an energy saving mode (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0052, teaches the SON tool(s) 304 may then determine one or more configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment 310 based on the determined equipment and outage data. Wherein, the updated configuration may cause the access network equipment 310 to turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device; determining, ... based on the status of the network power… an energy saving mode, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 3. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the …power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches after receiving the information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750, the NWDAF 780 can determine whether the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 (step 716). Moreover, the NWDAF 780 may determine that the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 if the reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode instead of a normal power consumption mode. Whereas, the “reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode” reads as the parameter),
wherein the determining the energy saving mode is based on the determining (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches after receiving the information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750, the NWDAF 780 can determine whether the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 (step 716)).
However, although Puente Pestana suggest a status of a network power (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098), the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the network power for the wireless communication network, that a failure of the power supply has occurred, wherein the determining the energy saving mode is based on the determining the failure of the power supply.
Tapia further teaches determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the network power for the wireless communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status), that a failure of the power supply has occurred (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage and determining the equipment and outage data, such as time since the outage, configurations, characteristics, performance indicators),
wherein the determining the energy saving mode is based on the determining the failure of the power supply (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches the configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment include turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the network power for the wireless communication network, that a failure of the power supply has occurred, wherein the determining the energy saving mode is based on the determining the failure of the power supply, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 5. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the second message (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0100, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Furthermore, the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the battery saving policy notification reads as the second message)
is configured to disable at least one first operation of the at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of the at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the “desired power saving policy for the UE 750” reads as the second message is configured to disable at least one first operation of the at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of the at least one wireless device within the context of par. 0003, which teaches the ultra-power saving mode which allows only the very basic communication capabilities (e.g. voice) and disables he other data connections (e.g. mobile data, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.)).
Regarding claim 6. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the first message (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which reads as the first message) further comprises: a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the event exposure notification (step 715) includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “battery level” reads a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network)
However, the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the message comprises an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network.
Tapia further teaches the message comprises an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status. Wherein, the power outage data including a backup power supply status reads as an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the message comprises an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 7. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the computing device comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches NWDAF 780 receives from the AMF 760 an event exposure notification (step 715). Whereas, the AMF 760 reads as a computing device within the context of this passage. Par. 0040, teaches Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF) and Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)); a user plane function (UPF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a session management function (SMF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a policy control function (PCF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or an application function (AF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 21. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the at least one wireless device is configured to use power independent from the network power for the communication network (fig. 2 and par. 0047, teaches UE 200 includes power source 213. Moreover, par. 0054, teaches power source 213 may be configured to provide alternating current (AC) or direct current (DC) power to components of UE 200).
Regarding claim 22. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches communicating, by the wireless device, with the communication network via a wireless connection (fig. 2 and par. 0047, teaches UE 200 includes processing circuitry 201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 205, radio frequency (RF) interface 209. Furthermore, par. 0053 teaches the UE 200 is configured to communicate via wireless communication with another WD, UE, or base station of a radio access network (RAN)).
Regarding claim 23. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1.
However, although Puente Pestana suggest a status of a network power (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098), the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the status of the network power indicates a status of power supply from a power grid.
Tapia further teaches the status of the network power indicates a status of power supply from a power grid (figs. 3 and 5 and pars. 0071-0072, teaches the SON tool receives one more performance indicators associated with network information. Wherein, network information and the one or more network components are associated with a smart power grid. Furthermore, par. 0044, teaches the SON(s) may receive performance indicators that may indicate that access network equipment 310 of the access network(s) 308 is experiencing a power outage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the status of the network power indicates a status of power supply from a power grid, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 24. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1.
However, although Puente Pestana suggest a status of a network power (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098), the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the status of the network power indicates a status of power for at least one of: the base station; or the computing device.
