DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/13/2026 in which claims 1-7, 9-20, 22-29, 31, 32, and 34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Stauffer and Leroux do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1
Leroux recites; “[0002] Telecommunication systems generally have a maximum useful receive power and a maximum useful signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) at their receiver. Reaching higher SINR, by, e.g., increasing the transmit power, may not necessarily provide higher performance. Furthermore, reaching higher received power can degrade performance as the radio frequency (RF) receiver chains may not cope with the potential saturation. [0010] In some embodiments of the first aspect, the method further includes based at least in part on a channel quality indicator, CQI, report, a reference signal receiving power, RSRP, measurement, and an angle of arrival, AOA, estimation, determining an initial power level for a downlink, DL, channel transmission to prevent power saturation at a wireless device. [0011] The method includes transmitting a message to a network node, the message indicating a power saturation condition as a result of the first transmit power value. [0012] if the first transmit power value exceeds the predetermined transmit power threshold value, determining to transmit the message;”
Stauffer recites; “ [0003] This document describes techniques for, and systems that enable, user device-initiated downlink power requests. These techniques may include a user device determining a signal quality, such as an observed signal-to-noise (SNR) ratio or observed signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), of a downlink communication. The determined signal quality can be used by the user device to optimize downlink transmission power. For example, transmission power may be higher than necessary for receiving future downlink communications using a current modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or aggregation level. The user device can provide, to the base station, a request to change the transmission power based on the determined transmission power. The base station can receive the request and adjust the transmission power level for a future communication. [0019] The user device determines a SINR of the downlink transmission and compares the SINR with a threshold SINR that is required to receive future downlink transmissions with using the MCS. Based on the comparison, the user device determines that the SINR is two dB above the threshold SINR. The user device then transmits, to the base station, a request to reduce a transmission power level by two dB. The base station can comply with the request or reduce a transmission power by an amount less than two dB. By reducing the transmission power level, the base station can reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.” Fig. 4 404, 410, and 412
Leroux’s message includes an indication of a value of the threshold that causes power saturation which means the base station would need to reduce the power level by an amount to be below that threshold.
Stauffer’s request accomplishes the same result by causing the base station to reduce its transmission power by an indicated amount to satisfy a threshold.
The combination of Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches a UE sending a message/request to the base station to cause a change in downlink transmission power by a value that satisfies a saturation threshold for a future received power level to prevent a further saturation conditions.
Therefore the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20, 22-29, 31, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroux (US20220264482A1) in view of Stauffer et al. (US20190297584A1).
As to claims 1 and 27, Leroux teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: ([0081] The processing circuitry 84 may be configured to control any of the methods and/or processes described herein and/or to cause such methods, and/or processes to be performed, e.g., by WD 22. The processor 86 corresponds to one or more processors 86 for performing WD 22 functions described herein. The WD 22 includes memory 88 that is configured to store data, programmatic software code and/or other information described herein)
receive a communication with a received power; and ([0074] a wireless device 22 is configured to include a power saturation unit 34 which is configured to receive a downlink, DL, channel transmission at a first transmit power value;)
transmit, based on at least in part on the received power satisfying a threshold associated with a saturation of a reception component of the UE, a message including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission power and ([0096] The method includes transmitting (Block S104), such as via power saturation unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a message to a network node 16, the message indicating a power saturation condition as a result of the first transmit power value. [0097] the method further includes determining, such as via power saturation unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, whether the received DL channel transmission at the first transmit power value exceeds a predetermined transmit power threshold value. In some embodiments, the method further includes if the first transmit power value exceeds the predetermined transmit power threshold value, determining to transmit the message;)
to remove the saturation of the reception component of the UE. ([0010] the method further includes based at least in part on a channel quality indicator, CQI, report, a reference signal receiving power, RSRP, measurement, and an angle of arrival, AOA, estimation, determining an initial power level for a downlink, DL, channel transmission to prevent power saturation at a wireless device)
But does not specifically teach:
a request including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission power
However Stauffer teaches transmit a request including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission power ([0019] The user device determines a SINR of the downlink transmission and compares the SINR with a threshold SINR that is required to receive future downlink transmissions with using the MCS. Based on the comparison, the user device determines that the SINR is two dB above the threshold SINR. The user device then transmits, to the base station, a request to reduce a transmission power level by two dB. The base station can comply with the request or reduce a transmission power by an amount less than two dB. By reducing the transmission power level, the base station can reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 14 and 29, Leroux teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: ([0077] Thus, the network node 16 further has software 74 stored internally in, for example, memory 72, or stored in external memory (e.g., database, storage array, network storage device, etc.) accessible by the network node 16 via an external connection. The software 74 may be executable by the processing circuitry 68. The processing circuitry 68 may be configured to control any of the methods and/or processes described herein and/or to cause such methods, and/or processes to be performed, e.g., by network node 16.)
