DETAILED ACTION
2 This office action is in response to communication filed on 01/23/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO2020145704) (hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Takeda et al (US 20210014647 A1) (hereinafter “Takeda”) and further in view of Hosseini et al (US 20200145144 A1) (hereinafter “Hosseini”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method, comprising:
determining a target physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first condition comprises:
a first PUCCH resource overlaps a second PUCCH resource, the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource are in a same time unit (see para. [20],[32] discloses first PUCCH and the second PUCCH collide the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap), or first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and at least one piece of second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data are in a same time unit (see para [20] discloses transmitting one PUCCH among the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH when the transmission of the first PUCCH and the transmission of second PUCCH collide, the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap), wherein
the first PUCCH resource carries the first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data (see para. [169] discloses the UE generates first HARQ- ACK-NACK codebook for the first PDSCH, configured to transmit in the first PUCCH, the first code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH), the first NACK information indicates that the first downlink data is not correctly received (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and the first ACK information indicates that the first downlink data is correctly received (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and the second PUCCH resource carries the at least one piece of the second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH), each piece of the second feedback information comprises second NACK information or second ACK information (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. Second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook is mapped to the second PUCCH), each piece of the second NACK information indicates that one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data is not correctly received (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and each piece of the second ACK information indicates that one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data is correctly received (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and
sending an acknowledgment codebook to the network device on the target PUCCH resource (see [169] discloses UE generates a first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook for the first PDSCH and generates a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. The first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book may be mapped to different PUCCHs).
Choi fails to disclose receiving first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data from a network device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met.
However, Takeda teaches receiving first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data from a network device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met (see Fig. 7B (unicast, multicast), para. [0092]-[0093] discloses in downlink first unicast data transmission followed by a second unicast data transmission; in some implementations if a PUCCH overlaps, the UE may transmit only the multicast of the unicast).
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information, wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises third feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and the at least one piece of the second feedback information, and the third feedback information comprises the first NACK information or the first ACK information.
However, Hosseini teaches the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information (see para. [0019] discloses identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining), wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises third feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and the at least one piece of the second feedback information, and the third feedback information comprises the first NACK information or the first ACK information (see Fig. 5, para [0086];[0019] discloses base station may determine resource overlaps and transmit ARI that may indicate a third PUCCH resource for multiplexing the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback transmission; identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi, Takeda and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, to include a method with unicast and group cast comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information as described by Takeda and Hosseini.
The motivation to combine the references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses a method according wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining that a second condition is met, determining to send the at least one piece of the second feedback information on the second PUCCH resource, wherein the second condition comprises: the first PUCCH resource does not overlap the second PUCCH resource, or the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource are not in a same time unit (see [20],[32], [161], [185],[187] discloses simultaneously receiving the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH from the terminal in the second slot may be performed when the transmission of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH do not collide; the UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively; if the first PUCCH corresponds to the indicator value 0, the second PUCCH may correspond to the indicator value 1, and when the first PUCCH corresponds to the indicator value 1, the second PUCCH may correspond to the indicator value 0. This indicator may be used as a reference for collision resolution when a plurality of PUCCH transmissions collide with each other in one slot; If PUCCH resources indicated by the two PRI values do not overlap each other, the UE may determine that two PUCCHs do not collide (overlap) in one slot).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses a method wherein in response to determining that the second condition is met and the first downlink data is not correctly received (see [115], [187], disclose The HARQ ACK-ACK indicates whether information transmitted through a PDCCH or a PDSCH is successfully received. The HARQ ACK response includes a positive ACK (briefly, ACK), a negative ACK (NACK); PUCCH resource indicated by two PRI values do not overlap each other, the UE may determine that two PUCCH do not collide),
Choi fails to disclose the method further comprises: determining to send the first feedback information on the first PUCCH resource, wherein the first feedback information is the first NACK information.