Tapia further teaches the status of the network power indicates a status of power for at least one of: the base station (pars. 0048-0049, teaches the information indicating the occurrence of a power outage at access network equipment 310. Wherein, pars. 0059-0060, teaches the access network(s) may be any sort of access networks, such as radio access networks utilizing licensed spectrum or wireless networks utilizing unlicensed spectrum, such as base station(s)); or the computing device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the status of the network power indicates a status of power for at least one of: the base station, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puente Pestana et al. (US20230319709 hereinafter Puente Pestana), in view of Seo et al. (US20210185651 hereinafter Seo), in view of Tapia (US20150050925), in further view of Dauneria et al. (US20170083072 hereinafter Dauneria).
Regarding claim 2. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the parameter indicating the status of the… power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0102, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “identifier for the event and the power mode of the UE 750” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a power supply for a communication network)
is based on at least one policy for the at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 086-0088, teaches the PCF 770 policy request response 704 that includes an indication of the type of battery level and power mode reporting required by the UE 750. Furthermore, pars. 0095-0096, teaches the UE 750 can start to report battery level and/or the UE 750's power mode to the AMF 760 and the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification which includes the information received in the battery status report from the UE 750 (steps 713-715)).
However, the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo explicitly fails to disclose, the status of a network power.
Tapia further teaches the status of a network power (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the status of a network power, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
However, the combination of Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the status of a network power is based on at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device.
Dauneria disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power supply, so Dauneria is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Dauneria teaches the status of the power supply is based on at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device (pars. 0109-110, teaches a Policy Charging and Control function (PCC) may create rules or policies to stagger or prioritize access to the network for reconnecting UEs and to ensure Quality of Service (QoS) in order to manage network resources before, during and after the scheduled power outage. Moreover, par. 0116, teaches the PCC node concerning rules and priority structures that have been generated by the PCC to manage reconnection to the network of affected devices on resumption of power supply)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the status of a network power is based on at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device, as disclosed by Dauneria with the combination of Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency and reliability. (see Dauneria par. 0004)
Regarding claim 4. Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 1. Puente Pestana further teaches the status of the… power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “identifier for the event and the power mode of the UE 750” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a power supply for a communication network).
However, the combination of Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the network power for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, the status of the network power for the communication network indicates at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI); a location of a failure of at least one portion of a network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation.
Dauneria further teaches the power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service (fig. 5 and par. 0067, teaches Energy Supplier Domain 30, which may include management functions of different utility providers, secondary suppliers, Demand Response Management Systems and other entities generating and/or supplying mains power to consumers), and
wherein the status of the power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a location of a failure of at least one portion of a network power supply for the communication network (figs.5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of the scheduled power outage including a location to be affected by the outage); or
a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation (figs.5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of a time period during which the outage is scheduled, providing start and end times for the outage, or a start time and a duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, and wherein the status of the power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of a location of a failure of at least one portion of a network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation, as disclosed by Dauneria with the combination of Puente Pestana, Seo, and Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency and reliability. (see Dauneria par. 0004)
Claims 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puente Pestana et al. (US20230319709 hereinafter Puente Pestana), in view of Dao et al. (US20200045753 hereinafter Dao), in further view of Tapia (US20150050925).
Regarding claim 8. Puente Pestana teaches a method receiving, by a first computing device from a second computing device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0100, teaches PCF 770 receiving from the NWDAF 780 the battery saving policy notification (step 717). Whereas the PCF 770 reads as a first computing device and the NWDAF 780 reads as a second computing device. Par. 0040, teaches Policy Control Function (PCF) and Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF)),
a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a …power for a communication network associated with the first computing device and the second computing device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0100, teaches the battery saving policy notification (717) can indicate information indicating the battery level of the UE 750 and information indicating a power saving mode of the UE 750. Whereas, information indicating the battery level and power saving mode of the UE 750 reads as a status of a power for a communication network. Furthermore, figs. 7A-7C teaches the a communication network (UE 750) associated with the first computing device (PCF 770) and the second computing device (NWDAF));
determining, by the first computing device and based on the status of a …power, at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0101, teaches in response to the battery saving policy notification 717, the PCF 770 can decide an optimal policy for the UE 750. Moreover, the PCF 770 can activate a power saving policy to lower the maximum bit rate (MBR) that the UE 750 can transmit data with, which can be achieved via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules).