transmit a first communication with a first transmission power; ([0074] a wireless device 22 is configured to include a power saturation unit 34 which is configured to receive a downlink, DL, channel transmission at a first transmit power value;)
receive, based at least in part on a received power at a user equipment (UE) satisfying a threshold associated with a saturation of a reception component of the UE, a message including an indication of a value to reduce the first transmission power; and ([0096] The method includes transmitting (Block S104), such as via power saturation unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a message to a network node 16, the message indicating a power saturation condition as a result of the first transmit power value. [0097] the method further includes determining, such as via power saturation unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, whether the received DL channel transmission at the first transmit power value exceeds a predetermined transmit power threshold value. In some embodiments, the method further includes if the first transmit power value exceeds the predetermined transmit power threshold value, determining to transmit the message;)
to remove the saturation of the reception component of the UE; and ([0010] the method further includes based at least in part on a channel quality indicator, CQI, report, a reference signal receiving power, RSRP, measurement, and an angle of arrival, AOA, estimation, determining an initial power level for a downlink, DL, channel transmission to prevent power saturation at a wireless device)
transmit a second communication with a second transmission power that is less than the first transmission power. ([0097] In some embodiments, the method further includes as a result of transmitting the message indicating the power saturation condition, receiving, such as via power saturation unit 34, processing circuitry 84, processor 86 and/or radio interface 82, a second DL channel transmission having a second transmit power value, the second transmit power value being less than the first transmit power value.)
But does not specifically teach:
a request including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission power
However Stauffer teaches transmit a request including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission power ([0019] The user device determines a SINR of the downlink transmission and compares the SINR with a threshold SINR that is required to receive future downlink transmissions with using the MCS. Based on the comparison, the user device determines that the SINR is two dB above the threshold SINR. The user device then transmits, to the base station, a request to reduce a transmission power level by two dB. The base station can comply with the request or reduce a transmission power by an amount less than two dB. By reducing the transmission power level, the base station can reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 2, and 15, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of a time domain resource at which an additional communication is to be transmitted with a reduced transmission power. (Stauffer [0040] The PDCCH 204 can be used by the base station 104 to communicate, to the user device, one or more control messages, such as downlink control information (DCI) messages, medium access control (MAC) control elements (CEs), or RRC messages. In some aspects, the control messages include an identification of resource elements or a confirmation of a receipt of a user device-initiated power control request to be used for communication of data to the user device 102.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 3 and 16, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the additional communication is to be received with the reduced transmission power based at least in part on one or more of: an output power of a transmission antenna array, or a beam width used to transmit the additional communication. (Stauffer [0037] In some cases, the communication module 130 includes, or is coupled with, multiple hardware-based transceivers and antenna arrays that are configured to establish and manage wireless connections with multiple user devices over one or more frequency bandwidths and communication resources. [0071] At operation 808, the base station transmits, to the user device, the future downlink transmission at a third transmission power level that is based on the received request.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claim 4, 17, and 28, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the threshold is further associated with a maximum throughput for communications with the UE. (Leroux [0038] the “maximum MCS” may correspond to a predetermined maximum threshold value, such as, a maximum modulation scheme value (e.g., 64 or 256 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) that the WD and/or network node is capable of or has otherwise been determined as a threshold value) and/or a predetermined maximum coding rate (e.g., 5/6) that the WD and/or network node is capable of or has otherwise been determined as a threshold value for a maximum data rate. In some embodiments, once the maximum MCS is reached, the network node may switch to PB mode and begin power backoff. Similarly, in some embodiments, the “maximum power” may correspond to a predetermined maximum power level that the WD and/or network node is capable of or has otherwise been determined as a threshold value.)