However, Hosseini teaches the method further comprises: determining to send the first feedback information on the first PUCCH resource, wherein the first feedback information is the first NACK information (see para. [0019] discloses identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Choi and Hosseini to create a method further comprises: determining to send the first feedback information on the first PUCCH resource, wherein the first feedback information is the first NACK information
The motivation to combine both references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses a method wherein in response to determining that the second condition is met and the first downlink data is correctly received (see [115], [187], disclose the HARQ ACK-ACK indicates whether information transmitted through a PDCCH or a PDSCH is successfully received. The HARQ ACK response includes a positive ACK (briefly, ACK), a negative ACK (NACK); PUCCH resource indicated by two PRI values do not overlap each other, the UE may determine that two PUCCH do not collide),
Choi fail to disclose the method further comprises: determining not to send the first ACK information
However, Hosseini teaches the method further comprises: determining not to send the first ACK information (see Fig. 5, para [0086];[0019] discloses base station may determine resource overlaps and transmit ARI that may indicate a third PUCCH resource for multiplexing the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback transmission; identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Choi and Hosseini to create a method wherein in response to determining that the second condition is met and the first downlink data is correctly received, the method further comprises: determining not to send the first ACK information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses a method wherein in response to determining that the first condition is met and the first downlink data is not correctly received, the acknowledgment codebook comprises the first NACK information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see para. [220]-[221] discloses UE may multiplex HARQ ACK/NACK codebooks of two PUCCHs and then transmit the multiplexed HARQ ACK/NACK codebooks to one PUCCH).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses a method wherein in response to determining that the first condition is met and the first downlink data is correctly received, the acknowledgment codebook comprises the first ACK information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see para. [220]-[221] discloses UE may multiplex HARQ ACK/NACK codebooks of two PUCCHs and then transmit the multiplexed HARQ ACK/NACK codebooks to one PUCCH).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses a method wherein the target PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource (see para. [188] discloses terminal transmits at least one PUCCH of the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH to the base station in the same slot).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses a method wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
receiving first indication information from the network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the first PUCCH resource (This part is optional); or
receiving second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the second PUCCH resource (see para. [183] UE may receive configuration information of an indicator when receiving configuration information of a PUCCH resource, from the base station).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses a method, comprising: determining a target physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first condition comprises:
a first PUCCH resource overlaps a second PUCCH resource, the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource are in a same time unit, or first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and at least one piece of second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data are in a same time unit (see para [20] discloses transmitting one PUCCH among the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH when the transmission of the first PUCCH and the transmission of second PUCCH collide, the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap), wherein
the first PUCCH resource carries the first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data (see para. [169] discloses the UE generates first HARQ- ACK-NACK codebook for the first PDSCH, configured to transmit in the first PUCCH, the first code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH,
the first NACK information indicates that the terminal device does not correctly receive the first downlink data (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and the first ACK information indicates that the terminal device correctly receives the first downlink data (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and the second PUCCH resource carries the at least one piece of the second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of second downlink data (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH), each piece of the second feedback information comprises second NACK information or second ACK information (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. Second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook is mapped to the second PUCCH), each piece of the second NACK information indicates that the terminal device does not correctly receive one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and each piece of the second ACK information indicates that the terminal device correctly receives one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see [115] disclose The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and
receiving, on the target PUCCH resource, an acknowledgment codebook sent by the terminal device (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively), wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises third feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and the at least one piece of the second feedback information, and the third feedback information comprises the first NACK information or the first ACK information (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively).
Chi fails to disclose sending first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data to a terminal device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met.
However, Takeda teaches sending first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data to a terminal device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met (see Fig. 7B (unicast, multicast), para. [0092]-[0093] discloses in downlink first unicast data transmission followed by a second unicast data transmission; in some implementations if a PUCCH overlaps, the UE may transmit only the multicast of the unicast).
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment {ACK) information.
However, Hosseini teaches a method comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information (see para. [0019] discloses identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi, Takeda and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, to include a method with unicast and group cast comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information as described by Takeda and Hosseini.