However, although Puente Pestana teaches a third computing device of the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and par. 0081 teaches a mobility management node in the form of an AMF 760. Par. 0040, teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)), the methods of Puente Pestana explicitly fails to disclose, sending, by the first computing device to a third computing device of the communication network, a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule.
Dao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for policy and charging control (PCC) rules, so Dao is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Dao teaches sending, by the first computing device to a third computing device of the communication network (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310. Whereas, the PCF 316 reads as the first computing device and the SMF 310 reads as a third computing device of the communication network. Furthermore, the Session Policy Response message (step 524) reads as the second message within the context of the figure which teaches the message at step 524 is the second message the PCF 316 sends (the first being at step 518). Par. 0006, teaches policy control function (PCF) and Session Management Function (SMF)),
a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending, by the first computing device to a third computing device of the communication network, a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule, as disclosed by Dao with the method of Puente Pestana. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
However, although Puente Pestana suggest a status of a network power (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’)), the combination of Puente Pestana and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device; determining, .. based on the status of the network power… an energy saving mode.
Tapia disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a status of a network power, so Tapia is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Tapia teaches a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status. Whereas, the language “receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network. Wherein, pars. 0059-0060, teaches the access network(s) may be any sort of access networks, such as radio access networks utilizing licensed spectrum or wireless networks utilizing unlicensed spectrum, such as base station(s), and par. 0046, teaches SON device(s) 302 may be an example of the computing device. Thus, a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device. Par. 0002, teaches Self-Organizing Networks (SON));
determining, … based on the status of the network power an energy saving mode (pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0052, teaches the SON tool(s) 304 may then determine one or more configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment 310 based on the determined equipment and outage data. Wherein, the updated configuration may cause the access network equipment 310 to turn off air conditioning, turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power, or adjust a maximum bit rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for a communication network associated with the base station and the computing device; determining, … based on the status of the network power… an energy saving mode, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 10. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the …power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches after receiving the information relating to the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750, the NWDAF 780 can determine whether the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 (step 716). Moreover, the NWDAF 780 may determine that the network should take steps to reduce the power consumption of the UE 750 if the reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode instead of a normal power consumption mode. Whereas, the “reported remaining battery level is below a threshold and/or if the NWDAF 780 detects that the UE 750 has entered, or is in, a power saving mode” reads as the parameter),
wherein the determining the at least one PCC rule is based on the determining the … of the power supply (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0101, teaches in response to the battery saving policy notification 717, the PCF 770 can decide an optimal policy for the UE 750. Moreover, the PCF 770 can activate a power saving policy to lower the maximum bit rate (MBR) that the UE 750 can transmit data with, which can be achieved via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules).
However, the combination of Puente Pestana and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the power supply for the wireless communication network, that a failure of the power supply has occurred, wherein the determining the at least one configuration is based on the determining the failure of the power supply.
Tapia further teaches determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the power supply for the wireless communication network, that a failure of the power supply has occurred (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Furthermore, determining the equipment and outage data, such as time since the outage, configurations, characteristics, performance indicators based on receiving information indicative of a power outage), wherein the determining the at least one configuration is based on the determining the failure of the power supply (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches the configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment include turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining, based on the parameter indicating the status of the power supply for the wireless communication network, that a failure of the power supply has occurred, wherein the determining the at least one configuration is based on the determining the failure of the power supply, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 12. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches a message (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0100, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Furthermore, the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the battery saving policy notification reads as the second message)
is configured to disable at least one first operation of at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the “desired power saving policy for the UE 750” reads as the second message is configured to disable at least one first operation of the at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of the at least one wireless device within the context of par. 0003, which teaches the ultra-power saving mode which allows only the very basic communication capabilities (e.g. voice) and disables he other data connections (e.g. mobile data, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.)).