As to claims 5 and 18, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein saturation of the reception component is associated with support for a reduced modulation and coding scheme (MCS) relative to an MCS that is supported when the reception component is not saturated, or wherein the maximum throughput for communications with the UE is based at least in part on one or more of the saturation of the reception component, a rank of communications, or the received power. (Leroux [0106] In step S218, since maximum power is being used and the network node 16 is still receiving NACKs from the WD 22, the network node 16 may use LA to adjust MCS downward e.g., until the WD 22 is able to correctly receive and decode a DL channel transmission. Although FIGS. 7 and 8 have a different result (decreasing power versus increasing power), it should be understood that the same power backoff technique for LA may be used in these examples; yet the results may differ based at least in part on whether the network node 16 receives a NACK or an ACK, as well as, on whether max MCS and/or maximum power are reached for the channel transmissions.)
As to claims 6 and 19, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the communication comprises one or more of: an optical wireless communication-based communication, an extended-reality-based communication, or an Internet-of-Things-based communication. (Stauffer [0024] The user device 102 is illustrated as a smart phone, however the user device 102 may instead be implemented as any device with wireless communication capabilities, such as a mobile gaming console, a tablet, a laptop, an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, a health monitoring device, an unmanned aircraft, a camera, a media-streaming dongle, a wearable smart-device, an internet-of-things (IoT) device,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 7 and 20, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE comprises one or more of: an extended reality display device or input device, an optical wireless communication device, an Internet of Things device, a device with limited capability for an analog to digital converter (ADC) a device with limited capability for effective number of bits (ENOB), or a device with limited capability for automatic gain control (AGC). (Stauffer [0024] The user device 102 is illustrated as a smart phone, however the user device 102 may instead be implemented as any device with wireless communication capabilities, such as a mobile gaming console, a tablet, a laptop, an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS), a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, a health monitoring device, an unmanned aircraft, a camera, a media-streaming dongle, a wearable smart-device, an internet-of-things (IoT) device,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 9 and 22, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the value is based at least in part on one or more of: a configuration received from a network node, or a communication protocol. (Stauffer [0028] The transmission power evaluation module 118 can use the signal quality to determine an different transmission power level for future downlink transmissions by the base station 104. For example, the transmission power evaluation module 118 may compare the signal quality to a threshold for receiving the future downlink communications using a desired MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS or aggregation level may be the same MCS or aggregation level as the received downlink communication, or another MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS may depend on a type of communication, or a channel for communication, of the future downlink communication. [0068] At optional operation 802, the base station transmits, to a user device, a control message to enable transmissions of requests to change a transmission power level. For example, the base station 104 transmits one of an RRC message, a DCI message, or a MAC CE. The control message may further indicate a protocol for a response by the user device 102 to transmit a power control request 304.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 10 and 23, Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the request is associated with one or more of: a component carrier, a beam used to transmit the communication, a beam width, a channel, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS). (Stauffer [0028] The transmission power evaluation module 118 can use the signal quality to determine an different transmission power level for future downlink transmissions by the base station 104. For example, the transmission power evaluation module 118 may compare the signal quality to a threshold for receiving the future downlink communications using a desired MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS or aggregation level may be the same MCS or aggregation level as the received downlink communication, or another MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS may depend on a type of communication, or a channel for communication, of the future downlink communication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 11 and 24, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of one or more of: support for transmitting the request to reduce the transmission power, a risk for reduced modulation and coding scheme (MCS) when receiving communications with received powers that satisfy the threshold. (Leroux [0106] In step S218, since maximum power is being used and the network node 16 is still receiving NACKs from the WD 22, the network node 16 may use LA to adjust MCS downward e.g., until the WD 22 is able to correctly receive and decode a DL channel transmission. and [0109]-[0110] MCS adjusting)
