DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 30 October 2025.
Claims 3, 9, 12, and 15 were amended.
Claims 18-19 are new.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is FINAL.
Response to Amendments and Remarks
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations of claims 1, 5, 7, 11, and 14 were interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The Applicant has not provided arguments or amended the claims to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. Accordingly the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim 1, 3-7, and 9-10 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0141746, hereinafter “Srnec”) in view of Weber et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0312121, hereinafter “Weber”).
Claim 2 and 8 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Weber in further in view of Yamamoto et al. US Pub. No. 2013/0062941, hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Claim 11-17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gongate US Pub. No. 2019/0249913, hereinafter “Gongate”) in view of Akiyama et. al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0203960, hereinafter “Akiyama”).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-10 of response filed 30 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive
Regarding claims 1 and 7 Applicant argues:
In Weber, a parameter of a "power plant" that powers a vehicle is adjusted to extend the range the vehicle can travel when the estimated range is less than the distance of the vehicle from a target destination (see paragraph [0037]). The power plant could be an engine, an electric motor or both (see paragraph [0016]), and the parameter includes torque, power, idle limits, speed, acceleration etcetera (see paragraph [0039]). However, Weber does not disclose or suggest that the parameter being modified is an operational state of an engine.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s conclusion that Weber does not teach that the parameter being modified is an operational state of an engine. As Applicant concedes, and as noted above, Weber’s power plant can be an engine. Further, Weber teaches that the a parameter of the power plant can be adjusted (Weber [0037] “and adjusting…performance parameter of the power plant”). Finally, Weber teaches the operating parameters and performance parameters associated with the power plant include torque, power, idle limits, speed, acceleration, etc. and further teaches the parameter can be adjusted (Weber [0039]). Thus, Weber teaches in one example, adjusting torque of an engine which corresponds with modifying an operational state of the engine, as claimed.
Applicant further argues regarding claims 3 and 9:
In Srnec, the route can be changed so that the vehicle spends longer outside of a zone in which the prime mover is required to be switched off so that the prime mover can charge the energy storage device (see paragraph [0051]). As such, Srnec does not disclose controlling the operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route such that the power level of the battery unit is above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated.
First, the examiner notes that Srnec teaches that it is optional to determine an alternative route, and further teaches that that the processor may determine operational adjustments based on the route (see at least Figure 2, and [0051-0052] “Optionally, at 212, an alternate route is determined…..Optionally, at 214, operational adjustments are determined…”.) Further, the examiner notes that the rejection is based on the combination of Srnec and Weber to teach this limitation. Specifically, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach control the operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route such that the power level of the battery unit is above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated as rejected further below. The examiner notes that Srnec teaches controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051]. See also Srnec [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off). Further Weber which teaches the performance parameters (which include torque, power, …etch) of the power plant (including an engine) are adjusted to extend the range of the vehicle during the travel to the target destination. See at Weber least [0037] and [0041] and additional details described in [0037-0041] as cited below.).
Applicant does not provide separate arguments regarding claims 2, 4-6, 8, and 10, instead relying upon their arguments for claims 1 and 7. Accordingly, the examiner refers Applicants to the Examiner’s remarks above.
Turning to the rejection of claims 11 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gongate in view of Akiyama.
Applicant argues with respect to claims 11 and 14:
However, Gongate does not disclose switching the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit.
In this regard, Gongate discloses using the generator 54 to charge the battery 52 when it is "available", i.e. when there is enough fuel (see paragraph [0057]). However, Gongate also discloses that the generator 54 provides electrical power to a compressor motor 60 (see paragraph [0040]). As such, although the generator 54 may not be "available" to charge the battery 52, this does not necessarily mean that the generator 54 is switched off when it is not being used to charge the battery 52. Rather, the generator 54 could be generating power for the compressor motor 60 and not have enough fuel to also charge the battery 52. There is therefore no explicit disclosure in Gongate to switch the combustion engine 56 on/off based on the charge level of the battery 52.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. switching off the generator or switching the engine on/off) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner notes that the claim recites “switch the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit”.
Gongate teaches switching the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit as claimed. Specifically Gongate teaches an iterative process of determining if the battery is fully charged and determining an available and most efficient means of charging the battery, and further teaches using the diesel engine generator when available and using an renewable energy source when available (see Gongate Figure 6 and accompanying description and [0051-0053] which corresponds to switching the engine between an operational state (diesel engine generator available) and non-operational state (when renewable energy source is available, diesel engine generator unavailable). Further, Gongate teaches not to use the combustion engine generator to charge the battery in low level conditions (see [0053]). This is considered a non-operational state of the engine as the engine is not operating the generator to charge the battery. This is commiserate with the explanation of a non-operational state provided in the specification wherein non-operational state is explained as the engine no longer providing power to the generator to power the charge the battery unit. The examiner notes that Applicant does not define the non-operational state (or the operational state), but explains in [0077] “When the power demand is less than the predetermined threshold and the power level of the battery unit indicates that the battery unit does not require charging, the control system may be configured to switch the engine to an non-operational state, or maintain the engine in a non-operational state, so as to supply electrical power to the refrigeration system from the battery unit alone. Thus, the refrigeration system may be configured to receive electrical power from the generator or from the battery unit depending on the power demand of the refrigeration system and a power level of the battery unit.” Accordingly, the examiner interprets non-operational state to include supplying electrical power to the refrigeration system from the renewable energy source when the diesel engine generator is unavailable.