However, the methods of Puente Pestana explicitly fails to disclose, the second message.
Dao further teaches the second message (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second message, as disclosed by Dao with the method of Puente Pestana. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
Regarding claim 13. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches the message further comprises: a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the AMF 760 sends the event exposure notification (step 715) includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “battery level” reads a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network. Par. 0040, teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)).
However, the methods of Puente Pestana explicitly fails to disclose, the second message.
Dao further teaches the second message (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310. Whereas, the Session Policy Response message (step 524) reads as the second message within the context of the figure which teaches the message at step 524 is the second message the PCF 316 sends (the first being at step 518)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second message, as disclosed by Dao with the method of Puente Pestana. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
However, the combination of Puente Pestana and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network.
Tapia further teaches the message comprises an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status. Wherein, the power outage data including a backup power supply status reads as an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the message comprises an indication of a backup network power supply for use by the communication network, as disclosed by Tapia with the combination of Puente Pestana and Seo. The motivations for doing so would be to save power of access network equipment. (see Tapia par. 0013)
Regarding claim 14. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches the first computing device comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the AMF 760. Par. 0040, teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)); a user plane function (UPF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a session management function (SMF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record);
a policy control function (PCF) device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0100, teaches PCF 770 receiving from the NWDAF 780 the battery saving policy notification (step 717). Whereas the PCF 770 reads as a first computing device); or an application function (AF) device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puente Pestana et al. (US20230319709 hereinafter Puente Pestana), in view of Dao et al. (US20200045753 hereinafter Dao), in view of Tapia (US20150050925), in further view of Dauneria et al. (US20170083072 hereinafter Dauneria).
Regarding claim 9. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches a … message further comprises an indication of an energy saving mode (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0100, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Furthermore, the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the battery saving policy notification reads as the second message), and
wherein the parameter indicating the status of the power supply for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0100, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Furthermore, the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating the battery level of the UE 750 with respect to a threshold. Whereas, the “information indicating the battery level of the UE 750 with respect to a threshold” reads as the parameter indicating the status of the power supply for the communication network).
However, the methods of Puente Pestana explicitly fails to disclose, the second message.
Dao further teaches the second message (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the second message, as disclosed by Dao with the method of Puente Pestana. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
However, although Dao teaches the at least one PCC rule (fig. 4 and par. 0088), the combination of Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the at least one PCC rule comprises the parameter indicating the status of the power supply.
Dauneria disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power supply, so Dauneria is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Dauneria the at least one PCC rule comprises the parameter indicating the status of the network power (pars. 0109-110, teaches a Policy Charging and Control function (PCC) may create rules or policies to stagger or prioritize access to the network for reconnecting UEs and to ensure Quality of Service (QoS) in order to manage network resources before, during and after the scheduled power outage. Moreover, par. 0116, teaches the PCC node concerning rules and priority structures that have been generated by the PCC to manage reconnection to the network of affected devices on resumption of power supply. Whereas, the “rules and priority structures that have been generated by the PCC to manage reconnection to the network of affected devices on resumption of power supply” reads as PCC rule comprises the parameter indicating the status of the network power supply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the at least one PCC rule comprises the parameter indicating the status of the power supply, as disclosed by Dauneria with the combination of Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency and reliability. (see Dauneria par. 0004)
Regarding claim 11. Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia teaches the method of claim 8. Puente Pestana further teaches the status of the… power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the NWDAF 780 receives an event exposure notification (step 715) which includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, an identifier for the event (e.g. Event-ID=‘battery status/power mode’), the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “identifier for the event and the power mode of the UE 750” reads as a parameter indicating a status of a power supply for a communication network).
However, the combination of Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the network power for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, and wherein the status of the network power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI); a location of a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation.
