DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. No Claims have/remained been canceled. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 7-9 of the remark filed on 12/16/2025, on the newly amended limitations of independent claim 1: “comparing, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and.”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Pan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220311602) and Wylie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200279314) further in view of Michelsohn et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220147337), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Wylie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200279314)) in conjunction with Pan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220311602) and Michelsohn et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220147337)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 7-9, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-20 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Pan-Wylie-Michelsohn teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims 1, 8 and 15 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220311602, hereinafter referred to as “Pan”) and Wylie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200279314, hereinafter referred to as “Wylie”) further in view of Michelsohn et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220147337, hereinafter referred to as “Michelsohn”)
In regards to Claim 1, Pan teaches a method of updating an encryption key used by a vehicle to encrypt data, the method comprising: (Par. (0250-253); updating of encryption key associated with vehicle), (Par. (0031-0032); updating communication key used for decrypting information), (Par. (0043-0045); a vehicle to encrypt data (communication key of vehicle corresponding to encrypting information)
detecting a first location of the vehicle; (Par. (0150); vehicle passes through location of road and identity is obtained)
detecting a state of vehicular traffic in a first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle, (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan does not explicitly teach the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; and comparing, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and sending, by a processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles.
Wherein Wylie teaches the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; (Par. (0018); number of vehicles in threshold proximity))
comparing, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; (Par. (0016);processing device located within the vehicle)), (Par. (0018); processing device may compare other vehicles that are within threshold proximity))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan to incorporate the teaching of Wylie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of vehicle communication, with the motivation of creating a proximity in which the vehicles are compared to based on a predefined or target number of vehicles to securely enhance and create efficient communication between vehicles and regulation in exchanges. (Wylie Par. (0014))
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach sending, by a processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches sending, by a processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles. (Par. (0054); sending request to remote computing device to update (vehicles receive queries to update packages)), (Par. (0156-0157); queried updated packages are received by vehicles), (Par. (0138-0142); update the encryption key (update package includes encryption keys)), Par. (0058); based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles (a number of vehicles in the subset that must exceed a predefined threshold or predefined number of vehicles the update packages with encryption key is updated))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of creating authenticity in the vehicle to vehicle communication system and creating an updating process that is conducted vehicles in transit on highways, roads etc. can be assured that traffic information, routes and other data on the vehicle is not compromised altered or modified. By having a request linked with updating only authorized entities can be assured the proper keys are exchange and interception of the keys can be mitigated. (Michelsohn Par. (0047-0049))
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the method of claim 1, Wylie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle comprises at least one of determining the number of other vehicles within the first area ((Par. (0018); threshold proximity of other vehicles))
or comparing a current speed of the vehicle to a posted speed of a route upon which the vehicle is traveling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Wylie for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the method of claim 1, Pan further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: encrypting first data using a first encryption key to generate first encrypted data; (Par. (0042-0045); encrypting information and broadcasting encrypted information)
sending the first encrypted data to at least one other computing device over a network; (Par. (0088); receiving module receives encrypted information sent by road side unit of vehicle)
receiving a second encryption key in response to the first request; and (Par. (0023-0027); in response to certificate request receiving second communication key used for encrypting/; decrypting)), (Par. (0055-0057); receiving a second encryption key ( sending and receiving a second communication key associated with encrypting information), (Par. (0043); in response to a first request (identity information request followed by delivering communication key (second encryption key) of plurality of communication keys)
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach encrypting second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches encrypting second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data. (Par. (0126); plurality of different messages in vehicle network is encrypted and decrypted using cryptographic keys)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 8, Pan teaches a system comprising: (Par. (0006); system)
a memory; and (Par. (0129); memory)
a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory, to: (Par. (0129); processor with device and memory)
detect a first location of a vehicle, the vehicle comprising an encryption key used by a vehicle to encrypt data; (Par. (0150); vehicle passes through location of road and identity is obtained),(Par. (0155); vehicle with communication key for encryption)
detect a state of vehicular traffic in a first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle, (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan does not explicitly teach the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; and compare, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and send a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles.