Further, the examiner notes that the rejection is based on a combination of Gongate and Akiyama. Akiyama further teaches switching the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit (see at least Akiyama Figure 3 S103 flowing to S107. See also [0068] and Fig. 7 and [0083] “When the state of charge of the battery 5 improves and the state of charge of the battery 5 becomes greater than or equal to the prescribed charge quantity threshold value at time T3, the engine 1 is stopped, so that the engine rotational speed Rc becomes zero after time T3.”). The examiner notes that the Applicant acknowledges that Akiyama teaches the engine output is stopped (see Remarks, page 10, first paragraph addressing dependent claims 12 and 15).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Further Applicant argues with respect to the combination of Akiyama that
Fig. 1 of Akiyama illustrates a configuration of a hybrid vehicle comprising a battery 5 that powers a drive motor 6 and an engine 1 that powers a generator 4 to charge the battery 5. Akiyama is concerned with reducing the noise of the engine 1 during charging when the vehicle is coasting (see paragraph [0004]). This is achieved by increasing the rotational speed of the engine 1 as the vehicle speed increases because as the vehicle speed increases, so does the noise from the road. Akiyama also discloses that as the engine 1 rotational speed increases, the electric power generated increases, allowing the battery 5 to be charged in a shorter time period (see paragraph [0058]). However, there is no disclosure in Akiyama to change the speed of the engine based on the charge of the battery. For example, in Akiyama, if the battery 5 is below a threshold value, the rotation of the engine is maintained to charge the battery (see paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s conclusion that there is no disclosure in Akiyama to change the speed of the engine based on the charge of the battery. Akiyama teaches the system including a control system is configured to change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, based on the power level of the battery unit as claimed.(see Akiyama [0053-0058]). Specifically, Akiyama teaches that the required quantity of electric power is calculated based on the state of the charge of the battery to reach a fully charged state [0055]) and further teaches that the rotational speed of the engine is adjusted as the vehicle speed increases [0056] and that an increased rotational speed allows the battery to be charged in shorter period of time ([0058]). The examiner notes that the Akiyama only performs the process of charging the battery based on the state of charge of the battery (see Akiyama Fig. 3S103), and further teaches controlling the rotational speed to charge the battery. Thus, the rotational speed is adjusted based on the power level of the battery. The fact that the rotational speed is also adjusted based on the vehicle speed in addition to the power level of the battery unit, as Applicant notes, does not negate that the rotational speed is adjusted based on the power level of the battery.
Finally, the examiner notes the broad phrase “change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state” includes receiving a command to change a speed of the engine while the engine remains the operational state, the command including to stop the engine as taught by Akiyama. Specifically, the command to change the speed of the engine is issued while the engine remains in the operational state (see Akiyama Figure 3, S103 flowing to S107 wherein the engine is stopped; See [0056] and [0063] regarding the command and [0068-0070] which teaches that the rotation of the engine (continue power generation in this iterative process) is occurring when the stop engine command is received. The examiner notes this also corresponds to changing a speed of the engine while the engine remains in the operational state).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Applicant argues:
In Akiyama, when the charge of the battery is greater than or equal to a threshold value, the engine output is stopped (see paragraph [0067]). Accordingly, Akiyama does not disclose decreasing the speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, when the power level of the battery unit increases past a first threshold.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Similar to that as noted above with respect to claim 11, the phrase “decrease the speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state” includes receiving a command to decrease a speed of the engine while the engine remains the operational state, the command including to stop the engine as taught by Akiyama. Specifically, the command to decrease the speed of the engine (stop the engine) is issued while the engine remains in the operational state. (see Akiyama Figure 3, S103 flowing to S107 wherein the engine is stopped; See [0056] and [0063] regarding the command and [0068-0070] which teaches that the rotation of the engine (continue power generation in this iterative process) is occurring when the stop engine command is received. The examiner notes this corresponds to decrease a speed of the engine while the engine remains in the operational state as the engine is rotating and then decreases to a stop as the engine is stopped in S107).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Applicant argues:
Regarding claims 16-17, Gongate discloses that the engine is dedicated to the TRU (see paragraph [0040]), and Akiyama discloses increasing the engine rotational speed as the vehicle speed increases (see paragraph [0058]). Thus, neither Gongate or Akiyama disclose the full feature of these claims, i.e. changing the speed of the transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, independently of a speed of the vehicle.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As Applicant notes, Gongate teaches that the engine is dedicated to the TRU as claimed. Gongate is relied upon to show wherein the engine is a transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine that does not provide motive force to the vehicle and wherein the speed of the transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine is changed independently of a speed of vehicle (see at least Gongate [0040]). As a dedicated engine, the engine does not provide motive force to the vehicle and thus the speed of the transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine is changed independently of a speed of the vehicle.