The motivation to combine the references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a method according wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining that a second condition is met, determining to receive the at least one piece of the second feedback information on the second PUCCH resource, wherein the second condition comprises: the first PUCCH resource does not overlap the second PUCCH resource, or the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource are not in a same time unit (see para. [187] If PUCCH resources indicated by the two PRI (PUCCH resource indicator) values do not overlap each other, the UE may determine that two PUCCHs do not collide in one slot).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses a method wherein the method further comprises: receiving the first feedback information on the first PUCCH resource, wherein the first feedback information is the first NACK information (see para. [27], [82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses a method.
Choi fails to disclose a method wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that the first NACK information is not received, determining that the terminal device has correctly received the first downlink data.
However, Hosseini teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that the first NACK information is not received, determining that the terminal device has correctly received the first downlink data (see Fig. 5, para [0086];[0019] discloses base station may determine resource overlaps and transmit ARI that may indicate a third PUCCH resource for multiplexing the first HARQ feedback and the second HARQ feedback transmission; identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Choi and Hosseini to create a method wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining that the first NACK information is not received, determining that the terminal device has correctly received the first downlink data.
The motivation to combine both references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses a method wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises the first NACK information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see para. [169] discloses the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book may be configured to be transmitted through different PUCCHs in the same slot. Here, the first HARQ ACK/NACK code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH, and the second HARQ ACK/NACK code-book is mapped to the second PUCCH).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses a method wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises the first ACK information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see para. [169] discloses the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book may be configured to be transmitted through different PUCCHs in the same slot. Here, the first HARQ ACK/NACK code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH, and the second HARQ ACK/NACK code-book is mapped to the second PUCCH).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a method wherein the target PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource (see para. [170] when a plurality of PDSCHs are transmitted, the terminal may generate a HARQ-ACK code-book by multiplexing HARQ-ACKs of PDSCHs having the same indicator value, and then transmit the HARQ-ACK code-book through the same PUCCH; different PUCCHs may be transmitted in one slot).
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses a method wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
sending first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the first PUCCH resource (This part is optional); or
sending second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information indicates the second PUCCH resource (see para. [16] discloses (the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH may respectively correspond to a first indicator and a second indicator having different values, and the one PUCCH may be determined from the first PUCCH or the second PUCCH based on the first indicator and the second indicator).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor (see para. [9], [141] discloses, and apparatus with microprocessor); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communication apparatus to (see Fig. 11, para. [141]-[142] discloses processor, communication module, memory, interface, configured to perform operation according with disclosure):
determine a target physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first condition comprises (see para. [20] discloses first PUCCH and the second PUCCH collide the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap):
a first PUCCH resource overlaps a second PUCCH resource, the first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH resource are in a same time unit, or first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and at least one piece of second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data are in a same time unit (see para [20] discloses transmitting one PUCCH among the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH when the transmission of the first PUCCH and the transmission of second PUCCH collide, the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap), wherein
the first PUCCH resource carries the first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data (see para. [169] discloses the UE generates first HARQ- ACK-NACK codebook for the first PDSCH, configured to transmit in the first PUCCH, the first code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH),
the first NACK information indicates that the first downlink data is not correctly received (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and the first ACK information indicates that the first downlink data is correctly received (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and the second PUCCH resource carries the at least one piece of the second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH), each piece of the second feedback information comprises second NACK information or second ACK information (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. Second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook is mapped to the second PUCCH), each piece of the second NACK information indicates that one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data is not correctly received (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and each piece of the second ACK information indicates that one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data is correctly received (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and
send an acknowledgment codebook to the network device on the target PUCCH resource (see [169] discloses UE generates a first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook for the first PDSCH and generates a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. The first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book may be mapped to different PUCCHs), wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises third feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively), and the third feedback information comprises the first NACK information or the first ACK information (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively).