Dauneria further teaches the network power for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service (fig. 5 and par. 0067, teaches Energy Supplier Domain 30, which may include management functions of different utility providers, secondary suppliers, Demand Response Management Systems and other entities generating and/or supplying mains power to consumers), and
wherein the status of the network power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a location of a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network (figs.5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of the scheduled power outage including a location to be affected by the outage); or
a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation (figs. 5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of a time period during which the outage is scheduled, providing start and end times for the outage, or a start time and a duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the network power for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, and wherein the status of the network power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of a location of a failure of at least one portion of a location of a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the network power supply for the communication network to resume operation, as disclosed by Dauneria with the combination of Puente Pestana, Dao, and Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency and reliability. (see Dauneria par. 0004)
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapia (US20150050925) in view of Dao et al. (US20200045753 hereinafter Dao).
Regarding claim 15. Tapia teaches a method comprising: determining, by a computing device (par. 0046, teaches the SON device(s) 302 may be an example of the computing device), a failure of a primary network power supply for a communication network associated with the computing device (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage and determining the equipment and outage data, such as time since the outage, configurations, characteristics, performance indicators);
determining, using a backup network power supply and based on the failure of the primary network power supply (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches the configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment include turn off a main power supply and adjust a voltage of a backup power supply),
an energy saving mode for at least one wireless device associated with the communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches the configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment include turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power).
However, although Tapia teaches the energy saving mode (pars. 0045-0052), the methods of Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, sending, to a second computing device associated with the communication network, an indication of the energy saving mode.
Dao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an indication of the energy saving mode, so Dao is analogous to Puente Pestana. Furthermore, Dao teaches sending, to a second computing device associated with the communication network, an indication of the energy saving mode (fig. 6 (step 650) and par. 0200, teaches the AMF-1 308 may send a message including a notification of the UE in power saving mode to the SMF 310. Whereas the SMF 310 reads as a second computing device associated with the communication network within the context of the passage and figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending, to a second computing device associated with the communication network, an indication of the energy saving mode, as disclosed by Dao with the methods of Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
Regarding claim 20. Tapia and Dao teaches the method of claim 15.
However, although Tapia teaches the computing device (par. 0046, teaches the SON device(s) 302 may be an example of the computing device), the methods of Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the computing device comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; a user plane function (UPF) device; a session management function (SMF) device; a policy control function (PCF) device; or an application function (AF) device.
Dao further teaches the computing device comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (fig. 6 (step 650) and par. 0200, teaches the AMF-1 308 may send a message including a notification of the UE in power saving mode. Par. 0003, teaches Access Management Function (AMF)); a user plane function (UPF) device (fig. 6 and par. 0044, teaches User Plane Function (UPF) 304); a session management function (SMF) device (fig. 6 and par. 0048, teaches Session Management Function (SMF) 310); a policy control function (PCF) device (fig. 6 and par. 0050, teaches Policy Control Function (PCF) 316); or an application function (AF) device (fig. 6 and par. 0057, teaches Application Function (AF) 322).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the computing device comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; a user plane function (UPF) device; a session management function (SMF) device; a policy control function (PCF) device; or an application function (AF) device, as disclosed by Dao with the methods of Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
Claims 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapia (US20150050925), in view of Dao et al. (US20200045753 hereinafter Dao), in further view of Puente Pestana et al. (US20230319709 hereinafter Puente Pestana).
Regarding claim 16. Tapia and Dao teaches the method of claim 15. Tapia further teaches receiving a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a network power for the communication network (fig. 3 and pars. 0044-0045, teaches the SON device(s) may be configured to receive information indicating that access network equipment is experiencing a power outage and to generate an updated configuration for the access network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0051, teaches the outage data may include a main power supply status, a battery level, a fuel level, a generator status, or a backup power supply status),
wherein the network power for the communication network comprises the primary network power supply (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches the access network equipment 310 may also include power supplies 312, such as a primary power supply and a backup power supply); and
determining, based on the parameter, at least one configuration update for the at least one wireless device (fig. 3 and pars. 0045-0051, teaches the SON device(s) 302 determining and generating an updated configuration for the access network equipments based on receiving information indicative of a power outage. Wherein, par. 0052, teaches the configuration changes to apply to the access network equipment include turn off a main power supply, adjust a voltage of a backup power supply, disconnect 2G, 3G, 4G/LTE, or other cellular or wireless services, shut down one or more carriers, reduce a maximum transmit power).