Akiyama was only relied upon to show changing the speed of the engine while the engine remains in the operational state. Akiyama teaches the system including a control system is configured to change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state [0053-0058] as discussed further above. Akiyama teaches that increasing the speed of the engine charges the battery faster. This is true for any engine whether the engine is dedicated or not, and the teaching is used to modify Gongate which has the recited dedicated engine, charged independently of the speed of the vehicle. The examiner notes that claims 11 and 14, and thus claims 16 and 17 are rejected with the combination of Gongate and Akiyama. As noted by the examiner in the rejection it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gongate with the teaching of Akiyama with a reasonable expectation of success because Akiyama teaches it is advantageous to increase the speed of an engine to charge a battery faster when the battery is in need of charging (see Akiyama [0058]).
Finally, the examiner notes the phrase “change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state” includes receiving a command to change a speed of the engine while the engine remains the operational state, the command including to stop the engine as taught by Akiyama. Specifically, the command to change the speed of the engine is issued while the engine remains in the operational state (see Akiyama Figure 3, S103 flowing to S107 wherein the engine is stopped; See [0056] and [0063] regarding the command and [0068-0070] which teaches that the rotation of the engine (continue power generation in this iterative process) is occurring when the stop engine command is received. The examiner notes this corresponds to changing a speed of the engine while the engine remains in the operational state).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant does not provide separate arguments regarding claim 13, instead relying upon their arguments for claims 11 and 12. Accordingly, the examiner refers Applicants to the Examiner’s remarks above.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“position determining system for determining” in claim 5. Structural support can be found in [0034] of the instant application.
“battery unit configured to supply electrical power…” and “battery unit for powering…” in claim 1, 7, 11, 14. The examiner notes that the specification appears to define battery unit separately from a battery (see for example, Figure 2, battery 288 of battery unit 280 and Figure 3 battery 388 of battery unit 380 and [ 118]) and thus appears to be a generic placeholder. The examiner notes that sufficient structure can be found in [0118] and Figure 2, Figure 3. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the control system is configured to: switch the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level; and when the engine is in an operational state, control a speed of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level.”. Claim 18 is dependent from claim 1 which recites a control system configured to:… control an operational state of the engine based on vehicle route and the predicted power level…” It is not clear if the limitations of claim 18 are further refining the “control an operational state” of claim 1, or are a separate control of the operational state. The examiner believes that the limitations of claim 18 are intended to further limit controlling the operational state of claim 1 because there is no disclosure of three steps of (1) controlling the operational state, (2) controlling between a operational state and a non-operational state and (3) controlling the speed of the engine. The examiner will examine accordingly. The examiner suggests amending claim 18 to recite “wherein the control system is further configured to control the operational state including…”. Claim 19 has a similar limitation and is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-7, 9-10, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0141746, hereinafter “Srnec”) in view of Weber et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0312121, hereinafter “Weber”).
Regarding claim 1, Srnec discloses a power system for a transport refrigeration unit of a vehicle (see at least Srnec Figure 1 vehicle 10, transport climate control system 102 [0026] “The transport climate control system 102 provides climate control (e.g., temperature, humidity, air quality, and the like) to the internal space 103 of the transport unit 100. Along with the TRU 105, the transport climate control system 102 can include one or more remote evaporator units in the internal space 103, sensors, etc.”) the system comprising:
a battery unit configured to supply electrical power to a refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit (see at least Srnec Figure 1, energy storage device 106 and [0029] “ Energy storage device 106 stores electrical energy to power compressor 104. Energy storage device 106 may include one or more batteries. The one or more batteries included in the energy storage device 106 may be a rechargeable battery.”) ;
a generator configured to charge the battery unit (see at least Srnec Figure 1, alternator 124 is a generator [0032] “Prime mover 122 is coupled to the alternator 124 that converts the mechanical power from prime mover 122 into electrical power” see also [0014] “In an embodiment, the transport climate control system further includes a prime mover configured to drive an alternator, the alternator charging the energy storage device.”)
an engine configured to drive the generator (see at least Srnec; Figure 1, prime mover 122, [0031] “Prime mover 122 may be an internal combustion engine, such as a gasoline or diesel engine.”) and
a control system (see at least Srnec Figure 1, system including processor 110 [0033] Processor 110 is located within the TRU 105. In other embodiments, the processor 110 can be provided in or on vehicle 10 or transport unit 100 and in communication with the power meter 108 and communications link 116..”) configured to:
receive or determine a vehicle route from a current location of the vehicle to a destination of the vehicle (see at least Srnec [0034] “The planned route may be determined prior to the vehicle 10 departing for the trip.” And [0033] “Processor 110 receives a planned route for the vehicle and route status data. The planned route and/or the route status data may be received via communication link 116”) ;
predict how a power level of the battery unit will change on the vehicle route (see at least Srnec; [0036] “The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route.” See also [0043-0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” And [0048] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate a prime mover 122. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106”))
control an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level (Srnec teaches determining operation adjustments based on whether there is sufficient energy to complete the planned route, see at least Figure 2 and element 214 “determine operation adjustments” and [0052] and Figure 6 and corresponding text.) Further, Srnec teaches changing controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051] “In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off) “In an embodiment, determining whether an energy level is sufficient to complete a route includes receiving the determined energy level 402, determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.”).