Wherein Wylie teaches the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; and (Par. (0018); number of vehicles in threshold proximity))
compare, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and ((Par. (0016);processing device located within the vehicle)), (Par. (0018); processing device may compare other vehicles that are within threshold proximity))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan to incorporate the teaching of Wylie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of vehicle communication, with the motivation of creating a proximity in which the vehicles are compared to based on a predefined or target number of vehicles to securely enhance and create efficient communication between vehicles and regulation in exchanges. (Wylie Par. (0014))
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach send a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches send a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined number of vehicles. (Par. (0092); group of vehicles send request corresponding to update package), (Par. (0138-0142); update package includes encryption keys), (Par. (0058); update package corresponds to a number of vehicles in the subset that must exceed a predefined threshold or predefined number of vehicles))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of creating authenticity in the vehicle to vehicle communication system and creating an updating process that is conducted vehicles in transit on highways, roads etc. can be assured that traffic information, routes and other data on the vehicle is not compromised altered or modified. By having a request linked with updating only authorized entities can be assured the proper keys are exchange and interception of the keys can be mitigated. (Michelsohn Par. (0047-0049))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the system of claim 8, Wylie further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein, to detect the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle, the processing device is to perform at least one of determining the number of other vehicles within the first area ((Par. (0018); number of vehicles in threshold proximity))
or comparing a current speed of the vehicle to a posted speed of a route upon which the vehicle is traveling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Wylie for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the method system of claim 8, Pan further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the processing device is further to: encrypt first data using a first encryption key to generate first encrypted data; (Par. (0042-0045); encrypting information and broadcasting encrypted information)
send the first encrypted data to at least one other computing device over a network; (Par. (0088); receiving module receives encrypted information sent by road side unit of vehicle)
receive a second encryption key in response to the first request; and ((Par. (0023-0027); in response to certificate request receiving second communication key used for encrypting/; decrypting)), (Par. (0055-0057); receiving a second encryption key ( sending and receiving a second communication key associated with encrypting information), (Par. (0043); in response to a first request (identity information request followed by delivering communication key (second encryption key) of plurality of communication keys)
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach encrypt second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches encrypt second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data. (Par. (0126); plurality of messages received from second or other vehicles that are encrypted using cryptographic keys))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 15, Pan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to: (Par. (0129); processor with device), (Par. (0132); computer-readable storage medium)
detect a first location of a vehicle, the vehicle comprising an encryption key used by a vehicle to encrypt data; (Par. (0150); vehicle passes through location of road and identity is obtained),(Par. (0155); vehicle with communication key for encryption)
detect a state of vehicular traffic in a first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle, (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan does not explicitly teach the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; and compare, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and send, by the processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined threshold number of vehicles.
Wherein Wylie teaches the state of the vehicular traffic comprising a number of other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle; and (Par. (0018); number of vehicles in threshold proximity))
compare, by a computing device in the vehicle, the number of other vehicles with a defined number of vehicles; and ((Par. (0016);processing device located within the vehicle)), (Par. (0018); processing device may compare other vehicles that are within threshold proximity))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan to incorporate the teaching of Wylie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of vehicle communication, with the motivation of creating a proximity in which the vehicles are compared to based on a predefined or target number of vehicles to securely enhance and create efficient communication between vehicles and regulation in exchanges. (Wylie Par. (0010-0011))
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach send, by the processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined threshold number of vehicles.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches send, by the processing device, a first request to a remote computing device to update the encryption key based at least in part on the number of other vehicles exceeding the defined threshold number of vehicles. (Par. (0092); group of vehicles send request corresponding to update package), (Par. (0138-0142); update package includes encryption keys), (Par. (0058); update package corresponds to a number of vehicles in the subset that must exceed a predefined threshold or predefined number of vehicles))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of creating authenticity in the vehicle to vehicle communication system and creating an updating process that is conducted vehicles in transit on highways, roads etc. can be assured that traffic information, routes and other data on the vehicle is not compromised altered or modified. By having a request linked with updating only authorized entities can be assured the proper keys are exchange and interception of the keys can be mitigated. (Michelsohn Par. (0047-0049))