However, the method of Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, sending a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule.
Dao further teaches sending a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule (fig. 4A and par. 0088, teaches the PCF 316 may send a Session Policy Response message (step 524) which may include Policy and Charging Control rules to SMF 310. Whereas, the Session Policy Response message (step 524) reads as the second message within the context of the figure which teaches the message at step 524 is the second message the PCF 316 sends (the first being at step 518). Par. 0006, teaches policy control function (PCF) and Session Management Function (SMF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending a second message comprising the at least one PCC rule, as disclosed by Dao with the method of Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
However, the combination of Tapia and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, teaches receiving a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a …power for the communication network, determining, based on the parameter, at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device wherein the at least one PCC rule comprises an indication of the energy saving mode, and wherein the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending a message comprising the at least one PCC rule.
Puente Pestana disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a policy and charging control (PCC) rule, so Puente Pestana is analogous to Tapia. Furthermore, Puente Pestana teaches receiving a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a …power for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0100, teaches PCF 770 receiving from the NWDAF 780 the battery saving policy notification (step 717). the battery saving policy notification (717) can indicate information indicating the battery level of the UE 750 and information indicating a power saving mode of the UE 750. Whereas, information indicating the battery level and power saving mode of the UE 750 reads as a status of a power supply for a communication network. Par. 0040, teaches Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF)),
determining, based on the parameter, at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0101, teaches in response to the battery saving policy notification 717, the PCF 770 can decide and activate a power saving policy to lower the maximum bit rate (MBR) via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the UE 750),
wherein the at least one PCC rule comprises an indication of the energy saving mode (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0101, teaches the PCF 770 can activate a power saving policy to lower the maximum bit rate (MBR) via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the UE 750. Whereas, it would be obvious the activation of power saving policy via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules comprises an indication of the energy saving mode in order for activation), and
wherein the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending a message comprising the at least one PCC rule (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0099-0101, teaches the PCF 770 can activate a power saving policy to lower the maximum bit rate (MBR) via dynamic policy and charging control (PCC) rules for the UE 750. Whereas, it would be obvious the PCF 770 is sending to the UE the indication of the energy saving mode comprising the at least one PCC rule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a first message comprising a parameter indicating a status of a …power for the communication network, determining, based on the parameter, at least one policy and charging control (PCC) rule for the at least one wireless device wherein the at least one PCC rule comprises an indication of the energy saving mode, and wherein the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending a message comprising the at least one PCC rule, as disclosed by Puente Pestana with the combination of Tapia and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption of the wireless device. (see Puente Pestana par. 0013)
Regarding claim 18. Tapia and Dao teaches the method of claim 15.
However, although Dao teaches sending the indication of the energy saving mode (fig. 6 (step 650) and par. 0200, teaches the AMF-1 308 may send a message including a notification of the UE in power saving mode to the SMF 310), the combination of Tapia and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, sending the indication of the energy saving mode is configured to disable at least one first operation of at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of at least one wireless device.