Srnec does not explicitly disclose controlling an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route.
Weber discloses controlling an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route (see at least Weber Figure 1, elements 102 and 110 and [0037] “Method 100 may also include receiving an operating parameter indicative of estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 106), estimating, by a processor, an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and the estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 108), and adjusting, by a controller in electrical communication with the power plant, a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle when the estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination (step 110).” See also [0039] “The operating parameter and performance parameters may include at least one of torque, instantaneous power, idle limits, speed, acceleration, change of acceleration, or any combination thereof. Thus, in some embodiments, methods may also include the step of instructing the controller, by the processor, to adjust the performance parameter” See also [0051] for support while on route.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srnec with the teaching of Weber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Weber teaches controlling the operating parameters can extend the use of a power plant when the reserves of energy are limited (see at least Weber abstract and [0004-0007]).
The examiner notes that Weber also discloses predicting how a power level of the battery unit will change on the vehicle route (see at least Weber [0041] “a processor that receives a first data and a second data, the first data being indicative of a distance of the vehicle from a target destination, and the second data being indicative of a level of a potential energy of the energy source from a sensor that gauges the potential energy available for the power plant of the vehicle, wherein the processor estimates an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and an operating condition of the vehicle, and when an estimated expected range of the vehicle is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination indicated by the first data, the processor instructs a controller to adjust a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the system according to claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to:
determine that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated (see at least Srnec [0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”); and
control the operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route such that the power level of the battery unit is above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated (See the combination of Srnec and Weber. Srnec teaches controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051] “In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off) “In an embodiment, determining whether an energy level is sufficient to complete a route includes receiving the determined energy level 402, determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.” See also Weber [0037-0041] which teaches the performance parameters (which include torque, power, …etch) of the power plant (including an engine) are adjusted to extend the range of the vehicle during the travel to the target destination. For example [0037] “Method 100 may also include receiving an operating parameter indicative of estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 106), estimating, by a processor, an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and the estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 108), and adjusting, by a controller in electrical communication with the power plant, a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle when the estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination (step 110).” And [0041] “Systems for extending a range of a vehicle disclosed herein may include a controller in electrical communication with a power plant of the vehicle, an energy source that imparts potential energy into the power plant, a processor that receives a first data and a second data, the first data being indicative of a distance of the vehicle from a target destination, and the second data being indicative of a level of a potential energy of the energy source from a sensor that gauges the potential energy available for the power plant of the vehicle, wherein the processor estimates an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and an operating condition of the vehicle, and when an estimated expected range of the vehicle is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination indicated by the first data, the processor instructs a controller to adjust a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the system according to claim 3, wherein the region in which the engine should not be operated is a low emission zone or a low noise zone (see at least Srnec [0035] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. The route status data may include road availability information, such as, for example, road closures, detours, etc. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” and [0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the system according to claim 1, comprising:
a position determining system for determining the current location of the vehicle (see at least Srnec. In an embodiment, the system on vehicle 100 is in communication with a remote device 114 via a communications link 116. [0038] “Remote device 114 is a computing device separate from vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. In an embodiment, remote device 114 is a remote server. In an embodiment, the remote device 114 can be a mobile device of the driver. Remote device 114 can provide the planned route and/or the route status data to processor 110 via communications link 116. Remote device 114 may further receive notifications generated by processor 110 in place of or in addition to display 112. Remote device 114 may include a user input device such as a touchscreen, mouse, keyboard, or the like allowing user input, for example, in response to a notification generated by processor 110. In an embodiment, remote device 114 is a server of a routing, fleet management, or telematics system. In an embodiment, remote device 114 is a mobile device such as a cellular phone or tablet. In an embodiment where remote device 114 is a mobile device such as a cellular phone or tablet, it may obtain the planned route and/or route status data from a server of a routing, fleet management, or telematics system.”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach a transport refrigeration unit) of a vehicle, comprising:
a refrigeration system configured to cool a compartment of the vehicle (see at least Srnec [0024] “FIG. 1 shows a system diagram of a vehicle 10 according to an embodiment, including a transport unit 100 that includes transport climate control system 102. The transport climate control system 102 includes a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) 105 mounted to a front wall of the transport unit 100. The TRU 105 includes a refrigeration circuit including compressor 104. The transport unit 100 also includes an energy storage device 106, a power meter 108, a processor 110, and may include a display 112”).; and
the power system according to claim 1 (see at least Srnec as addressed above with respect to claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Srnec teaches the method of powering a transport refrigeration unit of a vehicle, wherein the transport refrigeration unit comprises a refrigeration system, a battery unit for powering the refrigeration system, a generator for charging the battery unit, and an engine for driving the generator (see at least Srnec Figure 1, transport climate control system 102, energy storage device 106, alternator 124, prime mover 122), the method comprising:
determining a vehicle route from a current location of the vehicle to a destination of the vehicle (see at least Srnec [0034] “The planned route may be determined prior to the vehicle 10 departing for the trip.” And [0033] “Processor 110 receives a planned route for the vehicle and route status data. The planned route and/or the route status data may be received via communication link 116”)
predicting how a power level of the battery unit will change on the vehicle route (see at least Srnec; [0036] “The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route.” See also [0043-0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” And [0048] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate a prime mover 122. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106”) and
controlling an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level (Srnec teaches controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051] “In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off) “In an embodiment, determining whether an energy level is sufficient to complete a route includes receiving the determined energy level 402, determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.”).