Choi fails to disclose receive first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data from a network device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met:
However, Takeda teaches receiving first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data from a network device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met (see Fig. 7B (unicast, multicast), para. [0092]-[0093] discloses in downlink first unicast data transmission followed by a second unicast data transmission; in some implementations if a PUCCH overlaps, the UE may transmit only the multicast of the unicast).
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information.
However, Hosseini teaches a method comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information (see para. [0019] discloses identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi, Takeda and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, to include a method with unicast and group cast comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information as described by Takeda and Hosseini.
The motivation to combine the references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor (see para. [150] discloses base station with processor); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communication apparatus (see para. [150]-[151] discloses base station with processor, with communication module and memory, and processor executing instructions, may control operation including transmission and reception between units. Perform operation according to the disclosure) to:
determine a target physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the first condition comprises (see para. [20] discloses first PUCCH and the second PUCCH collide the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap):
a first PUCCH resource overlaps a second PUCCH resource, a first PUCCH resource and a second PUCCH resource are in a same time unit, or first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and at least one piece of second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data are in a same time unit (see para [20] discloses transmitting one PUCCH among the first PUCCH and the second PUCCH when the transmission of the first PUCCH and the transmission of second PUCCH collide, the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap), wherein
the first PUCCH resource carries the first feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data (see para. [169] discloses the UE generates first HARQ- ACK-NACK codebook for the first PDSCH, configured to transmit in the first PUCCH, the first code-book is mapped to the first PUCCH),
the first NACK information indicates that the terminal device does not correctly receive the first downlink data (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK), and the first ACK information indicates that the terminal device correctly receives the first downlink data (see para. [27],[82], [115] discloses a first PUCCCH including a first HARQ-ACK code-book associated with the first PDSCH; Uplink control information transmitted by the terminal to the base station may include ACK/NACK signal. The terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and the second PUCCH resource carries the at least one piece of the second feedback information corresponding to the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH), each piece of the second feedback information comprises second NACK information or second ACK information (see para. [169], discloses a second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook related to the second PDSCH. Second HARQ ACK-ACK codebook is mapped to the second PUCCH), each piece of the second NACK information indicates that the terminal device does not correctly receive one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data, and each piece of the second ACK information indicates that the terminal device correctly receives one of the at least one piece of the second downlink data (see [115] disclose the terminal may transmit control information such as HARQ-ACK through PUCCH; HARQ-ACK, a response to downlink transport block on PDSCH, indicates whether the information transmitted is successfully received or not, ACK is a positive response and NACK a negative response. The term HARQ-ACK is used interchangeably with ACK/NACK); and
receive, on the target PUCCH resource, an acknowledgment codebook sent by the terminal device, wherein the acknowledgment codebook comprises third feedback information corresponding to the first downlink data and the at least one piece of the second feedback information (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively), and the third feedback information comprises the first NACK information or the first ACK information (see [0183]-[0185] discloses UE receive configuration information PRI (third feedback) when receiving information configuration of PUCCH. The terminal may identify the indicator value based on the PRI value of the DCI (Downlink Control Information) for scheduling the PDSCH. The UE determines whether a collision occurs when transmitting a plurality of PUCCHs. The PRI is allocated to the first PUCCH RSU and the second PUCCH RSU to which the first HARQ ACK-ACK codebook and the second HARQ ACK-NACK code-book are mapped, respectively).
Choi fails to disclose send first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data to a terminal device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met.
However, Takeda teaches sending first downlink data and at least one piece of second downlink data to a terminal device, wherein the first downlink data are groupcast downlink data and the second downlink data are unicast downlink data; in response to determining that a first condition is met (see Fig. 7B (unicast, multicast), para. [0092]-[0093] discloses in downlink first unicast data transmission followed by a second unicast data transmission; in some implementations if a PUCCH overlaps, the UE may transmit only the multicast of the unicast).
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information.