Puente Pestana further teaches sending the indication of the energy saving mode (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0100, teaches the NWDAF 780 sends a notification to the PCF 770 (battery saving policy notification 717) to recommend a reduction in the battery consumption of the UE 750. Furthermore, the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the battery saving policy notification reads as the second message)
is configured to disable at least one first operation of at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of at least one wireless device (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0098-0102, teaches the battery saving policy notification can indicate information indicating a desired power saving level/policy for the UE 750 (e.g. low power saving, medium power saving, high power saving, etc.). Whereas, the “desired power saving policy for the UE 750” reads as the second message is configured to disable at least one first operation of the at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of the at least one wireless device within the context of par. 0003, which teaches the ultra-power saving mode which allows only the very basic communication capabilities (e.g. voice) and disables he other data connections (e.g. mobile data, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending the indication of the energy saving mode is configured to disable at least one first operation of at least one wireless device while maintaining operation of at least one second operation of at least one wireless device, as disclosed by Puente Pestana with the combination of Tapia and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption of the wireless device. (see Puente Pestana par. 0013)
Regarding claim 19. Tapia and Dao teaches the method of claim 15.
However, although Dao teaches sending the indication of the energy saving mode (fig. 6 (step 650) and par. 0200, teaches the AMF-1 308 may send a message including a notification of the UE in power saving mode to the SMF 310), the combination of Tapia and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, sending an indication of a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the wireless communication network.
Puente Pestana further teaches sending an indication of a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network (figs. 7A-7C and pars. 0095-0098, teaches the AMF 760 sends the event exposure notification (step 715) includes the information received in the battery status report (step 714) from the UE 750, the battery level and the power mode of the UE 750 (e.g. ‘battery-level=40%’ and ‘power-mode=power-saving’). Whereas the “battery level” reads a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the communication network. Par. 0040, teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending an indication of a quantity of power reduction of an electrical supply service for the wireless communication network, as disclosed by Puente Pestana with the combination of Tapia and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption of the wireless device. (see Puente Pestana par. 0013)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapia (US20150050925), in view of Dao et al. (US20200045753 hereinafter Dao), in further view of Dauneria et al. (US20170083072 hereinafter Dauneria).
Regarding claim 17. Tapia and Dao teaches the method of claim 15. Tapia further teaches the primary network power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service (fig. 3 and par. 0060, teaches the access network equipment 310 may also include power supplies 312, such as a primary power supply and a backup power supply. Wherein, the primary power supply may be A/C power, and the backup power supply may include a battery or other backup power source).
However, although Tapia teaches the energy saving mode (pars. 0045-0052), the methods of Tapia explicitly fails to disclose, the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending an indication.
Dao teaches the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending an indication (fig. 6 (step 650) and par. 0200, teaches the AMF-1 308 may send a message including a notification of the UE in power saving mode to the SMF 310. Whereas the SMF 310 reads as a second computing device associated with the communication network within the context of the passage and figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the sending the indication of the energy saving mode comprises sending an indication, as disclosed by Dao with the methods of Tapia. The motivations for doing so would be to improve flexibility. (see Dao par. 0003)
However, the combination of Tapia and Dao explicitly fails to disclose, the power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, and wherein the status of the power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI); a location of a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network to resume operation.
Dauneria disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for power supply, so Dauneria is analogous to Tapia. Furthermore, Dauneria teaches the network power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service (fig. 5 and par. 0067, teaches Energy Supplier Domain 30, which may include management functions of different utility providers, secondary suppliers, Demand Response Management Systems and other entities generating and/or supplying mains power to consumers), and
wherein …the indication of the energy saving mode comprises …an indication of at least one of: a Failure of Electrical Supply Service Indication (FESSI) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); a location of a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network (figs.5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of the scheduled power outage including a location to be affected by the outage); or
a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network to resume operation (figs.5-6 and pars. 0068-0069, teaches the blackout management node 100 receives a notification of a scheduled outage of mains power, the notification provides details of a time period during which the outage is scheduled, providing start and end times for the outage, or a start time and a duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the power supply for the communication network comprises an electrical supply service, and wherein the status of the power supply for the communication network indicates at least one of a location of a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network; or a recovery time for a failure of at least one portion of the primary network power supply for the communication network to resume operation, as disclosed by Dauneria with the combination of Tapia and Dao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency and reliability. (see Dauneria par. 0004)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474