Srnec does not explicitly disclose controlling an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route.
Weber discloses controlling an operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route (see at least Weber Figure 1, elements 102 and 110 and [0037] “Method 100 may also include receiving an operating parameter indicative of estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 106), estimating, by a processor, an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and the estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 108), and adjusting, by a controller in electrical communication with the power plant, a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle when the estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination (step 110).” See also [0039] “The operating parameter and performance parameters may include at least one of torque, instantaneous power, idle limits, speed, acceleration, change of acceleration, or any combination thereof. Thus, in some embodiments, methods may also include the step of instructing the controller, by the processor, to adjust the performance parameter” See also [0051] for support while on route.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srnec with the teaching of Weber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Weber teaches controlling the operating parameters can extend the use of a power plant when the reserves of energy are limited (see at least Weber abstract and [0004-0007]).
The examiner notes that Weber also discloses predicting how a power level of the battery unit will change on the vehicle route (see at least Weber [0041] “a processor that receives a first data and a second data, the first data being indicative of a distance of the vehicle from a target destination, and the second data being indicative of a level of a potential energy of the energy source from a sensor that gauges the potential energy available for the power plant of the vehicle, wherein the processor estimates an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and an operating condition of the vehicle, and when an estimated expected range of the vehicle is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination indicated by the first data, the processor instructs a controller to adjust a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the method according to claim 7, comprising:
determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated (see at least Srnec [0035] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. The route status data may include road availability information, such as, for example, road closures, detours, etc. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” and [0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”) and
controlling the operational state of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level while travelling on the vehicle route such that the power level of the battery unit is above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated (See the combination of Srnec and Weber. Srnec teaches controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051] “In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off) “In an embodiment, determining whether an energy level is sufficient to complete a route includes receiving the determined energy level 402, determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.” See also Weber [0037-0041] which teaches the performance parameters (which include torque, power, …etch) of the power plant (including an engine) are adjusted to extend the range of the vehicle during the travel to the target destination. For example [0037] “Method 100 may also include receiving an operating parameter indicative of estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 106), estimating, by a processor, an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and the estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 108), and adjusting, by a controller in electrical communication with the power plant, a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle when the estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination (step 110).” And [0041] “Systems for extending a range of a vehicle disclosed herein may include a controller in electrical communication with a power plant of the vehicle, an energy source that imparts potential energy into the power plant, a processor that receives a first data and a second data, the first data being indicative of a distance of the vehicle from a target destination, and the second data being indicative of a level of a potential energy of the energy source from a sensor that gauges the potential energy available for the power plant of the vehicle, wherein the processor estimates an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and an operating condition of the vehicle, and when an estimated expected range of the vehicle is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination indicated by the first data, the processor instructs a controller to adjust a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the method according to claim 9, wherein the region in which the engine should not be operated is a low emission zone or a low noise zone (see at least Srnec [0035] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. The route status data may include road availability information, such as, for example, road closures, detours, etc. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” and [0046] “The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”).
Claim 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Weber in further in view of Yamamoto et al. US Pub. No. 2013/0062941, hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Srnec and Weber teach the system according to claim 1, as rejected above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control system is configured to:
control the operational state of the engine such that the power level of the battery unit is below a first predetermined value when the vehicle reaches its destination.
Yamamoto discloses teaches a control system that controls the operational state of the engine such that the power level of the battery unit) is below a first predetermined value when the vehicle reaches its destination (see at least Yamamoto Figure 14, wherein the vehicle reaches its destination at t3 , [0141} and wherein the engine is controlled to such that the power level is below SOCu (state of charge upper limit). See Yamamoto discussion of Figure 14, [0136-0141], see at least [0139] “When the SOC estimate value (#SOC) is decreased to reach mode determination value Sth (time t2), the traveling mode is changed from the EV mode to the HV mode. When transitioned to the HV mode, control center value SOCr is set at a constant value for the HV mode. Accordingly, control lower limit value SOCl is also maintained at a constant value. As a result, in the HV mode, when the SOC is decreased, engine 18 (FIG. 11) starts to operate, thereby charging power storage device 10 with electric power generated by motor generator MG1. As a result, the SOC starts to be increased and is accordingly maintained in the SOC control range (SOCl to SOCu).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Weber with the teaching of Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because Yamamoto teaches it is advantageous to maintain the state of charge in a range, especially at destination as it avoids the deterioration due to temperature, and avoids the degradation of performance of the battery. (see Yamamoto [0024]).
Claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 2, above.
Regarding claims 18 and 19,
Srnec teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to:
switch the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level (see at least Srnec wherein the prime mover 122 can be an engine as taught in [0031] and further Srnec at [0046], [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” And [0048] “ The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate a prime mover 122. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” [0058] “The predicted charging provided by prime mover 122 and alternator 124 may be determined based in part on the planned route received at 206, and optionally the route status data received at 208. The predicted charging may be determined based on an estimate of the charging of the energy storage unit 106 by the alternator 124 powered by prime mover 122. In particular, the predicted charging can be based on, for example, the efficiency of alternator 124, the predicted time prime mover 122 will be operated during the planned route, the consumption of energy by transport climate control system 102 during operation of prime mover 122, and the like.” and [0071] “In an embodiment, the processor 110 can determine the alternate route by identifying and selecting route segments that reduce the amount of time the transport climate control system must be powered by the energy storage device or that increase the amount of time the transport climate control system is powered by prime mover 122 and/or during which the energy storage device 106 may be charged by alternator 124. In an embodiment, off-board processing at a processor connected to or in communication with remote device 114 may be used to determine the alternate route. The route segments are combined into a route among all of the necessary stops identified at 504. The method 500 then proceeds to 508.” Srnec teaches controlling the engine in a powered on state for charging the battery outside the emission controlled area to have sufficient energy for the route and controlling the engine to be in a powered off state and using the energy storage device (battery) when in the emission controlled area, see at least Srnec [0051]. See also Srnec [0046], [0062] wherein there is sufficient energy, however there are segments using stored energy of the battery (e.g. engine controlled to be off).; and
when the engine is in an operational state, control a speed of the engine based on the vehicle route and the predicted power level (see at least Weber [0007] “A need therefore exists to address issues of extending the range of a vehicle when an estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination.” See also Weber [0037] and [0041] which teaches the performance parameters (which include torque, power, …etch) of the power plant (including an engine) are adjusted to extend the range of the vehicle during the travel to the target destination. See also at least Weber Figure 1, elements 102 and 110 and [0037] “Method 100 may also include receiving an operating parameter indicative of estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 106), estimating, by a processor, an expected range of the vehicle based on the second data and the estimated future energy usage of the power plant (step 108), and adjusting, by a controller in electrical communication with the power plant, a performance parameter of the power plant to extend an actual range of the vehicle when the estimated expected range is less than the distance of the vehicle from the target destination (step 110).” See also [0039] “The operating parameter and performance parameters may include at least one of torque, instantaneous power, idle limits, speed, acceleration, change of acceleration, or any combination thereof. Thus, in some embodiments, methods may also include the step of instructing the controller, by the processor, to adjust the performance parameter” See also [0051] for support on route.).
Claim 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gongate US Pub. No. 2019/0249913, hereinafter “Gongate”) in view of Akiyama et. al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0203960, hereinafter “Akiyama”.
Regarding claim 11, Gongate discloses a power system for a transport refrigeration unit (see at least Gongate Figure 1 tractor or truck 22, transport climate control system, TRU 26 [0033]), the system comprising:
a battery unit configured to supply electrical power to a refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit (see at least Gongate, battery 52 [0040] “The energy storage device 52 may be at least one battery. In one embodiment, the battery 52 may be configured to provide direct current (DC) electric power to one or both of the evaporator and condenser fan motors 98, 90, while the generator 54 provides electrical power to the compressor motor 60.”);
a generator configured to charge the battery unit (see at least Gongate [0009] “ in the foregoing embodiment, the plurality of energy source selections includes a combustion engine generator selection indicative of a combustion engine generator for charging the battery.”)