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, Pan further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein, to detect the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle, the instructions cause the processing device is to perform at least one of determining the number of other vehicles within the first area ((Par. (0031-0033); detecting within a predetermined proximity a number of vehicles in a zone/ area defined), (Figure 1 labels 120, 130, 131 etc.; number of vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle)
or comparing a current speed of the vehicle to a posted speed of a route upon which the vehicle is traveling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Wylie for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, Pan further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause processing device is further to: encrypt first data using a first encryption key to generate first encrypted data; (Par. (0042-0045); encrypting information and broadcasting encrypted information)
send the first encrypted data to at least one other computing device over a network; (Par. (0088); receiving module receives encrypted information sent by road side unit of vehicle)
receive a second encryption key in response to the first request; and ((Par. (0023-0027); in response to certificate request receiving second communication key used for encrypting/; decrypting)), (Par. (0055-0057); receiving a second encryption key ( sending and receiving a second communication key associated with encrypting information), (Par. (0043); in response to a first request (identity information request followed by delivering communication key (second encryption key) of plurality of communication keys)
Pan and Wylie do not explicitly teach encrypt second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data.
Wherein Michelsohn teaches encrypt second data using the second encryption key to generate second encrypted data. ((Par. (0126); plurality of different messages in vehicle network is encrypted and decrypted using cryptographic keys)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan and Wylie to incorporate the teaching of Michelsohn for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220311602, hereinafter referred to as “Pan”) Wylie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200279314, hereinafter referred to as “Wylie”) and Michelsohn et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220147337, hereinafter referred to as “Michelsohn”) further in view of Elshafie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240348439, hereinafter referred to as “Elshafie”)
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach sending a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of a time period.
Wherein Elshafie teaches sending a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of a time period. (Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating before refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing a time-based verification for the updating the encryption keys to lower the chances of interception and compromise and protected the encryption keys from harm. This proves important in vehicle communication and transmitting data about traffic information, route, patterns and emergencies such as incidents and crashes by having a threshold of time that can be used as a comparison and notify users of a validity period and recognized users from illegitimate ones. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach updating the time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area.
Wherein Elshafie teaches updating the time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area. (Par. (0099); refreshing a current time associated with key refresh), (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing a time-based verification for the updating the encryption keys to lower the chances of interception and compromise and protected the encryption keys from harm. This proves important in vehicle communication and transmitting data about traffic information, route, patterns and emergencies such as incidents and crashes by having a threshold of time that can be used as a comparison and notify users of a validity period and recognized users from illegitimate ones. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the method of claim 1, Pan further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting a route along which the vehicle is traveling; (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320;number of other vehicles 300, 310, 320 on highway/road route ), (Par. (0186-0187); communication associated with vehicles on highway receiving information)
detecting a state of vehicular traffic in a second area encompassing the route along which the vehicle is traveling; and (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320; vehicle 300 along highway/road route in different area than vehicle 310 and 320 ), (Par. (0222-0223); second area (each road section corresponding to vehicle and time period)
Pan and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach sending a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area.
Wherein Elshafie teaches sending a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, (Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating before refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area. (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing multiple request for updating the encryption keys to discourage attackers from predicting the encryption keys and protect the system from harm. By having multiple request for updating the keys associated with vehicular traffic the system is more enhanced and effective from combatting attackers from intercepting keys by utilizing request from various vehicles in traffic. This adds a layer of complexity and assures users operating vehicles that emergency data, information and identities are safeguarded. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach wherein the processing device is further to send a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of a time period.
Wherein Elshafie teaches wherein the processing device is further to send a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of a time period. (Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating before refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing a time-based verification for the updating the encryption keys to lower the chances of interception and compromise and protected the encryption keys from harm. This proves important in vehicle communication and transmitting data about traffic information, route, patterns and emergencies such as incidents and crashes by having a threshold of time that can be used as a comparison and notify users of a validity period and recognized users from illegitimate ones. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach wherein the processing device is further to update the time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area.