As to claims 12 and 25, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of one or more of: reception of the request to reduce the transmission power, or an AGC configuration for the UE to use for receiving communications. (Stauffer [0071] At operation 808, the base station transmits, to the user device, the future downlink transmission at a third transmission power level that is based on the received request. For example, the base station 104 transmits, to the user device 102, the downlink communication 306 at a transmission power level that is based on the power control request 304.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claims 13 and 26, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the request, are configured to transmit the request via one or more of: medium access control (MAC) signaling, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a channel state information (CSI) report. (Stauffer [0046] The power control request 304 may be included in a UCI communication, an RRC message, or a MAC CE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claim 31, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an additional communication with a reduced received power based on at least in part on the request. (Stauffer [0071] At operation 808, the base station transmits, to the user device, the future downlink transmission at a third transmission power level that is based on the received request.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
As to claim 32, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the value from a quantity of candidate values. (Stauffer [0028] The transmission power evaluation module 118 can use the signal quality to determine an different transmission power level for future downlink transmissions by the base station 104. For example, the transmission power evaluation module 118 may compare the signal quality to a threshold for receiving the future downlink communications using a desired MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS or aggregation level may be the same MCS or aggregation level as the received downlink communication, or another MCS or aggregation level. The desired MCS may depend on a type of communication, or a channel for communication, of the future downlink communication. In an example implementation, the measured signal quality is four dB above the threshold for the same MCS as the received downlink communication. The transmission power evaluation module 118 can determine that the transmission power can be reduced by four dB. Alternatively, the transmission power evaluation module 118 may determine that if the transmission power is increased by two dB, the future communication can be transmitted using a different MCS that provides a higher data rate than the MCS currently in use. In these situations, the transmission power evaluation module 118 may determine that the transmission power can be increased by four dB to use the MCS that provides the higher data rate.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux with the request of Stauffer in order to reduce a transmission power level to reduce unnecessary power consumption, interference with other wireless connections, and improve network efficiency.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroux in view of Stauffer as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Arvola et al. (US20240129865A1).
As to claim 34, Leroux in view of Stauffer teaches the method of claim 27,
But does not specifically teach:
further comprising transmitting an indication of one or more parameters of an automatic gain control (AGC) of the UE.
However Arvola teaches transmitting an indication of one or more parameters of an automatic gain control (AGC) of the UE. ([0111] At operation 301, the client device 200 transmits to the network node device 210 the first capability indication indicating at least the low-resolution ADC capability of the client device 200. Further in operation 301, the network node device 210 receives the first capability indication. 3. The client device according to claim 1, wherein the first capability indication further indicates a convergence speed of an automatic gain control of the client device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Leroux in view of Stauffer with the AGC method of Arvola in order for different amplitude levels in a transmit modulation coding scheme (MCS) to be distinguishable and to determine a range for pre-ADC amplification in which the performed power measurements of the received signal information resources are not saturated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14, 27, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 15, 22, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11864129. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the claimed invention can be taught by the patent as shown below.
As to claims 1 and 27, 11864129 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to :receive a communication with a received power; and transmit, based at least in part on the received power satisfying a threshold associated with a saturation of a reception component of the UE, a request including an indication of a value to reduce a transmission powe(claims 2 and 22 overload being saturation)
As to claims 14 and 29, 11864129 teaches A network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: transmit a first communication with a first transmission power; receive, based at least in part on a received power at a user equipment (UE) satisfying a threshold associated with a saturation of a reception component of the UE, a request including an indication of a value to reduce the first transmission power and to remove the saturation of the reception component of the UE; and transmit a second communication with a second transmission power that is less than the first transmission power. (claims 15 and 30 22 overload being saturation)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465