an engine configured to drive the generator (see at least Gongate [0040] “The multiple energy source 50 may include an energy storage device 52, and a generator 54 mechanically driven by a combustion engine 56 that may be part of, and dedicated to, the TRU 26.”) and
a control system (see at least Gongate, controller 82 ) configured to:
monitor a power level of the battery unit (see at least Gongate[0051] “The energy source selection module 124 may be software-based, may be stored in the electronic storage medium 122, and may be executed by the processor 120. The selection module 124 may be configured to automatically select one or more of the energy sources 54, 107, 128, 130 used to charge the battery 52 under a pre-defined, or pre-programmed, set of conditions. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, the charge level of the battery 52… Depending upon the current conditions, the energy source selection module 124 may choose the optimal and/or most efficient energy source to charge the battery 52.” See also [0052] “Example of sensors generally associated with TRU conditions may include a fuel level sensor 132, an ambient light sensor 134 (i.e., solar intensity), a speed sensor 136 indicative of fan or wind speed, a battery charge sensor 138, and others. The sensors 132, 134, 136, 138 are configured to send respective sensory signals (see arrows 140, 142, 144, 146) to the processor 120 for use by the energy source selection module 124. …”);
switch the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit (see at least Gongate Figure 6 and accompanying description, Gongate teaches an iterative process of determining if the battery is fully charged and determining an available and most efficient means of charging the battery, and further teaches using the diesel engine generator when available and using an renewable energy source when available which corresponds to switching the engine between an operational state (diesel engine generator available) and non-operational state (when renewable energy source is available, diesel engine generator unavailable). See [0051-0053] “Depending upon the current conditions, the energy source selection module 124 may choose the optimal and/or most efficient energy source to charge the battery 52….[0052] Example of sensors generally associated with TRU conditions may include a fuel level sensor 132, an ambient light sensor 134 (i.e., solar intensity), a speed sensor 136 indicative of fan or wind speed, a battery charge sensor 138, and others. … For example, parameters may include a minimum fuel level threshold or set point, a minimum speed threshold, a minimum light threshold, and others. The energy source selection module 124 may include pre-programmed algorithms used to apply the various signals 140, 142, 144, 146 to achieve the most optimal and/or efficient means of charging the battery 52…[0053] For example, the fuel level signal 140 received by the module 124 may indicate of a fuel level that is below the pre-programmed fuel level threshold. This low level condition may influence the module 124 not to use the combustion engine generator 54 to charge the battery 52…” See also [0057-0058])
Gongate does not explicitly disclose change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, based on the power level of the battery unit.
Akiyama teaches the system including a control system (vehicle controller 40) configured to change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, based on the power level of the battery unit (see at Akiyama [0053-0058] “In addition, the calculation unit 43 calculates the required quantity of electric power (prescribed quantity of electric power) that is required to change the state of charge of the battery 5 from the current state to the state of the charge quantity threshold value based on the state of charge of the battery 5. That is, the required quantity of electric power is the difference between the quantity of electric power stored in the battery 5 at the charge quantity threshold value and the quantity of electric power currently stored in the battery 5… In addition, as the engine rotational speed Rc increases, the electric power P generated by the generator 4 will also increase, and the battery 5 can be charged in a shorter period of time. Accordingly, the engine command value setting unit 45 sets the command value so as to increase the engine rotational speed Rc as the vehicle speed V increases.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gongate with the teaching of Akiyama with a reasonable expectation of success because Akiyama teaches it is advantageous to increase the speed of an engine to charge a battery faster when the battery is in need of charging (see Akiyama [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gongate and Akiyama teach wherein the control system is configured to:
decrease the speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, when the power level of the battery unit increases past a first threshold (see at least Akiyama Figure 3 and [0068] “…in Step S103, it is determined whether the state of charge of the battery 5 is greater than or equal to a prescribed charge quantity threshold value. If it is determined that the state of charge of the battery 5 is greater than or equal to the prescribed charge quantity threshold value (YES in Step S103), then the process proceeds to Step S107…. And [0067] “ then the process proceeds to Step S107, and a command value for stopping the engine 1 is output, thereby stopping the engine 1.” See also Figure 7 and [0080-0083]. The examiner notes that the phrase “decrease the speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state” includes receiving a command to decrease a speed of the engine while the engine remains the operational state, the command including to stop the engine as taught by Akiyama. Specifically, the command to decrease the speed of the engine (stop the engine) is issued while the engine remains in the operational state. (see Akiyama Figure 3, S103 flowing to S107 wherein the engine is stopped; See [0056] and [0063] regarding the command and [0068-0070] which teaches that the rotation of the engine (continue power generation in this iterative process) is occurring when the stop engine command is received. The examiner notes this corresponds to decrease a speed of the engine while the engine remains in the operational state as the engine is rotating and then decreases the speed of rotation while still operating until it comes to a stop, in S107); and
increase the speed of the engine when the power level of the battery unit reduces below a second threshold (see at least Akiyama Figure 4 and [0053] “In addition, the calculation unit 43 calculates the required quantity of electric power (prescribed quantity of electric power) that is required to change the state of charge of the battery 5 from the current state to the state of the charge quantity threshold value based on the state of charge of the battery 5. That is, the required quantity of electric power is the difference between the quantity of electric power stored in the battery 5 at the charge quantity threshold value and the quantity of electric power currently stored in the battery 5.” And [0058] “in addition, as the engine rotational speed Rc increases, the electric power P generated by the generator 4 will also increase, and the battery 5 can be charged in a shorter period of time. Accordingly, the engine command value setting unit 45 sets the command value so as to increase the engine rotational speed Rc as the vehicle speed V increases.”).