Wherein Elshafie teaches wherein the processing device is further to update the time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area. (Par. (0099); refreshing a current time associated with key refresh), (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing a time-based verification for the updating the encryption keys to lower the chances of interception and compromise and protected the encryption keys from harm. This proves important in vehicle communication and transmitting data about traffic information, route, patterns and emergencies such as incidents and crashes by having a threshold of time that can be used as a comparison and notify users of a validity period and recognized users from illegitimate ones. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the system of claim 8, Pan further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the processing device is further to: detect a route along which the vehicle is traveling; (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320;number of other vehicles 300, 310, 320 on highway/road route ), (Par. (0186-0187); communication associated with vehicles on highway receiving information)
detect a state of vehicular traffic in a second area encompassing the route along which the vehicle is traveling; and (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320; vehicle 300 along highway/road route in different area than vehicle 310 and 320 ), (Par. (0222-0223); second area (each road section corresponding to vehicle and time period)
Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach send a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area.
Wherein Elshafie teaches send a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, (Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating before refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area. (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing multiple request for updating the encryption keys to discourage attackers from predicting the encryption keys and protect the system from harm. By having multiple request for updating the keys associated with vehicular traffic the system is more enhanced and effective from combatting attackers from intercepting keys by utilizing request from various vehicles in traffic. This adds a layer of complexity and assures users operating vehicles that emergency data, information and identities are safeguarded. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach update a time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area; and send a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of the time period.
Wherein Elshafie teaches update a time period based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area; and (Par. (0099); refreshing a current time associated with key refresh), (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
send a second request to update the encryption key responsive to an expiration of the time period. ((Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating when refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing a time-based verification for the updating the encryption keys to lower the chances of interception and compromise and protected the encryption keys from harm. This proves important in vehicle communication and transmitting data about traffic information, route, patterns and emergencies such as incidents and crashes by having a threshold of time that can be used as a comparison and notify users of a validity period and recognized users from illegitimate ones. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Pan , Wylie and Michelsohn teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, Pan further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the processing device to: detect a route along which the vehicle is traveling; (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320;number of other vehicles 300, 310, 320 on highway/road route ), (Par. (0186-0187); communication associated with vehicles on highway receiving information)
detect a state of vehicular traffic in a second area encompassing the route along which the vehicle is traveling; and (Figure 1 labels 100, 300, 310, 320; vehicle 300 along highway/road route in different area than vehicle 310 and 320 ), (Par. (0222-0223); second area (each road section corresponding to vehicle and time period)
Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach send a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area.
Wherein Elshafie teaches send a second request to the remote computing device to update the encryption key, (Par. (0083); UE corresponding to vehicles), (Par. (0015-0016); sending second request (request associated with second UE is transmitted for updating secret key), (Par. (0005-0007); transmitted request to update secret key based on refresh time and expiration; updating before refresh timer expires), (Par. (0121-0122); second request (plurality of request and request messages)
wherein the second request is sent based at least in part on the state of the vehicular traffic in the second area. (Par. (0083); vehicle corresponding to traffic, traffic conditions, roadside etc.), (Figure 1 labels 125, 115; vehicle 125 in second area than vehicle 115)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Elshafie to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of implementing multiple request for updating the encryption keys to discourage attackers from predicting the encryption keys and protect the system from harm. By having multiple request for updating the keys associated with vehicular traffic the system is more enhanced and effective from combatting attackers from intercepting keys by utilizing request from various vehicles in traffic. This adds a layer of complexity and assures users operating vehicles that emergency data, information and identities are safeguarded. (Elshafie Par. (0152-0153))
Claims 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220311602, hereinafter referred to as “Pan”) Wylie et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200279314, hereinafter referred to as “Wylie”) and Michelsohn et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220147337, hereinafter referred to as “Michelsohn”)further in view of Chen et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230007478, hereinafter referred to as “Chen”)
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the method of claim 1, Pan further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle comprises (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn do not explicitly teach sending a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area.