However, Hosseini teaches a method comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information (see para. [0019] discloses identifying ACK/NACK feedback to provide for the first data in a first feedback transmission, determining if the resources overlap with second resources allocated for another transmission and dropping the other transmission or multiplexing the first feedback transmission with the other based on the determining).
Choi, Takeda and Hosseini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus, HARQ/ACK and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, to include a method with unicast and group cast comprising the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK} information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment {ACK} information as described by Takeda and Hosseini.
The motivation to combine the references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL and increase reliability of the HARQ/ACK feedback.
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO2020145704) (hereinafter “Choi”) in view of Takeda et al (US 20210014647 A1) (hereinafter “Takeda”) and further in view of Hosseini et al (US 20200145144 A1) (hereinafter “Hosseini”) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20220248395 A1) (herein after “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 9, Choi fails to disclose a method wherein the first condition comprises: the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information are in a same time unit (see para. [20],[32] discloses first PUCCH and the second PUCCH collide the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap),
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority.
However, Anderson teaches a method wherein the first condition comprises: the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information are in a same time unit, and the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority (see [0050], [0119], [0131], discloses multiplexing of HARQ-ACK of two PUCCHs which overlaps depends on the priority assigned to the two transmissions. For example, multiplexing is done only when two PUCCH transmissions have the same priority).
Choi and Anderson are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Choi and Anderson to create a method, wherein the first condition comprises: the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information are in a same time unit, and the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority.
The motivation to combine both references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL.
Regarding claim 18, Choi disclose a method wherein the first condition specifically comprises: the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information are in a same time unit (see para. [20],[32] discloses first PUCCH and the second PUCCH collide the resource for the first PUCCH and resource for the second PUCCH at least partially overlap).
Choi fails to disclose the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority.
However, Anderson teaches a method wherein the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority (see [0050], [0119], [0131], discloses multiplexing of HARQ-ACK of two PUCCHs which overlaps depends on the priority assigned to the two transmissions. For example, multiplexing is done only when two PUCCH transmissions have the same priority).
Choi and Anderson are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Choi and Anderson to create a method wherein the first condition specifically comprises: the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information are in a same time unit, and the first feedback information and the at least one piece of the second feedback information have a same priority. .
The motivation to combine both references would come from efficiency of enhanced decision making in order to adjust operational parameters in UL.
Response to Arguments
Regarding arguments on page 11 on “Takeda teaching away from claim techniques”. Applicant argues that Takeda teaches that when resources collision occurs, the UE “transmits only one” and “drop the other” (discard one of the feedbacks). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takeda discloses techniques with combination of the feedback information, see [0087];[0089] In some other implementations, the UE may send unicast AF (acknowledgement feedback) and MC/BC AF (acknowledgement) on shared resources; Another allocating technique may use shared resources to send unicast AF and MC/BC AF in concurrent fashion. The UE may send Unicast F and MC/BC AF in the same slot.
Regarding arguments on page 12 and 13, on “Lack of motivation to combine”. Applicant argues that a dynamic switching mechanism where the first feedback information is NACK-only mode. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the limitation in the claim does not disclose a NACK-only mode. The limitation discloses “the first feedback information comprises first negative acknowledgment (NACK) information of the first downlink data but does not comprise first positive acknowledgment (ACK) information, the first NACK information indicates that the first downlink data is not correctly received, and the first ACK information indicates that the first downlink data is correctly received” which under the broadest reasonable interpretation, indicates that the feedback provides a NACK when the data is not correctly received (meaning there is not ACK since the information is not correct), and ACK when the data is correctly received (meaning there is no NACK since the information is correct). The limitation is silent regarding a NACK- only mechanism and dynamic switching.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed on 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10. 19, 20 regarding the first feedback information and third feedback information under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Hosseini et al (US 20200145144 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ma et al (CN 111436153 B) discloses “Information Processing Method, Terminal Device and Network Device”.
Sun et al (CN 111263449 B) discloses “Information Processing Method, Terminal Device”.
Sun et al (CN 110198209 B) discloses “Communication Method and Communication Device”.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419