wherein the second threshold is less than or equal to the first threshold (in Akiyama the first and second threshold are equal, H1, as shown in Figure 3 and described ).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gongate and Akiyama teach a transport refrigeration unit of a vehicle, comprising:
a refrigeration system configured to cool a compartment of the vehicle (see at least Gongate Figure 1 and [0033] “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the trailer 24 is generally constructed to store a cargo (not shown) in the compartment 40. The TRU 26 is generally integrated into the trailer 24 and may be mounted to the front wall 36. The cargo is maintained at a desired temperature by cooling of the compartment 40 via the TRU 26 that circulates airflow into and through the cargo compartment 40 of the trailer 24.”); and
the power system according to claim 12 (see at least Gongate power system as addressed above with respect to claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, Gongate discloses a method of powering a transport refrigeration unit, wherein the transport refrigeration unit comprises a refrigeration system, a battery unit for powering the refrigeration system, a generator for charging the battery unit, and an engine for driving the generator (see at least Gongate Figure 1 tractor or truck 22, transport climate control system, TRU 26 [0033], battery 52 [0040] “The multiple energy source 50 may include an energy storage device 52, and a generator 54 mechanically driven by a combustion engine 56 that may be part of, and dedicated to, the TRU 26. The energy storage device 52 may be at least one battery. In one embodiment, the battery 52 may be configured to provide direct current (DC) electric power to one or both of the evaporator and condenser fan motors 98, 90, while the generator 54 provides electrical power to the compressor motor 60.” and [0009] “in the foregoing embodiment, the plurality of energy source selections includes a combustion engine generator selection indicative of a combustion engine generator for charging the battery.”), the method comprising:
monitoring a power level of the battery unit switching the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit see at least Gongate [0051] “The energy source selection module 124 may be software-based, may be stored in the electronic storage medium 122, and may be executed by the processor 120. The selection module 124 may be configured to automatically select one or more of the energy sources 54, 107, 128, 130 used to charge the battery 52 under a pre-defined, or pre-programmed, set of conditions. Such conditions may include, but are not limited to, the charge level of the battery 52… Depending upon the current conditions, the energy source selection module 124 may choose the optimal and/or most efficient energy source to charge the battery 52.” See also [0052] “Example of sensors generally associated with TRU conditions may include a fuel level sensor 132, an ambient light sensor 134 (i.e., solar intensity), a speed sensor 136 indicative of fan or wind speed, a battery charge sensor 138, and others. The sensors 132, 134, 136, 138 are configured to send respective sensory signals (see arrows 140, 142, 144, 146) to the processor 120 for use by the energy source selection module 124. …”);
switching the engine between an operational state and a non-operational state based on the power level of the battery unit (see at least Gongate Figure 6 and accompanying description, Gongate teaches an iterative process of determining if the battery is fully charged and determining an available and most efficient means of charging the battery, and further teaches using the diesel engine generator when available and using an renewable energy source when available which corresponds to switching the engine between an operational state (diesel engine generator available) and non-operational state (when renewable energy source is available, diesel engine generator unavailable). See [0051-0053] “Depending upon the current conditions, the energy source selection module 124 may choose the optimal and/or most efficient energy source to charge the battery 52….[0052] Example of sensors generally associated with TRU conditions may include a fuel level sensor 132, an ambient light sensor 134 (i.e., solar intensity), a speed sensor 136 indicative of fan or wind speed, a battery charge sensor 138, and others. … For example, parameters may include a minimum fuel level threshold or set point, a minimum speed threshold, a minimum light threshold, and others. The energy source selection module 124 may include pre-programmed algorithms used to apply the various signals 140, 142, 144, 146 to achieve the most optimal and/or efficient means of charging the battery 52…[0053] For example, the fuel level signal 140 received by the module 124 may indicate of a fuel level that is below the pre-programmed fuel level threshold. This low level condition may influence the module 124 not to use the combustion engine generator 54 to charge the battery 52…” See also [0057-0058]).
Gongate does not explicitly disclose changing a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, based on the power level of the battery unit.
Akiyama teaches the system including a control system (vehicle controller 40) configured to change a speed of the engine, while the engine remains in the operational state, based on the power level of the battery unit (see at Akiyama [0053-0058] “In addition, the calculation unit 43 calculates the required quantity of electric power (prescribed quantity of electric power) that is required to change the state of charge of the battery 5 from the current state to the state of the charge quantity threshold value based on the state of charge of the battery 5. That is, the required quantity of electric power is the difference between the quantity of electric power stored in the battery 5 at the charge quantity threshold value and the quantity of electric power currently stored in the battery 5… In addition, as the engine rotational speed Rc increases, the electric power P generated by the generator 4 will also increase, and the battery 5 can be charged in a shorter period of time. Accordingly, the engine command value setting unit 45 sets the command value so as to increase the engine rotational speed Rc as the vehicle speed V increases.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gongate with the teaching of Akiyama with a reasonable expectation of success because Akiyama teaches it is advantageous to increase the speed of an engine to charge a battery faster when the battery is in need of charging.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 12, above.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the combination of Gongate and Akiyama teach wherein the engine is a transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine that does not provide motive force to the vehicle, and wherein the speed of the transport refrigeration unit dedicated engine is changed, while the engine remains in the operational state, independently of a speed of the vehicle (see at least Gongate [0040] “The multiple energy source 50 may include an energy storage device 52, and a generator 54 mechanically driven by a combustion engine 56 that may be part of, and dedicated to, the TRU 26.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11383584-B2 to Dykes and US-20150000636-A1 to Stockbridge are cited for adjusting engine speed in a TRU.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER M ANDA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662