Wherein Chen teaches sending a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area. (Par. (0025); first terminal device is vehicle), (Par. (0010); request includes location information of the first terminal device), (Par. (0017); sending of first request message)(Par. (0143) first location of the vehicle to remote computing device to retrieve vehicular traffic ( receiving coordinate data of vehicle X being relative location between vehicle X and vehicle Y)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Chen to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of detecting location data of vehicles to authenticate valid entities from illegitimate devices. By having multiple requests associated with location data of vehicles compromise can be prevented based on valid entities being able to provide accurate and sufficient location data. This helps eliminate wrongful communication of vehicles in traffic areas and proves important in emergency settings or being able to detect identifies of vehicles. (Chen Par. (0228-0233))
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Chen teach the system of claim 8, Pan further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein, to detect the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle comprises, (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn not explicitly teach the processing device is to send a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area.
Wherein Chen teaches the processing device is to send a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area. (Par. (0025); first terminal device is vehicle), (Par. (0010); request includes location information of the first terminal device), (Par. (0017); sending of first request message)(Par. (0143) first location of the vehicle to remote computing device to retrieve vehicular traffic ( receiving coordinate data of vehicle X being relative location between vehicle X and vehicle Y)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Chen to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of detecting location data of vehicles to authenticate valid entities from illegitimate devices. By having multiple requests associated with location data of vehicles compromise can be prevented based on valid entities being able to provide accurate and sufficient location data. This helps eliminate wrongful communication of vehicles in traffic areas and proves important in emergency settings or being able to detect identifies of vehicles. (Chen (Par. (0228-0233))
In regards to Claim 20, the combination of Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, Pan further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein, to detect the state of the vehicular traffic in the first area encompassing the first location of the vehicle comprises, (Par. (0197); vehicle entering highway and triggering request), (Figure 1 labels 100, 310, 320; vehicle with location on highway/road ), (Par. (0088); location of road section and vehicle node receiving information encrypted)
Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn not explicitly teach the instruction further cause the processing device to send a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area.
Wherein Chen teaches the instruction further cause the processing device to send a second request comprising the first location of the vehicle to the remote computing device to retrieve the vehicular traffic in the first area. (Par. (0025); first terminal device is vehicle), (Par. (0010); request includes location information of the first terminal device), (Par. (0017); sending of first request message)(Par. (0143) first location of the vehicle to remote computing device to retrieve vehicular traffic ( receiving coordinate data of vehicle X being relative location between vehicle X and vehicle Y)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pan, Wylie and Michelsohn to incorporate the teaching of Chen to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of updating encryption keys in vehicle-to-vehicle communication network, with the motivation of detecting location data of vehicles to authenticate valid entities from illegitimate devices. By having multiple requests associated with location data of vehicles compromise can be prevented based on valid entities being able to provide accurate and sufficient location data. This helps eliminate wrongful communication of vehicles in traffic areas and proves important in emergency settings or being able to detect identifies of vehicles, as recognized by the Abstract and throughout.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cosentino; Andrea (U.S Pub. No. 20230138041) “VEHICLE CONTROL USING SERVERLESS FUNCTIONS”. Considered this reference because it had similar inventor and assignee with the concept of updating encryption keys with vehicles.
SUGANO; Yasuharu (U.S Pub. No. 20200059359) “VEHICULAR SYSTEM FOR PROCESSING ENCRYPTION KEY AND ELECTRONIC CONTROL DEVICE”. Considered this application because it relates to the updating of encryption keys based on a time period associated with vehicle communication.
JAEGAL; Chan (U.S Pub. No. 20200012281) “VEHICLE OF AUTOMATIC DRIVING SYSTEM AND THE CONTROL METHOD OF THE SYSTEM”. Considered this application because it addressed location data of vehicles in transit and requests associated with data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497